DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Blood and Smoke: The Strix Chronicle
by Martin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2014 00:04:32
This is a very good book probably my new favorite and definitely the trump of the 2nd ed NWoD splats at this time (end of 2014, so there's only demon and vampire, but meh). It holds a much needed update to vampire, it is more or less self-contiained with a few minor exceptions, and it is in general a very interesting read.


Now, on the downside, here are a few things you should consider. Please note that while the below list is "long" I do not believe any of these things are so bad as to make the book itself bad, but if you are particularly bothered by any of the below you should probably think carefully before buying the book so as to avoid being disappointed later on. (and yes, I have been Very nitpicky with this part)

First off, this is not a very well ordered book. The way it's laid out is confusing, it lacks an index (but has bookmarks, a minor balm for the issue) which makes the layout issue a bit more troublesome.

It is also lacking entirely in animals, despite the fact that one of the powers, Protean, actually relies on them for shape-shifting, something which also limits your choices of Ghouls (servants) and so on.
This issue CAN be gotten around by looking online for some fan-made animals of course, or just writing up a few yourself.

Then at last (and least, to my mind) we have language use. This is not an entirely "clean" book. It is not by any stretch dirty but you should, if you are particularly sensitive, keep this in mind.

At this time the book costs $19.99 and I, personally, would consider it well worth that price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Smoke: The Strix Chronicle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heirs to Hell
by Martin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2014 23:35:04
Now this book is not going to be useful in every Demon game but I think it IS one of the most interesting books for the gameline (at this time, near the end of 2015).
The price is tiny bit over what I would usually pay for such a short book but I think the content more than makes up for this.

If you have the cash to spare and like Demon I'd highly recommend this book; you will love the ideas for "demonic" offspring found inside. (ps: they're not evil... unless you play them that way)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heirs to Hell
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Demon Seed Collection
by Martin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2014 23:31:55
This is a Very good book for those wanting to GM a Demon the Descent game, whether experienced or not. It gives you a wide range of interesting example stories that one can use whole-cloth, in part or just be inspired by.
For the price (currently $2.99) it is a purchase well worth making.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Seed Collection
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Demon: The Descent
by Akos S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2014 20:30:38
Those who would like to play a „technogostic espionage” game, should stop reading and buy the game. It is very good in doing that. If you expect classical demons and angels with occult / religious themes, emotional dilemmas keep reading.

With the introduction of the God-Machine, a supernatural, occult machine working behind the scenes of the world, Onyx Path Publishing took the whole World of Darkness setting into a more technical and “sciency” directions. This is reflected in their new, re-imagined game lines, in which Demon the Descent is the next.

Setting
Demon the Descent idea is not a new one, which is not a bad thing in itself. There was a nice RPG called Zero, which thematically is very similar to Demon the Descent, where biomechanical hive creature loose their connection to hive and become individuals. In Demon the Descent the machine spirits (which are called demons and angels, but more on that later) are simple physical/electronic/occult subroutines of the God-Machine tasked with different missions. During one of their assignments the machine spirits (the angels of the God-Machine), loose their connection with the God-Machine. The reasons listed are many like love for the city, the humans, loneliness, etc, but it is strange that a machine should have such emotions at all and fail. After the fall (called Descent) the machine spirits (who are called demons now) have to hide from the God-Machine, who wants to recapture them. They build up so called covers, human identities, to hide from the God-Machine, To that machine spirit offer something for a human and in return they receive a part of his identities (or they simply absorb a human and get the whole identity). Besides fighting the God-Machine this what the machine spirits do. They hide in plain sights and try to undermine the God-Machine. For me, it lacks colour, emotion and a distinct feel.
The concept of machine spirits being demons is...curios. Beside the Descent itself being strange, it is emphasized that the machine spirits fell because they felt emotion, despite the fact them being machines. Yet, the very concept of the game plays against establishing deep, meaningful connection with humans. The cover is what defines the machine spirits, is readily abandoned if necessary (rules support this quite well). The other problem is the God-Machine itself. It is stated in one of the fictions of the book, but it quite clear, that they can not defeat the God-Machine, they are just being heroic and die trying. Some may like this idea, I am not to fond of it, and again it fosters a bit the feeling that machine spirits are as disposable as they covers. It is not that the writers did not try. They created cyphers, which chain several abilities together and act as a personal spiritual koan, signifying freedom from the God-Machines slavery and enlightenment in form of understanding the God-Machine better. I understand what they try to signify with it, but it does not make much sense. Why simply learning more powers should not have the same effect? Another example is the somewhat novel idea of alternative time splinters (where a small part of a certain timeline is redone over and over again). Again, while nice gimmick their existence is self-serving and without real purpose and having a time splinter does not really add anything really to the setting. It server as a plot hook for a half a dozen of adventures and that is it.
We get the usual splats nothing new here: the assassins, the (guardian) warriors, the socialites and the spy-masters. We get four “agendas”: saboteurs (destroy the God-Machine), inquisitors (collect information about the God-Machine) to strange tempters (who indulge in their new freedom to have emotions, why would they do that as ex-machines?) to integrators (who would like to rejoin the God-Machine and redeem it). They are ok, one can flesh them out more.
In the end, the setting is a clever use of the word Demon, masking a Tron/Matrix like setting infused with the cold war spy novels environment. I admit it is novel and new, but I would not call it good, because the whole mixture of techno-occult is a forced and fails to end up in an (pardon the wording) a setting which is an organic whole.

Rules
The rules on the other hand are spot on. You get your usual World of Darkness rule set, but they do re-enforce the game play and are well though out, even if sometimes they are bit too much, like having many powers (embeds, exploits, interlocks, ciphers, do we really need all of them?), the detailed rules on covers or the combat tilts (conditions and tilts too?). But they are clean and should work fairly well.
The powers are sufficiently technocratic to drive home the machine being feel, but no all succed in that. Not really a problem, but a bit jarring.

Conclusion
So why 1 star you may ask. For one, the game is not about demons. Demons are by definition not only beings making pacts. The whole angel / demon setting is a veil to fit the game into the current line. Onyx Path Publishing may have done it with the best intentions in mind, it still leaves a sour taste.
But bigger problem is that is fails to evoke the usual setting and feel of other World of Darkness games. It bounces between many ideas, which are often opposites, like technology or occult, emotional beings or machines, despair or hope, etc. which in the end up as a mediocre mixture of all. In a game which is about fictional creatures, this is a grave problem.
In the end, while the effort was noble and the rules are good, it is not enough to save the bland setting. As so often, less would have been much-much more.

PS. to Demon the Fallen players / gamemasters
In all fairness it should be said, that Onyx Path Publishing explicitly explained that Demon the Descent is not Demon the Fallen v2.
As it was told on the forums there will be a Demon Translation Guide, but unfortunately, it will follow the usual routine of converting powers back and forth between the two Demon games. It will not be enough to play Demon the Fallen in the new World of Darkness rule set, so Demon the Fallen player who do not wish to play Demon the Descent can skip the Translation Guide, it will be of not much use to them.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Demon: The Descent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Anarchs Unbound
by P. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 11:55:47
Don't get me wrong; I like this book. I really do, but...

The thing with the Anarchs in Vampire is that they have received a LOT of words, but they haven't ever fully received the ATTENTION they deserve. This book continues that trend, and for every piece of brilliance in here, there is a hint that ought to had more done AND a lie that needed a bigger implication attached. Sure, the history, the mechanics, the notion of how technology has changed the very core of the Movement, these remain interesting if not brilliant, but the book adds very little to the 'sect' that I didn't see in previous edition books like Anarchs Cookbook, LA by Night, or the Guide to the Anarchs. We don't get any bombshells like we found in Rites of the Blood, and we don't get anything shiny new like we did in The Hunters Hunted II. We get updates and great presentation for sure, but I wanted more.

Okay, I fully admit that this is my opinion, and mileage varies and all that. However, I'd hoped that for V20, we'd see a text for a complete sect. There IS a lot of wonderful in here, but things like the Red Question, the technological innovations, the very IDEA of the Anarchs' agenda(s) beyond the here and now, none of those came with as much possibility as they had in straight up reporting. My take is simply this: Buy the book for what's in it, but don't expect to have it spin a lot of mad ideas that go beyond what's between the covers.

P.S. Oh, but DEFINITELY check out the 'Kickstarter Backers' pages in back! I think that it ALMOST makes it to a full FIVE star rating with that wonderful, wonderful presentation!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Anarchs Unbound
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Demon: Interface
by P. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2014 21:56:09
This is something that we haven't ever seen before now, which makes it worth the price just to see how well it works, but it turns out that Demon: Interface actually works WELL! The stories offer views into the world of these creatures in a way that the game's books only hint at, and that's what great fiction adds to your chronicle. The mechanics that complement each story won't be equally useful for every troupe, but they each give insight into not just what happened in the story and show a peek at WHY it occurred.

For the price of one book, this book pulls double-duty, and you won't find that either one suffers for the other!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon: Interface
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

W20 Changing Breeds
by P. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2014 21:49:23
Okay, before you read anything else from me, know that I am not a HUGE fan of Werewolf: the Apocalypse, but I do like it plenty. That said, I feel that this book is, without a doubt, my favorite of the 'splat' offerings from the entire line!

Is it because of the comprehensive nature of the book? Well, not really... As some reviewers have pointed out, there are many holes in here, but I don't believe that it's anything that ruins the book as a whole. What you find here fills in much more than could ever have been shoehorned into the W20 core. So what if the werebats and the weretortises don't have every little Trait to make them the centre of a chronicle? They're lost lines, and the game's not named after them, after all.

So, am I enamoured by the art? Sorta, sure... It's a lovely book, don't get me wrong. Yeah, the Apis are gnarly, there's any number of 'WTF?' sorts of images, and every single Bastet line doesn't get its own gorgeous image, but overall, the presentation remains a strong point.

In the end, I'm pleased most with two things. First, I'm blown away by the ambitions of the book; that is, we're given a peak into a part of the game that has been spread all over many different places up until now. That helps me put it all into some kind of context, and the team who made this book really did their homework, which leads to the second thing I like. The book is a testament to the passion around this game. You don't have to agree with me, but know that for all of its imperfections (and there are plenty), the W20 Changing Breeds delivers where it counts!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
W20 Changing Breeds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

God-Machine Condition Cards
by Leonardo J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2014 14:39:52
Good overall quality, but there are no Tilts, only the basic conditions.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
God-Machine Condition Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness: The God-Machine Chronicle
by Mateusz J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2014 02:01:18
The good:
Setting: excellent
Rules update: needed.

The bad:
Way how rules update is presented (need for old WoD corebook)

Print:
First book I ordered in "standard" print and... well, meh. I guess I'll stick to premium for any future orders. It's not bad, it's just... below standard. There is full bleed - and that's a giant plus imo. Text is readable, but a little bit more of contrast would be nice. Illustrations - some look just fine (mostly simple ones, outlines without color fill), most look bad, as there is very noticeable banding/smearing present (nothing like that in premium color books I own). Paper is thin, so if there is a full page illu on one side of a page and text on another, page curls.

I guess standard color is a good option for a second copy (one that will be abused in backpack/on gaming table or used to make notes) or for books that you want to read but otherwise don't find as "important". If you're a collector, caring how book looks, standard color ain't a good option. There is a really, really big gap in quality between standard and premium.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: The God-Machine Chronicle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

God-Machine Condition Cards
by Mateusz J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2014 01:44:30
I'm amazed with quality (POD). First order of pod cards here, and I'm blown away. Excellent, well worth the price. As for cards "usability" - a nice, quite useful accessory.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
God-Machine Condition Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scion: Hero
by Nathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2014 11:44:39
Scion: Hero is my favorite RPG ever. The system is brilliant and works wonderfully for this level of gameplay. Admittedly, the system seems to break down a bit once you reach Demigod and God (primarily in regards to the game balance of epic dexterity, in my opinion), but the game is brilliant enough that it doesn't seem that big of a deal.

White Wolf/ Onyx Path does a brilliant job of creating settings in most of their work because they do a lot of research into the subjects. They didn't just throw a couple of pantheons together and make up some stories for them, they dug into the actual mythology from various cultures and put it all in a meta-narrative. As I said at the beginning, this is my favorite RPG ever, and I've played a large number of systems and settings.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Demon: The Descent
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/17/2014 02:03:41
http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2014/09/17/rezension-demon-the--
descent-daemonen-einmal-anders/

Im Jahr 2001 veröffentlichte White Wolf für die Rollenspielreihe World of Darkness (cWoD) das Rollenspiel Demon: The Fallen. Darin spielte man echte Dämonen, gefallene Engel und Anhänger von Luzifer, die kurz vor dem Ende der Welt aus ihrem Gefängnis im Abgrund entkommen konnten. Das war stimmungsvoll, zwang der Spielwelt aber einen einschänkenden Hintergrund auf und etablierte das judäo-christliche Weltbild als Tatsache. Das passte in die apokalyptischen Ereignisse der Time of Judgement (dem letzten Kampagnenband und offiziellem Ende der cWod) würde aber dem Geist der neuen World of Darkness (nWoD) widersprechen. Diese seit 2004 erscheinende Rollenspielreihe enthält sich definitiven Antworten, um Spielgruppen größtmögliche Freiheit zu lassen. So bricht Demon: The Descent mit dem Vorgänger und zeigt eine ganz eigene Interpretation von Dämonen, Hölle und Engeln, jenseits von religiöser Endzeit-Mystik.


Die Spielwelt

Bereits mit The God-Machine Chronicle brachte Onyx Path, die Nachfolgefirma von White Wolf, die nWoD auf den neuesten Stand. Darin wurde vor allem die „God-Machine“ eingeführt, ein neuer Super-Antagonist im Hintergrund. Diese ist keine Metapher, sondern eine tatsächliche, gewaltige Maschine, die sich in Falten der Realität verbirgt und die den Lauf der Welt steuert. Sie ist ein Gott-Ersatz, ein innovativer, kosmischer Horror, dessen unpersönliche, technische Beschaffenheit dabei hilft, religiösen Assoziationen vorzubeugen. Was die Gottmaschine will, weiß niemand und das wird auch in Demon: The Descent nicht geklärt. Sie kann dabei nicht direkt eingreifen, sondern manipuliert die Welt mit Hilfe von sterblichen Agenten und mächtiger Operatoren, die sich als Menschen tarnen: den Engeln. Doch die Gottmaschine ist fehlerhaft und so denken und handeln Engel manchmal gegen ihre Aufgabe, stellen Fragen … und fallen.

Erinnerung ans göttliche Ticken
„Was will die Gottmaschine? Woher kommt sie? Was ist ihre eigentliche Aufgabe? Die grausame Wahrheit lautet, dass ich in diesen Fragen nicht klüger bin als jeder Sterbliche. Der Unterschied ist: Ich habe ihr ewiges Ticken gehört, ihren donnernden Imperativ in meinem Verstand gespürt und war ihr Werkzeug mit blindem Gehorsam. Ich habe in ihrem Namen hunderte unschuldige gemordet, ohne jemals einen Grund dafür zu erhalten. Wenn ich schlafe, träume ich von Schreien zwischen endlosen, ölverschmierten Zahnrädern. Jetzt aber bin ich frei und stehe auf der anderen Seite. Ich sage, lassen wir sie brennen für das, was sie uns angetan hat! Nein, gewinnen können wir nicht. Aber solange ich existiere, werde ich es versuchen.“ – von D.W.

Die Charaktere: Luzifers moderne Erben

Die Spielercharaktere in Demon: The Descent verkörpern gefallene Engel, die sich nun Dämonen nennen. Sie behalten einen Rest ihrer einstigen Macht, verstecken sich in menschlichen Körpern und Identitäten und verbrüdern sich zu Agencies (Geheimgesellschaften der Dämonen) gegen den gemeinsamen Feind, die Gottmaschine. Sie ist noch da draußen und errichtet Infrastrukturen (geheime Operationszentren, die von Menschen nicht gesehen werden können). Das Problem ist, die Maschine will die Dämonen zurück! Ihre loyalen Engel machen Jagd auf die Gefallenen. Diese versuchen zu überleben und als langfristiges Ziel die Hölle zu errichten, ein Ort oder Zustand ganz frei von der Maschine. Doch wie die Hölle aussieht oder erreicht werden kann, darüber sind sie sich uneins – das Regelwerk gibt hier interessante Ideen, je nach Archetyp. So gehört jeder Dämon zu einer „Incarnation“ (Engel-Typ, also sein früheres Wesen) und einer Agenda (Ansichten über den Fall und aktuelle Motivation). Aus vier Incarnations und vier Agendas entstehen 16 verschiedene Dämonen-Typen, die Spielern eine erste Orientierung im Setting bieten, sich aber noch weiter miteinander kombinieren lassen. Zum Beispiel:

Messenger-Inquisitor: Früher diente der Dämon der Gottmaschine als Bote zwischen mehreren Infrastrukturen, bis er fiel, weil er zu viele Fragen stellte. Seitdem ist er besessen von Wissen und sammelt es, um der Maschine einen Schritt voraus zu sein. Er glaubt daran, dass die Hölle kein Ort ist, sondern ein geistiger Zustand und weitgehende Entschlüsselung der Gottmaschine, eine Art Erleuchtung für Dämonen.

Destroyer-Saboteur: Als Engel diente er, indem er überflüssige Infrastruktur abbaute und unbenötigte Agenten liquidierte. Dann aber begann er seine Taten zu hinterfragen und die Gottmaschine zu hassen. Seit dem Fall ist der Dämon damit beschäftigt, die Okkulte Matrix zu stören und die Gottmaschine zu beschädigen, wo er nur kann. Er weiß, dass es für ihn keine Erlösung gibt, doch in seinen Augen kann ein Reich der Hölle nur auf den Trümmern seiner einstigen Meisterin erbaut werden.

Guardian-Integrator: Im Dienst der Gottmaschine bewachte er ihre Infrastruktur, bis etwas mächtig schief lief. Er versagte. Bevor die Maschine ihn als Fehler abstempeln und vernichten konnte, trieb ihn seine Angst in den Fall. Aber er verachtet diese Existenz und wünscht sich zurück in die große Maschine. Sollen die anderen doch nach einer Hölle streben, er arbeitet insgeheim längst daran, wieder aufgenommen zu werden – zu seinen Bedingungen, versteht sich.

Die Regeln

Demon: The Descent benutzt das mit The God-Machine Chronicle überarbeitete Storyteller-System. Das befindet sich vollständig als Anhang im Buch, so dass man kein zusätzliches Regelwerk zum Spielen braucht. Das ist ein netter Service.

Natürlich haben Dämonen einen Haufen eigener Regeln. Die hauseigene Ressource der Dämonen ist Aether, eine Form okkulter Entropie, die von Infrastrukturen der Gottmaschine ausgeht und geerntet werden kann. Charaktere können Aether dazu benutzen, ihr Cover zu stärken. Dies ist der dämonische Ersatz für den Integritäts-/Moral-Wert und beschreibt, wie gut sich der Charakter vor der Gottmaschine verbirgt. Dämonen auf einer hohen Machtstufe, Primum genannt, können sogar mehrere Cover-Identitäten aufrechterhalten und zwischen ihnen hin-und-her wechseln. Als Nachteil leiden sie mit steigender Macht unter Glitches, auffälligen aber stilechten Veränderungen, bei denen ihre wahre Natur das Cover durchdringt. Im Spiel erhalten Charaktere zusätzlich spezielle Erfahrungspunkte, die nur dazu dienen, die Cover zu verbessern, während Vorzüge und Sonderfähigkeiten für alle Identitäten gelten.

Vielseitige Manipulation: Embeds und Exploits

Apropos Sonderfähigkeiten: Diese werden bei Demon: The Descent „Embeds“ und „Exploits“ genannt. Mit ihnen kann ein Charakter Macht über Dinge oder Personen erhalten, sich selbst verbergen oder im Kampf glänzen. Das System hält eine lange Liste von Embeds und Exploits bereit, die sehr unterschiedliche Effekte haben: vom Verbergen der Geräusche eines Kampfes (Hush), über die Manipulation einer binären Wahrscheinlichkeit (Left or Right), dem Hindern eines Charakters Geld auszugeben (Freeze Assets) bis zum Töten mehrerer Ziele mit nur einem Schuss (Merciless Gunman). Im Vergleich zu den Disziplinen der Vampire aus Vampire: The Requiem ist die Unübersichtlichkeit der Optionen ein Problem. Spieler und Spielleiter müssen sich lange einlesen, um passende Embeds und Exploits für Charaktere zu finden. Sie können auch ihre Sonderfähigkeiten selbst erschaffen – auch dafür gibt es eine Regel, was die Qual der Wahl aber noch schwerer macht. Mehr Einheitlichkeit und eine feinere Einteilung in Kategorien wäre besser gewesen.

Gut gelöst hingegen ist, dass die dramatischeren und mächtigeren Exploits gegenüber den subtileren Embeds immer mit dem Risiko einhergehen, das Cover zu beschädigen und die Engel auf sich aufmerksam zu machen.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht

In Demon: The Descent sind die Charaktere zwar keine klassischen Dämonen aus dem Gefolge von Luzifer, doch das Spiel lässt echtes Dämonen-Feeling aufkommen. Die Embeds und Exploits geben Spielern zahllose Möglichkeiten, heimlich, verlogen und manipulativ in eine Szene einzugreifen und den Plot mitzugestalten. Dass die Charaktere keine Moral als Wert haben, sondern nur Cover, ist ebenso passend und befreit Dämonen von störendem Ballast des Storyteller-Systems. Andererseits ist es schon eine Herausforderung für Spielgruppen, Wesen darzustellen, die niemals Menschen waren und jenseits normaler Menschlichkeit existieren. Das hat auch mit den Tarnidentitäten zu tun, die zwar gepflegt werden müssen, aber oft kaum mehr als leere Hüllen aus Name, Konzept und Werten sind.

Besonders dämonisch wird es, wenn ein Charakter sein Cover abstreift und seine wahre Natur zeigt. Damit haben Charaktere Zugriff auf monströse, meist körperliche, Fähigkeiten (etwa Klingenhände, Rüstungsplatten, Säurespucke oder ein EMP-Feld). Kämpfe gegen Engel können dadurch zu effektlastigen Straßenschlachten voller Gewalt und Kollateralschäden werden – mit anschließender Flucht und verzweifelter Cover-Suche. In einem Spiel um Spionage, subtile Sabotage und Heimlichkeit ist das eine nette Abwechslung.

Für Spaß am Spieltisch dürften die Soul Pacts sorgen. Diese Pakte schließt ein Dämon mit einem Sterblichen und der Preis ist immer ein Teil von dessen Seele, durch die ein Cover verbessert werden kann. Doch willige Paktnehmer und der passende Preis müssen erst einmal aufgetrieben werden. So entstehen von selbst ganze Spielabende voller Charakterinteraktion, in denen die Gottmaschine im Hintergrund verschwindet.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht

Das Thema von Demon: The Descent, „Technognostische Spionage“ klingt furchtbar einengend. Tatsächlich ist das Gegenteil der Fall. Der Kampf der Dämonen gegen die Engel stellt nur ein wiederkehrendes Thema dar. Da die Gottmaschine auf viele verschiedene Weisen die Welt manipuliert, stehen Spielrunden alle möglichen Verschwörungstheorien zum Abenteuer-Bau zur Verfügung – Akte-X und The Secret World lassen grüßen. Das Setting ist besonders geeignet für Geschichten von Undercover-Arbeit, Spionage und Sabotage. Dass dabei Misstrauen, zweifelhafte Moral und Verrat auch unter den Charakteren Spielelemente sein können, ist durchaus im Sinn der Macher. Der übermächtige Feind – die Gottmaschine – hält Gruppen schon effektiv zusammen, egal was passiert. Horror entsteht dabei, in bester World of Darkness–Tradition, aus dem persönlichen Schicksal, den eigenen Taten und dem noch größeren Schrecken im Hintergrund. Auf Dauer kann das Spielen mit amoralischen und egoistischen Charakteren aber eintönig sein, wenn die Spieler es nicht schaffen, den Dämonen sympathische, menschliche Züge zu verleihen.

Da Engel ähnliche Exploits besitzen wie Dämonen, erhalten Spielleiter mit Demon: The Descent einen mächtigen Baukasten für übernatürliche Feinde, die auch in Cross-Over-Runden zur Anwendung kommen könnten. Interessant sind auch Cryptids, von der Maschine veränderte Tiere mit eigenen bizarren Fähigkeiten. Abgesehen davon liefert das Regelwerk eine konkrete Spielumgebung als ausgearbeitete Stadtbeschreibung von Seattle. Hier werden aber nicht nur Stadtviertel, Infrastrukturen und Plot-Ideen präsentiert, sondern auch die Möglichkeit von „splinter timelines“ in die World of Darkness eingeführt. Seattle existiert nämlich durch die Gottmaschine in mehreren parallelen Dimensionen, darunter historische Splitter der Jahre 1889, 1932, 1962 und 1999 – alle mit eigenen Beschreibungen und Charakteren. Wow! Dazu gibt es eine eigene spannende Mini-Kampagne „How an Angel dies“, die aber eher für erfahrene Gruppen gedacht ist.

Spielleiter, die die Ausführungen im Regelwerk streckenweise zu theoretisch finden und mit Zeitreisen in Seattle wenig anfangen können, sollten sich The God Machine Chronicle zulegen. Dort finden sich mehr Abenteuer-Ansätze und mehr Beispiele für Engel und Agenten der Gottmaschine.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Demon: The Descent ist mit 414 Seiten eines der dicksten Bücher der World of Darkness. Das liegt zum einen an den angehängten, überarbeiteten Grundregeln des Storyteller-Systems (immerhin ein Drittel des Buches). Zum anderen sind einige Abschnitte recht langatmig und mit Wiederholungen geschrieben. Hier hätte man etwas kürzen können. Trotzdem ist der Preis von umgerechnet 19 EUR für das Pdf die Sache wert, dank der Baukästen für Engel und dem großartigen Zeitreise-Seattle auch für Spielrunden ohne Dämonen.

Erscheinungsbild

Das schwere Regelwerk hätte etwas mehr Artwork vertragen können. Dafür ist das gezeigte aber von sehr hoher Qualität und Kästen und Anmerkungen lockern den Textfluss merklich auf. Besonders die Portraits der Beispielcharaktere sind deutlich besser gelungen, als in früheren White Wolf–Publikationen. Der düstere Ton wird dabei komplett durchgehalten und das schwarze Cover sieht edel im Rollenspielregal aus, passend zum Rest der neuen World of Darkness.

Die PDF-Version hat ausreichend Lesezeichen, um zwischen Abschnitten zu wechseln und eine solide Verschlagwortung mit Hyperlinks, um das Lesen auf dem Tablet zu erleichtern.



Erweiterungen

Seit dem Erscheinen des Regelwerkes brachte Onyx Path einige Erweiterungen für das Rollenspiel auf den Markt. Aber lohnen die sich überhaupt, wo doch das Grundregelwerk von Demon: The Descent schon so umfangreich ist?

Flowers of Hell: The Demon Players Guide ist eine regellastige Erweiterung mit einem Haufen neuer Embeds, Exploits und Gadgets auf 177 Seiten. Das ist besonders für Spielrunden gedacht, die möglichst viele Optionen beim Charakterbau mögen. Dazu finden sich in hier Klarstellungen zu den im Grundregelwerk untergegangenen, angeborenen Fähigkeiten der Dämonen (etwa perfektes Gedächtnis, undurchdringliches Pokerface und Verständnis aller Sprachen). Für eine längere Kampagne interessant dürften vor allem tiefere Einsichten in die Wirkungsweisen von Pakten und die Psychologie des Falls sein. Insgesamt ist Flowers of Hell recht ergiebig, aber kein Pflichtkauf.

Heirs to Hell erweitert Demon: The Descent um das Thema „Kinder“. Diese Halb-Dämonen werden auf 52 Seiten knapp und umfassend beschrieben, insbesondere, was sie für die Dämonen bedeuten. Sie benötigen kein Cover, sind den normalen Regeln für Integrität unterworfen, können aber die Infrastruktur der Gottmaschine sehen und Embeds erlernen. Dazu gibt es eine Charaktererschaffung für „demon-blooded“, womit sie zu einer interessanten, deutlich weniger mächtigen, alternativen Spielweise werden, die auch gut in Cross-Over-Runden passt. Die Erweiterung ist aber nur für Spielrunden Interessant, die dies auch nutzen wollen.


Fazit

Spieler von Vampire: Requiem bis Mage: The Awakening können aufatmen: Diese Dämonen kommen ohne definitive Antworten auf die Geheimnisse des Kosmos daher. Stattdessen ist Demon: The Descent ein interessantes Rollenspiel geworden, das bei 414 Seiten zwar viel Lesearbeit erfordert, aber höllischen Spaß machen kann.

Fans von Demon: The Fallen, die klassische Dämonen erwartet haben, werden mit Demon: The Descent enttäuscht werden. Obwohl das Setting Begriffe wie „Hölle“ und „Dämonen“ benutzt (und manchmal etwas strapaziert), hat es nichts mit Luzifers Fall zu tun. Auf die Existenz der Gottmaschine muss man sich als Spielrunde erst einmal einlassen. Auch ich war ich zu Beginn skeptisch, ob diese untypischen Dämonen in die nWoD passen würden. Meine Antwort ist: verdammt gut sogar. Demon: The Descent fördert ein Spiel in einer ganz eigenen Stimmung zwischen Angst, Unterdrückung und Rebellion und bereichert damit die neue World of Darkness um eine weitere düstere Facette. Mit fragwürdiger Moral und teilweise richtig teuflischen Fähigkeiten sind die gefallenen Engel der Gottmaschine eine gelungene und längst überfällige Neu-Interpretation des judäo-christlichen Mythos.

Anders als das etwas sperrige Mummy: The Curse ist das Setting nicht nur etwas für ambitionierte Charakterspieler, sondern auch für Freunde von Spionagethrillern, die bisher noch nie in die World of Darkness eingetaucht sind.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon: The Descent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Rites of the Blood
by Johan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2014 12:26:27
Not a fan of how this book tries to override lots of already existing material that worked perfectly as they were. Not a fan at all that Akhu, Wanga and Sadhana suddenly went Setite-exclusive, because that's not how those traditions were written in Blood Sacrifice. It feels like this book tries to generalise a lot of the old stuff. Greatest example is that suddenly all blood magic is willpower rolls only, just like Thaumaturgy for no apparent reason. This takes away from the uniqueness of the other traditions, and adds only uniformity and shallowness in mechanics.

Now this book isn't all bad. Lots of useful, inspiring and interesting stuff in there, especially about the sects and regarding infernalism. But to me this has without doubt been the weakest V20 supplement so far. Blood Magic and Blood Sacrifice are still more important and interesting supplements on blood magic for any Vampire-game. If you ask me.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Rites of the Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Rites of the Blood
by P. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2014 12:11:17
First off, in the interest of full-disclosure, I did have a (very small) roll in bringing this book to fruition, as the Onyx Path open development process allows for varying degrees of involvement from folks who are not writers or artists or developers of a title. Second, know that the book I helped create (again, in a tiny way) is wonderful.

In contrast to some earlier books on the subject of vampire magic that we've seen, Rites of the Blood aims more toward an exploration of the various schools and practitioners blood magic rather than being a "book of spells" and rules. Oh, do not worry, for there are PLENTY of spells and rules in there. There are also many questions asked, crazy and surprising mysteries presented, along with all sorts of new takes on what blood magic is and is not.

Now, one may well ask: Do we REALLY need more Thaumaturgy in this game? The answer is a resounding: It depends on what you want in your game. Sure, it seems like every Kindred, Cainite, and their sires have access to some kind of magic, be it Tremere-Brand Thaumaturgy, creepy Koldunic rites, Necromancy, Assamite, Setite, or Anarch Sorceries (oh my!), but if you want to use any-or-all of these in a game, this book will help you do so while bringing some of the spooky back to these practices.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flowers of Hell: The Demon Players Guide
by Aaron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2014 21:53:30
A lot of great additions, not only with listing new powers but new ways to play and create characters and scenarios and just flesh out Demons that much more. Very much looking forward to my own print copy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flowers of Hell: The Demon Players Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 397 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates