DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 Publisher Info
Strategic Elite
Strategic Elite
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (3)









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2013 12:58:35
Brink of Battle is an enjoyable, carefully executed, and engaging historical miniature wargame that focuses on individual skirmishers rather than large-scale conflict. Every roll made in this game is an opposed roll between players using D10's, to which an attribute is added. While this roll type leaves a lot to chance, it keeps engagements from being dominated by min-maxers or those looking to exploit rules loopholes (of which I've found none!).

Brink of Battle feels very much like the spiritual successor to Mordheim, except that it offers considerably more depth and flexibility. If there's a downside to this game, it's that the book layout and conversational style makes it somewhat difficult to reference the rules during play. I own the physical book, but I purchased the PDF as well as the searchable text can save you a good five minutes of rules hunting.

Overall, I would say that this is the most engaging miniatures game I have played, and it certainly is the most thoughtfully designed. At $30.00, this game is a steal.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Epic Heroes: Skirmish Gaming in the Realms of Fantasy Ashcan Edition
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2013 08:39:25
Good supplement to a great game. Played a couple games to try out the differences. I really like the fantasy/ medieval feel to the game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Epic Heroes: Skirmish Gaming in the Realms of Fantasy Ashcan Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
by Frank F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2013 16:06:04
BoB is a well written and well designed rules set. I had a bit of a problem initially in designing troops but after a more thorough read thru my problems were cleared up. The rules are logically constructed and best of all, IMO, use only one type of die (d10).
If you are looking for a game that concentrates on the individual warrior, then this is it. I highly recommend BofB.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
by Damien O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2013 22:21:23
One set of rules allowing you to play every period? We'll see about that. A quick game of Ancients (handled that pretty well), how about some WWII, Germans vs. US (really like what I am seeing), some VC vs. Marines, city fighting during the Tet Offensive/Battle of Hue (heart rate has increased), insurgents vs. Marines at Fallujah (SOLD!!).

This set of rules truly delivers on its claims, it is the only rule set you will ever need to play any period you want. I highly recommend it to anyone that does not game only one period and likes to transition between many. I love this game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
by [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2012 17:16:56
I have been looking for a skirmish set of rules for different periods for some time. I found everything I wanted and more in Brink of Battle.Clear, straight forward, readable and I can hardly wait to fight my first scenario.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2012 11:32:40
BoB produces a fast, simple and satisfying game. The most time consuming aspect of the rules is generating the troops (which can be difficult for people unfamiliar with the rules, since the will not appreciate which traits are the most effective for the sort of trooper they are trying to create - there is, after all, a large number of traits!). My players enjoyed the fact that they were engaged at all times - in fact downtime whilst your opponent has his/her go is impossible).
The rules are generally clear, although l found the index somewhat quirky. Some things were not listed, or, when listed, not under what I expected. With this minor caveat (which becomes irrelevant once you know the rules), I would recommend these rules to anyone.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Epic Heroes: Skirmish Gaming in the Realms of Fantasy Ashcan Edition
by Kris R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2012 10:38:25
Brink of Battle just got even better! With the addition of magic and inborn traits I can use my D&D minis for epic battles! The new traits combined with magic gear and spells add an engaging fantasy flavor to an already amazing game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Epic Heroes: Skirmish Gaming in the Realms of Fantasy Ashcan Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
by JJ P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2012 21:37:51
This rule set does exactly what it sets out to do - historical skirmish gaming-and does so exceptionally well.

I have been playing wargames since the '60s. I've seen other attempts to capture the ability to skirmish through the ages with a "one size fits all approach" and none of them succeeded. I think this one does for a number of reasons:
1. The author lays out his rationale for the approach he used and explains it well
2. He makes some simplifying assumptions that are logical but necessary for his approach
3. He provides an innovative approach for tailoring your forces

End result- it works, but more importantly, it is a fun game. What's more, as a solo gamer, it plays well with standard solo gaming approaches. I've found no "show stoppers" in the rules.

I've played a few scenarios, and enjoy the game play itself, but also am enjoying tinkering with the different possibilities for adjusting my opposing forces based on the traits and skills available.

So whether you are looking for a "one-off" change of pace for your gaming group, or you want to try some "what if?" options for creating your own scenarios, or you want to actually game a smaller action from a larger game that would have been resolved "off table" with a coin toss or dice roll i the past, or like me, want to use it as a good gaming system that covers the ancient to modern (and now fantasy) where you don't need to learn or remember a new set of game mechanics for other periods, this is a great game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
by [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2012 16:08:41
I love this game! I'm fairly new to wargaming, and this has been a great way to start! I love that I can use any miniatures I like. I love that I can go to any period of history with one set of rules. I recently built teams using Roman legionaries vs. Celtic warriors defending a village, and a WWII team storming a beach. The traits change a bit, but the play is the same. I also love that I don't have to wait for my opponent to play his entire force to get in any action. It's still turned based, but one figure at a time. It's great! The PDF version is awesome because when I'm building a force i can use the search to look up traits, point costs, or anything I like. It's all right here at my fingertips. Just look up information, type up my choices, and print my team to take to the game. The games can be as small or as large as you like. You wont be disappointed in these rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
by Alexander K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2012 14:25:52
A set of rules allowing you to play pretty much any historical period imaginable while keeping the feel of each of the 3 periods (ancient/early modern/modern) which play differently in terms of pace and tactics. You can now buy a couple of miniatures from a range that you might be interested with a clear conscience and without feeling that you are either wasting money on models that you will never be able to play with because you have too few miniatures - or feel that you need to buy a new set of rules for each time periods. Samurai, French Indian War, War of the Roses, Napoleonic’s, Modern Warfare etc can all played with this set of rules. Build each soldier to have individual stats, equip him with traits and weapons and throw him into battle in either one off skirmish games or use the campaign mode provided in the rules. Be the leader of an angry mob of peasants in an uprising against the local medieval magnate - or command elite SAS soldiers holding their ground against Afghan militia. Now while most games hold your hand and feed you content and tell you what to do, the Brink of Battle rules are very open ended, meant to be used to create the campaigns and stories that you would like to play. Look at the rules as a toolbox for your imagination. You get a very good foundation of rules that you create your own adventures and skirmish battles with.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
by [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2012 16:13:23
Unlike some of the other reviewers, I'm not a life-long gamer. I've only been in the hobby for about six years, but in that time, I've played several different systems. This has got to be the most enjoyable historical game I've come across, and with Fantasy and Sci-Fi expansions coming soon, I just might have to throw away my Mordheim and Necromunda rulebooks. With a list price of less than $30, this is a great deal. Especially considering there are no new models to buy. Use what you have to play any period in history. Fully customizeable builds with no army list to adhere to means you can make your warband however you want with minimal restrictions. All in all, this is a great system that any wargamer is sure to enjoy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
by john s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2012 01:39:12
Like most life long gamers, I have a closet full of old, loved, minis. From old D&D heros, to massed boxes of Warhammer Fantasy Battles. A few weeks ago I was looking for a good Modern Warfare skirmish game, sort of a Ghost Recon in miniature. When a good friend turned me onto Brink of Battle. I checked out the rules and on his recomendation, made the purchase of the game.
Right from the start, I have loved this game! The mechanics are elegantly simple, yet detailed, and the game play is realistic, and still excitingly scinematic when the action starts up! As a skirmish level game, the forces used are smaller than most mass army games, but the individual Trait and Gear system, makes each model a living CHARECTER, a little person you root for, and mourn when he is cut down.
Within the first weekend, I had emptied my minis boxes making Warbands! WW2 "Dirty Dozen" squad, US Marine Recon and NAVY Seal teams, I even used old Bretonian Knights as not terribly acurate French and English! Making the armies is nearly as fun as playing the games! This game is well worth the small price tag for a complete game, and the fact you get to make it your own sucks in your imagination! I havent liked a game this much since 40K was called Rogue Trader, and had cut-out paper Space Marines!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
by patrick d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2012 18:58:20
What a fantastic set of rules! I've been collecting miniatures for nearly 20 years from various periods of time and genres. Brink of Battle allows me to play intense, comprehensive games with any of my miniatures without having to hunt down and learn new rules for each era. So far I've knocked out games with Chechens fighting Russian MVD, Fallschirmjager against American Infantry and 30 years war stuff. The rules allow you to 'scale' the size of your games and the competency of the forces involved, so you can have a 'horde' vs. an 'elite' force. The 'Edge' and the 'Break' are nice mechanics that allow both players to be involved throughout the game, turn by turn, and opposed dice rolls keep both players involved rather than sitting there waiting for the other guy to finish up their turn. Very nice. And with the rules for fantasy and sci-fi on the way, I'm planning on dusting off my Mordheim and Necromunda forces. It's like Sauron's ring, one ruleset to rule them all.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
by Grant M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2012 05:08:28
Mostly my complaint is the price. For the nearly the same price, the average printed rule book has illustrations and some attempt at layout finesse. This has so little attention to graphics, it looks like a rule book from the 70's.
Very disappointing.
Typewriters are dead, yet Brink of Battle was formatted as if it were using the margin limitation of a typewriter, making for three times as many pages as needed, and therefore, more expensive to print out at home. If they were concerned about excessive graphics making printing at home prohibited, they could have offered a version with the graphics removed as part of the download.
A strange mix of 21st and 19th century technology. Amateur publishing at professional prices. Feeling a bit ripped-off.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Strategic Elite
Strategic Elite
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (3)
 Hottest Titles

Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages

01.Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages
02.Epic Heroes: Skirmish Gaming in the Realms of Fantasy Ashcan Edition
 
See All
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate