DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Francois B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2014 13:50:04
Looks like a standard 0e/1e port, fast reading gave no indication of much change. Rather bland presentation.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Tomas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2014 09:43:32
Too many things are left to DM's discretion. It might speed up the whole "story making" process but it creates room for pointless arguing.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Dennis Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2013 07:44:43
It looks and reads like someone's drunk version of a late 1970's fantasy RPG. With Labyrinth Lord, Swords and Wizardry, OSRIC, etc. on the market is there any reason for this? No, there is not.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mazes & Perils RPG
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2013 17:34:04
Mazes & Perils is a nice homage to the Holmes Basic D&D set of years past. The game compliments the original Holmes set as great additional material for those who wish to take their game beyond the low level cap of the original game. Art work is a bit sparse and a bit too cartoonish for my tastes, but with a free price point I can easily over-look this. There are a lot of retro-clones on the market, but none that integrate with the Holmes set so well. I would encourage in any future revisions to possibly make the game a bit more newb friendly... I think with its simplistic mechanical approach this game could be a great gateway drug for someone trying to introduce another gamer to the OSR style of play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mazes & Perils RPG
by ash m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2013 08:45:12
As an old school gamer who just recently got back into RPG gaming I thoroughly enjoyed discovering this product. It will definitely appeal to D&D 1E players but is also simple enough for a novice RPG'er to pick up, enjoy, and not feel overwhelmed by rules. Even if this product were not free it would be bargain for the amount of fun you can have with your gaming group. Thanks for making it available and can't wait to start a campaign!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Eleazar C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2013 17:20:54
Just was curious to download to check it out since it was nominated. It looks pretty cool! It's pretty basic so someone who is new to this kind of game can easily pick it up and play it. Has the whole DnD feel without being overwhelming.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/13/2013 12:24:55
NOTE: This is an updated review.

A while back I wrote a review for Mazes & Perils, a 2012 Holmes-Basic Retro-clone from Vincent Florio.

http://timbrannan.blogspot.com/2012/09/review-mazes-peri-
ls-2012.html

The 3rd printing/edition is now out (or rather it has been out for a bit) and I promised then I would re-review it.

This new version is cleaned up considerably and it does look like it has been rewritten. It is still free and the idea here (I think) is to provide a means to play "D&D Basic" or provide a common ruleset to allow people to create Basic-era compatible works. As a goal, that is a pretty solid one really. At 61 pages it is also really tight and it is also free.

I do want to address some of the issues that plagued the previous editions, but only as a means to talk about the improvements on this edition.
Like I said, the text has largely been rewritten. It now reads less like someone with a copy of Holmes Basic on their lap, but instead someone that played Holmes Basic for years and scribbled what they could from memory. The game now goes to 12th level, which is a good place to go to be honest. Yes, it is only 3 more levels than the previous version, but those are three levels that really make a difference in terms of end game play. Have a look of Adventurer Conquer King to see the same logic at work.

There are only the four basic classes (Cleric, Fighting Man, Magic-User, Thief) and the four basic races (Human, Elf, Dwarf Halfling).

I want to restate the things I did like about the previous versions. Obviously the name of the game is a nod to John Eric Holmes' book "The Maze of Peril" and I can respect that. If you are going to do a Holmes' homage or pastiche then that is a perfect name really. Clearly the author has done his research.

Others have complained about the art. I rather like it to be honest. The cover is very cool and the interior is no worse than what you would have seen in Holmes. In fact I was under the impression that the art was exactly what the author wanted. "Good" or "Bad" is subjective. To me it is perfect for this book.

What does this book do? OR What is it good for?
Well if you do want a simple game to give you the feel of D&D Basic, then it works well.
If you want an EASY book to create your own "Basic Era" products then it is also a good choice.
If you want a game with lots of options, then maybe Basic Fantasy, Labyrinth Lord, ACKS or even D&D Basic/Expert will work better.

This newer version is cleaned up and is certainly an improvement over the previous versions.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Angela W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2013 12:06:51
Not very well done. Only looked at it because of the podcasts. Waste of my time.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Patrick M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2012 21:54:38
I have the original 1st edition AD&D and D&D. Why would I need this. It's a poor copy.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
This is based off and inspired by the Holmes Edition of D&D. This was done so people can enjoy those rules since it is not being sold and copies are hard to come by. Please learn to read before making a misleading review.
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2012 23:58:52
This is a good solid retroclone. The ideas here are from the Holmes edition & are much tighter. This is no nonsense game. The layout is crisp & the are work very much in the old school tradition. The whole thing reads very well & works in a very tight way making combat a breeze. Very nice edition to the retroclone community. The author knows his D&D very well. Great product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Sheryl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2012 19:09:08
Much better! I downloaded this like a year ago, and the layout was rough on the eyes, but then I got an email the other day and it said it was updated. So I downloaded it and to my surprise, it was done well. The format is very nice, as well as the new surprise of 3 more levels! I was happy to see this change and happy Vincent Florio fixed what was wrong. I hope others see this and download it again for a review.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
In Mines we trust
by dwayne w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2012 00:02:51
Great beginning adventure. Almost everyone can remember their first dungeon, and often, it was a mine. Salt, gold, or in this case copper, we all have fond memories of the first one we cleared out or died in, This module brings back those memories. Designed as a beginning adventure for use with the Mazes and Perils RPG, it helps new gms and players learn the rules, boxed text and all. I bought it, why havent you? Also, it features art by the same artist who worked on M&P, Glen Hallstrom, who does an impeccable job as usual.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Mines we trust
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ring of the Baron
by dwayne w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2012 23:52:19
So good I bought three!!! I did, I bought three copies to give to my local game store as "give-aways" along with the reprints of a certain game. The module is everything that one should be, to the point, deadly and fun! The range of encounters is a nice mix, and the players will even get a a chance to maybe hold a quasi-artifiact! I recommend this module, especially with the price of advanced edition modules today, this is a steal!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ring of the Baron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Oliver O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2012 10:06:51
This game was not written well.

I had expected to have a retro-nostalgic experience of delving into an early version of D&D updated to make it relevant to the modern reader. The writing is extremely amateurish, making me wonder if the author had completed grade school, or if English were his second language.

As for the concepts and mechanics, it is too married to all of the "bad stuff" we have moved beyond. Instead of a nostalgic experience, it felt like a stifling, frustrating penning-in of creativity and free thinking.

For example, this system still imposes rules setting level limits for certain races depending on what class they take. Fighters are referred to as "Fighting Men". Elves can still do everything, and are pretty much better than everyone else. This game does little to add to or improve the existing body of work. It gets hung up on stupid gaming cliches in the most unoriginal, derivative way possible. It not only re-invents the wheel, but re-invents the bad, dysfunctional model that we all know doesn't work.

Did I mention the writing is eye-splittingly aweful?

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your review. This book has been corrected and a new layout and error free is on the way. To answer your statements, this book is not a clone, its a RPG inspired by Holmes Edition. Fighters are referred to as Fighting Men, to keep in spirit with the Holmes style. Apparently you are not an old school gamer, as all the old school books had level limits. If you want unlimited levels and your fighting men called warriors or fighters, then please look into what most of us avoid, called Fourth Edition.
In Mines we trust
by Brynjar B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2012 02:23:06
I bought this mod this morning (UK-time) after coming home from work, opened it and the first thing I saw was a text saying "cover art by John Elliot." Now... in the pdf there's no cover art. I thought to meself that this is probably to keep the download size down a little, makes perfect sense, really. Not everyone has a superduper broadband conection, even in 2012. So I don't really bother about that part.

So, onto the adventure itself: It's a short and sweet little adventure, goals are easy to understand, there's no hidden agenda or big choices that can make or breake the experience, or the conclusion of the adventure. In short, simply investigate an old and forgotten coppermine. The NPCs I think should be a little twitchy, due to some recent happenings, but at the same time, they should be relieved there's someone brave enough to investigate said happenings. So I felt that I as a DM should should try and play the NPCs in this slightly ambivolent manner. Relived twitchiness. That's just me, other DMs may or may not play them in another way.

The adventure even suggests that the players can roleplay out the howabouts they came together to be a band of brothers/sisters, it does, however, make no presumtions about how this should or could be done. It does suggest, however, that the DM creates a little backstory as to their meeting up for the first time, which I thought was a nice touch.

The adventure itself is, as I said, easy enough to understand: Go into the mine and find out mainly two things: 1; what happened to the investigators sent before, and 2; see if there's still some profits to be made from the mine.

Point 1, involves a fairly fresh mother to puppies and, as any mother would, she and her pack are only defending the puppies, as well as providing food for the Mother so she can raise the litter. This part of the adventure can go at least three ways, depending on what the party decides and their actions at each part.

Part 2, is the mine still profitable, is also answered, though there wasn't a big emphasis on this part at the end.

Upono conclusion of the adventure itself, it does lead to a couple of things that the DM can do, if he so chooses, albeit there's no mention of any aftermaths in the text itself. However, what I could imagine, was that the town folks could for example hire the PC's on a more permanent basis as guards for the mine, at least untill the production is back up and running. The PCs could also be hired to clear out other mineshafts, or secure the whole area against other monsters or even looters and pillagers from neighbouring villages and town. But that part, is left entirey up to the DM to decide, whether or not this adventure should be part of a bigger campign or just as a little introduction to have the players learn some of the choices and opportunities RolePlaying Games can give.

I've seen one glitch in the adventure so far, though I've only read through once, so I might find more:

It says that the "floor, walls and ceiling of the mine is slippery due to WEATHER...."

Now.. my very first thought was "how on earth can any weather have had any impact, the mine have been sealed for however many years, no weather has come into the mines' opening untill the past 2 weeks or thereabouts"

That there's dampness in there that has been trapped and condensed on the walls, is fine, but weather didn't make much sense to me. But then, it's only a minor glitch, the main thing here is that the mine floor is slippery and as such should affect combat.

The locations in the mine are well presented, well marked and well described, I can't really see myself changing much if anything if I should be using this adevnture.

I dare say, Mr Vincent has done a very good job, and I hope to see more from him and his team in the future.

£2 well spent.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Mines we trust
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates