DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
PERMES
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Artillery #1 - 30 Years War
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2014 15:55:10
I mostly like this set. The figures are quite nice and have a variety of poses for working the various positions of the guns. My one problem with this set is the flat gun. There are three types of guns (Light, Medium, Heavy) bt each is simply a profile and is completely flat. This is a bit of a miss for me. I think the flat guns look a little "funny". It would have been easy enough to make a 2.5D version where the carriage is flat the wheels are separate and then there would be a flat cross piece to connect the carriage to the wheels. I've done this sort of thing with Junior General cannons. I hope the designer will consider updating this kit with that sort of model. It really adds a lot to the model.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Artillery #1 - 30 Years War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pikemen FACTIONS - 30 Years' War #2
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2014 15:50:54
This set has pikement and command in 5 colors. They can be combined with the flag mod set for even more variety. Very nice drawings and lots of poses like the musketeer sets with both side and front views. Like others you can use a paint program (GIMP) for making entire sheets of similar poses. Recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pikemen FACTIONS - 30 Years' War #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pikemen IV FACTIONS - 30 Years' War #4
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2014 15:48:40
This set is really a bit more of a command set with a few new pike poses. There are 5 colors in the set and a modular flag set so you can model different armies and so forth. Like the other sets, copy and paste is not disabled so you can import them to your favorite paint program and mod further or make entire sheets of similar poses. Recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pikemen IV FACTIONS - 30 Years' War #4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Musketeers #2 FACTIONS - 30 Years' War
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2014 15:46:09
What can I say? I delivers what it says on the tin! 30YW/ECW Musketeers both front on and side view. There is enough variety to make a good irregular looking unit or you can take your preference and do all side views or all front views. This set has something like five different uniform colors. You can import these and make entire sheets of a single figure type if you like. This is a must have if you plan on gaming Pike and Shot in paper.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Musketeers #2 FACTIONS - 30 Years' War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Reiters - 30 Years War
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2014 15:43:17
This is a nice set of cavalry figures and there is enough to cover most mounted types for the TYW/ECW. There are no lobsterpot helmets but that is a pretty small problem. There is one trooper carrying a long arm which screams dragoon but he is wearing a breast plate. Again small issue. As copy and paste is not disabled in this set, you can import into GIMP and make your own mashups. A nice set to have.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Reiters - 30 Years War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Elven Chariot Squadrons
by Anne W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2014 02:55:28
This is a truly magnificent set from a quality publisher of paper wargaming and RPG models. The artwork is to a high resolution and the colours are rich and visually appealing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elven Chariot Squadrons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ancient Warriors - FREE DEMO Set
by Carl S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2014 12:04:05
Not really what I was expecting. I downloaded this just to see what the art style was like. The art is alright but doesn't mesh well with my vision of my campaign.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Warriors - FREE DEMO Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Knights
by Giorgio G. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2014 12:26:27
There is little to say about Permes' paper miniatures sets. This set offers eight paper figures. Precisely eight "big" great paper minis. Big beause they are big compared to an infantryman paper mini. Great because their quality is gorgeous as usual.

There are five lancers (three with banners) in three different poses and five different colors. A knight with sword and two kings ( ni two different poses ). Plus the usual accessories ( different shields, banners and dragons' chest armors ) to be able to slightly modify the figures.

Great set ( as always ) at a great price ( perhaps too good ). Thank you Permes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Knights
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ROMA AETERNA - Patricians
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/23/2014 06:14:41
A nice collection of well-drawn 2-sided 'flat' miniatures showing a variety of 'upper-class' Romans and their body servants.

The collection includes gentlemen in formal togas, parade armour and 'leisure' tunics, as well as ladies in flowing gowns. Some are seated or reclining (as one would for meals). All are fully-coloured, with a goodly range to pick from... not that I have ever heard of someone wearing a bright yellow toga!

Both male and female servants in appropriate dress are included, bearing jugs of wine and fans (and one fellow with a hat and a stick, not quite sure what he's doing).

A nice touch is incidental furniture - tables, household statues, even a fountain.

A selection of bases are included, along with basic assembly instructions.

Unless your game includes a lot of high-level intrigue where it's important to know where people are, this is more decorative than practical, but very good scene-setting for any Ancient Rome game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ROMA AETERNA - Patricians
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ROMA AETERNA - Gladiators 1
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2014 02:54:00
it's acceptable quality, but a little more expensive than it should be. You get very few models.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ROMA AETERNA - Gladiators 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ROMA AETERNA - Gladiators 2
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2014 02:53:35
it's acceptable quality, but a little more expensive than it should be. You get very few models.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ROMA AETERNA - Gladiators 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ROMA AETERNA - Gladiators 1
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2013 19:23:19
They say it is bad to judge a book by its cover, but the cover of this PDF caught my eye, and I found it striking!

I was only AFTER I read the title did I realize it was PERMES's work! One of the best hand-drawn artist in the industry, his work never fails to satisfy. The scope, perspective and scale are unfailingly accurate, and the multiple color options are perfect for games with characters at various levels, or games that may have multiple players that use the figures, with player using a different color (player one uses blue, player two uses yellow, etc.).

This set offers many high-quality figures for a competitive price. I am an advocate for PERMES and his artwork, and if you purchase this set, you can see why it would benefit you to purchase his entire collection.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ROMA AETERNA - Gladiators 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Medieval Musicians
by Anne T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2013 22:17:16
Have your adventurers ever had anything to celebrate? Perhaps they've started out their adventure at a village fair, a medieval feast, a jousting tournament, a masked ball, or simply in the better brand of tavern… then you need this set. Or perhaps your bard falls on the foppish side, and needs a few changes of clothing and/or instruments...
With bright colours evocative of the period's stained glass, illuminated manuscripts, and tapestries, Permes here rolls out every musical medieval entertainer you could ever need, in wondrous variation. He's also included a framed stage on which your musicians can perform; in theatres, fairs, castles, etc. The figures are well-drawn, with the right level of detail, nice line quality, proper poses, well developed character, and variations in colourways and accessories. There is a page dedicated to each type of musician with the numerous options available, illustrative artwork, and the 3D paper craft stage.
If this set caught your eye before, but you hesitated because it looked ready to deploy whole armies of minstrels from your printer, then fear not. The artist responded to a recent request for a quickstart page, so that those overwhelmed by choice, or those lacking time, ink, or skill, could print a single sheet including a couple of each figure. He's also added a gong and beaters, so that you can end your sessions (or begin your goblin invasions) with a bang ;)
This was the first of Permes' sets that I paid for (I began with his free ones), but even after more sets this one is still my favourite, hands-down. I don't know of any other commercial paper miniature or standee set that fulfills similar roles, and plastic or metal minis would cost you far more in materials, time, and effort to get figures only half as good looking as these. For NPCs that might see no more than a half a session, yet provide wonderful --even essential-- flavour, it's great to have such a set as Permes' Medieval Musicians.
Now if we could only talk him into publishing an orcish marching band to really break up the party, as he teases in his product pictures… ;)


Cost: 5/5 for value (9 core figures with multiple variations in accessories & colour = 92 minis, plus a 3D papercraft stage as BONUS)
Quality: 5/5 for artistic skill, numerous variations, full front & back art
Utility: 5/5; while a niche set, it is one that nothing else fills, and the figures are so great you'll look for ways to work them into your campaigns.
Overall: 5/5

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Musicians
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ancient Warriors Set 1 - Hoplites
by chris h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2013 11:16:23
I do like this product. The figures include some active poses and the colouring and style is great for card soldiers. Quality draughtsmanship.

However, the poses are not much use for creating a phalanx, which one would like to do with hoplites....

Only sheet 3 ( 1 of 6) comes close to allowing this. Sheet six only has side-profile figures so the phalanx is a bit unimpressive from the front...

In addition no figure has a spear ready to use over-arm. Maybe a design problem , but it makes all the figures look tame and parade-ground-ready rather than fighters. A few figures stand front-facing but with a totally static pose. The kneeling men are ...odd. Maybe could be used as marines on a ship.

The biggest fault is that most figures have 'Boeotian' shields. It is highly uncertain these were ever used in reality, so most of the figures here are rendered fit only for fantasy use unless I spend a lot of time in Paint/photoshop with them.

The quality of this product is let down by poor choice of gear on the figures and poor poses. Is the artist a gamer ? Probably not.

Last point. Make some cavalry ! The Macedonian set is beautiful. Some Greek cavalry and maybe even a general and some musicians would be well received I am sure. (I note the superb 30 years war range also totally lacks cavalry.....?!)

I want some good hoplites to fight the Macedonians and the Persians !!!! Just changing the shields would have greatly increased their useability.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Warriors Set 1 - Hoplites
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ancient Warriors Set 2 - Persians
by chris h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2013 10:59:46
These figures are very good. Colourful and accurate enough to satisfy all but rivet counters.
However, the set is not much use without cavalry. Please produce some cavalry or one cannot really field an army. Some barbaric light infantry would also be nice.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Warriors Set 2 - Persians
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 62 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates