DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Primal Heroes: The Magus
by shanon h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2014 16:44:23
I was quite pleased with the abundance of interesting ideas in this PDF. I really like the flexible progression of the class and the variant turning and rebuking abilities. The artwork and graphic design are fantastic. The overall package is impressive and the price is just silly for this amount of depth. Can’t wait to play a game with all the classes in this series. One happy return customer here!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Primal Heroes: The Magus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Public Enemy: Lord Foulwind
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/09/2014 10:22:41
Making for a fun and original opponent for your superheroes, Lord Foulwind is a troll trapped here after finding a means to open a portal from, well, whatever fantasy world he came from. Capable of magic use as well as having normal troll capabilities like regeneration, he's smart enough to make a formidable foe.

There's plenty of background to help you bring him to (smelly) life, as well as several plot hooks to bring him into the action; and of course a full stat block to take care of the mechanics.

Lots of little touches make Lord Foulwind a bit more than just a classic fantasy monster dumped into a superpowered world, he has his place and his plans... and it's up to your party to deal with him before he makes even more of a problem of himself than he has already! A nice interpretation.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Public Enemy: Lord Foulwind
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow Girl
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/18/2013 11:44:25
Guess this is a warning, a cautionary tale about keeping your fantasy life firmly where it belongs...

Nicely told tale of an ordinary teenage girl who makes much of seeming unpopularity, lets it get to her, and seeks refuge in online gaming... until somehow she discovers the ability to turn into her character complete with the complete lack of moral compass common to many RPG characters. Well, I mean, we mostly do not do the things our characters get up to in the real world.

Then she meets with the chief bully...

And her best friend, also a gamer, has to make a choice about what to do.

Quite a thought-provoking tale.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow Girl
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wilderness Traps
by Ted F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2013 16:39:43
Fun little traps. I had a few others in mind and didn't see them, so didn't give it 5 stars - but overall it was good for the money and gave me some ideas.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderness Traps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Handguns of WWII
by Sean F. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/30/2013 18:22:53
SEAN'S PICK OF THE DAY: This is one of those useful bits of content that just jumped out at me. Fact is, anyone playing in the WWII era should probably check out the rest of their stuff, too.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Handguns of WWII
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wilderness Traps
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2011 18:40:24
This is a great idea and it's remarkable to me that there have been so few suggestions for the game along these lines - which is probably why I feel such an urge to tinker with it. Though short, the coverage of devices seems reliable.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderness Traps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

22 Talent Trees
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/10/2011 19:08:21
Talents were and are one of the most interesting parts of the d20 Modern approach to classes. By using classes based off the attributes, characters could be customized to a high degree through mixing the base classes as you developed. Talents, by contrast, rewarded you for sticking with a class long enough to develop special effects in that class. 22 Talent Trees is exactly what it sounds like. The art is minimal (which tickles this reviewer's cold dead heart), but the talents themselves are solid, most having to do with expanded specialization rather than new effects. (The few exceptions to this are often less balanced than the others.)

For those doing medical dramas with d20 Modern, there's also an expanded Treat Injury system for transplants. Much like the Surgery feat itself, I never quite saw the point of that level of detail in a system that modeled injury with hit points. No harm no foul, though, if you used Surgery in your game, you are likely to enjoy this small bolt-on.

With a sub-$3 price, there's no reason to pass up 22 Talent Trees if, like me, you still enjoy d20 Modern for its potential for character customization.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
22 Talent Trees
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

1948:Top Secret Explosives
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2010 01:09:49
Useful run-down on various sabotage devices and booby-traps of the period. d20 stats look reliable.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1948:Top Secret Explosives
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Figurines of Wondrous Power: Marble Chess Set
by erathoniel w. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/13/2010 16:08:20
This is a decent product, until you look further. However, despite its relatively high quality, it suffers from a few problems.

There is no mention of how frequently the figurines that turn into the characters appear, nor how one would get one (other than a brief crafting blurb). They are apparently spontaneously created chess pieces that are enchanted. I know d20 doesn't really come with any settings attached like a certain parent game did, but how hard is it to write up some flavor to break the space between numbers up? They're basically hirelings but totally mechanical.

On the upside, it does have a good degree of unique content, and shows new spells, equipment, and feats on character pages for later explanation. The art, if cheesy (and the pawn does *not* look human, despite being stated to be, he's more of an elf in my opinion), is decent in quality, though it's not a selling point.

On the other hand, it's too dependent on other works by the author. I know it's part of a book, but then explain it. Using standard classes instead would be easy and not too damaging. The typesetting is of about average quality, and for a maker with 50+ products, they should've gotten that right by now. For some reason it made my eyes hurt a little, though that may not be its fault, since I've been traveling recently and a bit tired.

It's also short. 8 full pages of content, if you don't count the front cover [which has a little stuff, so it's a mite unfair], the advertisements for other products which it kinda sorta halfway requires, and the legalese, leave you wondering about the other stuff. Similar chess sets are mentioned, but not shown.

Good idea, good writing, bad presentation, bad prerequisites. It's still got useful stuff for any game, but it'd really shine in conjunction with the content it requires, or with it already modified (they say how to make alternatives, but why should a GM pay to make up his own content based off of someone else's?).

Also, just nitpicking, because I know that it's fairly common to do stuff like this, but some of the feats are unbalanced and arbitrary. Why need 52 hp for a feat? Why not a certain Constitution and level?

If you're too lazy to come up with your own stuff, or if you want a chess motif, go for it, otherwise it's just not worth it. Use a character generator (and there are *many* for 3.5) or make some yourself by hand if you have the time and effort.

Or, better yet, just play a game of chess. You get the chess motif, and you don't have to buy other stuff. And you don't have to do paperwork or interpret arbitrary numbers for it.

tl;dr: It's cheap, literally and figuratively. Buyer beware.

Reviewer's Note: I am snarky today, so if this is a little harsh, tough. I also like chess, even if I can't play it myself, so this has to compete a lot. No, I don't hate d20, I just prefer stuff that doesn't try to rip off other stuff that is perfectly enjoyable and add more stuff.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Figurines of Wondrous Power: Marble Chess Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

1948: The HE-111-Z
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2010 15:06:50
Strays from the actual historical aircraft, but has some interesting alternate history variants. Good addition to Leftkrieg or Luftwaffe 46 games.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1948: The HE-111-Z
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

1948: Specialized Training Manual
by Rick K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2009 22:57:29
Good addition to the Hell on Earth game. Bloodstone is planning to release additional supplements soon, and this should definitely help to flesh out the flavor of 1948 further. Can't wait!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1948: Specialized Training Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

1948: Basic Training Manual
by Rick K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2009 22:54:03
Nice supplement. All of the supplements add to the overall usefullness of the Hell on Earth game. My campaign is European theater, so the 'Ninja' product will probably be the only supplement I don't eventually purchase. Contacted Bloodstone and they replied that they definitely plan on continuing to release supplements, which was good news!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1948: Basic Training Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
by Rick K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2009 22:48:14
I've purchased this and several of the 1948 supplements. By far the best WW2 sourcebook for D20 out there! Sticks to the basics of D20 and is consistent, unlike many of the others, which are either unbalanced or too pulpy for my tastes. If you want realism with an alternate timeline, I highly recommend this product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nature's Wrath
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/05/2009 09:27:03
Did you think that ravening monsters and evil wizards were the main threats against your character's life and well-being? Think again!

This book aims to give the DM a range of natural ways of making characters ill - the sorts of 'real world' dangers that threaten anyone, particularly in the average mediaeval-style setting of most D&D games. Each is provided with game information in the shape of Fortitude saves to avoid or minimise the effects, and a range of effects over and above mere attribute loss, designed to enhance role-playing and realism.

The first chapter looks at plant-based poisons. While many could be used by an evil herbalist or assassin, the emphasis is on accidental poisoning - eating the wrong mushroom or a dodgy piece of shellfish - rather than deliberate attempts to do away with someone. The effects are bad enough to make anyone want to think twice about what they are just about to eat. It's good to see the linkage between 'game effects' such as hit point and attribute loss and negative circumstance modifiers, and more descriptive effects such as suffering stomach cramps or extreme thirst. The tools are there for those who want to role-play the difficulties that their characters are in.

The second chapter gives the same treatment to diseases - how easy and under what conditions you might catch them, what the effects are and how (if) you'll get better. There are also some variants on the standard D&D rules for curing diseases by spell - so that those DMs who want to make use of diseases will not see them waved out of existence by a cleric's hand! These new rules are well-thought out and still give characters a good chance of survival without making it a certainty, or enabling them to bypass all the ill effects.

This is a book to be used with caution. It would be all too easy to just fill your world with poisonous plants and nasty illnesses, and end up with characters too feeble to wave a sword or cast a spell. But used with care, it can add an extra layer of realism to your game world.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nature's Wrath
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spellbinder's Sourcebook II
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/05/2009 09:15:08
Here is a collection of 50 arcane spells, of which 25 are brand-new and 25 come from past Bloodstone Press products, all fine-tuned for use with the 3.5 revision of D&D.

Most of the spells are suited for combat casting, with a wonderful range of really nasty things to do to your opposition. Fancy casting disembowel and literally watch his guts fall out? Blood, sweat and tears will leave him bleeding and tired out with blurred vision... just ready for your fighter cohorts to dive in to the attack. Or if you know someone who talks too much, try lockjaw, which will stop him spellcasting or even eating or drinking as he cannot move his jaws!

More subtle spellcasters might care to disguise themselves with masquerade, prior to casting contumancy and turning the enemy's henchmen into an argumentative and disobedient horde.

Overall, a good collection, especially for the combat-oriented spell-slinger, and interesting things to add to the NPCs' spellbooks for your players to find and experiment with for themselves. It's already giving me ideas for things to add to the next adventure in the game I run!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spellbinder's Sourcebook II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 132 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates