DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Locked and Loaded
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/13/2010 16:39:46
Full of energy and heavy hitting, this song will pump up your players going into any high action scene. The voice samples sound a bit out of place, but overall, the music is a great scene set up.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Locked and Loaded
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Divergent Strike
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2010 12:54:23
I have no idea what to make of this track except to say that "Divergent" should be in letters four miles high. Starting with a pretty drab drum-and-electronic section, at around :47 suddenly the central element becomes a classical-sounding woodwind quartet, increasingly backed by the same sort of electronica. By 1:40, we're fully back into the electronic world, with techno and industrial sounds throughout.

When looking for a game soundtrack, it is important to have a consistent tone - you don't want to get a charged-up techno experience when trying to have a romantic scene. That makes this a difficult track to incorporate practically, although in a technical sense, the techno and electronic aspects of the work are more than adequate.

Certainly it's unique, and that may make it worth a listen on its own.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Divergent Strike
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

This is Pulp City
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2010 12:48:34
This is Pulp City is a fun, funky three minute track. If you're one of those idiots that thinks "pulp" means "1930s adventure", be warned, this is not a swing track - this is a swingin' track. Brass provides the melodic push, a funk guitar and high hat keeps things moving at a high pace. Repetition makes this a good background track, with regular breaks that incorporate new themes and instruments. The soundtrack to an urban adventure of the late 70s or early 80s, This Is Pulp City is a lot of fun. It also loops well. I would use it in a scene, or preferably a montage of scenes of city life in an adventurous, upbeat, modern game - clearly intended for use with superheroes (see the art), but it could be any game with a positive attitude.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
This is Pulp City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kaiju Rising
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/23/2010 11:23:54
This 4:14 MP3 track has some weird science fiction sounds almost reminiscent of old Doctor Who incidental music. There's some gurgly-bits about 2 minutes in that could be a monster, but I'm not sure. There's a nice snare riff that gives off the feel of humans getting ready to face off against the monster. It's a nice piece for player characters gearing up, or to describe a cut scene of a sleeping monster, but there's no "rising" here, no bombastic "monster appears" moment that I expected from the title. A good track, mind you, but the title is misleading.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Kaiju Rising
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Strange Aeons
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/25/2010 15:55:04
"Strange Aeons" is a very interesting track. Although it is advertised as "Dark ambience for any Eldritch horror-inspired setting", I don't quite see (?) it for that purpose. It's a highly rhythmic 3:41 track with a strong, accelerating beat, featuring an Arabian-inspired sound. To my mind it brings images of night-time caravans crossing cool desert sands or shadowing someone through a busy Byzantine city into a full-on chase scene. At around 3:15 or so, it discards the beat and ends with similar ambiance to how it began, so it could conceivably be looped, though the driving beat may become monotonous if kept up too long. At 99 cents, the price is exactly right, so I'm reviewer tilting up one star for that. I definitely will be using this one in an upcoming game soundtrack, though perhaps not as advertised.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Strange Aeons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kaiju Rising
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/28/2010 00:18:28
This track gradually moves from a airy beginning to slow drums with mysterious (and repetitive) electronic tones, and then erupts into the driving, percussive core of the track. For some reason, I feel that I should like this track more than I do. The "static" effects in the track are what put me off, I think; it almost sounds like a flatulent electrical socket is one of the primary instruments in the heart of the song. I suppose if your three-headed monster breathes lightning, you might appreciate those sound effects. The track is skillfully executed, but I find it to be mismatched with the tone I personally want to set at the gaming table. Then again, I usually play fantasy, not mecha/kaiju games, and that could account for the genre mismatch.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Kaiju Rising
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scarecrows vs. Werewolves
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/25/2009 23:47:28
The product description captures this track well. The "dark and ambient intro and outro" is basically non-melodic, and would do a good job of setting a creepy atmosphere. The "full-on metal guitars, bass, and drums" that occupy most of the track are skillfully enough composed and performed, but I think they might prove quite distracting at the gaming table. I like the track, but I generally prefer my gaming-table music more ambient and less intrusive.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Scarecrows vs. Werewolves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Incursion
by Ron M. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/08/2009 14:15:56
Incursion
From: Bailey Records/Winged Warrior Publishing 
Reviewed by: Ron McClung

Incursionis a new MP3 Single from Bailey Records/Winged Warrior Publishing .
Listening to the music as I write this review, I picture I am in some cyberpunk back alley, passing by 'net cafes and drug dens, with a deadline to meet some nefarious character. I am paranoid. I feel like I am being followed. I am taking the back allies to lose my tail but that's making me late for my deadline...

The music is very subtle and not too intrusive. It is perfect for background music in any cyberpunk game. There are moments the music is fast paces while other parts that slow and haunting. It is amazing how sometimes music can pace a game. This music could and music like it could easily make for a unforgettable game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Incursion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cosmic Christmas - Special Edition
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/13/2009 10:10:17
It may seem a bit peverse to review Christmas music on Easter Monday... but this is when it reached the top of the review pile!

But it's really nice stuff, and I'll be keeping it safe for NEXT Christmas as antidote to some of the more dreary 'just because it is Christmas' music. Basically a selection of traditional Christmas music has been given a thorough techno remix, and in many cases has benefited from it tremendously. Playing as I write is 'Oh Come oh come Emmanuel' - one of my favourite Advent carols as a long-time chorister, and while I still sing the traditional plainsong version at the merest opportunity, this version is lovely as well.

To start things off, 'The Holly and the Ivy' begins with a countdown - quite typifies Christmas, as it's a holiday with a great sense of anticipation and build-up, then the tune comes out quite traditionally but against a bouncy rhythmic backing that gives it a fresh feel. The following tracks continue this fresh approach to music that is familiar to most of us, whether we celebrate Christmas religiously or as a family holiday.

Get this for next Christmas - your ears will thank you!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cosmic Christmas - Special Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Secrets
by Matt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2009 10:16:05
While I'm not a huge fan of the system present in the Ramlar RPG, the setting is very cool and well worth exploring. Having some background music to set the mood for this setting (regardless of what system you are using) is a great bonus.

Bailey Records puts a lot of passion and creativity into all of their music and this one is no different. Well worth picking up and playing during your game session. City of Secrets is a very worthwhile purchase.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cthulhu's Rising
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2008 02:27:59
I'm always eager to add new RPG "soundtrack" music to my library, and I really like the way the folks at Bailey Records handle the genre. In this track, a driving drum beat, some odd clicking and clashing, and the ambient music all combine to build suspense, even fear. It's creepy, it's energetic, it's everything that it ought to be.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu's Rising
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deterioration Furthers, Horror Soundtrack [BUNDLE]
by Matt C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2008 16:13:38
A great collection of atmospheric, creepy music. Excellent quality, well put together horror soundtrack stuff! There's a mix of slow-horror-atmospheric music and slightly pacier horror-action.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deterioration Furthers, Horror Soundtrack [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Chronicles of Ramlar Official Soundtrack, Part 1 [BUNDLE]
by rick c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2008 11:03:35
I enjoyed the music of "The Dawning". The composition was movie quality. The production of the piece was obviously done with a synthesizer which makes it sound slightly mechanical, but does not overly detract from enjoying it. For some reason I only received the last part of the bundle (Dawning) when I clicked on the one-click download button.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Chronicles of Ramlar Official Soundtrack, Part 1 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mecha Vs Kaiju - The Soundtrack - Part 1 [BUNDLE]
by Luke N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2007 21:48:18
Overall, I found this soundtrack to be disappointing. I was expecting something more like traditional mecha-show music, hot-blooded guitar anthems like in GaoGaiGar and the various inspirations for Super Robot Wars, with some sinister jazz/classical similar to Godzilla movies. Heck, I would've been happy with some of the silly-groovy-heroic songs from the later Godzilla films or the Ultraman shows.

Instead, I got fairly generic techno.

While I imagine if you think of repetitive techno when you think of "Mecha" or "Kaiju," you won't be so disappointed, but I was absolutely not interested in most of the tracks. That having been said, there were a few stand-outs, IMO. Black Ghost and Hero Triumphant in particular come to mind.

Again, if you like meandering long techno, the sound quality is VERY good, and you can hear each electronic and industrial sound that goes into each track.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mecha Vs Kaiju - The Soundtrack - Part 1 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ghoul Frenzy
by Derek K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/17/2006 00:00:00
Four-minutes and twenty-three seconds make up "Ghoul Frenzy," a track from Bailey Records, intended for your horror game. Music producers Bryan K. Borgman and T. W. Cory describe this music as a "perfect creepy score" and "Cthulhu-inspired," and it definitely has a darkened, dulling edge to it. While the titular "frenzy" seems to be missing from the track itself, "Ghoul Frenzy" certainly maintains a (dark) cult ambiance throughout its track.

It's not a static piece of music; rather, it intentionally takes listeners (and gamers) around the periphery of some sort of dark gathering, tracing along its whining and whistling, skipping along rhythmic drumming and slowly spiraling into darkness.

Dungeon masters will be hard pressed to NOT find use for this music. It has been produced and designed in such a way that it can definitely be looped over and over again during key scenes during a gaming session (the pattern of the music is broken up enough to prevent it from becoming too repetitive or redundant), but since it has such a recognizable tone and tempo, it can even be used to key the appearance of a recurring NPC or NPC group (much as "The Imperial March" is so obviously the entrance music of Darth Vader, "Ghoul Frenzy" can definitely become the entrance music for a particular event or character if the game).

As mentioned above, there is little "frenzy" in "Ghoul Frenzy." Perhaps the closest this piece of music comes to any sort of "frenzy" is maybe it could be used to summon or presage the introduction of something ghoulish (perhaps using the cymbal crash as a point at which something significantly Cthulhu-esque makes its appearance during your game).

LIKED: There's a lot of substance to this piece of music. It's got length and weight, and can be used in a variety of different situations and scenarios in either your horror or dark fantasy gaming session.

DISLIKED: There's just no "frenzy" to this music; the title is a bit misleading.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghoul Frenzy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 50 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates