DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
by Martin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2014 10:45:21
AS&SH is the game I've been searching for, for about the last 10 years. It's basically a revised version of the 1st Edition of AD&D, but edited in a way that I was actually able to understand. And not just "able to", learning how to play and run this game was childs play, no problem at all. I've always wanted to run AD&D, but was never able to grasp what the books where trying to tell me.

I really like how the rules deal with attribute checks and thief skills, and initative is both easy to understand, yet adds quite some complexity to the game. Instead of multiclassing, the game has several subclasses in addition to the basic four, many of which combine features of other classes.
The only things I would have done differently would have been giving a page to nonhuman characters (which don't exist in the prepackaged setting, but might in other worlds) and converting armor class to positive values (which you can easily do yourself. I agree with some others who said it might have been a good idea to use a different magic system for Sword & Sorcery, but that might have been a bit too different for some players.
Otherwise a remarkable game and my personal system of choice.

And the price for the pdf is more than a bargain.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

AS&SH Character Name Generator
by Jim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2014 20:38:58
A nifty little name list/generator specifically for AS&SH that is also a goldmine for other game systems. The names range from historically plausible (Jofursteinn Manason - Viking) to exotically fantastic (Goozon Slann - Hyperborean). I recommend checking out AS&SH for its 30's pulp atmosphere, but even if you don't, the price of $0 for this name generator leaves you no excuses: Just download it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AS&SH Character Name Generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

All Too Familiar
by John T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2014 12:18:59
While I would not consider this to be a complete tome of familiars, it was interesting.
I read through it and for the most part, I agree with the stats and information given.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
All Too Familiar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2014 05:50:55
This game is pretty much D&D as it should have been, LOTR-influences have been thrown away and no prancing hobbits or frolicking elves have been left. This game is what I would imagine D&D would have been if it would have been true to it's literary roots. Roleplaying game that understands sword and sorcery genre.

It reminds me lot of AD&D but designed as playable game, you dont have to be old wargamer to decipher the rules. Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea is old chool roleplaying game of Clark Ashton Smiths Zothique, Robert E. Howards Hyborian Age and Karl Edward Wagners Kane stories not that of Dragonlance, Forgotten Realms or Eberron.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Taken from Dunwich
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2014 13:51:12
An excellent adventure for what I consider to be the best of the retro clones.
If you like your gaming simple and serious, this is for you!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Taken from Dunwich
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
by Travis M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2014 20:14:08
Read my full review here:

http://theroleplayingrambler.wordpress.com/2014/02/04/as-
tonishing-swordsmen-and-sorcerers-of-hyperborea-first-impres-
sions/

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Charnel Crypt of the Sightless Serpent
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/10/2013 09:55:07
This is an adventure that could have been ripped from the pages of Conan the Barbarian... it has caught the very essence of such tales well.

It has it all - a mad necromancer, an ancient crypt, a strange and almost mythical monster, untold riches there for the taking - and is set notionally in Hyperborea, although notes are provided to enable you to transplant it to another setting if preferred.

The adventure begins with some clues that the characters can discover or be given to point them in the right direction, all bound up in a teeming city that Conan himself would have felt at home in - at least, when he was in the money. Then it's off across a barren wasteland (of course) in search of the Sightless Serpent and the crypt wherein it apparently makes its home. A crypt replete with sarcophagi, mummies, traps and all the usual appurtenances to make for an exciting dungeon crawl, naturally.

It's as near as the characters will get to adventuring like Conan, a fine adventure in appropriate style.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Charnel Crypt of the Sightless Serpent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2013 16:58:10
North Wind Adventures has a real winner here.I can heartily agree with the writer of the game's foreward, Stuart Marshall, when he describes this game as Dungeons and Elder Things. AS&SH definitely captures the feel of the Weird Fantasy genre from beginning to end. The game system is based on D&D/AD&D and it also introduces some very cool additions to that design. The writing is clean and precise. Anyone that likes the 'Gygaxian' flavor of the AD&D books of old will really appreciate what the author has accomplished with this great game.
I highly recommend the boxed edition of AS&SH as well as it will bring back memories of the days when you got a set of dice with your games. Seriously, you will not be disappointed.
Old School fans unite! Buy this game today..........

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
by Gaetano L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2013 12:58:20
This is a great game with smooth rules, an old school feel, and a freshness in playability. I used the pdfs and had my first game started in an hour. My players grumbled when I stopped the session after 4 hours. THAT to me is a sign of a fun game!

The pdfs are beautiful scans, from the box covers & books to the character sheets & maps. All you'll need are the dice. If your portable e-reader can handle pdfs, this is the best value for a complete game with ultimate portability.

Even if you have the boxed set, this is a great bargain for its convenience. I enjoyed the pdfs so much, I had to get the boxed set as well -- another great bargain when you'll see all that's included.

Play on!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/05/2013 15:28:30
There is just something about a big red box for games.
I have not been able to get Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea in it's big red box form, but I do have it on PDF, and let me say it is really nice.
So what do you get with this? Well there is a 256 page player's book, 240 page Referee's book, a map of Hyperborea and pdfs of the Box Covers. So all in all about 500 pages worth of old school playing goodness.

Now there is a lot here that is old hat for the experienced role-player and some that is similar to many of the OSR games. That all being said it does also make it a great intro game for anyone and there is a still so much here for the old-timers that I don't feel a page is wasted.

The Players Book focuses on making characters, magic and combat. So ability scores are covered, alignment and classes. Most of this is the same as say D&D or S&W, but there are enough little changes to make it worth your notice.
for starters the races of Hyperborea are all human-centric. So we have Amazons, Kelts, Kimmerian, Vikings and Hyperboreans among others. All what I call the "Conan" races.
Let's move to the classes. There are the four basic classes, the Fighter, Magician, Cleric and Thief. But each also has 4 to 6 subclasses. Fighter has the Barbarian, Berserker, Cataphract, Paladin, Ranger and Warlock. The Magician has Illusionist, Necromancer, Pyromancer and Witch. The Cleric has the Druid, Monk, Priest, and Shaman. Finally the Thief has the Assassin, Bard, Legerdemainist and Scout.
Each subclass is very much like it's parent classes with some changes. The classes look pretty well balanced. I liked the bard as a single class option (nice to have and not something that we had in 1979). I would love to try out the Necromancer, Witch and Warlock and I know my son would love to try the Pyromancer.
Each class has a "Fighting Ability" and a "Magic Ability" which relates to attacks. So yes, even magicians can get a little better in combat as they go up in level. It's a great little shorthand and works great. So a 4th level Fighter has a fighting ability of 4. A 4th level magician still only has a fighting ability of 1 and a cleric 3 and thief 3. Sub classes can and do vary.

AC is descending (like old school games), BUT with the Fighting Ability stat it could be converted to an ascending AC easy. There are background skills and weapon skills.

The next 90 or so pages deals with magic and all the spells. The max spell level is 6. Not a bad number really and that is still plenty of spells.

The last 60 pages of the Player's book deals with combat in all it's forms. So combat, mass combat, saves and conditions. A great collection really of some of the "Best of" ideas I have seen in many games, but it all works really nice here.

The Referee's Manual is next.
It is nearly as big (240 pages vs 256).
The first half is fully devoted to monsters. The format is most similar to Basic or Labyrinth Lord, and it is full of the usual suspects with some notable exceptions. For starters this book includes the Demons (but not the devils). It does NOT include any dragons. But to make up for it there are many of the "Lovecraft" races such as the Great Race, Elder Things and fish men. Great inclusion.

The next 50 or so pages covers treasure. Among the magic items are things like Radium Pistols and other sc-fi artifacts. Very pulpy.

Finally we end with the Hyperborea Gazetteer. A great bit that I can easily drop into my game. The lands are a pastiche of Howard, Vance, Lovecraft and Smith. If these names mean anything to you then you know, or have an idea, of what you are going to get here.

All together this is a package of such great ideas I can't wait to use it somewhere.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
by john h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2013 08:05:10
Another fantastic retroclone rpg.
The setting with this mix of lovecraftian and barbarian fantasy is a real blast and open lot of possibilities different from the classical fantasy rpg.
The rules are very well done, avoiding to be too much a burden but covering almost all the situation you can encounter.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
by Antonio E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2013 05:47:23
Disclaimer: I was credited in the book, though my role was mostly as a consultant for (some of) the statistical aspects of the game. So I was not involved with the actual writing, playtesting, nor setting development (except very few bits.)

This said, this product is absolutely stunning. It goes back to the roots of the hobby's inspirational literature and original mechanics, and gives them a thoroughly new spin, without creating too much of an hurdle to learn the game (a thing which cannot be said of, say, DCC RPG by Goodman Games, which completely rewrites the roots of the D&D game.) Also, it implements weird fantasy much better than what other games do or claim to do (like Lamentations of the Flame Princess RPG.)

The art is fantastic and inspired; the Cthulhu mythos critters are some of the most beautiful, enticing and repulsive representations I have ever seen; some of them far better than anything Chaosium itself ever did.

In short: if you want a game which threads very close to AD&D, yet streamlines it in a meaningful way and at the same time adds SUBSTANCE; and if you want an excellent setting for weird and sword & sorcery fantasy gaming, look no further.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Taken from Dunwich
by Paul W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2012 11:28:12
Reviewed this on my blog -- http://mysticbull.blogspot.com/2012/11/albino-apes-beast-men-
-and-great-race-of.html.

Great read -- haven't played it yet, but it's in the rotation.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Taken from Dunwich
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
by Jason R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2012 15:30:13
I own this product in both PDF and print. I can't say enough good things about this game. I've been gaming since I was 9 (41 now) and most of that time has been spent playing swords & sorcery via AD&D (mostly 1st edition). I can say, without hesitation, that Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea is a fine homage to classical swords & sorcery gaming - I might even go so far as to say it's the first RPG I've played that actually gets the feel and style of swords & sorcery right. 5 out of 5 stars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
by Chip M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2012 23:56:00
I expected this to be just another D&D 1e/2e clone but it is so much better. The classes are great with each of the four (fighter, cleric, magician, thief) also having 4 character kits allowing for a total of 20 classes. It provides some good upgrades to the old D&D games, well worth the buy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates