DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ogres and Underworlds Monster Sample Pack
by Warren H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2014 23:53:09
Description
A 2 page PDF consisting of a cover and a page describing a monster for Ogres and Underworlds.

Why should I look at this?
If you are trying to decide on whether to purchase Ogres and Underworlds this PDF has a 4th level monster in it you can compare to Quillar the elf from the Character sample. It is only an entry from the Monsterous Encounters product so you can see what the GM has to track during a combat and that the system will easily allow every monster to be different as it is a skill based system and the monster use skills as well. Unlike other systems monsters are not full blown characters so take less to create and handle. As a teaser product it is effective and meets everything promised in the blurb.

Warren Henderson

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ogres and Underworlds Monster Sample Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ogres and Underworlds Character Sample Pack
by Warren H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2014 23:37:43
Description
A 3 page PDF consisting of a cover and 2 pages of content. The content is some promo text for Ogres and Underworlds RPG, design notes and a sample character.

Why should I look at this?
The design notes tell you what the designer had in mind when writing his own game and why he decided to write it in the first place. This can help you decide if the game is one you might want to play. The sample character has a short back story and a completed character card. There are a few paragraphs generally talking about what is on the card and possibilities for the future but not enough to get a feel for the rules beyond knowing the game has levels; skills and special abilities. If you are thinking you want to try a new game this will give you a feel for the tone of Ogres and Underworlds and a feel for what the designer had in mind. It isn't a quick start and doesn't try to be it is just a sample character and a 30,000 foot view of a game so you can decide if you want to look any further as such it serves it's purpose and meets everything the blurb claims.

Warren Henderson

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ogres and Underworlds Character Sample Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Across the Realms: Artifacts and Items #0 The Bracers of Barakus
by Warren H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2014 19:01:15
Description:
The free sample for the Artifacts and Items line it gives a couple paragraphs of background story for a pair of magic arm guards. It gives a set of powers in semi-agnostic terms but easily used with most fantasy RPG sets. Followed by 6 rumors about the item and three brief adventure hooks based on the above rumors. 3 page pdf one being the cover followed by a page of content ending with a full page add for other items.

Why should you get it?
Why review something that is free people will download it or not anyways right? I like the New Realms Publishing stuff and out of appreciation I will spend the time to do this also I know I read reviews of free products just because someone felt strongly enough to write one. You can't really go wrong downloading this whether you use the item or not. You get 2 historical names and a general sense of past events you can steal for fluff. If you do use it the bracers are neat but not AD&D DMG Artifact artifacts and actually have a couple drawbacks to wearing them relating to the background story. There is nothing terribly clever in the rumor table or adventure hooks but they are OK enough to again be looted for background noise. I checked this out to get a feel for the other products in the series and am still unsure if I will get others. It does contain everything promised in the description on OBS however being only a page in length of everything it is vague enough to limit what use I can get out of it. To be clear the item is usable as are the adventure hooks you will just have more creative work to do on your own to live up to the "Entice the characters with rumors and legends of new items, design new adventures and expand your campaigns" from the description. That being said this is free, it is clearly written and laid out and completely useful as is. The other items in the line are only a dollar each so it is possible I am expecting to much. If nothing else try it to see if you like the writing style and mindset of NRP which will help you decide on trying their other products.

Warren Henderson

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Across the Realms: Artifacts and Items #0 The Bracers of Barakus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ogres and Underworlds
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2014 14:24:41
Ogres & Underworlds is 64 pages (62 pages, not including the front pages and contents list).
The contents list has the page numbers linked, which is good. Gets you to the page faster.
The system (page 41-47), informs you on how to resolve an action:
1: Determine Difficulty. 2: Determine Skill. 3: Determine Ability (6 of them).
4: Determine Action Level. 5: Modify Action Level. 6: Determine the Difficulty level.
7: Determine the Action Number. 8: Determine Target Number. 9: Determine success.

The solo adventure on pages 4-8, does actually help you become familiar with the system.
The monster section (pages 50-57), does not give any monster examples (a pity).
The only slight example, is in the solo adventure (giant rat).
The monster section gives you the 'framework' to make your own.

There is a small character sheet on the last page.
I've submitted a character sheet at the New Realms Publishing forum: (jsplace.freeforms.net), in the Ogres & Underworlds section.
Magic is done through the elements (fire, air, water, earth), enchantment, essence, thought, etc.

The system is certainly different to other RPGs.
Try it; see what you think.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ogres and Underworlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Across the Realms Encyclopedia of Adventure #2: Dungeon Tiles
by Warren H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2014 19:39:00
Seeing as I requested this product over on the New Realms boards and it is what I asked for I am giving it 5 stars. If you aren't using the Dungeon Deck you may be less impressed but even then 13 tiles for 3 bucks isn't a bad deal.

I do use the dungeon deck (and most of the others as well) and when time and space permit I use Microtactixs card models to build the rooms on the cards but I also wanted to just be able to print off some tiles quickly if I didn't feel like going through that effort. I do have tile sets but none of them are quite the right dimensions so I asked on the board and got more than I expected actually. The tiles are in color which is neither here nor there but worth noting it isn't just the card maps enlarged. The tiles are the basic rooms and corridor shapes but the tokens provided allows you to easily make the Murky Pool where Tentagorers lurk (see Darkness under Glimmerdale) or a Pillared Hall.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Across the Realms Encyclopedia of Adventure #2: Dungeon Tiles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Universal Adventures Dungeon Deck
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2014 12:55:58
This is an excellent and clever idea for solo gaming. It is a random dungeon deck. This deck has 50+ dungeon cards which represent the room or hallway discovered. these are drawn from the deck 1 per turn as the party moves from area to area. There are some ratings which gives the chance of finding treasuer, secret doors or the chance of getting an encounter or wandering monster. There is a strict order of play but it is not different from any RPG out there.

The monsters are generic and the player will need to consult the appropriate manual for there favorite RPG for the stats. Combat, of course, is also handled by the rules of the players RPG rather than the Dungeon deck. You can design your own encounters, treasures and search tables or you can get some prepared decks to add to this deck so you can accomplish all dungeon building tasks with the draw of a card and possibly the roll of a die. I also purchased the Hall of the Ogre Lord which has enough cards to fill out the Ogre Lord's hall and fight the evil minions within. It is an inexpensive way to try out the full system as you will only need Dungeon deck and Hall of the Ogre Lord to assemble all possible facets of the generator.

As already mentioned, THIS IS A DUNGEON GENERATOR! IT IS NOT A FULL GAME! YOU WILL NEED A ROLE PLAYING GAME SUCH AS DUNGEONS AND DRAGONS TO PLAY!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Universal Adventures Dungeon Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Universal Adventures Dungeon Deck
by Warren H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2014 13:43:16
I have only recently started using this deck and others to start playing a solo game but I will jump in in case anyone else is confused as to what this is or is not. This is not a game system it is a deck of cards you print out and use to generate a dungeon including the chances for encounter and events one room to a card. You need a set of RPG rules to resolve the events that unfold. It can be used universally however it seems less work to use with retro clones but I haven't tried it with enough systems to say that with any certainty yet. It is very much like creating a dungeon using the tables in the back of the 1st edition DMG but with all the chances for things on one card and no game specific things.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Universal Adventures Dungeon Deck
by Alessio S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2014 18:31:47
A total waste of money!!!
After having downloaded the file, reading in its pages I haven't found any reference to classes or professione. How to play a game without a class?!? The rules explain how to set the tiles, how to combat and heal but... heal what?!? Which and how many hit points my players should heal if they don't know their stats???Sincerely I've not understood the usefulness of this "game".

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Universal Adventures Caves of the Unknown
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/25/2014 12:00:02
I just finished taking my boys through the classic modules B1: In Search of the Unknown and B2: The Keep on the Borderlands.
This module is in the same vein, but much more barebones.

You get 7 pages with 30+ encounter areas. You can customize as you wish. The feel is very, very old school but it could be adapted to pretty much anything. It can be used with any version of D&D, Gamma World or even a planet you touch down on in Traveller. I think you get the idea.

At $2.50 it might be on the high side for what you get, but maybe the optimal price is something like $2.25 or $2.40, so not really enough to quibble. A larger map as a seperate PDF would have been nice though.

But you get exactly what is described here, so no complaints. For Old School D&D you could empty it out in a longer session and your characters would be home in time for supper.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Universal Adventures Caves of the Unknown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Perilous
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/06/2013 09:01:44
This is a charming little ruleset of fairly generic application, a basic 'swords and sorcery' concept presented as being a post-apocalyptic world with fantasy overtones. The rulebook is presented in a logical sequence, starting with character generation (which uses playing cards to introduce a random element) and detailing the equipment available before describing the task resolution system. There are plenty of examples and comments about how any given skill or action is resolved, but no clear statement of an overarching task resolution mechanic.

Basically it is one of deciding what you want to do, working out the abilities, skills and any other modifiers you bring to bear and thus calculate how many dice (and of what type) to roll against either a difficulty or another roll, if the action is opposed.

Actions occur in a rigorous 'turn' sequence, and this appears to hold good for ALL actions not just when in combat. Tracking charts are recommended for both players and the GM (who is called a Hazard Master), and experience points are accrued on a turn-by-turn basis and noted on the tracking chart.

The sample adventure - Tunnels of Terror - reinforces the mechanical approach, with movement through the dungeon being moderated by the turn sequence irrespective of what the characters actually wish to do at any point. In some ways it plays more like a board game than a role-playing one.

It is an interesting approach and could work well with youngsters.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Perilous
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Universal Adventures Bastion of Chaos
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/08/2013 06:28:22
Useful if you are out of ideas, playing without anyone prepared to be GM, or just fancy a random 'dungeon crawl' style game, here is a collection of cards built around the general theme of 'chaos' to aid you in setting up an adventure.

No system is specified, you could use any fantasy system to deal with necessary task resolution for full effect, or play this more as a board game in the style of "Sorcerer's Cave" if preferred.

This set contains nine Dungeon cards. Each of these has the layout of a single chamber using a 1 square = 5 feet grid. They're isomorphic, should you wish to string them together, or you can imagine passageways linking them. For each chamber there is a description of what you see when entering, and notes to enable you to decide what to do. In some, there is a chance (roll a 1d6 and check the number against that given) to find a secret compartment, a magic item or a prisoner awaiting rescue. Specific Encounters or Events can also occur, with some cards specifying a particular type of Encounter depending on the location.

The rest of the collection is composed of 18 'general' Encounter cards, 9 'slime pit' Encounter cards, 9 'crypt' Encounter cards and 9 'chaos gate' Encounter cards. Each carries full details of what to do when you draw it, with descriptions of creatures - although you'll have to provide appropriate statistics from your chosen game system. Sometimes you are instructed to draw a 'Treasure card' - this being the first of New Realms Publishing product to be reviewed, I guess they are to be found in other decks.

The cards are quite plain and clear. They are designed to be printed double-sided on cardstock (and are correctly aligned provided your printer can do double-sided), but if your printer doesn't handle card you may wish to print single sheets and glue them on to card before use.

A neat and ever-expanding range of resources for exciting random gaming.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Universal Adventures Bastion of Chaos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Universal Adventures Treasure Deck
by Charles K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2013 23:54:39
I have been looking for a product like this for awhile. I love the fact to be able to give the card to the player of the item they get, makes it easier to keep track of and the stats.

Granted, the pages printed out nice, but only 6 of the 14 pages are actual items, there is 54 items so enough for a 'deck' but I guess I was expecting more.

I guess what brings the rating down for me is the price. There is similar companies that offer treasure decks that have more items and sometimes for less money.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Universal Adventures Treasure Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Universal Adventures Treasure Deck includes 54 cards, as stated in the description. At least twelve of those cards include 6 options. So in effect you are getting at least 126 (54+72) different, or versions of similar, treasures.
Battlemasters: Dungeons! Basic Set
by Giovanni A. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2005 00:00:00
well, it do it's work, and for the cost it's not bad.

LIKED: cheap, easy to adapt

DISLIKED: a little crude, low detail

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemasters: Dungeons! Basic Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battlemasters: Dungeons! Basic Set
by Patrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2005 00:00:00
Very useful terrain stuff. Worth the inexpensive price.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemasters: Dungeons! Basic Set
by Patrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2005 00:00:00
Very useful terrain stuff. Worth the inexpensive price.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates