DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Wizards and Gunslingers
by Jon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2014 02:12:45
Custom system, but well organized. I haven't played it, but giving 5 stars because it's complete with rules, setting, maps, tools to quickly construct scenarios, put together NPCs and good tips for new GMs.
Definitely leans towards creative role-playing and story telling and not for crunchy combat. Good for groups that want to have an adventure, rather than groups who want to compare how many hitpoints their weapon can dish out per round. (You can probably sense my own bias here)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizards and Gunslingers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DICE-Tractions: Dice Racing, Mini-Game #104
by Dierk D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2014 12:50:54
11 Seiten ? Stimmt: 1 Cover, 1 Inhaltsverzeichnis, 3 Seiten Regeln, ... UND 6 SEITEN WERBUNG! Normalerweise bin ich Besseres von Avalon gewöhnt! Das zweite Mal bei Avalon eingegangen. Nie mehr bei diesem Preis-Leistungsverhältnis!

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DICE-Tractions: Dice Racing, Mini-Game #104
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DICE-Tractions: Dice Football, Mini-Game #106
by Dierk D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2014 12:45:20
18 Seiten ? Stimmt: 1 Cover, 1 Inhaltsverzeichnis, 6 Seiten Regeln, dann nochmal 4 Seiten die Zeichnungen vergrößert... UND 6 SEITEN WERBUNG! Normalerweise bin ich Besseres von Avalon gewöhnt!

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DICE-Tractions:  Dice Football, Mini-Game #106
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroes Weekly, Vol 2, Issue #20, The Ancients
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2014 12:53:03
Sounds like an interesting idea, but there is no "there" there. A supervillain team of ancient magical creatures? Awesome! But all that you get is five small paragraphs giving type of creature and attitude, plus a write up of a minion. That's right, the villains have not a single stat or hint as to powers. I feel ripped off at a dollar, if I'd paid four dollars for it I'd be livid. Avoid.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Weekly, Vol 2, Issue #20, The Ancients
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

APMR #1, Avalon Mini-Games #120
by alain D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2014 18:20:17
this is a" no purpose" miniature rules. the cost for weapons or armor/defense is not indicated. many mistakes. (bastard sword supposed to be more lethal are not). it' s impossible to hit an ennemy with a sword who deal 1 dammage, if a light armor deduct 2 dammages...and what about shield? etc... are you kidding? No, you deceive people. It's a shame, i' feel so angry. these "rules" worth nothing. The Worst rules I ever seen.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
APMR #1, Avalon Mini-Games #120
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Infinite Horizons Issue #2
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2014 07:28:17
I'm giving Infinite Horizons #2 ezine 4 stars. If I had bought it, I'd go 3 but you get a lot here for free. First off, the cover art is really cool and I'm loving the alien. Must scour it to see if there's any description given for it (or stats). I think the prestige classes are good, especially the Guardian who I'd select as sort of an elite guard or guard leader, seems a bit more of a non-player character but can be worked around. I liked the one-handed shot feat, the new gear (lots of weapons!). The paper model by Fantasy Cutouts was really neat and is based on a most interesting ship design. Might have to have a go. There's also an excerpt from JD Wallington's Temple Alliance Origins, Book I called A New Beginning. Very atmospheric first-person tale. Scott Virtes' Alien Flop short story I liked even more, mainly because I enjoy dialogue. There's others I haven't even read yet. Loved The Horror of Colony 6 and the art samples of Gordon Napier!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Horizons Issue #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avalon Quests
by Olivier M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2014 03:39:02
I was really excited about this product as I enjoy solo gaming, especially of the RPG kind, but there are very few options out there for such gaming.

Sadly, Avalon Quests feels unpolished to a point where it's uncomfortable to read through and use as reference.
Mostly, my qualms are with the layout and organization of the rulebook and the travel book which make it rather hard to understand how things work. For example, the travel book references "Sections" multiple times, but these are not indicated. If you read everything, you can guess at which paragraph they begin, but having to do that isn't normal.
The use of roman and arabic numerals to refer to the adventure or rules books is commendable, but remained confusing to me. Various typos do not help. The night encounters section is a blatant copy/paste of the day encounters, down to the table number being the same. As such, tables 3.3, 3.3.1 and 3.4 are noted 2.2 and so on.

Ultimately, it's a mess, and while I have been prodding at this in the hopes of getting some solo gaming going, I find myself exhausted and frustrated before I even start. Today I decided I wouldn't even think of trying this for a long while.

Other things of note about this product:

* The adventure provided requires 6 PCs. I find this to be too much. Soloing is not easy to begin with and while I have played one-on-one games controlling 4 PCs, I can't imagine doing it with 6, especially without a GM to catch my mistakes. It might be worth trying a multi-player yet GM-less game with such a party though.

* Art is really subpart, though tactical maps are provided for various encounters.

* There is a lot of content, whether random region events or adventure specific encounters and quests, which makes it even more frustrating that I feel I can't get to it in a comfortable fashion.


Overall, there is a lot of potential here, but right now, it's a rough stone ripped off the wall and it's in need of some serious cutting and polishing before it can become pleasant to play.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Quests
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle Axe Dwarf War Band [BUNDLE]
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:23:48
This game is hard to rate. I feel some elements of the game are worth 5-Stars while others are barely worth 1-Star.

Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.

Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.

Quality: 1-Star. This is where the game falls on its face. Some of the artwork is pretty good but a great deal of it seems rushed and poorly done. There are Massive amounts of typos, word-substitutions and formatting errors. Many of these errors are on the cards that you play the game with. There is no excuse for this amount of errors present in a product that you are asking customers to pay for.

Conclusion: I'm not entirely dissatisfied with this purchase. While I'm unlikely to ever play with the game as written or use these components I may very well create my own game and components based on some good ideas that I got from this product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Dwarf War Band [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle Axe Orc War Band [BUNDLE]
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:21:54
This game is hard to rate. I feel some elements of the game are worth 5-Stars while others are barely worth 1-Star.

Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.

Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.

Quality: 1-Star. This is where the game falls on its face. Some of the artwork is pretty good but a great deal of it seems rushed and poorly done. There are Massive amounts of typos, word-substitutions and formatting errors. Many of these errors are on the cards that you play the game with. There is no excuse for this amount of errors present in a product that you are asking customers to pay for.

Conclusion: I'm not entirely dissatisfied with this purchase. While I'm unlikely to ever play with the game as written or use these components I may very well create my own game and components based on some good ideas that I got from this product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Orc War Band [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle Axe Orc Warband
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:20:15
This game is hard to rate. I feel some elements of the game are worth 5-Stars while others are barely worth 1-Star.

Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.

Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.

Quality: 1-Star. This is where the game falls on its face. Some of the artwork is pretty good but a great deal of it seems rushed and poorly done. There are Massive amounts of typos, word-substitutions and formatting errors. Many of these errors are on the cards that you play the game with. There is no excuse for this amount of errors present in a product that you are asking customers to pay for.

Conclusion: I'm not entirely dissatisfied with this purchase. While I'm unlikely to ever play with the game as written or use these components I may very well create my own game and components based on some good ideas that I got from this product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Orc Warband
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle Axe Dwarven Warband
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:19:34
This game is hard to rate. I feel some elements of the game are worth 5-Stars while others are barely worth 1-Star.

Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.

Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.

Quality: 1-Star. This is where the game falls on its face. Some of the artwork is pretty good but a great deal of it seems rushed and poorly done. There are Massive amounts of typos, word-substitutions and formatting errors. Many of these errors are on the cards that you play the game with. There is no excuse for this amount of errors present in a product that you are asking customers to pay for.

Conclusion: I'm not entirely dissatisfied with this purchase. While I'm unlikely to ever play with the game as written or use these components I may very well create my own game and components based on some good ideas that I got from this product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Dwarven Warband
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle Axe Basic
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:11:51
Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.

Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Basic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avalon Quests, Adventure #2
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/05/2014 09:01:48
Utilising an innovative system to enable a single player to participate in a full-blown party-style Pathfinder RPG adventure without even benefit of a referee, this is no mere 'adventure' but a full-blown campaign with a whole bunch of things going on to get involved with. There are places to visit and people to interact with, a whole complex world in which your party can wander.

Narrative is atmospheric and interesting and despite the mechanical constraints, even combats have the potential to be interesting as the set-up and opposition tactics are well explained. Most come with a map showing the starting positions of both sides, giving considerable scope for the development of party tactics, and there are frequent opportunities to insert a random element to opponents' behaviour to keep things lively.

A nice touch is the addition of 'Friendly Encounters' which add interest along with considerable variation introduced by various rolls and tables to determine both precise who is encountered and what their response will be. You can meet caravans, mercenary bands, military patrols, rangers, travellers and more - but with several pages to determine the precise nature of each encounter there is massive scope for variation and realistic interaction.

Naturally, there are also 'Unfriendly Encounters' - those where there is a strong potential that the meeting will end in violence. After all, meet a bunch of goblins and it's likely to end in a brawl! Still, there is scope for variation - they might, if they spot you first, choose to evade an encounter. And if all this wasn't enough, there are also random monsters to be found.

Complete with a tracking sheet and the all-important hex map upon which all this adventure occurs, if you cannot find anyone to play with here's something to keep you entertained. For that matter, if you are short of ideas for a game, you could use the randomised encounter generation system and other elements to put something together for a more regular group.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Quests, Adventure #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Knight Games, Vol 1, Issue 6
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2014 10:52:25
If you enjoyed the first future-tech cycle-racing game (One Knight Games Vol.1 Issue 3) this is a continuation of the story with a new set of challenges on and off the track. However, there is sufficient background given for those who have not played the first game to get involved and enjoy this one too.

The backstory remains the same, a Kid racer who is taking a seat once held by his (or her... there's a kind of assumption that it's a boy but no particular reason for this) father and who has to fend off both corporate interests and other more experienced racers to succeed. One player takes on the role of the Kid - if you played the first game, you'll already have him set up and ready to go. A second player has the role of his race partner, an older and more experienced racer; and there are additional racers provided should you have more than two players.

The scenario involves a lot of corporate dealing and two complete races, with plenty of scope for the racers to get involved... and a bit of skulduggery for good measure.

The package comes with full rules for racing, track designs for the two races and tiles to build them on your tabletop complete with a colourful array of racer tokens. Excellent for an evening's entertainment - focussed on the actual races, but with enough role-playing to take it beyond a board-game racing simulation to something in which you can really get involved.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Knight Games, Vol 1, Issue 6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avalon Class, Amazon
by Jeffrey T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2014 20:27:25
I went into this class with the wrong expectations; when I read "advanced class," I thought that it would be a base class in the same vein of the classes from the Advanced Player's Guide. It's actually a prestige class. I'm going to try to hold that part back in my review, though.

The class mechanically resembles a paladin with smatterings of rogue and monk in it; there is the interesting idea that the code is broken down into parts with keywords. Breaking an oath with a keyword (such as Pride) forces the amazon to lose all abilities tied to that particular keyword until she atones somehow. Their code also has critical portions, for which it is impossible to atone. The idea is a good one, and should be offered as an alternative to the basic paladin.

Unfortunately, the class is plagued by typos, missing letters/punctuation, awkward sentences, and copy-paste errors. It's painful to read, and on occasion it interferes with the ability to use the class; for example, there is an ability that references using Swim checks to resist non-lethal damage (seems like it should have been Con checks). The spellcasting description is a copy-paste that implies that it builds on previous class levels, but just beneath this is an artificial progression that seems to have nothing to do with it. In another example, one ability implies that it continues to scale even after the prestige class is complete. This could make sense if it were somehow based on total character level, but it isn't- it's just worded as though it inserts itself onto future class progressions.

Overall, the class is stuffed with the potent abilities of a few classes (the evasions, uncanny dodges, movement bonuses, flurry of blows disguised as rage), likely with the idea that the restrictions placed even out the increased power level. I'm not sure I buy it.

In general, the massive amount of errors will keep me from using this, and the small amount of genuinely new material makes me feel this was overpriced. The feeling isn't quite as bad as it was with the three-page acrobat, though, which is why I'm rating it slightly higher.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Class, Amazon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 331 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates