DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Berin Kinsman's Kaiju Patrol
by Jonathan Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2014 11:17:01
The material is fun, but at $20(even though I did get it for the pre-order of $10) for a pdf product I expected better art and at least some kind of nice Layout.
The clipart/stockart of historical items everywhere, only 3 pieces of art for Kaiju, nothing for Sentai, Henshin, Kyodai. One great piece of art for the propaganda/recruitment poster.
Black walls of text on white backgrounds.
LONG list of historical events.....many having little or nothing to do with the theme.

I think it is best to wait to catch this one on sale.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Berin Kinsman's Kaiju Patrol
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

No Sleep Til Finland [bundle]
by Stefan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2014 16:55:21
I feel the information provided is not really worth much. The stuff in the Workbooks is more or less just what is already in the rulebook, blown out of proportion for every class and every level. The monster books are just a much too short description of the monster (some would be interesting of they provided more information) ... and then some monster variants created for the author's home campaign? There is not really much information about the monsters in general.
I really did not get much out of all those books.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
No Sleep Til Finland [bundle]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

No Sleep Til Finland [bundle]
by R. A. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2014 10:52:17
For me the Character Workbooks were a complete waste of time and money. All they were is just a set of reminders for each class just repeating what is already listed for each class in the core book as well as the sources for each class (e. add HP, add feat at levels 3,6,9, etc., remember to add favored class bonus etc.). I had expected something like discussions of the merits of various class abilities, pros and cons of choosing various feats etc. They basically took the info from the various tables and put them in blocks of texts.
The Monster books were just minor variants from the author's home campaign. I don't care what they are like in your home campaign. I already have hundreds of monsters so I would not spend a cent for variants.

For me the items of this collection are worthless. Really, I want my money back.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fate+Fiction: Black Dreams and Other Bad Juju (Fate RPG)
by ash d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2014 19:51:52
Got this as part of the free rpg promotion. The first thing that came to mind is that the fiction parts of this are just BAD. Like, worse than airport trash novels bad. All those lovely 'mystical black woman' tropes are present in force.

Beyond that, though: I think the whole concept is flawed. The idea seems to be that you're given a short story, and a few select quotes are pulled from it as aspects. 'Jenny never liked the Walbergs', that sort of thing. The problem is that the authors don't acknowledge the differences between RPGs (creating a story with a group) and novels (one person telling a story).

There was no real discussion on why the aspects were chosen, and how to weave them into a game. It's a shame, because I really want to like the concept, but all this has done for me is to emphasise how different fiction and RPGs are.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fate+Fiction: Black Dreams and Other Bad Juju (Fate RPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate+Fiction: Black Dreams and Other Bad Juju (Fate RPG)
by Seth C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2014 16:00:49
Black Dreams and Other Bad Juju is the second installation of the FATE+Fiction line. It’s a PWYW product that includes 5 original short stories, each with a breakdown of suggested situation aspects, character aspects, consequences, and boosts. The stories come in separate files, about 5 pages long apiece, with the last page being taken up by the OGL.

Each story is about 1,000 words and they’re all character or setting pieces. There’s not a whole lot of plot to these - they’re mainly setting the stage, conflict, and characters. But that’s also sort of the point - to give you enough to spark your creativity.

A Flock of Cranes is the first story, and potentially the weakest. The setting was a little vague, there was only 1 aspect that got me excited, and there were some awkward sentences. That said, the ending was good enough that it got me interested in putting this into play.

All In is a story about some type of supernatural hunters sitting down to play poker. There’s a lot of passive voice in this story, but it’s interesting enough to get me excited. The aspects weren’t bad and there were good suggestions for consequences, but I wish they would have gone farther. Problems with the law are all well and good, but this story screams at me to hurt the PCs friends and family.

Bad Juju is a great cyberpunk vs. voodoo story. It’s loaded with flavor, has some actual action, and gets me excited about playing. There’s some French in there that they don’t translate and some colloquialisms that I had a little trouble following, but that actually seemed to enhance the setting for me. There’s some wacky punctuation in places, but that’s pretty secondary to me. The aspects were a little verbose (but ok), the consequences were good, and there was an interesting take on a boost.

For me, Black Dreams was a different kind of story than the others. Rather than dealing with a conflict, it deals with the consequences. I’d love to play in a game that explored this style of play, but I know I’d struggle with running one. Regardless, I found it a fascinating choice to include and it really kind of broke out of the box. There’s some profanity in this one, if that kind of thing offends you.

The last story, Call Me Ishmael, is a religious/supernatural story about the struggle of good and evil. I enjoyed the story and the deconstruction was pretty good. Again, I’d like to see the consequences taken a little further. Possession is an obvious consequence, which was overlooked. But I think some type of supernatural judgment is potentially implied and would have been in interesting addition.

I liked these stories and I really dig the idea behind this product. It does what it sets out to do - it gives me fodder for my imagination and gets me thinking about games. It’s equally useful for both players and GMs, since it includes story ideas and aspects both can use. It’s PWYW, so it’s absolutely worth it to download these.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate+Fiction: Semper Fidelis (Fate RPG)
by Seth C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2014 15:58:55
So what do we have here?

First of all, it's a freebie. It's not PWYW, it's free. So judge all of this with the knowledge that it costs you nothing for this PDF.

Semper Fidelis is 3 pages long. It includes a very short piece of fiction, about 100 words, 1/2 a page telling what this product is, 1 page of discussion about the story, and a page of FATE OGL.

The fiction is a character piece. It presents you a situation with no real lead in or conclusion. Even the action had already passed. But I think it does what it sets out to do. It serves as a hook.

The story mostly asks questions and tries to prompt you to think about how you could use it in your game. It wonders why things happened, suggests the lack of specific detail allows it to fit into a variety of settings, asks what would happen if things were changed, and what the consequences of the story are.

These questions are fine. Nothing that really sparked my imagination. I think an important question potentially left out is "who are the PCs?" or "how does this relate to others?". I feel as if the assumption is that this might be a PC. But what about if the PCs were cops (I immediately thought this would be a great hook for NCIS)? Or friends of John? Or friends of Gunny? Those things get me excited about the story.

The side bar on this page includes a situation aspect, 2 character aspects, 2 consequences, and a boost. These, I think, are the best part. The aspects are good. They offer suggestions on how they're applicable, and what they mean. The boost is great. It's something I can really get behind. The consequences are a little lack luster, and I'd like to see more questions asked about it. What might happen to John? How will this affect those around John? How will this change John?

To sum up, this is a good, first, free sample. You can't go wrong for nothin'. I'd like to see future products have longer fiction. I'd like them to ask more questions with bite. I'd like them to offer more tie-ins with potential PCs. But if this is a preview of what's to come, I'll gladly get on board. I could use more of this. And I think other people could as well.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fate+Fiction: Semper Fidelis (Fate RPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate+Fiction: Semper Fidelis (Fate RPG)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/22/2014 10:38:06
This is extremely thought provoking... and what really makes you think is not the overt concept of a piece of fiction and the role-playing snippets you can extract from it, but the underlying thought-processes of how to look at something you read and glean it clean for role-playing ideas.

Now, this is something that I have been doing ever since I started role-playing, a mere couple of years before the author did, but he explains it so well, breaking it down and relating the elements to different aspects of the game system of choice (here, of course, the FATE system).

The story itself is but an hundred words or so. It would be easy to dismiss it as holding little for a role-player to grab hold of... but you'd be wrong. Just a few words can contain a lot if you look at them in the right way, and here you are shown how.

I'd recommend you to buy this, but it's free! No reason at all not to pick it up and read it through.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Instant NPCs: Elves (PFRPG)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/08/2014 10:52:59
Like me, author Berin Kinsman reckons that the most dangerous monsters come on two legs, thinly disguised as the other people around you... and whilst major villains deserve full development, the 'bit-part' NPCs can be a lot more basic. Yet although many can be roughed out in a few descriptve words, sometimes you need to know their stats as well.

Here, then, is the solution: a ready-made collection of 'character frameworks' to put the mechanics into the NPCs you need all the time, the ones who you can readily describe to your players but need the stats for when the dice come out - be it a full-blown brawl, a game of cards or someone attempting to sneak by undetected.

The core of the product are the stat blocks for the five NPC classes - Adept, Aristocrat, Commoner, Expert and Warrior - each for levels 1 through 20. To make everything clear, there is quite a lot of explanation, and the stat blocks themselves have been laid out for ease of use (including links to the Pathfinder SRD if you are using it online). NPCs who can be expected to use spells have prepared spells listed (and there are notes on changing these if prefered), and weapons used, feats, skills and equipment carried are also included. Interestingly, each one is given TWO XP totals: one is the XP accrued by that NPC to reach the level he's at and the other is the XP that the party can earn by defeating him - this can be in combat, or could even come by thwarting his plans or otherwise outwitting him if you choose to allow it. Indeed, any resolution to an encounter that results in the party gaining their objective can lead to the XP award.

As these NPCs are elves, their racial bonuses and abilities have already been factored in, so you do not need to worry about them. As these are NPCs, built using the NPC class, they are not really suitable to be used as player-characters, although the suggestion is made that they could be used as 'less complicated' characters for newcomers to Pathfinder, or as GMPCs to fill out a party as needed - being easier for a GM to play whilst attending to his other duties.

If you make use of a lot of interactions between the party and an array of NPCs, this can help with your prep work, or even supply the NPC you need on the fly mid-game. A nice, handy resource.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Instant NPCs: Elves (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hobgoblin Hide: Alternate Orcs Reskinned (PFRPG)
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2014 23:33:08
I love "alternate" versions of monsters, and I don't play Pathfinder -- let me start off with that statement, to put my review in context. I run a couple of 13th Age games, and I've been looking for some variations on the classic monsters to mix things up a little in the Dragon Empire (13th Age's default setting). While I've never played D&D 3.x or Pathfinder, the stat blocks for monsters are easy enough to interpret that I can use them as starting points to create 13th Age monsters (especially when they're linked to d20pfsrd.com). Even more than that, the flavor text or "fluff" is universal. Without ruining the surprise, this little sourcebook contains a neat twist on hobgoblins that I can easily see fitting into my 13th Age campaigns (especially since my players have never encountered hobgoblins in that setting). Each of the five hobgoblin variants tie in to this unique back-story, while remaining different from one another. Any one of them could be used in a battle with otherwise "ordinary" hobgoblins, or you could go all-out and introduce several of them at once. The stat blocks could be used without the flavor text, and could be used with the standard hobgoblin back-story of Golarion, I would think. The price is right for a supplement that sparked my imagination and gives me something new to send my players' way -- not just a new stat block, but a whole new definition of the hobgoblin.

I had a couple of small complaints, which prevented me from giving this a 5-star rating. First, the physical description of hobgoblin and the orc on page 4 is unclear. I understand that it's trying to tie orcs (or is it hobgoblins?) to the old AD&D, porcine orcs, but the paragraph doesn't make it clear which race (orcs or hobgoblins) get confused with the pig-faced orcs, or why. And this points to the overall issue of a lack of editing. There are several typos, incorrect punctuation, and content that isn't as clear as it could be. It's certainly readable, but when I buy something, even at this low price, I expect it to come across as edited and polished. It's not a huge gripe, but it's enough that I couldn't rate this 5-stars.

If you're looking for a fun take on hobgoblins, along with some interesting hobgoblin variants, I suggest you pick this little supplement up. You certainly can't beat the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hobgoblin Hide: Alternate Orcs Reskinned (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Greatest Hits & Epic Misses (PFRPG)
by Stan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2014 14:15:10
This is a great resource for someone who can't find the critical & fumble card decks for Pathfinder, or just prefers a dice-rolling mechanic over card draws.

As someone who actually knows the person who wrote the Dragon Magazine article the authors cited, they are a worthy successor to that article.

However, if there is any real lack to these charts, it is one shared with Carl's, in that they are designed with melee weapons in mind. Blunt weapon criticals work in a pinch for weaponless combat, but the weapon fumbles bring on an uncomfortably high level of broken bones (I had one monk PC break both hands in a single melee from fumbles, and was reduced to kick attacks, on the FIRST ENCOUNTER we used these charts), given how monks are much more popular and playable in PF & 3.x. And there are so many things that can go wrong with missiles that have no comparison in melee, and melee accidents that can't happen in missile fire.

I wouldn't mind it if somewhere down the road, the authors would expand it to have a separate critical charts for missile weapons & weaponless combat, and develop separate fumble charts for each weapon type, missiles, unarmed and animal attackers. What works as a fumble for a longspear doesn't necessarily work for an arrow, thrown dart or bite attack, nor does a fumble chart written for a sword really work when it's a monster fumbling with a claw attack. The current table that clumps all fumbles together still results in the occasional headscratch.

I would also suggest that the authors explore using 2 columns per page on the charts that run over one page, to see if they can get them to fit on a single page.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Greatest Hits & Epic Misses (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Greatest Hits & Epic Misses (PFRPG)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/01/2014 10:37:19
For many gamers, just rolling dice and doing damage in combat just doesn't cut it. Here's a way, following in the steps of an early Dragon magazine article that's referenced in the work and - for me at any rate - some glorious tables from the Rolemaster game produced by Iron Crown Enterprises, to make your damage rolls far more interesting than a steady attrition of hit points.

So here is a set of tables to bring into action whenever a critical hit is scored. There are several tables to cater for different weapon types - bludgeoning, piercing, slashing, etc. - and also, as these assume a vaguely humanoid target, a table for critical hits on animals. Each works on a percentage roll and nicely whenever a specific condition or other game mechanical effect is caused, that descriptor is hyperlinked to the Pathfinder SRD (natuarally, only if you are consulting the table electronically with an internet link!).

To redress the balance some, there is also a fumble table for all weapons, to consult if you are unfortunate enough to roll a 1 on your d20 attack roll. Whilst this is based on weapon use, most results will work for unarmed combat as well with little or no modification.

While there are plenty of this kind of 'colourful critical' tables around, this one has been written specifically with the Pathfinder RPG in mind, so if that's the ruleset you use, this is worth picking up.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ratfolk Hide: Humanoid Vermin Reskinned (PFRPG)
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2013 17:36:52
A brief collection of alternate additions to a group of Ratfolk. Five different creatures offer up alternate leaders - in the form of a Pack Leader, King or Queen - and 'shock' troops - in the guise of Knight and Plague Children.

The creatures range from CR 1/3 up to 7, and all add their own distinctive twist on the purpose behind the Ratfolk a party might encounter.

Interesting viewpoints with complete stats ready to play straight off the page.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ratfolk Hide: Humanoid Vermin Reskinned (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Character Workbook Revised: Magus for PFRPG
by Jason H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2013 17:56:18
After years of gaming in the late 70's and early 80's, I took a very extended break from pen and paper gaming.
Now that the kids are grown and gone, I have time to get back into what I loved.
I had never played Pathfinder before, so finding a guide like this was perfect for me.

And for the price, I thought I couldn't go wrong.

The workbook is laid out in a very logical fashion and helps you find everything you need to know to get your character up and running.
It's a pretty plain jane format, just black ink on white paper. I like this, cause if you want to print your workbook, you save your ink.

It does have handy links to http://www.d20pfsrd.com/ topics, so if you encounter something you are unfamiliar with, an answer is just a click away.

The bottom line is that I recommend this for anyone wanting to get the most out of their character creation process.
I will definitely buy the other workbooks as I need them.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Workbook Revised: Magus for PFRPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forager's Guild: An Organization
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/22/2013 15:55:02
The Forager’s Guild for Pathfinder by Asparagus Jumpsuit is a short document presenting an “adventurer’s guild” that can be easily adapted for most campaigns, proving a base of operations, resources and training and a clearing house for adventure. Three of the upper level members of the guild are detailed for use as advisors, trainers and generally useful people as are a squad of bugbears converted to good who act as agents for the guild. Some fun, and very classic, things to play around with here, worth your time to look at if such a group would have a place in your campaign.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forager's Guild: An Organization
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Elemental Builder for the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/22/2013 15:54:07
Elemental Builder for Pathfinder by Asparagus Jumpsuit is a short document presenting a simple system for constructing elementals (using a bacon elemental as an example!). While a useful resource, it would have been helped by a step by step walkthrough of elemental building and maybe a few fully statted example elementals. Berin Kinsman is a creative fellow and I would have liked to have seen him display it a bit further with this product.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Builder for the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 51 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates