DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 Publisher Info
Fantasy Flight Games
Fantasy Flight Games
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (176)









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Rogue Trader: The Frozen Reaches
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/18/2011 20:12:26
I haven’t actually run this yet, but have read through to prepare for an upcoming Rogue Trader campaign. As you can always expect with FFG’s Warhammer 40K supplements, they are very high quality PDFs and feature great artwork. They also provide a significant amount of background information on Damaris, the primary planet of concern in this scenario. This particular adventure is a nice mix of political maneuvering, strategic large scale battles, and tactical ship combat (if you want it). It isn’t the standard crew of your ship running and gunning through hordes of enemies as much as an extended military campaign. However, a GM could easily add in vignettes of more personal combat to supplement the larger scale battles to keep their players feeling a bit more on edge.

Overall, I think this is a great option for running a Rogue Trader game that really feels like you are a powerful force with lots of resources at your disposal. Because it is the first in a series of scenarios, you can expect to follow up on the events of The Frozen Reaches or use it as a standalone mission in any campaign. It’s worth checking out one way or another. You can also use the NPC Appendix and stat blocks to insert these characters into any number of Warhammer 40K games. Good deal all around.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: The Frozen Reaches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dark Heresy - Blood of Martyrs
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/10/2011 19:20:20
I know I review a lot of these books, but they’re just so good. Again, there is more information on the Warhammer 40K universe, specifically surrounding faith. This is a logical addition to the Dark Heresy line where characters work for an Inquisitor fighting against the heretics bent on undermining the God-Emperor’s rule. Running at almost 150 pages, the first third details faith in the Imperium with a history of the Imperial Creed and the many wars fought to continue its guidance (oppression).

The next several chapters are filled with the plethora of character options you have come to expect. There are new origin worlds, backgrounds, career ranks, etc. in the second chapter. The third gives a good summary of the Sisters of Battle and how you can create one for your Dark Heresy campaign. Then there are the two chapters giving new rules and powers for Faith and powerful religious artifacts and tools to combat Chaos and corruption.

The last chapter focuses on how to integrate the Ecclesiarchy into your campaign and includes NPCs from the Calixis Sector.

Overall, I think you’ve come to expect quality from Warhammer 40K expansions. This delivers as well as any of them. The fact that there are additional options for any character and then full sub-Sister of Battle options is pretty nice. The more zealous players should pick this up and really deliver the word of the God-Emperor right up Chaos’ . . . .

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy - Blood of Martyrs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rogue Trader Battlefleet Koronos
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/09/2011 18:57:32
Do I need to tell anyone to buy this? I shouldn't have to. It's amazing. You should know that already. Fantasy Flight decks out their supplements with more options than a Baskin Robbins.

It starts with the obvious ship components, new hulls (Grand Cruisers anyone?), and weapons. If you don't love Nova Cannons that shoot warheads through the Warp before hitting their target, you don't play Rogue Trader. Then they add in a ton of backstory, life on a warship, and the history/status of the current Battlefleet Koronus.

For the GMs, there is plenty of detail on Xenos threats, rules for more detailed space battles (squadrons, damaging fleets, mustering your fleet, deploying forces, etc.) There are a lot of new mechanics here for the folks who want to really dig into space battle. That's me. I love the new options, multiple pregenerated ships to throw against your players or give to them, and of course Xenos scum.

It may be one of the shorter books at around 150 pages, but it also isn't too pricey. If you want more than just the standard ship battles or more options for you and your players to create the most dangerous ships in the fleet, then this is your book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader  Battlefleet Koronos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Thousand Thrones
by Blag B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2011 15:17:21
The Thousand Thrones (TTT) is a full fledged campaign module produced for use with Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition.

Part I (Organization, Presentation, Functionality of the Resource)
TTT is a hefty volume comprising 259 pages from cover to cover. The initial seven (7) pages provides an overview of the campaign, the general story outline, suggestions for character creation, and advice for running the adventure as a full campaign or stand-alone adventures. After this we have nine scenarios/chapters that unveil the campaign from beginning to end. The final section of the book is given over to Appendices.

The organization of material is quite well done in my opinion and is very similar in layout to other 2nd edition products which I also find easy to interpret. The real organizational feature of note is the section devoted to the Appendices. They are fantastic! There is a compilation of the traits and abilities used for NPC's and situations in the campaign that do not appear in the core rulebooks, and all the pertinent game data is provided for those who do not own the supplements the abilities were pulled from. There is also a single appendix given over to player handouts for the ENTIRE campaign which makes hunting for the said handouts extremely easy.

The interior of the book is black and white, and done quite well (although a full color volume would have been nice). This serves to tone some of the artwork down, which only served to make me wonder how much better the set peices and maps would have been in color. In the print version I can understand the need for this from a cost balance standpoint, but for the pdf it would have been nice to get a splash of color.

The artwork is also quite well done. There are some unique peices commissioned for the campaign, and some retreads of classic Games Workshop artwork peppered throughout many products in multiple editions of Fantasy Battle and Fantasy Roleplay.

The maps are ALL fantastic. Every. single.one is worth its weight in gold and Mr. Andy Law should win a big fat ribbon and a dumptruck full of money for his efforts. He has the rare ability to provide material that can make a simple coaching inn seem like a significant landmark.

Part II (Critique of the Campaign)
The Thousand Thrones is possessed of a multilayered plot that is designed to sweep up the player characters and drag them accross the entire expanse of the Empire and beyond. The classic Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay themes are in attendance as well as some setting territory introduced in 2nd Edition. As always nothing is as it seems and the players are meant to find out the real truth only when it is too late to turn back, lest horrible events come to pass that could pose a dire threat to their realm and beyond. Let me just say before I go further that when I read the plot I was ready to throw down...FINALLY something substantial in a published adventure!

Perhaps my expectations were set too high from my initial readthrough of the campaign story and the unique tightly tuned up nature of the "look" of the product and the brilliant appendices I crowed about above. Whatever the case I was left utterly cold by the delivery style of the series of adventures.

It is never easy to compile a cohesive whole from separate authors, but it CAN be done and HAS been done quite well in recent history where an adventure path is engaging and feels like a singular story even when 4 to 6 authors are involved. Thousand Thrones was one of the final publications made for 2nd edition, and rather than feeling like a capstone it felt (from a content standpoint) like all the attention to detail was put into layout and physically arranging the booklet rather than dedicating the effort required to make a multi-author project come alive for the audience.

What we are left with in The Thousand Thrones are nine separate adventures that vary greatly in quality when taken separately. When compiled as a whole, there are some adventures that stick out like poorly written, or completely unrelated sore thumbs. After weighing all 9 adventures I would only recommend 3 of them to others.

Perhaps the greatest deteriment to the entire affair is the consistent design philosophy of scripted situations and deus ex machina events that force the story onwards regardless of the success or failure of the player characters. The most agregious of these misteps occurs in Chapter 3 where the players are essentially conscripted through game mechancis to become enthralled with the story (after pointing them in a completely different direction). Let me also say that for any published campaign there will be a NEED for some events to simply come to pass, and there are situations that will require the players to (at some level) simply agree to become involved. There would be no other way to write a full campaign for mass consumption. I understand that completely. HOWEVER, in The Thousand Thrones it is repeatedly forced that the players WILL be going along with events even if they are vehemently opposed to them. Rather than writing the adventures to provide a narrow frame-work within which the players can opperate we are given a series of events that happen whether logic or in-game events would agree or not.

For some groups it will be noticed but un-protested, for others it will be a campaign ender, but for the majority of game groups it will require massaging and rewriting and a lot of prep work to set up properly. This is an absolutely fundamental mistep in a published campaign. Especially one made for a game with a rabid and generally experienced fan-base.

AS WRITTEN The Thousand Thrones reaches very high. It promises an intrigue filled story, with a truly epic and sweeping planned series of events...and then in-game execution utterly fails to live up to those standards.

Is it salvagable!? CERTAINLY. Does it have good bones? ABSOLUTELY. There are fan-made resources that reconcile some of the dropped balls in the campaign, and any GM worth their while could break it down and repair it to suit their needs. In fact, I would say that any published campaign requires some adjustment to tune it up to the tastes of a particular group. But we are not talking about tweaks and minro adjustments here. We are talking about meta-plot alterations, entire section re-writes and enough work that I can not in good conscience say that you could pick up this campaign book, read it through and then proceed to run it without giving some serious thought to re-writing or abandonment of entire segments of the printed adventures.

IN SUMMATION:
If you are looking for a fixer-upper, you have got a pretty AMAZING potential campaign in your hands/hard drive. This is a project waiting for your creativity, and will reward you for your efforts at the end of the day. BUT If you are looking for a published campaign to open up and lay on your players you are going to be sorely...sorely...disapointed.

3 out of 5

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Thousand Thrones
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dark Heresy - Blood of Martyrs
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/02/2011 23:38:36
‘Blood of Martyrs’ is an incredibly dense, yet truly brilliant sourcebook for the Ecclesiarchy. Whilst I read most sourcebooks for setting information, skim the game mechanics and take away the ‘dot points’ for future investigation, I found myself actually reading ‘Blood of Martyrs’ cover to cover. It really shows what a well-detailed universe 40K is, and how much background research Fantasy Flight has put into developing this book. On the flipside though, there is enough practical and historical information that even the most die-hard enthusiast will find something new.

The first chapter gives an overview of the history of the Ecclesiarchy from the rise of the Emperor to the ‘present day’ of the setting. Whilst the later section is primiarily geared towards the Calixis Sector, it covers general information such as the Horus Heresy, Vandire, the Imperials Creeds, Saints, Pilgrims and the Adeptus Sororitas (more on them later). The writing style is certainly not the dry, historical tones, and the sidebars offer interesting anecdotes or side notes to engage the reader.

Chapter 2 offers some new Homeworlds for character creation, and all align very well with the theme of the book – I felt that all were of equal worth with no wasted effort here. Likewise the new Career Ranks allow characters to put a distinct Ecclesiarchal bent on their Career Paths (such as Confessor, Frateris Militia and Redemptionist).

Chapter 3 was where my attention lingered. As an avid wargamer, I’ve been working on my witch Hunters army for a while now, and the Sisters of Battle have always had a special place in my heart. The entire chapter details the Sororitas, defines the Orders and outlines Career Paths to include this Adeptus in your game as playable characters. I felt that overall the Sisters will be a small step-up from your average character in Dark Heresy, but not so much that it will break your game. In fact, in a game centred on the Ecclesiarchy, I would name them a absolute must. By far, this was the standout chapter for me (but then, I’m somewhat biased in this regard). Game mechanics for using Faith in your game in Chapter 4, give way to the mandatory chapter on weapons and armour. Both chapters were interesting and the new rules do actually add a new dimension to your games. The rules on Faith were very straightforward and linked in to the new Homeworlds found in Chapter 2, which makes them immediately usable.

The book closes with a chapter on Ecclesiarchy Campaigns and as I have come to expect, this was brimming with story ideas and practical advice. There are plenty of methods described to showcase different facets of the Ecclesiarchy so that no two games need to be the same. The sense of scope was conveyed here too, and the reader is left a little in awe of an organisation (albeit fictional) that operates on such a grand scale.

Overall, a must-have for the Dark Heresy game, although I can see several uses for it in my Deathwatch game too – especially given the theological divergences of the Adeptus Astartes and the Ecclesiarchy as a whole. The artwork, as usual, is used with a good eye for enhancing the page, and the Career Path portraits are excellent.

Thought for the day:
++It is better to buy this and be illuminated, than blindly run ‘Dark Heresy’ without it++

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy - Blood of Martyrs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Warhammer Fantasy RolePlay: The Creatures Guide
by Michael H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/02/2011 14:01:43
An excellent looking monster manual for WHFB, focusing on some of the setting's most enigmatic or identifiable creatures. The PDF is a beautiful, full-color book which looks great but will be a real ink/toner drain if you decide to print it. The creatures themselves are all well-done, with good descriptions and best yet story seeds which provide ideas of how to integrate them in to your game. My only criticisms of the product are that not all monsters have story seeds (likely an issue of space), nor are all fully illustrated. Otherwise this is an excellent product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy RolePlay: The Creatures Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Deathwatch: Rites of Battle
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2011 21:27:54
How anyone could be expected to run Deathwatch without this book is completely beyond me. It’s simple – pick this up at the same time as you buy the rulebook and you’ll very soon see why this will become the most-used book at your table-top for players and GM alike. Adhering to Fantasy Flight’s top-notch production values, ‘Rites of Battle’ offers a staggering amount of information in an easily-digestible format, extremely good artwork and a logical layout for ease of access. This is definitely going to be a reference book at your table, so I took great notice of this last criteria especially.

As for the content, it is a good ‘all-round’ sourcebook. Chapter 1 offers rules for including the Imperial Fists and Successor Chapters in your campaign and rules for designing your own Chapter. Why anyone would want to design their own, given the huge array of existing source material in the 40K universe is completely beyond me, so I didn’t see much value in this at all – but your tastes may differ. It also presents some practical advice on integrating Deathwatch with its sister games Drak Heresy and Rogue Trader, with some plot points and caveats for doing so. What was apparent was that the authors had spent some time wrestling with how to create games in which the superhuman defenders of humanity could play nicely with regular folk. I’m still extremely sceptical that such a mix is possible, but there are options presented.

Chapter 2 introduces the idea of Deeds. Chapter and Campaign Deeds represent pivotal turning points in your characters history (or even during play) and allow you to purchase Deeds which come with an in-game benefit. I was glad to see that these primarily add flavour to your character, and the mechanical benefits are quite low-powered. There are also Deeds of Disdain, functioning as a ‘black mark’ on your record and providing you with a story goal to pursue and thus rid yourself of this taint. The absolute high point of this Chapter is the inclusion of Specialities – types of Space Marines that can be purchased with xp (think ‘Prestige Classes’ from D&D). We finally see rules for the Chaplains, the Epistolary (and many more) and the Dreadnaught opened up as a player class. Yes, I initially took a dim view of this, but there is an entire section on the practicalities and drawbacks of playing one. There are some good GM and player tips that allow these behemoths of destruction to be used sensibly.

Chapters 3 & 4 don’t disappoint, covering more wargear (guns and armour) and Vehicles. All the stock standard Space Marine vehicles (like the Rhino, Bikes and Land Raider) are her, but Thunderhawk Gunships are also covered. Chaos Space Marine Vehicles and the Tau are given some exposure (so now you have enemy vehicles to attack in your vehicles, obviously). The Renown section in Chapter 5 clarifies some points in this system, and I mostly skimmed it – this will be something you’ll need once the games is well underway, and I was predominantly looking at what I can cram into my first few gaming sessions. The fact that it came after all the exciting guns, power armour and vehicles felt like a sudden (unwelcome) change of pace.

Rites of Battle wraps up with an excellent (and too short) section on Watch Fortress Erioch, with details about its history, how it basically runs and some more information on the Omega Vault (which is the ultimate lure for me – there is always tantalisingly too little information on this magnificent device). Next to the Vault in terms of interest though was the segment on the current prisoners of the Watch Fortress. All of these could spawn entire campaigns, and there has been a lot of thought put into them.

In all, if you are wanting to seriously run Deathwatch, you need this book. The scope of the content means that everyone should find something of interest, and it represents a high-yield investment for your game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Rites of Battle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Warhammer Fantasy Players Guide
by Ronald B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2011 15:27:06
Fantasy Flight seems to have seen the writing on the wall with this re-packaging of WFRP Third Edition. I am among those who bristled at the very board game-like presentation of the boxed set. I absolutely get the special dice--Fate/Fudge games are the same in that manner--but all the chits and cards and such just seemed to take away from the experience for me. This book iteration gives you the option to play the classic pen/paper way, just add dice. All the "board game" trappings are now completely optional, though they are definitely recommended. Still the option, perceived or otherwise, is nice.

This is one of my all-time favorite settings, and this new rule set truly does an admirable job of presenting it. The dice themselves provide guidance for roleplaying in combat, something oft-forgotten at the table. They pretty much force you to not simply roll the dice and call out damage.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Players Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Warhammer Fantasy RolePlay: The Creatures Guide
by Robert H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2011 19:37:39
The product gives a large number of new creatures to add to a campaign and presents many interesting features and powers for them. As another review notes the "Seeds" for using monsters are also useful. The "quick template" guides for making human NPC's into dwarfs etc are also handy.

It has two flaws: significant internal duplication of content and "a step backward" on guidance previous products have about monster actions.

Regarding duplication, monsters are presented one in a "mostly narrative" section and once in a "mostly stats" section. So you have to flip back and forth to see both. Doing this you will see duplication of the text on special non-action card features and abilities such as Night Vision, Swarm features etc. (e.g., you will read twice what each of those means). Leaving aside the "divided content" approach, adding the duplication up across every creature, this amounts to considerable space being dedicated to repeating content rather than giving something new/additional.

Monster actions, up until now monsters have been published in formats where you see a group of 4 or so, which may share a very basic action and then each have specific ones. The Guide adds more possibilities so you can vary creatures (not every Gor Beastman is the same etc.). However what it doesn't do is give any advice on staring points and how many core actions each creature has. Monster actions are listed completely sepearately. There are lots and lots (great!) and they have traits indicating which monsters they go with - so you must review them and determine which ones to give a monster from scratch. There is no "basic starting point allocation of what actions a Vampire gets" that lets you quickly "run with it". This could have been provided as a quick index of actions, using the space instead allocated to duplicating the existing content.

So in all, worth the $15.00 but you will have to work harder to make use of the content than I think you should have to work.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy RolePlay: The Creatures Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Deathwatch: Rites of Battle
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/20/2011 22:17:26
Does your genetically perfect super soldier in hulking power armor feel a little lacking? BUY THIS BOOK! Yeah, as with all of Fantasy Flight's Warhammer 40K supplements, there are hundreds of pages of new amazing stuff for your Space Marine. There are new Chapters that are sure to be fan favorites. Is your favorite Chapter still not there? Build your own with the new rules. There are tons of other new options for every Marine, deeds, distinctions, and even advanced specialties. Um . . . my Techmarine can literally die and be entombed in a giant rolling mech-fortress as a specialty. Check that box.

Want more awesome stuff? It's got that too. More weapons, gear, power armor, vehicles, and more. There are new mechanics for renown, gaining honors, and requisitioning crazy stuff from the Imperium. Finally, the book adds a ton of information on Watch Fortress Erioch for your campaign with NPCs, adventure seeds, and even prisoners onboard. This supplement just makes me that much more excited for my next Deathwatch game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Rites of Battle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Anima: Beyond Fantasy Game Master's Toolkit
by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/20/2011 02:32:57
The description pretty much states what you get, so I'll fill in more details with a review of the adventure and the format of the PDF.

The adventure is a three-act multi-session adventure for 3-5 first level characters. Each act is unique. The first takes place on a zepplin, involving the characters daringly saving the passengers and crew from a hijacking. The next find the characters lost on a settled island, slowly sinking into fear and despair. The last brings the characters to a climactic conclusion, in which they must release a Lady of Nightmares to defeat not one, but two, Between Worlds Beings. Quite a bit for first level, eh? The adventure has a healthy dose of combat, investigating, and interactions with colorful NPCs unique to the Anima universe. While the plots of the acts aren't too far from your typical FRPG adventure, the NPCs are definitely of the romance and villainy of Final Fantasy and similar computer RPGs.

The PDF is in beautiful color, and is best for iPad and color laser printer output. I do wish that a printer-friendly version of the book was included. Some of the rich color art becomes too dark in greyscale. And, of course, much of the eye-candy that impresses in a publisher-printed book becomes a source of ink and toner consumption when printed by the purchaser. The PDF comes with a four-panel reference screen that I had trouble printing on four separate sheets. That being said, a major advantage of printing out the PDF as individual sheets is that the game master can let the players access the first half of the book (new rules and new options) while keeping the rest of the book (the twenty pregenerated first-level characters and the adventure) to himself.

So if you're an iPad owner who's considering this supplement, you're definitely better off buying the PDF than the book. Others will have to judge how much the aesthetics of a beautifully published book from the publisher matters against the half price of the PDF.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Anima: Beyond Fantasy Game Master's Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dark Heresy: The Black Sepulcher
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/18/2011 18:42:54
This is the reason why I think that Fantasy Flight Games is the current powerhouse in the industry. I am seriously amazed every time that I open one of their books. The artwork and layout are always top-notch and serves to enhance the game, which is incredibly important when dealing with xenos beasts and technology - a good, detailed picture is a GMs best friend.
The writing continues be be as strong as ever; consistently proving that they are as invested in this game world as any wargamer - but bringing to the table fresh new elements that make this more than simply narrative wargaming.

'The Black Sepulchre' is an all-round excellent module. It kicks into high gear with one of my favourite 40K vehicles in a first scene starring role and it captures the immediate excitement and action very well. The module is well-paced, moving from high-intensity action and combat, to occult investigation, to horror and possible insanity all in the same storyline.
There are very helpful 'Troubleshooting' sections which provide advice for scaling, keeping characters on track, and even ways to weave this story into a much larger arc.

The 'big reveal' will be breath-taking for your players, especially if they figure it out by themselves (and this is supported in the game text) and sets the stage at the epic level you'd expect from 40K.

Whilst designed for all levels of 'Dark Heresy', you could easily run this with either 'Rogue Trader' or 'Deathwatch' with a little work.

I cannot wait for the next two installments as the bar has been set so high with this product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: The Black Sepulcher
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Anima Beyond Fantasy
by Michael W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/10/2011 16:59:06
Anima Beyond Fantasy is a very good-looking roleplaying game that is heavily influenced by Japanese Anime and JRPGs. If you are into games like the Final Fantasy series, you will definitely like Anima's setting. The rules of the game remind me a lot of Rolemaster. It almost looks like a direct clone in certain aspects. While I am normally into more rules-light games, I found Anima's system strangely compelling.
The campaign setting included in the book is a mixture between fantasy and historic elements. As noted before the artwork is top-notch and I could see people picking this title up for the artwork alone.
The only drawback is the steep price. While the hardcover edition is well worth its price because of the high printing quality and size of the book, I find $30 are a bit too much for a PDF. But aside from that, I wholeheartedly recommend Anima Beyond Fantasy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Anima Beyond Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Deathwatch GameMasters Kit
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/09/2011 07:40:44
The GM Kit provides an excellent introductory adventure for Deathwatch. It gives some additional information on the Watch Fortress Erioch and some key NPCs to flesh out your own depictions of this location. There is scant more detail on the Omega Vault, but it takes centre stage in the first scene - for me, I'm hungry for as much information on this device as I can get. It offers almost unlimited levels of creepiness for the 40K universe.

The module is great and pits you against a reasonable foe, with enough techno-supernatural blend to the mystery to mark it as keenly 40K. Te objectives are challenging, yet achievable, and the battles are frequent enough to allow the action to punctuate the drama nicely.

The last section on Mission Construction is very helpful, providing a wealth of advice about how all of the elements can be drawn together to create something greater than the sum of it's parts. There is a small among of discussion about theme, and my one complaint is that this was far too short. Ere needed to be a more fulsome segment on themes, given that the 40K universe has no immediate parallels with any other genre. Perhaps it has already Ben flagged for expansion in another supplement.

There are some neat tidbits of information scattered through the book too, such as stats for Landspeeders and Thunderhawks, as well as armament stats for both vehicles and some new Xenos equipment.

Just keep in mind that despite the extra info, this is a module, so the use is limited to th couple of times you're likely to use it. Given the recent reduction in price, I'd recommend it's purchase.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch GameMasters Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Deathwatch GameMasters Kit
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/08/2011 17:11:09
As usual with Fantasy Flight Games, they produce some excellent game mastering products for their games. The GM Kit is a screen, a pregen adventure and very useful tips for building missions. The GM Kits for the Warhammer 40k line have always been pretty excellent, with a lot of useful reminders on them, but if you've seen any GM Screen before you'll know whether you want to use it or not. It has enough Deathwatch specific info that you probably wouldn't want to just stick your Dark Heresy screen on the table or somewhere. But at the end of the day it's a GM screen. The enemy for the pregen adventure is the Tau and the adventure has some pretty cool stuff like an attack by a Manta craft and a chance to use a few Space Marine vehicles, like a thunderhawk and speeder. I don't want to give a lot of the module away, but there are a few cool optional rules and a plot that make this just a bit more than "Space Marine kill a bunch of Tau and leave." The section on building missions is rather short, it isn't a like having a whole chapter in a major book from the line, but what succinct info it has is very useful. It breaks down the mission-building process into bullet points for easy digestion, tackling Location design, stocking the mission with Enemies, assigning Objectives, utilizing Assets, etc. For its brevity, it holds a ton of information and I can see myself going back to it before every adventure and consulting it quickly. If you're a Deathwatch GM, you will likely enjoy this book. However, if you are not a believer in GM screens, and if you don't really care about module adventures, the pamphlet-length mission design section may not be enough for you. Overall though this is an excellent product. FFG has yet to disappoint me with their GM-oriented products.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 121 to 135 (of 229 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Fantasy Flight Games
Fantasy Flight Games
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (176)
 Hottest Titles

Only War: Core Rulebook

01.Only War: Core Rulebook
02.Only War: No Surrender
03.Only War: Hammer of the Emperor
04.Black Crusade: The Tome of Excess
05.Rogue Trader: Faith and Coin
06.Only War: Enemies of the Imperium
07.Deathwatch: The Emperor's Chosen
08.Black Crusade: The Tome of Blood
09.Anima: Those Who Walked Amongst Us - Volume I
10.Deathwatch: Honour The Chapter
11.Deathwatch
12.Deathwatch: Ark of Lost Souls
13.Rogue Trader: Stars of Inequity
14.Dark Heresy: The Lathe Worlds
15.Black Crusade
 
See All
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate