DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Cold & Dark
by Nathanael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2014 15:05:58
Short and Simple Review: 3 Stars.

- The PDF is not bookmarked! At 300+ pages, that makes it a massive chore to actually use, and that means I'll never run this. Instant one-star removal. Add some useful bookmarks and that will go up immediately.
- Thematically evocative of my favorite video game series ever (Dead Space), so that's a big plus. And it really hits that nail on the head, quite solidly.
- File needs some serious size optimization, maybe a trimmed-down print version. It's simply gargantuan in dimensions, which makes tablet viewing a slow hassle.
- Mechanics are straight and to the point, and that's always great.
- No option for a PoD version is very, very saddening.

It was an interesting read, and the setting is quite vast and detailed, but the "book" as it stands now is difficult to use. If the designer would fix the above issues, it'd be a much more solid gaming product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cold & Dark
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cold & Dark
by Penny O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2013 16:46:48
My first intro to this game was a one-off session at a gaming convention; it's presented simply enough that someone with absolutely no experience with it can easily get into the swing of it, while still being complex and intriguing enough to have me buying it. The "cold" and "dark" stats are an interesting mechanic that adds to storytelling, giving players a sense of how their character is being effected that's more than just "you're a bit scared". The attributes and skills are a refreshing change from the more common "strength/dex/con" style attributes, and the world building, while definitely inspired by various other science-fiction works, is unique enough that it doesn't feel overly derivative.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cold & Dark
by Carson H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2013 10:56:54
OMG! I have to say this is THE game I have been waiting for. Having been an avid RPGer for 25+ years and having messed around with probably all of them this one has everything I have ever looked for in a sci-fi RPG. With a little story tweeking one could play almost any space genre with this system. And the e-pub is fantastic (other than a few typos here and there due mainly I guess from translation). All in all this is well worth more than the $12 to download and I highly recommend it to anyone who i a gritty sci-fi fan.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cold & Dark
by joshua r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2012 15:28:12
Also not a reviewer, but picked this one up after reading the quick-start.

The executive summary:

A gameworld and system that essentially supports Aliens/Prometheus/Deadspace/Serenity all tied into one.

The system uses a dice pool of D8s which is a bit inconvenient for those of us with enough d10s and d6s for pool games
based on those dice, but it really does seem to work, especially having two 'zoom' levels for combat, handling close, small number fights as
well as scaling up to handle the marines/rebels holding off a horde of undead/pirates/aliens burning through magazines while one of their number
struggles desperately to open a hatch to make a hasty retreat.

(Added bonus for a sci-fi game: starship combat that is fun...)

The Cold in the title is fear, and the Dark is essentially madness. If you like the genre, and you don't at least give the quick-start a look, you already have maxed out your level of Dark... :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cold & Dark
by Ted J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2012 11:06:55
I wanna start out by saying, I'm not realy a reviewer. I just want to put down my thoughts on this book.

To start, it is fantastic!
315 pages, with a system reminiscent of Old World of Darkness Storyteller. Using d8s instead of d10s. Streamlined and shaped to fit the setting and theme of the game. The rules seem solid (I havn't tested them yet). And they cover everything you'd need in a core book.

The setting has drawn inspiration from alot of sci fi. From Dead Space and Event Horizon to Firefly and StarCraft, Aliens, Resident Evil and Pitch Black, to mention a few. And it shows. You can play games reminiscent of all of these movies/games, or something completly different.
The weird thing is, it all fits, not just a little bit, but perfectly!

I, for one, am looking forward to the first sourcebook and to get my hands on this book in a dead tree version. =)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cold & Dark
by SD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2012 20:59:25
Just a quick general first impression after reading through the .pdf

The layout and presentation is visually solid. I found it easy to navigate and the chapters flowed into one another well enough. The 'feel' of the game carries through from start to finish, something I think that the author was going for. If so, it was a success. I have given my game group a peek or two at it and talked over the basics and they are all looking forward to giving it a try. Longtime DnD/D20 players ready for something a bit harsher and outside the comfort zone--C&D fits the bill hopefully.

There's enough familiarity from other scifi media that slipping into the game setting should be easy for anyone with even a passing knowledge of the genre--some might call it derivative in a lot of spots, but if it is it's taking lots of the good stuff. I'd prefer to call it an homage.

All in all it's a purchase I'm more than satisfied with, even if .pdf format for my game books isn't my favorite. Should my group take to this game and the publisher comes out with an actual book I'll be buying.

The only negatives I could come up with at first glance are minor editing issues that jumped out a few places (no capital E on Earth throughout the Timeline section for example) and seemed more the function of spell-check idiosyncrasies than real mistakes.

Unless playtest reveals glaring systemic problems my initial rating/review will stand

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cold & Dark Quickguide (Free)
by connor l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2012 20:54:16
Nice and simple rules, interesting flavor and one of the few sci-fi horror rpg's that it looks like I might enjoy playing. And Cold and Dark gets extra points from me for having good artwork on the cover and inside which I feel is too undervalued these days. However the lack of rules detailing how to make a custom character and level up leaves me with a sour taste in my mouth as these should be key things included in any rulebook even a quick-guide ( at least in my opinion). But should a full rulebook be made available I will be sure to pick it up.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cold & Dark Quickguide (Free)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cold & Dark Quickguide (Free)
by mike m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2012 16:03:54
the Cold & Dark Quickguide is interesting reading. It's a little light on rules details, so it's not quite playable as a standalone adventure, but as a supplement to another system, it's a great source of flavor and concept information to flesh out a deep-space campaign.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates