DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Frontier Explorer - Issue 8
by William S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2014 14:15:03
I've recently had the privilege to download Frontier Explorer #8, edited by Tom Stephens and Tom Verrieult(I suppose I should call them the Brothers Brothers :) ). It is a worthy successor to the Star Frontiersman e-magazine, which has fallen upon hard times and plagued for several issues now with subpar material.

The Frontier Explorer doesn't suffer from this. Over the entire eight-issue run, the zine's articles and fiction have been entertaining, informative, and innovative, assets to both the gaming community at large and to the Star Frontiers' role players whom the zine was primarily meant to serve. I would especially like to see more of Scott Mulder's Titan Rising series, perhaps as a back cover replacement for the Grymz comics(by the same author) which are there now.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 8
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Frontier Explorer - Issue 8
by Rand H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2014 12:46:03
Excellent fan based contributions.
Better than the Dragon for Star Frontiers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Sathar Destroyer Technical Manual
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/21/2014 08:15:12
Whilst designed for use with the Star Frontiers RPG originally published by TSR, the Sathar Destroyer would make an excellent alien vessel whatever ruleset you are using.

The first part describes the general style of the vessel, which is built by and for a race called the Sathar. If you need to know who they are, consult Frontier Explorer Magazine #6, which is available for free download here, although if you use this as a derelict alien ship to be explored, it is not so important to know about its original owners. The whole appearance is 'alien' and hints are given as to how to convey this to the party. The whole layout, too, reflects an alien philosophy and approach to life rather neatly.

This section is followed by an overall plan and detailed deck plans for each level. These are reference plans for referee use, there are also full plans - at a size suitable for miniatures or counters if you use them - provided as part of the download. Here, though, there are descriptions and notes on what is to be found where.

There's a short section on ancillary vessels - work pods, shuttles - and robots that are carried (which may or may not be present if a derelict destroyer is to be discovered; and then comes a section on shipboard life - assuming that the Sathar are there to enjoy it. A couple of pictures show you want they look like.

Overall, this is an interesting ship with a genuinely alien feel to it. Particular features are the low ceilings (1.5m), rounded corners on everything, the use of 'pool beds' for sleeping, relaxation and acceleration couches, and the fact that you cannot reach all parts of the ship - being a caste-based society, they see no need for interaction over and above basic communications between different areas. A spot of proofreading would have helped, but you can generally work out what was intended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sathar Destroyer Technical Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Frontier Explorer - Issue 7
by Stephen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2014 12:13:29
Interesting and informative. I like the step-by-step how-to article; nicely detailed. This would be a good magazine for those dipping their toes into the RPG world.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 7
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Frontier Explorer - Issue 5
by Jeff N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2013 13:48:42
For a game thats long out of publication, support, and even popularity, home-grown support is sparse. Good to see there is still a little life in this game.

For a self-published magazine, the quality is quite good - layout, presentation, and even the syntax is spot-on. You can see its a labour of love.

Hats off and good job - I'm waiting for Issue 6

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Frontier Explorer - Issue 5
by Justin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2013 02:03:52
I don't really get into the content that much, but I download this 'zine every time because the covers are awesome. Five times in a row: awesome. And I really do mean that as in "inspiring awe", because the capture the essence of what makes space opera and hard sci fi magical. I judge this 'zine by it's cover, and that is a very very good thing!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Frontier Explorer - Issue 3
by Jeff D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2013 12:20:16
Frontier Explorer combines the old school fun of a gazeteer with a more modern and analytical view of sci-fi games and their rules. This issue (Issue 3) features articles and advice specific to robots and A.I.s of various types and how they can fit into a campaign; along with ship designs, and much more. Frontier Explorer is well written and contains a lot of good source material and advice for any sci-fi fan and/or gamer. That it's available for FREE is pretty damned amazing. My personal test for any publication is this: Is the content quality such that I'd pay for a subscription to it? Answer: For Frontier Explorer, absolutely yes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Frontier Explorer - Issue 1
by john k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2013 14:41:28
it was a good start for a magazine, I am looking forward to the other issues.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Frontier Explorer - Issue 1
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2012 15:50:51
It's really great to see some new Star Frontiers stuff! I only recently discovered the Star Frontiersman on DriveThruRPG. I hadn't gotten through them all yet when I downloaded the Frontier Explorer. The art may be a tad below the level of the Star Frontiersman, but the content is just as good or better. I have to give the edge to the Frontier Explorer in layout as well. Article breakdown:

The Dralasite Creed - very cool and useful for those wanting to play Dralasites. Also, a must read for GMs.

Crafting a Compelling Character in a RPG - great advice to making PCs and NPCs unique, complete, and funner to play.

Lossend System Brief - I do like this info that is just screaming to be used in a game. The Star Frontiersman does give more detailed planetary data, however.

What is War - nice fiction article that adds depth to the game and ideas into a GM's head.

Mooks Without Number part 1 - awesome shipbound adventure. Can't wait to use it. Contains a good reuse of one of the maps that came with the original Alpha Dawn or Knight Hawks box set (don't recall which). Don't worry, you don't need a copy of the map to play this adventure - it is included! I love the fact that the ship's captain is an Ifshnit, my favorite SF race. Nice background and beginning situation for a new crew (the PCs). I just love the duties the new crew have to perform to get the vessel ship-shape again. Great plot to the adventure involving weapons, farmers, pirates, and even a KH scenario. The deck layout for the ship is a wonderful add-in with the promise of deckplans in one an upcoming issue. I wait in high anticipation of parts 2 and 3!!!

Planaron Station - really, really cool article updating the current situation of the space station used by the pirates in the Warrior of White Light Campaign setting complete with how Clarion politics affected it since. Is now a great backdrop for all kinds of future adventures. Reminitions of Deep Space Nine and Babylon 5 come to mind. I think I'll put an Ifshnit entreprenuer there named Cork.

CSS Nightwind - incredible new ship with statistics, descriptions, and deck layout & plans. I am anxious to use this in a game, too!

Make A Run For It - Knight Hawks encounters. Two new blast'em type fun scenarios for us ship combat strategists out there.

Don't Go In The Water - ok, i admit it. I got bored with this one. It is easy to do that when humdrum things like articles about weather show up. But, I just know I am going to want to use these rules some time in the near future. So, I am glad they are ready for me to abuse.

Grymz - back page comic. A carefree way to end the issue.

A remakable first issue! Hats off to the editors!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates