DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 Publisher Info
Bayn.org
Bayn.org
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (17)









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
A Wushu Guide to Wyrd-Fu
by Anthony T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2012 00:04:43
I liked reading this addition, both from a Wushu fan perspective and a general fan of system light magic systems.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Wyrd-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Pulp-Fu
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2008 15:29:06
Wushu is a great system and Pulp-Fu adds just enough information on style to make pulp action easy. There are a few added rules in Pulp-Fu, like an insanity attribute, which brings Wushu into the realm of Eldritch horror, or vice versa. The usual character templates and information about the genre are all there. I have no regrets about this purchase, as my gaming group has added Pulp-Fu to our regular rotation.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Wushu Guide to Car-Fu
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2007 00:00:00
Wushu: A game you get or don't get... A game you'll love or hate!

The entire range of Wushu books and suppliments comes with my highest recommendation. Though none of the suppliments are in any way essential, they all add a little to the game's concept and prove its versitility time and again. I use Wire-Fu as my core rules, with Pulp-Fu as the secondary set the players tend to peruse (the difference is minimal of course) and both car-fu and cut-fu are mainstays for their excellent ideas.

The Game In short: It's NOT a role-playing game in the usual sense... More an action movie (or whatever tpye you like) that flies by with everyone putting in ideas, making it up frame-by-frame, kick-by-kick and one witty line at a time. It needs good players we can share the limelight and work together, and a GM who can keep track of a story while adapting to the (considerable) amount of player control.

Rules-wise, there's not much. A clear, simple and workable D6 mechanic that gives you big bonuses for being creative, clever and playing to theme, while offering nothing to players who say 'I hit it' every round. Like I say, not for everyone.

I'm especially keen on the fact that if you use EVERY suppliment and rule, it's still no more complex or difficult that just using one book! A rare and wonderful thing in rpgs.

Ah, a personal favourite! While not a complete rules set, it doesn't need anything more than Wushu Open to be used, and unlike all the other suppliments it adds in some new core mechanics that I consider essential (for chases, races and vehicle combat anyway). All the usual Wushu goodness is here too, example characters, settings and examples of play.

Excellent.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Car-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Wushu Guide to Gun-Fu
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2007 00:00:00
Wushu: A game you get or don't get... A game you'll love or hate!

The entire range of Wushu books and suppliments comes with my highest recommendation. Though none of the suppliments are in any way essential, they all add a little to the game's concept and prove its versitility time and again. I use Wire-Fu as my core rules, with Pulp-Fu as the secondary set the players tend to peruse (the difference is minimal of course) and both car-fu and cut-fu are mainstays for their excellent ideas.

The Game In short: It's NOT a role-playing game in the usual sense... More an action movie (or whatever tpye you like) that flies by with everyone putting in ideas, making it up frame-by-frame, kick-by-kick and one witty line at a time. It needs good players we can share the limelight and work together, and a GM who can keep track of a story while adapting to the (considerable) amount of player control.

Rules-wise, there's not much. A clear, simple and workable D6 mechanic that gives you big bonuses for being creative, clever and playing to theme, while offering nothing to players who say 'I hit it' every round. Like I say, not for everyone.

I'm especially keen on the fact that if you use EVERY suppliment and rule, it's still no more complex or difficult that just using one book! A rare and wonderful thing in rpgs.

Gun-Fu goes well with Pulp-Fu and Wire-Fu. It throws in a lot of ideas and suggestions for making gunfights that extra bit cool! While it offers the usual range of characters, I didn't find them so inspiring as other wushu books. Not to say they're bad, and it's more than made up for by the examples of play and settings, which are up to Bayn's usual standard of kicking arse!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Gun-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Wushu Guide to Cut-Fu
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2007 00:00:00
Wushu: A game you get or don't get... A game you'll love or hate!

The entire range of Wushu books and suppliments comes with my highest recommendation. Though none of the suppliments are in any way essential, they all add a little to the game's concept and prove its versitility time and again. I use Wire-Fu as my core rules, with Pulp-Fu as the secondary set the players tend to peruse (the difference is minimal of course) and both car-fu and cut-fu are mainstays for their excellent ideas.

The Game In short: It's NOT a role-playing game in the usual sense... More an action movie (or whatever tpye you like) that flies by with everyone putting in ideas, making it up frame-by-frame, kick-by-kick and one witty line at a time. It needs good players we can share the limelight and work together, and a GM who can keep track of a story while adapting to the (considerable) amount of player control.

Rules-wise, there's not much. A clear, simple and workable D6 mechanic that gives you big bonuses for being creative, clever and playing to theme, while offering nothing to players who say 'I hit it' every round. Like I say, not for everyone.

I'm especially keen on the fact that if you use EVERY suppliment and rule, it's still no more complex or difficult that just using one book! A rare and wonderful thing in rpgs.

Cut-Fu is pretty much the tag-on book for Wire-Fu, because why not have swords thrown in with the hig-flying stunts, kung-fu and action eh?

It does an admirable job of breaking down armed combat into details you can use. It once again provides a clear set of examples of play, settings and characters, and the new mechanic for honour works nicely into the rules too.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Cut-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Pulp-Fu
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2007 00:00:00
Wushu: A game you get or don't get... A game you'll love or hate!

The entire range of Wushu books and suppliments comes with my highest recommendation. Though none of the suppliments are in any way essential, they all add a little to the game's concept and prove its versitility time and again. I use Wire-Fu as my core rules, with Pulp-Fu as the secondary set the players tend to peruse (the difference is minimal of course) and both car-fu and cut-fu are mainstays for their excellent ideas.

The Game In short: It's NOT a role-playing game in the usual sense... More an action movie (or whatever tpye you like) that flies by with everyone putting in ideas, making it up frame-by-frame, kick-by-kick and one witty line at a time. It needs good players we can share the limelight and work together, and a GM who can keep track of a story while adapting to the (considerable) amount of player control.

Rules-wise, there's not much. A clear, simple and workable D6 mechanic that gives you big bonuses for being creative, clever and playing to theme, while offering nothing to players who say 'I hit it' every round. Like I say, not for everyone.

I'm especially keen on the fact that if you use EVERY suppliment and rule, it's still no more complex or difficult that just using one book! A rare and wonderful thing in rpgs.

Pulp-Fu is an alternative to Wire-Fu in that it too is a complete rule set, but focussed on crime, adventure, guns and basically the more modern world. Perhaps my only complaint is that it's new mechanic (Sanity) doesn't do a whole lot for me... Even then, it's not too bad and entirely optional, so you can do the whole Call of Cthulhu thing in style!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wire-Fu
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2007 00:00:00
Wushu: A game you get or don't get... A game you'll love or hate!

The entire range of Wushu books and suppliments comes with my highest recommendation. Though none of the suppliments are in any way essential, they all add a little to the game's concept and prove its versitility time and again. I use Wire-Fu as my core rules, with Pulp-Fu as the secondary set the players tend to peruse (the difference is minimal of course) and both car-fu and cut-fu are mainstays for their excellent ideas.

The Game In short: It's NOT a role-playing game in the usual sense... More an action movie (or whatever tpye you like) that flies by with everyone putting in ideas, making it up frame-by-frame, kick-by-kick and one witty line at a time. It needs good players we can share the limelight and work together, and a GM who can keep track of a story while adapting to the (considerable) amount of player control.

Rules-wise, there's not much. A clear, simple and workable D6 mechanic that gives you big bonuses for being creative, clever and playing to theme, while offering nothing to players who say 'I hit it' every round. Like I say, not for everyone.

I'm especially keen on the fact that if you use EVERY suppliment and rule, it's still no more complex or difficult that just using one book! A rare and wonderful thing in rpgs.

Like I say, I use Wire-Fu as my core rules for the game. If you're gonna give the game a try I'd recommend it as the first book to try (at least if you're into wuxia, hk movies or the like) as it's a solid foundation and contains perhaps the best overall examples of play to help guide wushu neophytes.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Wushu Guide to Wyrd-Fu
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2007 00:00:00
Wushu: A game you get or don't get... A game you'll love or hate!

The entire range of Wushu books and suppliments comes with my highest recommendation. Though none of the suppliments are in any way essential, they all add a little to the game's concept and prove its versitility time and again. I use Wire-Fu as my core rules, with Pulp-Fu as the secondary set the players tend to peruse (the difference is minimal of course) and both car-fu and cut-fu are mainstays for their excellent ideas.

The Game In short: It's NOT a role-playing game in the usual sense... More an action movie (or whatever tpye you like) that flies by with everyone putting in ideas, making it up frame-by-frame, kick-by-kick and one witty line at a time. It needs good players we can share the limelight and work together, and a GM who can keep track of a story while adapting to the (considerable) amount of player control.

Rules-wise, there's not much. A clear, simple and workable D6 mechanic that gives you big bonuses for being creative, clever and playing to theme, while offering nothing to players who say 'I hit it' every round. Like I say, not for everyone.

I'm especially keen on the fact that if you use EVERY suppliment and rule, it's still no more complex or difficult that just using one book! A rare and wonderful thing in rpgs.

Wyrd-Fu is the book I've not had chance to use yet, but it's still the quality I've cone to expect. Well written, concise and stuffed with good ideas, example characters, settins and detailed examples of play to show how the new material might be added to your game.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Wyrd-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Fringe
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2006 00:00:00
I like the loose style of the Wushu Guides. They are trying to give tips how to emulate a certain genre with Wushu.
The same style is used here, but as this is a game of its own it could use a more detailed discussion of the player perception / madness vs. "objective" reality.


LIKED: - fun to read

DISLIKED: - no page numbers
- could use a more detailed discussion of the madness vs. reality

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Fringe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Wushu Guide to Wyrd-Fu
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2006 00:00:00
A very loose set of rules (recommendations?) for magic in the Wushu system. If you like the style of the other Wushu guides, you'll like this one as well.


LIKED: As always, fun to read.

DISLIKED: No page numbers

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Wyrd-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wire-Fu
by John H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2006 00:00:00
I love roleplaying. I love to collect roleplaying books. My bookshelf full of beautiful, shiny, hardbound RPGs has always been my proudest possession(s). I also loved to collect, not just new settings, but new rules. I ~loved~ to pour over new mechanics, figure them out, compare them... I loved new rules just as much as I loved the books or playing them.

That's right, I said "loved." As in, past tense. Wushu has completely ruined (cured!) this rules collecting of mine.

The fact is, Wushu is simply the best system for roleplaying out there. Period. Bar none. You can do ANYTHING with this game. That's right, N. E. THING.

"Can you do-?"
"Yep."
"Well what about-?"
"Yep."
"But only [x] is good for playing-"
"Nope, Wushu does it better."

I'm serious. I can not bring myself to buy a single RPG since I bought Wushu, except to read the setting. I just can't use any rules since these!

Now, a little clarification is probably needed. You might be one of those roleplayers who absolutely loves pouring over multiple charts to figure out speed and velocity and frickin wind speed just to fire an arrow. Or maybe you're addicted to experience points, and all you care about is seeing that total rise. If so, WUSHU IS NOT FOR YOU! Don't want anybody getting angry at me, if you're on of those players.

However, if, like me, it's the story that you roleplay for; if you play for fun; if you're freaking tired of your characters never being able to do the things your sheet says they can because you roll crappy...then Wushu will change your roleplaying experience, just like it did mine.

Wire-Fu and Pulp-Fu are the best sourcebooks to buy if you're new to Wushu. However, buying Pulp-Fu doesn't mean you won't know how to play in a kung-fu game, and vice versa. The books have some nifty extra rules and good ideas for those genres, but the complete Wushu rules are in both and they're all you really need. It's the examples of characters and play that makes these books really shine--again, especially if you are new to Wushu.


LIKED: Revolutionized my view of roleplaying forever.
Is cheaper than a combo at freaking McDonalds! See if a Big Mac will give you this much fun!

DISLIKED: Ruined my addiction of rules collecting.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Wushu Guide to Wyrd-Fu
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2006 00:00:00
Sure Wyrd-Fy isn't the best guide for Wushu, but it could be useful if you run a magical capaign, just like in Withcraft or Mage The Awekening, bhudism Wuxia or just Heroic Fantasy.

Thanks to dan bayn ^_^ spellcasters could be as strong as warriors for more fun.



LIKED: narrative truth is very suitable for magic

DISLIKED: more exemple like psychic or super heroes stuff would be more wellcome
a litle too short

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Wyrd-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dark Stars
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2006 00:00:00
There are actually three parts thrown together in this supplement: The "Sarcifices" mechanism to emulate horror that can be used with your favourite system, a discussion of a couple of monsters that fit in a horror sf setting and and an adventure. At the usual large print used in the bayn.org supplements this makes about for an hour of reading which is acceptable at the low price. In comparison to other products from the WUSHU line, this supplement lacks. The writing style is as good as in the other supplements, but I expected more thorough discussion of the genre. Nevertheless, I can scavenge good ideas to be used in my CoC/Delta Green campaign.


LIKED: - Sacrifice mechanism
- writing style

DISLIKED: - large print
- NO PAGE NUMBERS :(

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Stars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wire-Fu
by Aaron Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2006 00:00:00
Imagine a game where it doesn't matter what level of power characters are at, or "party balance". A cyborg killing machine would be just as influential on the outcome of a game as a deadbeat janitor. That's right, Wushu solves the age old question of "How do I help the guy who's playing Han have fun, while still maintaining that Luke is the biggest badass of the party?"

Imagine a game where what you say is what happens, and the dice are just there to tell you how close the current scene is to being resolved.

That game is Wushu.

There's a problem, though. In order to play Wushu, one has to leave many of his preconceptions of RPGs at the door.

Little things: No Gear. No Money. No Experience. No Initiative. No Weapon Damage. No Weapon Range. No preset Monster Stats. No real tactics (in the sense that some tactics are "good" and some are "bad"). No combat maneuvers list (though there are some handy suggestions).

Big one: Little GM control. GMs set up scenes, set up conditionals for their conclusions, and set difficulty level of the scene. Then it's up to the Players to narrate for themselves and the bad guys. The only time this doesn't happen is for The Boss Fight, whenever it may happen.

But now I look upon my review and see that I might be emphasizing combat too much. Wushu's Wire Fu showcases mostly the combat orientation of the system, but it could easily be used for something else, from chases to courtroom drama to intimidating a prisoner to defusing a bomb.

All in all, Wire Fu is worth the money if you like light RPGs, want a cinematic game, and are willing to read it with an open mind.



LIKED: Nearly everything.

DISLIKED: 1. No artwork besides cover.
2. Landscape format.


QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wire-Fu
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2006 00:00:00
In my wife's words, "Ah, so, it's a game where your characters actually SUCCEED." Indeed, it is! Reminiscent of the venerable diceless "Theatrix", Wushu is a terriffic addition to any gamer's collection. Wildly malleable, it's ready to accept any genre you want. In fact, Wushu's Principle of Narrative Truth does more to *support* the genre than do most games, by rewarding in-genre actions and descriptions.

Mm-mm-good!


LIKED: It's rad.

DISLIKED: It could use some editing, spell-checking, etc; the layout is clean but uninspiring. A GM's section, giving suggestions on how to tame this wild beast, would be a terriffic addition. Lastly, if you speak Spanish, just pretend that the author means to say "hand-to-hand' and not "monky-to-monkey".

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 57 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Bayn.org
Bayn.org
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (17)
 Hottest Titles

Wire-Fu

01.Wire-Fu
02.A Wushu Guide to Wyrd-Fu
03.A Wushu Guide to Cut-Fu
04.A Wushu Guide to Gun-Fu
05.Pulp-Fu
06.A Wushu Guide to Car-Fu
07.The Fringe
08.Spellbound: A Game of Folk Magic & Faustian Bargains
09.Dark Stars
10.Erebus: City of Shadows
11.Tempus: Olympians
12.Werewolves Bite
13.Tempus: Chapter 13
14.Tempus: The Plexus
15.Vampires Suck
 
See All
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate