DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Stuperpowers Deluxe!
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2011 17:08:44
Well this game looks nifty and diferent but they secured the PDF so I can not print a copy out for myself and that blows I can't lug my PC to a game session and i'm not gonna buy an I pad or Droid so i can use 1 stinkin PDF ... Boooo on that crap

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stuperpowers Deluxe!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stuperpowers Deluxe!
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2010 23:08:01
Stuperpowers is a spoofish rule system for comic book hero roleplaying. Oddly enough, there are a lot of unique ideas in Stuperpowers, which makes it worth the money you pay for it.
However, it is also filled with mature subjects and corse language and themes. While it looks like it would be a good game to introduce to kids, it is not: it is for mature reading audiences only. I think this is a shame, because otherwise it would have been a pretty good game for potential new gamers, especially the younger ones.

INNOVATIVE CONCEPTS Good
SIMPLE TO PLAY Yes, extremely
SUBJECT MATTER Bad
STORY AND CONCEPT Good
INTERESTING GAME TO PLAY Yes

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stuperpowers Deluxe!
by Warren S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2008 08:37:25
Every once in a while you have to take a break from your "serious" gaming.

For my group Stuperpowers does this with side-stiching, cola-spewing-thru-the-nostrils, BM regularity.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Action Philosophers #4: World Domination Handbook
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2008 21:37:53
Impressive treatment of the life of Machiavelli (who I've mentioned elsewhere as especially apt to RPG inspiration) and a better statement of the Kabbalah than I've seen elsewhere.

As for Marx, I suppose it was necessary to remain relevant to post-Communist readers by recapping a great amount of discussion by his followers and present-day consequences that the man never envisaged.

A strong return to Action Philosophy, too, that I have to say slipped a bit into just Philosophy in the previous couple of issues.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Action Philosophers #4: World Domination Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Action Philosophers #2: All-Sex Special
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2007 04:47:02
I'm enjoying this series, but I have to say that the all-sex special has not much sex and several cheap shots at Christianity. "Jefferson in Paris" does a much better job of the Sally Hemmings story.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Action Philosophers #2: All-Sex Special
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Action Philosophers #1
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2007 11:40:13
POW! WHACK! THINK!
This is silly enough of an idea to be fun and educational. Makes me want the other issues.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Action Philosophers #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Action Philosophers #1
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2007 00:25:11
Funny stuff and an insightful look at each personage's career and central ideas as well.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Action Philosophers #1
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/26/2007 00:00:00
Action Philosophers #1 is a comic book from Evil Twin Comics. The comic is downloaded in PDF format, being just shy of nine megabytes in size. It's a grand total of thirty-six pages long, and has bookmarks to each section about a different philosopher, as well as to the recommended reading section, and the Action Philosophers website.

Action Philosophers is dedicated to covering the life and teachings of various real historical philosophers, all in comic format. To reiterate, while the depictions are quite humorous and usually exaggerated, everything that is being told is true, albeit condensed. This first issue covers Plato, Bodhidharma, and Nietzsche. The amount of pages dedicated to the philosophers are somewhat lopsided, as Plato gets thirteen pages, Bodhidharma gets eleven, while Nietzsche gets only six.

The art here is done in black and white, the cover notwithstanding. There's liberal use of grey and shading, however, so the comic still feels very vibrant. As mentioned before, the tone, both in text and drawing, is very playful. For example, in the section where they discuss Bodhidharma's most famous express, "If you see Buddha on the road, kill him," there's a drawing of Buddha crossing a modern city street, viewed through a scope with crosshairs targeting him. I'm hesitant to call the art style "cartoony," but no one's going to confuse the drawings of the characters with the sense of "realism" that comics like X-Men strive for. The characters here are exaggerated in their illustrated depiction, all the better to lend themselves to the humorous summarizing of what they taught.

Overall, Action Philosophers is one of the few things out there that really does make learning fun. The comic is amusing to read, even as it recounts the tales of these philosophical visionaries and gives us the basics of their wisdom. It's great for someone who wants a very easy-to-digest incarnation of some of history's greatest thinkers (whether for yourself, your kids, your students, etc). Let Action Philosophers #1 open your mind today!



LIKED: This product did a great job not only covering the philosophers it went over, but did so in a hilarious way. This is a stellar example of edutainment in action.

DISLIKED: The teachings of Nietzsche seemed extremely short compared to the other two here, which is a shame.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stuperpowers Deluxe!
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2006 02:33:06
This book has the least imaginitive system ever created. Character creation is completely random and everything is resolved through coin flips or rock-paper-scissors.

But the setting in here is better than Freedom City or anything else I've seen. They even provide a campaign 5 adventures long, complete with a pretty good teist ending. The sugessted hooks in here are actually good, useful, creative ideas. Just convert the villains to some other system (I used Mutants and Masterminds) and you have a really cool campaign setting.

AND there is a section that mimics a 'Mystery in a Box' party where the guests come as superheroes disguised as thier alter egos and one of them is a super villian. It's great fun.

The only reason this dosn't get 5 stars from me is that they obviously spent so much time on the setting, why oh why did they ignore the system. Ah well, I still think it was well worth my $10

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stuperpowers Deluxe!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Gift Certificates