DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The One Ring - The Darkening of Mirkwood
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/24/2014 03:38:50
Eine gesamte Systemvorstellung findet sich unter: http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2014/03/24/zurueck-in-mittelerd-
e-der-eine-ring-eine-einfuehrung/

Bis­her nur auf Eng­lisch erschie­nen, beschreibt das Buch die Ereig­nisse im gro­ßen Düs­ter­wald und den sich aus­brei­ten­den Schat­ten. Statt eines engen klas­si­schen Aben­teu­ers mit aus­ge­ar­bei­te­ten Details gibt der Band einen roten Faden durch über 30 Jahre Hand­lung, die den wach­sen­den Ein­fluss der Naz­gul von Dol Gul­dur zum Hin­ter­grund hat, des im Grund­re­gel­werk ange­deu­te­ten regio­na­len Metaplots von Wil­der­land zu die­ser Zeit.

Für Spiel­lei­ter setzt die­ser Band das Kapi­tel „Kam­pa­gne“ und die Jah­res­be­schrei­bun­gen des Grund­re­gel­werks fort und ist eine Fund­grube für span­nende und zuneh­mend bedrü­cken­dere Plots. Abge­run­det wird der Band von einer Beschrei­bung neuer Ant­ago­nis­ten, voran den Ring­geis­tern. Dass sich das hier prä­sen­tierte Mate­rial naht­los in Tol­kiens Uni­ver­sum ein­fügt und auch ohne Spiel­an­wen­dung ein Ver­gnü­gen zum Lesen ist, beweist ein­mal mehr die Hin­gabe der Auto­ren.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - The Darkening of Mirkwood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space Limited Edition Hardcover Edition
by R. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2014 20:50:04
The format's as good as all the others. What makes this so good is that everything's in ONE place, instead of a couple of books and pamphlets.
The photos are great, the list of traits is more complete.
The layout is better.
Overall, just as a starter book for this game, this is the best produced so far.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space Limited Edition Hardcover Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space Limited Edition Hardcover Edition
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/11/2014 14:14:11
Fantastic! Allons-y!

ORIGINAL REVIEW: A great and worthy game to bear the name of the highly acclaimed "restart" of the Doctor Who series.

Using a simple 2d6 + stat, roll over target number system, DW:AiTaS though goes beyond what is typically since in RPGs. Talking and Running are preferable to fighting, just like in the show and there many ways to measure success.

The system is similar to Unisystem and even GURPs, but not as "crunchy". This is a game of normal humans and the occasional alien battling foes that out match them, out gun them and out "tech" them. You are going to need to be very clever or lucky (or both!). While this could have fell into the Call of Cthulhu end of the spectrum on hero survival, heroes are expected to survive and even win.

The trade dress and artwork is all from the 11th Doctor/Moffat era, so it resembles the 11th Doctor set in that respect. But if that were all then there would not be much need to buy this. In fact there is quite a bit of "new stuff" that feel this is much more of an update than a simple re-edit and design.

It is an extremely attractive book (256 full color pages). If you are new to this game then this is the place to start. If you are new to Doctor Who, well then I would say grab the Tenth or Eleventh Doctor version of the rules. All the same rules, but less emphasis on the the show's own history. Though there are the story/adventure seeds for all 12 doctors and that is very nice.

If you have either of the 11th or 10th Doctor version of this game then you have most of the rules and text, though some things look like the are a bit clearer (or I am rereading them for 10th time). This is one full document as opposed to the multiple PDFs of the "boxed sets". It also updates the text to reflect the last bits of the Matt Smith seasons and the Day of the Doctor 50th Anniversary special. So stats for the War Doctor and updated Zygons.

I plan on picking this one up in hardback as soon as I can to be honest. That's how much I enjoy this game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Yggdrasill - The Nine Worlds
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/03/2014 03:05:16
Yggdrasill is perhaps the best Viking rpg that I know of. Focused on bringing both historical and fantasy elements of the culture to life, the game has earned nothing but praise from me in my earlier review of the corebook.

The Nine Worlds is the first supplement to the game, and expands the setting in a way that many fans have been waiting for. The Nine Worlds contains information on the more magical realms of the Norse setting, discussing each one in turn and giving information on the creatures and challenges that the player characters may encounter there.

The book goes into detail into all of the Nine Worlds: Asgard, Alfheim, Vanaheim, Jotunheim, Nidavellir, Svartalfheim, Muspelheim and Niflheim. The worlds receives a description of it's geography, the dangers found in the world, the occasional important location, and plot hooks and artifacts that the GM could use to spice up their Yggdrasill campaigns.

The book also has new options for player characters, the most compelling of which would have to be the option to play Half-Breeds, those born from inhuman parents. The range from the Half-Jotun, to Half-Alfar. They also special traits that influence their starting abilities.

Special powers are also covered in the book, and can cover the various powers and abilities that can be bestowed to the players via magic items.

The book also contains 3 adventures, Winter's Fall, The Hunter and The Forgotten Oath, all of which can be used as part of an ongoing campaign.

---

Overall The Nine Worlds is a good follow up to Yggdrasill. The book expands the setting but doesn't lose it's touch with the historical feel. Fantasy elements are sufficiently fantastic, but also well grounded in the cultural context of the setting.

If you're looking for more ways to make Yggdrasill even more compelling, then you should definitely pick up a copy of The Nine Worlds.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Yggdrasill - The Nine Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The One Ring - The Darkening of Mirkwood
by Mark E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2014 13:48:46
In addition, The Heart of the Wild offers you multiple towns and villages for your heroes to develop as sanctuaries. The Darkening of Mirkwood is an incredible book, filled with plots for your adventures - and best of all, accurate to Middle-earth. IMHO (I have gamed for more than 30 years), this is the best game to ever bring Tolkien's work to the table top, and I highly recommend it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - The Darkening of Mirkwood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Doctor Who:Adventures in Time and Space - Cat's Eye
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2014 16:17:31
I like the general thrust of the episode. It's creepy without being genuinely terrifying, it presents a good mystery for the characters to solve, and it's open to enough "jiggering" to personalize for your party of adventurers. For example, when I ran the first half of the adventure, I added an NPC who was a "childhood friend" of one of the PCs but ran away from home, and I set the adventure in the 1970s--bingo, customized for my group.

That said, a lot of what should be fairly obvious scenarios aren't addressed within the module. For example, suppose the Doctor tries telepathy on a human here. What happens? For spoilers' sake, I can't go further along this line of questioning, but there's a set of character statistics that should probably be included that aren't.

Also, there are two different introductions given on two different pages, and that's rather odd. At one point, the narrative directs the adventure into a particular room that's never been mentioned before, with no further explanation, a room that goes unmentioned on the maps, too. A QA play-through should have caught that.

I'm just having some trouble, as GM, finding my way through the adventure, even after two read-throughs on separate weeks. I'll have to do a third study session before I can confidently run the conclusion.

It's easily worth the money--yes, definitely buy it!!--but be prepared to spend more prep time than you're used to with a pre-fab module.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Doctor Who:Adventures in Time and Space - Cat's Eye
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Doctor Who:Adventures in Time and Space - Cat's Eye
by Garrett C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 18:23:14
I've been waiting a long time for this... an official Doctor Who module. To my surprise it didn't include classic monsters or exotic locales. It proved to be a Lovecraftian nightmare starring destitute people trying to make a go of it in a dilapidated hotel... and everyone's doomed because of cosmic evil... of course. This module accomplishes what I love most of Doctor Who... it builds strong NPCs the audience cares about. It isn't easy to make PCs care about down on their luck people crashing in an abandoned hotel, but this module does it well.
Don't expect classic Who villains clashing in space. This is a Cthulhu-like slower paced investigation in a very creepy locale. Well done.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - The Heart of the Wild
by Gary I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2014 01:10:52
An outstanding sourcebook packed with enough information to bring every region of the Wild to life and build the atmosphere of awe. sadness and tension that marks the Tolkein setting. Maps are helpful, lots and lots of locations are presented from the merely interesting to the highly significant. I love the additional activities for the Fellowship phase.

This is probably essential to own if you want to get the most of TOR and is an important companion to playing the Darkening of Mirkwood campaign.

Very well written, nice artwork and obviously exhaustive research combine into a very compelling release.

For 5 stars, the material would have included one or two items of note - I know that magic is rare and different in Middle Earth, but that makes it perhaps more important to have the odd item available.

Thoroughly recommend this is you are going to play a TOR campaign, or even if you're just a huge Tolkein fan.

I thought this was excellent value as a PDF, certainly, and the amount of information in here is a lot more than I was expecting for the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - The Heart of the Wild
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The One Ring - The Darkening of Mirkwood
by Mike A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2014 20:45:42
Henry A. is obviously one of those Gm's with little imagination and completely dependent on products to drive every aspect of his campaign. I feel for his players. Darkening is a gem. It has a plethora of imaginative storylines, all completely tailoring to Tolkien canon. This RPG continues to impress and provide one of the most exciting campaigns my players have ever experienced-Mike

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - The Darkening of Mirkwood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The One Ring™: Adventures over the Edge of the Wild 2011 Edition
by Gary I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2014 13:54:33
Yes it's pretty, though I have to say the artwork is not as inspiring as most of the reviews would have you believe. It's atmospheric and has some good system elements, such as the accumulation of Shadow points, the narrative-oriented Fellowship Phase and an easy to use skill system. Encounters are also structured simply, and again lend themselves to good roleplaying opportunity.

What lets it down for me is the combat system: if you want to recreate the combat maneuvres of the films, and to revel in the memories of artful fighting scenes, then this is not the system that will make that happen. Several oddities make it very easy to be knocked out (it's too easy to hit PCs, to be fair), armour makes no difference to that dynamic as it doesn't soak endurance damage, and somehow what should be atmospheric struggles become life threatening in the face of pretty poor opposition.

The background material, gifts of valour or wisdom and many other things are excellent, but combat is bad enough that I'll be melding the TOR material with a better system. Still worth buying if you love roleplaying in Middle Earth (in TA2946...) and for the well-structured (if often a little swift to complete) adventures.

Not the uber-game I was expecting from the gushing reviews, but certainly good. I will no doubt buy all the supplements available (not least because the MERP ones are virtually impossible to get hold of now) but just can't live with the skeletal combat rules.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring™: Adventures over the Edge of the Wild 2011 Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The One Ring - The Darkening of Mirkwood
by Henry A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2014 11:41:30
WHERE'S THE MEAT???
This is not a campaign. It's a story with some plot twists. But I could get that from a novel. A cheap novel.
No location is detailed, so you have no town or settlement for your heroes.
No major NPCs are provided, so you are still tasked with creating the people to move the story along.
No special foes are added, so there is nothing special about this story versus another.
No special weapons or treasures are added, so there is no accomplishments for the PCs to obtain.
There is one positive though, at least you have a storyline that fits the game. But that is all you have.

This is a nicely formatted creative writing assignment with pictures. It's not a sourcebook for gaming.

I recommend a forty page errata with all the locations, NPCs, items and villains. Oh yeah, the sourcebook!!

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - The Darkening of Mirkwood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The One Ring - The Darkening of Mirkwood
by Andrew L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2014 06:50:44
The Darkening of Mirkwood - pdf review

This is going to be a gorgeous book. Adventure seeds cover 30 years, bringing the game up to the year TA 2977. Those 30 years are broken down into three distinct periods: The Last Good Years: 2947-2950; The Return of the Shadow: 2951-2960; and The Darkening of Mirkwood: 2961-2977. There are a few pages near the end of the book that largely duplicates information from the companion sourcebook The Heart of the Wild, this is the Appendix, which covers the Nazgul of Dol Guldur and other Characters and Creatures specific to the campaign. However, the duplication is probably worthwhile for ease of reference.

This is definitely a book for Loremasters/GMs as opposed to Adventurers but well-worth getting. The physical product is expected to be in stores in April. Recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - The Darkening of Mirkwood
by mike m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2014 12:26:01
Tons of material to use in months if not years of gaming. add that to the amazing system cubicle 7 has created and it makes this book an absolute must have for any Tolkien fan or any story driven RPG fan.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - The Darkening of Mirkwood
by Istvan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2014 12:22:56
A really excellent publication. Very easy to read, and full of adventure ideas. And the grand campaign itself is just great, recommended for every GM.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Doctor Who - The Fourth Doctor Sourcebook
by Alexander O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/31/2014 01:59:21
And the next installment of the DWAITAS Doctor
Sourcebooks is out. It's the 4th Doctor -- portrayed by Tom Baker -- the longest running of all the Doctors so far, and arguably the most popular of the original series sequence.

Like the prior installments in this excellent series, DWAITAS - Fourth Doctor Sourcebook not only provides the predictable crunch (new traits, character sheets for the Doctor / Companions / acquaintances / enemies) and fluff (series and episode synposes), but also provides some thematic explorations and comparisons to the episodes and themes from prior incarnations. It even includes a synopsis of the lost episode "Shada", a must-have for die-hard Whovians.

I say, doesn't Skarga's sphere remind you of Rover, from The Prisoner?

Chapter One: Playing in the Fourth Doctor Era

Some really interesting insights here, as I'm used to thinking of the Doctor's older shows in episodic form, rather than as the grand sweep of a campaign arc. While many would cite the change in characterization as the most obvious change, I'd missed the fact that the Far Future of humanity is mapped out in this cycle of stories. Also, as pointed out in "The Demystification of the Time Lords", it's true that the mysterious Time Lords and Gallifrey are not only fleshed out more, they're also taken down a peg and portrayed as a decadent and decaying culture that possesses a great deal of power and influence in the multiverse -- a theme certainly worth exploring.

Chapter Two: The Fourth Doctor and Companions

The Two Companions that really jumped out at me here are -- surprise -- Romana and Romana. The first incarnation was not only beautiful, but had a distant and aloof aspect to her beauty; the second incarnation was more sweet and approachable in seeming, perhaps indicating the change in her personality after having been influenced by the traveling Doctor's ways (or maybe she just like Princess Astra's looks, just like she said). Of course, Leela and Sarah Jane Smith are also memorable, but the counterpoint of an equal Time Lord to the Doctor really shifted the dynamic for me in this era.

Chapter Three: The Fourth Doctor's Adventures + Shada in the Appendix

For those interested in canon, the complete run of the 4th Doctor's many adventures, and adventure hooks and NPCs, opponents, and gadgets aplenty -- this section is a treasure trove of gaming delights. If there's an episode you've always wanted to appropriate for your campaign, now's your chance to get your hands on appropriate crunch or fluff!


The next installment can't come soon enough for me!

(from http://armchairgamer.blogspot.com/)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Doctor Who - The Fourth Doctor Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 243 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates