DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dark Heresy 2nd Edition Beta
by samuel a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2013 12:25:33
It was fun and easy to use, though there are still some bugs in this system I look forward to the final version

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy 2nd Edition Beta
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Player's Guide
by Curtis N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2013 13:14:25
High quality, searchable, informative. This is a great resource for all Warhammer 3e players. For the player, this and some dice are all you need to get started. GM will probably want to add the Game Master Guide which also includes a short adventure.

Optional components, cards, and sheets can be obtained with the different "Vault" boxes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Anima: Prometheum Exxet - The Supernatural Artifacts
by Seth M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2013 19:53:10
The product is excellent, the artifact system and general rules work and work well. Overall I'd say this is an excellent Anima product and shows just how good the system can be when compared to DnD or pathfinder.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Anima:  Prometheum Exxet - The Supernatural Artifacts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Terror in Talabheim
by antonio s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2013 16:43:32
Very fun to GM, but the players are finding it a bit frustrating I think, as their characters get a bit ill. Still, only 4 sessions in and they seem to be getting the upper hand... ish!

It's WFRP, it's grim and perilous and deadly, and it's better than any generic dungeon bash.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Terror in Talabheim
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Realms of Sorcery
by Brian P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2013 18:08:16
One of the biggest changes between the first and second editions of Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay was the magic system. Driven mostly by changes in the background of the miniatures wargame in between the two editions, the second edition ditched first edition's system of leveled spells and magic points for the new system of color magic. Most of the basics are covered in the main rulebook, of course, but Realms of Sorcery fleshes that out in nearly every direction.

I'll come back to that "nearly."

As you might expect, there's a lot of fluff in the first half of the book. There's a history of magic usage in the Empire up to the point of the Great War Against Chaos, which I can easily summarize as "BURN THE WITCH! Priest are okay though." During the war, Emperor Magnus the Pious sent for aid to Ulthuan, and the High Elves sent three archmages, which was all they could spare at the time. Those archmages went on to help win the war by teaching humans how to safely become wizards, but unlike elves, humans can only use one color at a time safely. Hence the eight orders.

There's a bunch of exposition about the orders as well, with some neat tidbits. Members of the Amber Order don't have a college in Altdorf like the others, instead lairing in the hills outside the city walls. Members of the Grey Order take strong vows never to use their magic for venal financial gain, precisely because it would be so easy for them to do so. The colleges themselves are well-described, too, in a way that lessens their impact on the landscape of Altdorf. I've read that a lot of people don't really like the Colleges of Magic, because they feel like their overtly high fantasy feel damages the presentation of the Warhammer world. I can see that, but there are some colleges that I think actually make things even more mysterious. Like the Azure College, which is a huge building with plenty of high towers to see the stars, but which is never actually visible due to the workings of fate--anyone who looks at it will get bumped into, or trip, or laundry will blow in front of it, or the person will think of something else they have to do, and so on. The Bright College is in the middle of a burned-out stretch of ruins that Altdorfers refuse to move back into, and the Amethyst College appears as a building that's been deserted for decades unless you actually have legitimate business there, in which case you'll probably turn a corner and meet a magister. Or the aforementioned Amber College, in a series of caves. I think it gives the proper mysterious touch to magic that first edition didn't really have.

Then there are the mechanics sections, which I think are really valuable. One of the problems with the spell list system for color magic as of the main book is that because a wizard gets all the spells they would ever learn immediately on taking the Arcane Magic Talent, the whole idea of knowledge-seeking wizards pouring through ancient tomes of arcane lore is restricted to rituals, and the example rituals given in the corebook leave basically no reason why anyone would actually want to cast them based on how difficult they are to use. Honestly, it's probably easier for a Bright Wizard to just set a town on fire than to gather all the materials to use The Awakening of the Slumbering Earth Dragon. The addition of ten extra spells, a choice of multiple lists (each of which only has ten spells), and the Extra Spell Talent to learn the other spells provides both an XP sink for wizards and a reason to seek out knowledge.

There's also a section on witches and witch-hunters, which is short but does a good job.

Finally, there are parts about alchemy, wizards' familiars, and magical items. The alchemy chapter has a very Warhammery (if I can use that word) take on alchemy; potions, being made of perishable ingredients, have a shelf life and can go bad in all sorts of hilarious ways. Familiars provide bonuses for the wizards who use them, but there's a great table of personality descriptions of the familiars to provide some character to them, including options like "Passive-Aggressive," "Know-It-All," and "Raving Mad." There's options for constructed familiars as well as natural animals, so creepy wizards can have their homunculi. The magic items is mostly just a list--in keeping with their rarity, there's no standard rules for making them--but it's nice to have options.

Now, the problems. One of the major problems I had with Realms of Sorcery is its breadth. It's pretty much entirely focused on Imperial magic, and not only that, on modern Imperial magic. I find it really bizarre that there were never any successful wizards in the 2300 years prior to Magnus the Pious, and kind of sad that the other traditions from first edition, like druids or elementalists, weren't included. It does make a nod to druids in the backstory of the Jade Order, and I suppose that the various colors of magic replicate the feel of elementalism--Bright is fire, Azure is Air, Jade is Earth--but it does hammer down the type of acceptable characters to a very defined set. Especially since Tilea, Bretonnia, Estalia, and Kislev exist and presumably have their own type of wizards, but they aren't defined. Kislev does get a breakdown of its magic in Realm of the Ice Queen, but none of the others ever did. It's a persistent problem with the WFRP stuff being so Empire-centric.

The other problem is elves. The book implies that elves should have mechanical differences in the way they interact with magic, but there's no hint on how to handle that. Despite elves being able to use multiple colors without the apparent certainty of harm (or at least, of going crazy and turning evil) that humans have, they apparently still only have the same Apprentice Wizard career that humans do. Unlike Tileans and Estalians, elf wizards had a direct and obvious effect on the magical development of the Empire, and the complete lack of mechanical support for that was pretty disappointing to me.

Other than those points, it's a great sourcebook, and I think it'd be highly valuable for background and antagonist info even in a game with no PC wizards.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Realms of Sorcery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Heresy 2nd Edition Beta
by Daniel M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2013 12:42:25
Very excited to start playing this soon. Love the changes to character creation, talents, skills, just about everything. And FFG is being very inclusive and thoughtful about the Beta process which gives me high hopes for the finished product. This new edition addresses a lot of issues I had with 1st ed, specifically that the power creep had gotten to a point where 1st rank characters felt too strong. I like Dark Heresy to be about investigation with combat being either a climax or a result of poor planning on the PC's part. 2nd edition looks like it tones back on that power scale while still allowing room to become very powerful in later ranks.

On a quality note: excellent product; high quality, very crisp and readable at any zoom level. Thoroughly bookmarked, searchable, and easy to navigate; loads quickly on my machine.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy 2nd Edition Beta
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Heresy 2nd Edition Beta
by Alexander M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2013 16:27:13
pros:
+ reorganization of skills, looks streamlined. No stat looks ignorable for any character class. intrigued to see how it plays out.
+ drastic re-org of talents, much easier discovery of short/long term goals, flexible dependencies instead of "you must be a militant 5... or a pilot 1... or a AD INFINITUM"
+ new character creation process. no artificial class boundaries, easier expression of character concept. Like dnd-next, you get a lightweight layering "origin/background/class" and then buy a few tweaks with starting XP.
+ best darn "adventure at the back of the book" I've ever seen -- instead of your usual plot-rails, it's a template where you tune each faction's heresy-quotent, and then let the faction heads persue their goals and react to PCs. And even a "loyal" faction has an interesting effect on the scenario, as disastrous plans can spring from good intentions.
+ combat rounds have replaced "full/half/react/free" with an action point system, akin to XCOM, that might possibly be excellent... I've cautious optimism about how it'll play out.
+ psi is mostly rogue-trader style power rolls, except fettered/push is a continuous gradient now, and powers are organized into trees like the talents chapter.
+ counting degrees of success/fail has had the math streamlined, which looks like it'll help a bit -- but we've been using fading sun's even faster success metric anyway.
+ damage is more gritty: gone are the HP where you only start taking crits when you hit zero; any hit past the TB+armor of a named character is going to roll on the tables'o'pain for some flavor. As a FATE/narrative GM, this is a win at my table.
(righteous fury no longer needs any to-hit or damage rolls, it's just automatically a HOLYCR*squish* roll on the crit tables.)

cons:
- vehicle rules are about 8 pages of clumsy looking mechanics; I'll toss half of them to make it an abstract system.
- like rogue trader, finances are abstracted to availability and influence tests, plus a group's subtlety score for how alert the sector is to there actions-- I like thrones for in person shopping, and abstract for campaign altering stuff, but it's the subtlety thing that smells gamey. Instead, I'm following the spirit of the concept by having influence and subtlety be per faction.

- character sheet doesn't take advantage of the concepts introduced, so I'm busy creating a refactor of the characteristic/skills sector over on my ashnazg.com/blag -- and mine won't have an page-wide inkwash! Common publishers, think of the poor printers you're killing for no reason!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy 2nd Edition Beta
by Sean P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2013 14:02:53
This is tough to rate because perhaps it deserves to be rated all on it's own - but on the other hand, it's tough to rate it without the context from where it came from. Also tough to rate because I haven't actually played these Beta rules yet. But there doesn't appear to be any reviews here at this point, so I'll put down my thoughts.

Let's start with this, the WarHammer 40k setting is off the hook. It's dark, rich, grim, complicated, gritty & deadly - but that's been true for a long time and has little to do with this 2nd Edition Beta of the Core Rules.

Dark Heresy 2nd Edition Beta is a widely unexpected rewrite of the rules. Unexpected in it being released at all, since FFG had not released a 2nd Edition in the history of its WH40k RPG product line. Even more unexpected in that the changes are radical enough that the numerous Dark Heresy sourcebooks it sold to its customers the last five years are not mechanically backwards-compatible.

In doing so, FFG has taken a huge risk of alienating the significant fanbase. FFG books are beautiful, well done & a bit pricey. How would you like it if a publisher purposefully chose to make the last 8-10 books you bought from them to be mechanically out-of-date? Exactly. So that's the backstory, the context if you will...and you'll see a big flavorful dose of it on the FFG forums.

So...the 2nd Edition Beta in and of itself? IMO, it's got some intriguing ideas and a decent number of question marks. "Action Points" replace the Half/Full Action scheme and immediately stood out to me as probably offering players more control over their PC's actions in a combat round. Action Points committed to an attack are multiplied by the weapon's Rate of Fire to derive a new key metric called "Rate of Attack". The Degrees of Success/DoS (which is calculated differently in 2nd Edition) on the attack roll are the number of hits, up to the Rate of Attack. The target's DoS from its Evade roll ("Dodge" in v1) subtract from those hits. This is v2's combat core mechanic.

2nd Edition eliminates Hit Points and replaces it with a scheme where you track the # of times a character's been successfully hit. The large majority of the time, and significantly more than in v1, successful hits will result in "Wound Effects", that are much like v1's Critical Wound tables. Past successful attacks cumulatively make a new successful attack more dangerous on that Wound Effect table. The pro of this is more realistic effects from being wounded sooner, rather than a PC showing absolutely no effects from his 4 separate previous wounds and then suddenly being dead. The con is a concern, the way the Wound Effect tables work, that it's much (Much much?) harder to kill someone with the first shot.

There's a new vehicle section, that v1 lacked. The psyker section has vast changes from v1: psyker levels are now 1-10, manifestation test is d100 against Willpower now, no more Minor Powers and no more Phenomenon of the Warp table - straight to the customized Perils table for the Discipline of the power being used. Character generation is very different; they've added a tenth characteristic called "Influence" that's much like the section of the same name in the Dark Heresy Sourcebook Ascension. A new Acolyte group metric called "Subtlety" is introduced. Stats are calculated differently. There's changes everywhere, really.

It's a surprising complete rewrite but there is some intriguing stuff in there. Personally, I think it costs at least one star for not being backwards-compatible with previously published material - and I could see some good customers with a shelf full of books dinging it more than that. I haven't played it yet so I can't be sure it all actually works but, IMO, it looks pretty well done - so I don't see giving it 2 Stars. So that leaves 3 or 4 stars - I optimistically gave it 4 stars.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Fallen Suns
by Cr B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2013 10:45:13
Fallen Suns is a large adventure, with interesting hooks, and with dangerous opponents (I've counted a few ways so far that an unwitting GM could pull a total party kill given the forces in a couple of the sections), but it's not perfect.

The threat seems credible, as does your rival. Your explorers will interact with a few characters worth keeping around, and there are a lot of Eldar names and stats that will be very useful. The information on the Craftworld is good too, and could easily be reused depending on how much your explorers like (or dislike) dealing with Eldar. While not completely generic, Fallen Suns at least tosses some good motivations and forces at you for different Eldar groups, which could be useful if your group skips over certain parts.

My biggest problem (and the reason this didn't get a 5/5), is that the writers seem to have no sense of scale and the proofreading is typical of FFG products (not bad, but confusing if you aren't paying really close attention). In one section, they never do explain the Chaos forces actually arrayed against you, and flip back and forth between calling lead ships Cruisers and Heavy Raiders (big difference if your Explorers have a Grand Cruiser!). Given the stats for Chaos ships at the back of the adventure, the GM is going to have to modify the end to make parts of it a credible threat to the explorers. Not a huge dealbreaker, but I'm a detail type that has a serious issue with those sorts of things, especially in a book like this.

They also switch between calling the main Eldar ship a Cruiser or a Battleship (less of a deal, but its obviously a Battleship), and toss a couple important challenge rolls at your explorers that, if they fail the roll, stops the adventure cold in its tracks at critical moments. Modifiable, sure, but I'm of the opinion that the players should always be able to move forward, even if they mess up - it might be harder for them, but shouldn't bring them to a dead stop.

I'm planning to run this, since it sounds interesting, we've already run Frozen Reaches (a good adventure), and my game has a pretty heavy Eldar focus; but a GM is definitely going to have to read this and modify it a bit to make it work.

Characters: 5/5
Threat to Explorers: 5/5
Plot: 4/5
Editing: 3/5
Scale of the Universe: 2/5

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Fallen Suns
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Crusade: The Tome of Excess
by Timur D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2013 15:07:49
Well, i wait The Tom Of Excess for soo loong ang finally i have it, but i think it was moore Slaanesh'y book..muhaha!

What can i say? Thanks to DriveThruRPG! :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Crusade: The Tome of Excess
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Anima: Dominus Exxet - The Dominion of Ki
by Thomas R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2013 13:35:46
Fantastic supplement with alternative Martial Arts and more about Ki. However they exclude prices and weights for armors and weapons in the book.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Anima: Dominus Exxet - The Dominion of Ki
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legends & Lairs: Sorcery & Steam
by Warren S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2013 12:17:56
Very well written and comprehensive ideas on integrating steampunk into your fantasy RPG.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legends & Lairs: Sorcery & Steam
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogue Trader: The Navis Primer
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/14/2013 16:26:48
Another excellent addition to Rogue Trader, detailing the mysterious lives of the Navigators, their noble houses, and how their kind is critical for space travel. We also get a detailed look at other psykers, such as Astropaths and their Choirs, and Weirdboyz. The intricacies of space travel are detailed, with various tables that can help determine - or mess up - a warp jump. Such is space travel in Rogue Trader. Of course Warp travel is not an exact science, and we are given insight into the omens and rituals captains and their crew entertain. We even get a cool map that shows how the Warp space tides flow and swell. We also get a look at the renegade tech priests - the Acolytes of Abraxas, and other advanced careers. As always the art work is excellent.

The Navis Primer is an excellent addition if you want to give your space adventuring more depth, and your Navigator players more to chew on.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: The Navis Primer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Crusade: Core Rulebook
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2013 03:26:15
Attractively designed, albeit with a large datafile that makes it hard for some devices to process it quickly. The book makes for an interesting, evocative read, although I cannot ever imagine wanting to play a Chaos cultist or marine to be honest. As such, it's more of an antagonists book for me.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Black Crusade: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Only War: Core Rulebook
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2013 03:22:49
Good 'final chapter' of the 40KRP line of Core books (assuming it is!), with good presentation and organisation to match the other books in the series. It is a smaller file than some of the others however, which means you can download and manipulate it easily enough.

The premise of playing a military combat unit is a strong one for a rpg, although not that original when compared to other sci-fi games. The enjoyment of fighting orcs never get's old though!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Only War: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 238 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates