DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
After Sunset -- Werewolves
by Jonathon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2013 18:10:08
As a guy who loves werewolves and is a fan of d20 Modern, this thing is a godsend. It covers playing werewolves as a basic race with no level adjustment, a few starting occupations to flesh out what kind of werewolf you're playing, and a basic hero class just for werewolves to help them gain more power and flexibility as they go up in level.

So many game ideas have gone through my head since I got this product that I don't know where to start. The only thing I can complain about is how limiting the use of your alternate form is. You can only shapeshift a few times a day, and that's at higher levels. You can only hold that form for a small amount of time. But, fear not! towards the end of this product is some alternate rules to make the most of you werewolf games. Such as removing the limited use of alternate form and making it into a skill check instead.

Honestly, I couldn't recommend this product enough. It's very helpful and the rules and feats provided can even be used to make really mean antagonists for your games, not just heroes. The only only down side is the fact that this line is so limited. The only other product in this line is one for vampires, which is also very good. I would've liked to see more of stuff like this. Anyway, if you want to include werewolves in an upcoming Dark Matter or Urban Arcana as playable characters, or you were just wanting to run a game based on the movie Underworld, then this is a product for you.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
After Sunset -- Werewolves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Masterwork Monsters: Rise of the Ghouls
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2007 21:19:26
A solidly designed product that starts from the common-sense idea of a ghoul template and adds five ghoul relatives (likewise templates that can apply to different base creatures) - including the heroic-classed high ghoul - feats to add yet more nasty undead powers to them and some gruesome necromancy.

This should considerably expand a DM's options for flesh-hungering undead. It's not oriented to players, though anything's possible.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masterwork Monsters: Rise of the Ghouls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Masterwork Characters: Legacy of the Serpent
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2007 05:23:14
Wide-ranging and well-designed setting-neutral options to add the qualities of the serpent (sinuous movement, poison, mysterious wisdom) to villains or PCs alike.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masterwork Characters: Legacy of the Serpent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Masterwork Monsters: Kobold Feats and Mutants
by Russell M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2007 20:51:29
This product is almost all crunch, no fluff. The feats presented really focus on the arcane aspect of kobolds. And the mutant options give a lot of flexibility to DMs. Still not really a lot to make a kobold a practical player character, but plenty to make the kobold NPCs more interesting.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masterwork Monsters: Kobold Feats and Mutants
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Masterwork Characters: Secrets of the Squirrel
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/31/2007 00:00:00
Masterwork Characters: Secrets of the Squirrel is a squirrel-themed supplement from Clockwork Golem Workshop. The zipped file isn?t quite a half-megabyte in size, and contains a single PDF. The PDF is eleven pages long, including one page for the introduction, and another for the OGL. There is no table of contents, but there are full bookmarks.

The book opens with a new PC race, the toski. Named after Ratatosk of Norse mythology, these halfling-sized squirrel-folk are given full PHB-style treatment, with plenty of PC fluff information given before their racial stats are presented. It even remembers to give things like their age, height, and weight tables (though the age table oddly has the name scalzian where it should say toski).

Six squirrel-based feats are given then. None of these require you to be a toski (or similar) character, though it helps. Rather, they?re based around squirrel-esque pursuits such as climbing or stowing small items. Similarly, six new spells let you do things like summon squirrel swarms or gnash your teeth like one. Five new wondrous magic items of a similar bent round things out.

The product ends with three new monster entries: the squirrel, dire squirrel, and squirrel swarm. The statistics seem solid, and little extras like listing the familiar benefit of a normal squirrel, as well as the ability of some squirrels to glide, are remembered here.

Though the author says at the beginning that this product is written whimsically, there?s nothing in here that?s mechanically unsound. The toski, as a race, are quite interesting, and all of the new crunch works well. Squirrel familiars make sense, and the new feats, spells, and items here let you believably integrate them into your game. A dollar is a small price to pay to learn the Secrets of the Squirrel.



LIKED: This product is surprisingly useful, covering all of the standard crunch for a new theme and presenting it interestingly. Squirrels were never so interesting as they are here.

DISLIKED: It would have been helpful if there was a note for what level a dire squirrel would make an improved familiar (or animal companion).

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masterwork Characters: Secrets of the Squirrel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
After Sunset -- Werewolves
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2007 00:00:00
This one will be of exceptional use to me. It presents rules for Werewolves as a racial option and as a basic character class on a par with D20 Modern's standard Strong/Fast/Smart/Etc. Hero classes. This is perfect for the situation I find myself in for an upcoming Dark*Matter D20 campaign, in which one player wants to be a werewolf and the rest don't. Breaking up lycanthropic abilities into class talents and bonus feats allows me to portray lycanthropy as something the character is still learning the ins-and-outs of, getting better at it as time goes by and discovering new abilities slowly, thus preventing him from hopelessly overpowering the rest of the party.

Also, the nifty assortment of Werewolf-specific feats will make some particularly nasty villains.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
After Sunset -- Werewolves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
After Sunset: Vampires
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2007 00:00:00
Nicely done. It presents rules for Vampires as a racial option and as a basic character class on a par with D20 Modern's standard Strong/Fast/Smart/Etc. Hero classes. This is perfect for the situation that is sure to arise in a Shadow Cahsers or Dark*Matter D20 campaign, in which one player wants to be a vampire and the rest don't. Breaking up vampiric abilities into class talents and bonus feats allows me to portray vampirism as something the character is still learning the ins-and-outs of, getting better at it as time goes by and discovering new abilities slowly, thus preventing him from hopelessly overpowering the rest of the party.

I like the various optional vampiric weaknesses to be taken in place of Level Adjustments, and the nifty assortment of Vampire-specific feats will make some particularly nasty villains.


QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
After Sunset: Vampires
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Masterwork Characters: Secrets of the Squirrel
by Mister W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
Yeh love 'em , or yeh hate 'em. There is no neutrality about squirrels.

So, naturally, i've got a squirrel-lover in my group. Well, not literally, but yeh know where i'm at when i say that.

i gave this little gem to my esquirel aficianado, and his eyes glazed, then gleamed. Simple and succinct, i have not regretted introducing this to my campaign, and it's kept his attention span well within reach. Not an easy task for squirrels...


LIKED: Fun! ...but not goofy.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masterwork Characters: Secrets of the Squirrel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Masterwork Characters: Secrets of the Squirrel
by Olorin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2006 00:00:00
I am sorry to bother you, but I mistakingly combined my two email addresses into one. Can the squirrel link be sent to my corrected address of BVB64@netscape.net?
Thank You for your help,
O Wells
BVB64@netscape.net

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Masterwork Characters: Secrets of the Squirrel
by Jordan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2006 00:00:00
I am squirreling this one away to spring on my players the next time they go through the forest. I am always on the lookout for material to challenge low-level characters and this is sure to drive them nuts. A great way to inject a little levity. I will probably pattern any squirrel NPCs on Rocky and Bullwinkel or Chip and Dale.


LIKED: I liked the new race, Toski, and the Dire Squirrel and Rabid Dire Squirrel. I also liked the magic item Cloak of the Flying Squirrel. The spells were good, too.

DISLIKED: I was less impressed with the feats. Something to enhance the squirreliness of the Toski wood have been appreciated. Also, there were several typos.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
OMNI-Database 2: Absorption
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2006 00:00:00
I really enjoyed this product and found it very helpful. The characters were well thought out and original.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OMNI-Database 2: Absorption
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Masterwork Characters: Secrets of the Squirrel
by Andrew B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/17/2006 00:00:00
In the opening line of Secrets of the Squirrel, author Peter M. Ball writes a sentence that I don't particularly agree with. He says:

?There probably doesn't need to be a product full of rules for people who want to make interesting characters or NPCs with squirrel traits, but why should simple things like common sense get in the way of a good time [?]?

You see, I've been secretly hoping for such a product for a long time. Back in the dark(er) era of Second Edition Dungeons & Dragons, one of the annual softcover monster books that TSR put out contained a race of squirrel-folk known as the Kercpa. For whatever reason, the Kercpa became a minor but beloved addition to my home-brewed campaign world. My rarely played centaur PC even gained one as a follower, and the two went on to great adventures together.

Why am I telling you this? Well, because if you haven't dismissed me as some kind of looney by this point, then Secrets of the Squirrel may be just the book for you. Picture squirrels in war paint, firing down upon evil goblins with tiny squirrel-crafted bows, defending their forest realm with a bravery and gusto far larger than their apparent size. Still with me? Have I lost all credit as an RPGNow staff reviewer?

If not, then read on, gentle...er...reader, and add some squirrels to your game. You know you want to.

Secrets of the Squirrel contains a number of squirrly rules. There is a new Kercpa-like race of squirrel-people. There are squirrel themed spells! Heck, there are even squirrel-themed feats!

While this book is obviously written with the author's tongue firmly in his cheek, it's not really as silly as it might sound. Any humor is secondary, a kind of side effect, and the various rules are well designed and generally quite clever.

First off, we have the return of the squirrel people. This time, they're called Toski. The name Toski, as all squirrel enthusiasts no doubt recognize, is a reference to Ratatosk, an actual character from norse mythology. The vikings, you see, were also fans of squirrels.

The author has taken the core of this myth and used it to create a pretty clever PC race. The entire psychology of the Toski is tied in with the legend of Ratatosk. They are a clever, furry little bunch with a misunderstood (and probably completely fictitious) divine legacy. In other words, they sound like a lot of fun to play.

Next, the author presents a handful of squirrel-themed feats. This is the section of the book I found to be the most outright silly. There are feats here called Scamper, Squirreling Paws, and Stowe (among others). It should be noted that the feats themselves are well designed, its just the images that they bring to mind that might seem a bit...goofy. Squirreling Paws, for example, gives a character a bonus to Sleight of Hand checks. The explanation is that he is adept at hiding small things about his person. The silliness, then, is in the details.

The spells section is probably a little more useful to those not wishing to play (or introduce) Toski characters. The most flavorful spell is, in my opinion, Cesil's Squirrel Swarm. This spell was created by a druid to aid him in gathering his evening meal of acorns. It can, of course, be put to more offensive uses should the caster choose to do so. Other spells, such as Acorn Avalanche or Fafnar's Secret Chitter are less serious but no less useful.

Secrets of the Squirrel contains pretty much every other kind of squirrel rule imaginable: Squirrel equipment, dire squirrels, squirrel swarms, etc. The only thing that I found missing was rules for lycanthropic squirrels. Where are the weresquirrels?


LIKED: Alright, so I admit that this review, like the product it covers, is a bit tongue in cheek. In all seriousness, Secrets of the Squirrel is very well written and very well designed. Its subject may be a bit out there, but it does a great job presenting it all the same.

The Toski are a neat race that would fit in just fine with all the other strange intelligent beings in a typical D&D world, and some of the spells would make a fine addition to the spell roster of even the most serious-minded druid. Its also nice to have a d20 stat block for squirrels, which were curiously overlooked in the Monster Manual.

DISLIKED: This is a niche product and, by the author's own admission, probably didn't need to be written. If you aren't interested in adding a new race to the sylvan realms of your world, and you don't think that the gnome barbarian in your campaign would be interested in gaining a Squirrel Totem, you probably won't get much use out of this book.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masterwork Characters: Secrets of the Squirrel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Lost Books: The Tome of Black Ice
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2006 00:00:00
Very short but indepth information. Quick to learn and understand. I enjoyed this and it was very easy to incorporate into my existing campaign.


LIKED: Easy to understand and incorporate.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Books: The Tome of Black Ice
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Masterwork Characters: Secrets of the Squirrel
by Ice W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2006 00:00:00
At $1 this doesn't need too much comment. It's a quite nice little product with a squirrel theme, but what's presented inside is pretty good: a squirrel race with a backstory connected to a little-known Norse character, some nice movement feats, some useful spells, and monster statistics for squirrels which allows you the replace the lizard on the familiar list with a creature more suited to temperate and boreal forests.


LIKED: Squirrle theme.

DISLIKED: Nothing really was a problem. I would have liked to see Ratatosk written up in more details, though.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masterwork Characters: Secrets of the Squirrel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
OMNI-Database 1: Femme Fatale
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/21/2006 00:00:00
Omni Database 1: Femme Fatale is part of Clockwork Golem Workshop?s OMNI-Labs series of ready-made supervillains. It is built around the conceit that OMNI-Labs tracks the super-powered individuals of the world (especially the villains) and maintains an extensive set of files and databases on them.

This set of files contain information on five of them, all (apparently) female:

Amazon-X, a refugee from a ruined future, a champion of the ?gene-pure? humans. She hunts supers, and only supers. She is a good direct combat character with some interesting background threads.

Binary, a living hologram that can convert herself into raw binary code to reprogram computers from the inside. A character designed for stealth and espionage adventures but also capable of some interesting combat tricks.

Infinity, a powerful sorceress with access to a wide range of magical artefacts, the perfect foil to an occult or mystic-based hero. Infinity seeks to build a new occult empire with herself at the head.

Killer Frost, supermodel turned supervillain with frost powers and a heart of ice.

Soulfire, a crusading feminist empowered to correct the problems of male dominance, with violence.

Each has a single page handout listing their abilities and crimes as analyzed by OMNI-Labs. These make excellent ?in game? props.

This product provides a good range of potential opponents for a variety of scenarios and adventures. Be it espionage, occult mystery or straight up combat, characters useful for all are provided. However, suggestions for how to link the characters included either as allies or enemies would have provided an additional level of usefulness. It is a useful resource for a M&M gamesmaster.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OMNI-Database 1: Femme Fatale
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 85 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates