DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Private Railroad Car, 1900-1935
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2012 07:12:39
This is a good product. It provides two styles of railroad car description: the historical and the base of operations for a player charater team (or villain hideout). I thought I would have images of Wild Wild West running through my head as I read this, but the description is incredibly good. I want one of these railcars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Private Railroad Car, 1900-1935
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

30-ton Ship's Boat Deckplans 1.01
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2011 14:46:08
The Low-down:
I can only echo what others have said: "a classic design rendered by one of the masters of the game". For the price, you really can't beat this booklet if you want to know more about this vehicle.

The Great:
Tons of details (esp. if you read the MegaTraveller stats) and "chrome" that help bring this ship (and 4 other variants) to life, including equipment locker contents, access and escape hatch locations, etc.

The Good:
Classic Style deck plans, stats for Classic Traveller, MegaTraveller and GURPS Traveller.

The Meh:
The game stats are included in-line with the text, and it all kind of runs together. The LKW "Ship's Boat" booklet puts the stats at the end, which I feel is a better choice.

It would have been nice to have an exterior "Eye Candy" view, and maybe some interior artwork, but for under $2us, it's a very understandable choice.

No Mongoose Traveller stats are given, but they're close enough to Classic Traveller and MegaTraveller that synthesizing the information isn't hard.

The Bad:
Nothing, nothing at all.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
30-ton Ship's Boat Deckplans 1.01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

20-Ton Launch
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2011 10:04:56
This product is very much in the style of the original Traveller "Little Black Books". It presents the classic workhorse of small spacecraft - the 20 Ton Launch - giving more detail and some background flavor over the basic rule book descriptions. But aside from adding flavor to the standard launch, this book also details 8 other variants, including Lifeboat, Liason, Survey, Search&Rescue, Hunting, Retail (think travelling salesmen's wagons from the "Old West"), Estate (A travelling office for officials) and Gig (the "gunboat" version).

Keyed and legended floor plans in the classic style are given for each ship, as well as a few paragraphs of description. Stats for Classic Traveller, MegaTraveller and GURPS Traveller are given for each variant.

All in all, this is an excellent resource concerning the ubiquitous launch and some of its many variants, and the production, while spartan, is clear and easy to read. (Again, much like other Classic "Little Black Books".)

The *only* reason I didn't give it top marks is that it lacks any exterior illustrations of a Launch and does not have stats for Mongoose Traveller (which may not have been available at the time of printing?). If neither of those two factors are important to you, then this booklet should get 5 stars.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
20-Ton Launch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

30-ton Slow Boat
by arthur p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2010 12:17:57
LIKED: Good descriptions of ships with playable plans.

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT: No exterior views. Update with Mongoose Traveller statistics.

DISLIKED: It really needs an exterior view to understand the wing configuration. I found nothing really new or innovative in this book that hadn’t been done better in one of the other books in the series. LKW can do better than ‘cargo’ and ‘passenger’ variants (with a ‘military’ variant that is virtually identical to the passenger version).

I would recommend that you get either the 30 Ton Ship’s Boat or 40 Ton Pinnace instead.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
30-ton Slow Boat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

40-ton Pinnace
by arthur p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2010 11:37:46
LIKED: Great descriptions of useful ships with playable plans.

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT: No exterior views. Update with Mongoose Traveller statistics.

As a gear-head, I was a little disappointed that no real details were given on the ‘swing wings’. They have been a feature of this classic design forever, with no official rules on designing craft with swing wings or description of what actual benefit they provide. This was a missed chance for one of the ‘sages’ of the game to fill in a gap.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
40-ton Pinnace
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

20-Ton Launch
by arthur p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2010 11:14:29
More of what one expects in a plan by LKW – great descriptions of useful ships with playable plans.

LIKED: I found the variants to be even more useful than his other products. I think that there really is a version for every need. I saw a different adventure seed in each variant.

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT: No exterior views. Update with Mongoose Traveller statistics.

A good bargain and a great product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
20-Ton Launch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

600-ton Subsidized Liner
by arthur p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2010 10:59:12
LIKED: Clear, usable plans for a large ship with plenty of descriptive text to flesh out the plans. Other publishers should take notes on how to present a large ship in a usable format.

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT: No exterior views. It could use a one sheet plan of each level to give a better feel of the overall design. Update with Mongoose Traveller statistics.

Well done, useful for actual play and a good bargain.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
600-ton Subsidized Liner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

30-ton Ship's Boat Deckplans 1.01
by arthur p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2010 10:41:55
What’s not to like! A classic design rendered by one of the masters of the game. The text descriptions are everything that you would expect and include many of the details that I always wondered about.

Two small criticisms …

1. no Mongoose Traveller statistics for the ship (needs an update to include the new kid on the Traveller block).

2. no exterior images included.

Overall, I found it a very usable product and I am satisfied with my purchase. A good value.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
30-ton Ship's Boat Deckplans 1.01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Roman Taverns, ca. 79 AD
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/29/2009 15:57:13
Roman Taverns (Thermopolia) is a 5-page system-less historical reference PDF by Loren K. Wiseman and self-published. It is a description and discussion of the archeological evidence of Roman taverns and how to use versions of them in a game setting.

Thermopolia, like modern taverns, were an important part of the Roman social scene, this product gives a games master the tools to use them in a game. Two different thermopolia are included, both fully mapped out, a small ‘inexpensive’ tavern and a large fancier one. It is a useful product as it shows that such places have always been without but also how they have been different under different cultures and technologies.

The product starts with the description of the small tavern, giving the historical/archeological information we know about the small tavern, how it was constructed and a reconstruction of the floor plan complete with a map. The map is clean and keyed to a numbered description, my only complaint about the maps is that no scale is given (it looks like one foot per square however).

The second tavern is a larger one about which less information has survived but the map is clear and easy to read. A map of the city of Pompeii is also included, showing where the two buildings used as the models for the thermopolia were located. The product concludes with a glossary and a brief discussion of rough costs of services in the taverns.

For games masters looking for a different place for character to drink and exchange information, this is a good resource. My only regret is that it is not longer.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Roman Taverns, ca. 79 AD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

600-ton Subsidized Liner
by Darrell P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2009 05:17:37
This is over all a good product. It goes into great detail about the subsidized liner and its vatiants and shows the stats for the different versions of traveller. The map sheets are nice but a bit large most likely for minature play. I highly recomoennd this for any traveller or sci-fi gamer. It could be used in a number of games other than traveller.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
600-ton Subsidized Liner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

30-ton Ship's Boat Deckplans 1.01
by Daryl D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2006 00:00:00
excellent product! Just what I needed for my game!


LIKED: a simple concise floorplan!

DISLIKED: Nothing! It was just what I expected and wanted!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
30-ton Ship's Boat Deckplans 1.01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

30-ton Ship's Boat Deckplans 1.01
by Matthew A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2006 00:00:00
A helpful deck plan for those pirate boardings... Glad to see LKW back in the saddle!

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
30-ton Ship's Boat Deckplans 1.01
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2005 00:00:00
Excellent, well written supplement, useful in almost any rpg. Who would want a ship without a runabout?

LIKED: Very useful for Traveller

DISLIKED: It's the only one, so far.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
30-ton Ship's Boat Deckplans 1.01
by Alan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2005 00:00:00
Excellent product , more traveller deckplans and write-ups please

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
30-ton Ship's Boat Deckplans 1.01
by Paul W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2004 00:00:00
Overall, excellent professionally produced deckplans in classic LBB format. HIghly recommended.

LIKED: Useful well-written clear descriptions & illustrations fitting straight into my ongoing campaign. Highly useful!
Versatile - statted for Classic Traveller, Megatraveller, and GURPS Traveller.
High production values.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates