DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
AOTA-TTF - Wizard Kanji
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2013 16:33:40
I really can't say enough about this font. I Use this font to make player handout scrolls of wizard spells. All I do is write out the spell in the PHB format and when I'm done I highlight it all and change ti to Wizard Kanji. This is all the handout the party gets. The player, who is playing the wizard can now read this font just as if it were in english! it makes other such magical notes so cool when only ONE player knows what it says.. it makes for all kinds of game fun.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AOTA-TTF - Wizard Kanji
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
AOTA-TTF - Dark Urth Heiroglyphic system
by Frank M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2013 01:39:51
Someone considering this font should know it doesn't work in modern versions of Windows and Word, at least for me.

I first saw this several years ago, and with the discounted price I thought I'd try it (and two other VShane fonts). On Windows 7 and Microsoft Word the Dark Urth hieroglyphics just plain don't show up; I get the regular alphanumeric values instead. I tried WordPad with the same result. I even tried "Insert Symbol", which renders the symbol in the grid ... but on the page all I get is "1" "2" "A" etc.

Curiously, the other two fonts I bought -- Draconic and Wizard Kanji -- worked fine, although Draconic is a little light. It's just Dark Urth that doesn't work. I'll give it a shot on my old MacBook, just for completeness's sake, but I'm not hopeful.

The publisher's web site goes to a blog, which refers to a Facebook page, which as far as I can tell has no support for this font at all. This font, and maybe all of these fonts, might be abandonware.

Caveat emptor, guys.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
AOTA-TTF - Dark Urth Heiroglyphic system
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Hi Frank, I'll look into that and see if I can upgrade them. Yeah things have changed a lot in the computer world since I made those. I might just convert them to a collection of EPS and sell them that way. Get a hold of me and see what I can do for you. Good you posted this,I think its more " unaware " than "abandonware" :) So I will disable Dark Urth and see what gives. I just upgraded myself to Win8 so I'll check into that. ~ VShane
Nope, works jsut fine. I have Win 8, brand new ASUS computer and installed it just fine. Might be an issue with how your installing it. In this case I let Windows install it by double clicking on it. If you check the FaceBook blog you can see the font image I posted to confirm it. ht*tps:*//ww*w.*facebook*.com/pages/Artifacts-of-the-Arcane/236034786470778?ref=hl the stars ** are to be deleted for the full URL, copy paste in new tab and erase the stars. ~ VShane
Arcane Icons
by Marc G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2012 02:26:37
I like Shanes style very much and the idea behind Arcane Icons is magnificently. Within the limitations of the product you get a picture, as well as you fancy it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Icons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Arcane Icons
by Simon G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2012 20:53:17
I've asked Vshane a illustration with a lot of details. The illustration is fantastic and had all the details i wanted. Vshane did a great job. This service is fast and professional. If you are a publisher don't hesitate to ask for this service, you will not regret it. I am totally satisfied.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Arcane Freebie 2
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2011 21:22:52
Included in this set is 4 pieces. 2 are b/w of female humanoids (human or elf), one a caster (cover image) one a masked archer. Also there are 2 images of landscape. Well done and publisher grade dpi. Best part is that it is free. If you are not familiar with V Shane's artwork. you can't go wrong with downloading this set.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Freebie 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
APE 10 : Warmachines & Champions
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2011 08:45:27
On the whole, I like V Shane's artwork, but traditionally it hasn't always been the greatest. But the price per picture has always made it worth the purchase. So I was skeptical when this one didn't have any preview. I've been wondering whether I should buy it or not for over 2 years.

I bought it today On the whole I am pleased with the purchase, but its not a 5 star product. All 20 images are full color and at first glance look like they'd make suitable covers. However they're all around 1800 x 2100 pixels translating to a 6" x 7" image at 300 dpi or a 9.5 x 11" at 190 dpi. While some nicely will work as covers to lower res PDF products, some will not unless I want to put words through the champion's head. Those will still see use as interior images.

Inside there are 10 "warmachines" images and 10 "champions" images. The war machines are just that, images of fantasy war that feature some siege engine or . Fortunately other machine of war. This works good for me since I happen to have a line of products that feature fantasy war between nations. Those less interested in war images will see much less use out of these. None of these are fantasy mechs (like I was hoping). They're more your standard catapult, explosion, barricade, siege tower kind of war machines.

The champions section is going to see broader appeal. While many of these images are still of war, they can easily be painting depicting a long dead hero in a castle or a mural telling the tale of a green skinned spellcaster working his dark arts. The cover image is one of the champions images.

As I said, on the whole I am pleased with this. But had I not had a line of war products, I would have been much more disappointed. The lower res than I would like, lack of space at the top of some images for cover wording and the lack of a preview keep it from being a 5 star product. Otherwise, the images are good.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
APE 10 : Warmachines & Champions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Arcane Icons
by Nate P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2010 11:34:44
All I can say, really, is fantastic! I've always liked the art packs from Shane and you really cannot beat the price; $10 for a great custom piece, just a bit more for it to be colored. And the turnaround was quick, even on top of the holiday weekend. Great job!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Icons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Artifacts of the Arcane Vol. 4
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2010 09:13:15
The item-picz are O.K. but by far not as good as Artifacts of the Arcane Vol. 2

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Artifacts of the Arcane Vol. 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EQ: Lost Map MP3 01
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2009 15:27:20
The name “Lost Map” suggests a party wandering aimlessly in the wild, and so does the music. The sounds of wind and bird noises above the music bind this track to outdoor exploration—but I’m not sure that all of the nature noises cohere with one another. I can hear woodland birds and sea birds, as well as ocean surf. Very odd. At several points in this track, some of the layers don’t seem to synchronize with each other; they seem to be running at two different tempos. I don’t consider this one of the stronger entries on the album.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
EQ: Lost Map MP3 01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
AOTA-TTF- Medicine Man
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2009 21:55:17
The characters in this font aren't letters, but primitive-looking petroglyphs. Some of them seem to me almost entirely abstract. Others clearly have fantasy tropes in mind; note the beholder and dragon petroglyphs shown in the artwork on the product page. Snakes, birds, beetles, and a few other things feature as well. The font has a rather narrow range of applicability and usefulness, but if you do need to illustrate some primitive-looking cave drawings or something similar thereto, you can do a lot worse than to use this font.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
AOTA-TTF- Medicine Man
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
AOTA-TTF - Draconic Font
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2009 21:49:03
This attractive font can add plenty of cool draconic flavor to your handouts. Please note that this font predated and has no relation to the draconic script presented in the 4e "Draconomicon," so if you're looking to reproduce that script, don't buy this font for that purpose. But then, who says you have to stick with WotC's "official" draconic script?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AOTA-TTF - Draconic Font
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Arcane Publishers Edtn 8
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2009 11:36:06
I plan on using several of the pictures included within in an upcoming project. Some of the experimental monsters have definite potential. But the art is good indeed.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Publishers Edtn 8
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Arcane Creations Vol. 1
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2009 23:47:26
Another great product. Fantastic illustrations. Again, I only wish they included a full color option as well.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Creations Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Artifacts of the Arcane Vol 2
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2009 23:37:50
I am very happy with the content of this item. The artwork is great and it is simplicity itself to assign your own stats to the card. Being black and white you at least have the option of coloring it yourself but having a colored option would be welcome. All in all it is a good product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Artifacts of the Arcane Vol 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
DM 3: Wetlands
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2008 11:59:27
The Good: Your opinion of this track will depend somewhat on your opinion of this type of ambient music in general. The publisher says that this track is for "situations of a [sic] adventurous and meandering nature," and the track works reasonably well for that type of setting, I think. The subtle and not-entirely-steady drum beat evokes the feeling of an overland march, and the rest of the music suggests unknown territory. Yet other aspects of the track are a little confusing. It seems to open with crashing waves, and the cries of what sound to me like seagulls evoke images of a sea or beach, but the down-tempo music doesn't suggest a storm on the open sea, despite the recurring thunder. By the way, that thunder is prominent enough that this track would be rather inappropriate for "situations of a [sic] adventurous and meandering nature" on a sunny day! This is the music you play when the adventurers are traipsing through a wilderness area while a thunderstorm brews overhead.

The Bad: Why can't this publisher encode consistent ID3 tags in these products? To date (September 8, 2008), there are three tracks in the DM series (DM 1: Watch Tower Awaits, DM 2: Persistent Shadows, and DM 3: Wetlands), and every single one of them has a different artist and album encoded in the ID3 tags. This track, which the product information calls "Watch Tower Awaits," is encoded with the title "WatchTowerAwaits" (no spaces), the artist "Sigil," and the album "Watch Tower Awaits." DM 2 is encoded with the title "Persistent_Shadows" (why the annoying and totally unnecessary underscore?), the artist "V Shane" (note the space), and the album "Dark Myth." DM 3, however, is encoded with the title "Wetlands," the artist "VShane" (note the lack of a space between V and S), and the album "Ruins of Dark Myth." These wide variations make it hard to locate the music in a large iTunes library, and they suggest a real sloppiness that's not evident in the music itself. Encoding ID3 tags properly is the easiest thing in the world to do, so publishers who want to sell MP3 download music should do it right, and do it right the first time.

Oh, and why exactly is this track called "Wetlands"? There's thunder overhead, sure, but a thunderstorm doesn't create a "wetlands," at least not in the normal usage of that term. Where are the ducks and frogs and crickets and stuff? A title like "Marching through the Storm," though not terribly creative, would better communicate the ambience created by the piece.

My Rating: If I were just rating the music itself, I'd give it 3.5 stars; if I were rating the production value of the MP3 as an MP3 file (metadata), I would give it 2 stars. So I rounded the musical rating up to 4 and split the difference.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DM 3: Wetlands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
ID3 tags Well if you consider the distance in the dates between the songs were put out, and at the time unaware of the importance of such tags, you can kind of fathom the why. As far as Sigil, that was just a music ID I had been toying with for some time (just like the music I create outside of here is Vhee) AND taken into effect I just recently myself began using the MP3 libraries system for my portable (Zune-iPod what have you) and just now realising the importance of the ID3 tags. Where before I had not used them to any degree and had no idea of the consistancy issues that might entail in the future. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, your the first to mention it. I'll see what I can do to get these straightened out.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 155 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates