DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Arrows of Indra
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2014 16:02:41
I bought this product for 2 reasons.

1) I've always thought ancient Indian mythology would make an awesome gaming setting and "Arrows of Indra" does not disappoint. It's inspired me to go back and re-read parts of the India epics the "Mahabharata & Ramayana".

2) I wanted to show my financial and moral support for "The RPG Pundit" who authored this work. To let him know he's not alone in the gaming community in his disdain towards the SJW's (Social Justice Warriors) and Cultural Marxist who constantly attack him and seek to control discourse in the on-line RPG community. Keep on fighting the good fight Pundit.

First they came for the Simulationist Gamers, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Simulationist Gamer.
Then they came for the Tactical Combat Gamers, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Tactical Combat Gamer.
Then they came for the Old-School Gamers, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Old School Gamer.
Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.

~ Gwarh

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arrows of Indra
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Infinite Horizons Issue #2
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2014 07:28:17
I'm giving Infinite Horizons #2 ezine 4 stars. If I had bought it, I'd go 3 but you get a lot here for free. First off, the cover art is really cool and I'm loving the alien. Must scour it to see if there's any description given for it (or stats). I think the prestige classes are good, especially the Guardian who I'd select as sort of an elite guard or guard leader, seems a bit more of a non-player character but can be worked around. I liked the one-handed shot feat, the new gear (lots of weapons!). The paper model by Fantasy Cutouts was really neat and is based on a most interesting ship design. Might have to have a go. There's also an excerpt from JD Wallington's Temple Alliance Origins, Book I called A New Beginning. Very atmospheric first-person tale. Scott Virtes' Alien Flop short story I liked even more, mainly because I enjoy dialogue. There's others I haven't even read yet. Loved The Horror of Colony 6 and the art samples of Gordon Napier!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Horizons Issue #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Avalon Quests
by Olivier M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2014 03:39:02
I was really excited about this product as I enjoy solo gaming, especially of the RPG kind, but there are very few options out there for such gaming.

Sadly, Avalon Quests feels unpolished to a point where it's uncomfortable to read through and use as reference.
Mostly, my qualms are with the layout and organization of the rulebook and the travel book which make it rather hard to understand how things work. For example, the travel book references "Sections" multiple times, but these are not indicated. If you read everything, you can guess at which paragraph they begin, but having to do that isn't normal.
The use of roman and arabic numerals to refer to the adventure or rules books is commendable, but remained confusing to me. Various typos do not help. The night encounters section is a blatant copy/paste of the day encounters, down to the table number being the same. As such, tables 3.3, 3.3.1 and 3.4 are noted 2.2 and so on.

Ultimately, it's a mess, and while I have been prodding at this in the hopes of getting some solo gaming going, I find myself exhausted and frustrated before I even start. Today I decided I wouldn't even think of trying this for a long while.

Other things of note about this product:

* The adventure provided requires 6 PCs. I find this to be too much. Soloing is not easy to begin with and while I have played one-on-one games controlling 4 PCs, I can't imagine doing it with 6, especially without a GM to catch my mistakes. It might be worth trying a multi-player yet GM-less game with such a party though.

* Art is really subpart, though tactical maps are provided for various encounters.

* There is a lot of content, whether random region events or adventure specific encounters and quests, which makes it even more frustrating that I feel I can't get to it in a comfortable fashion.


Overall, there is a lot of potential here, but right now, it's a rough stone ripped off the wall and it's in need of some serious cutting and polishing before it can become pleasant to play.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Quests
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Battle Axe Dwarf War Band [BUNDLE]
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:23:48
This game is hard to rate. I feel some elements of the game are worth 5-Stars while others are barely worth 1-Star.

Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.

Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.

Quality: 1-Star. This is where the game falls on its face. Some of the artwork is pretty good but a great deal of it seems rushed and poorly done. There are Massive amounts of typos, word-substitutions and formatting errors. Many of these errors are on the cards that you play the game with. There is no excuse for this amount of errors present in a product that you are asking customers to pay for.

Conclusion: I'm not entirely dissatisfied with this purchase. While I'm unlikely to ever play with the game as written or use these components I may very well create my own game and components based on some good ideas that I got from this product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Dwarf War Band [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Battle Axe Orc War Band [BUNDLE]
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:21:54
This game is hard to rate. I feel some elements of the game are worth 5-Stars while others are barely worth 1-Star.

Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.

Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.

Quality: 1-Star. This is where the game falls on its face. Some of the artwork is pretty good but a great deal of it seems rushed and poorly done. There are Massive amounts of typos, word-substitutions and formatting errors. Many of these errors are on the cards that you play the game with. There is no excuse for this amount of errors present in a product that you are asking customers to pay for.

Conclusion: I'm not entirely dissatisfied with this purchase. While I'm unlikely to ever play with the game as written or use these components I may very well create my own game and components based on some good ideas that I got from this product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Orc War Band [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Battle Axe Orc Warband
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:20:15
This game is hard to rate. I feel some elements of the game are worth 5-Stars while others are barely worth 1-Star.

Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.

Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.

Quality: 1-Star. This is where the game falls on its face. Some of the artwork is pretty good but a great deal of it seems rushed and poorly done. There are Massive amounts of typos, word-substitutions and formatting errors. Many of these errors are on the cards that you play the game with. There is no excuse for this amount of errors present in a product that you are asking customers to pay for.

Conclusion: I'm not entirely dissatisfied with this purchase. While I'm unlikely to ever play with the game as written or use these components I may very well create my own game and components based on some good ideas that I got from this product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Orc Warband
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Battle Axe Dwarven Warband
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:19:34
This game is hard to rate. I feel some elements of the game are worth 5-Stars while others are barely worth 1-Star.

Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.

Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.

Quality: 1-Star. This is where the game falls on its face. Some of the artwork is pretty good but a great deal of it seems rushed and poorly done. There are Massive amounts of typos, word-substitutions and formatting errors. Many of these errors are on the cards that you play the game with. There is no excuse for this amount of errors present in a product that you are asking customers to pay for.

Conclusion: I'm not entirely dissatisfied with this purchase. While I'm unlikely to ever play with the game as written or use these components I may very well create my own game and components based on some good ideas that I got from this product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Dwarven Warband
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Battle Axe Basic
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:11:51
Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.

Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Basic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Avalon Quests, Adventure #2
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/05/2014 09:01:48
Utilising an innovative system to enable a single player to participate in a full-blown party-style Pathfinder RPG adventure without even benefit of a referee, this is no mere 'adventure' but a full-blown campaign with a whole bunch of things going on to get involved with. There are places to visit and people to interact with, a whole complex world in which your party can wander.

Narrative is atmospheric and interesting and despite the mechanical constraints, even combats have the potential to be interesting as the set-up and opposition tactics are well explained. Most come with a map showing the starting positions of both sides, giving considerable scope for the development of party tactics, and there are frequent opportunities to insert a random element to opponents' behaviour to keep things lively.

A nice touch is the addition of 'Friendly Encounters' which add interest along with considerable variation introduced by various rolls and tables to determine both precise who is encountered and what their response will be. You can meet caravans, mercenary bands, military patrols, rangers, travellers and more - but with several pages to determine the precise nature of each encounter there is massive scope for variation and realistic interaction.

Naturally, there are also 'Unfriendly Encounters' - those where there is a strong potential that the meeting will end in violence. After all, meet a bunch of goblins and it's likely to end in a brawl! Still, there is scope for variation - they might, if they spot you first, choose to evade an encounter. And if all this wasn't enough, there are also random monsters to be found.

Complete with a tracking sheet and the all-important hex map upon which all this adventure occurs, if you cannot find anyone to play with here's something to keep you entertained. For that matter, if you are short of ideas for a game, you could use the randomised encounter generation system and other elements to put something together for a more regular group.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Quests, Adventure #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
One Knight Games, Vol 1, Issue 6
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2014 10:52:25
If you enjoyed the first future-tech cycle-racing game (One Knight Games Vol.1 Issue 3) this is a continuation of the story with a new set of challenges on and off the track. However, there is sufficient background given for those who have not played the first game to get involved and enjoy this one too.

The backstory remains the same, a Kid racer who is taking a seat once held by his (or her... there's a kind of assumption that it's a boy but no particular reason for this) father and who has to fend off both corporate interests and other more experienced racers to succeed. One player takes on the role of the Kid - if you played the first game, you'll already have him set up and ready to go. A second player has the role of his race partner, an older and more experienced racer; and there are additional racers provided should you have more than two players.

The scenario involves a lot of corporate dealing and two complete races, with plenty of scope for the racers to get involved... and a bit of skulduggery for good measure.

The package comes with full rules for racing, track designs for the two races and tiles to build them on your tabletop complete with a colourful array of racer tokens. Excellent for an evening's entertainment - focussed on the actual races, but with enough role-playing to take it beyond a board-game racing simulation to something in which you can really get involved.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Knight Games, Vol 1, Issue 6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Avalon Class, Amazon
by Jeffrey T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2014 20:27:25
I went into this class with the wrong expectations; when I read "advanced class," I thought that it would be a base class in the same vein of the classes from the Advanced Player's Guide. It's actually a prestige class. I'm going to try to hold that part back in my review, though.

The class mechanically resembles a paladin with smatterings of rogue and monk in it; there is the interesting idea that the code is broken down into parts with keywords. Breaking an oath with a keyword (such as Pride) forces the amazon to lose all abilities tied to that particular keyword until she atones somehow. Their code also has critical portions, for which it is impossible to atone. The idea is a good one, and should be offered as an alternative to the basic paladin.

Unfortunately, the class is plagued by typos, missing letters/punctuation, awkward sentences, and copy-paste errors. It's painful to read, and on occasion it interferes with the ability to use the class; for example, there is an ability that references using Swim checks to resist non-lethal damage (seems like it should have been Con checks). The spellcasting description is a copy-paste that implies that it builds on previous class levels, but just beneath this is an artificial progression that seems to have nothing to do with it. In another example, one ability implies that it continues to scale even after the prestige class is complete. This could make sense if it were somehow based on total character level, but it isn't- it's just worded as though it inserts itself onto future class progressions.

Overall, the class is stuffed with the potent abilities of a few classes (the evasions, uncanny dodges, movement bonuses, flurry of blows disguised as rage), likely with the idea that the restrictions placed even out the increased power level. I'm not sure I buy it.

In general, the massive amount of errors will keep me from using this, and the small amount of genuinely new material makes me feel this was overpriced. The feeling isn't quite as bad as it was with the three-page acrobat, though, which is why I'm rating it slightly higher.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Class, Amazon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Avalon Class, Acrobat
by Jeffrey T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2014 19:20:56
I suppose I went into this product with the wrong expectations. When I saw the phrase "advanced class" I thought perhaps it was a base class in the vein of the classes in the Advanced Player's Guide. What is actually in this product is a prestige class, and not a great one.

The actual class itself breaks a few conventions of pathfinder- its HD and Base Attack don't line up with standard conventions, and it requires certain attribute scores to obtain, unlike any other prestige class. It has lots of skill points, but the fewest number of class skills I have ever seen of any class, ever. Most of its abilities are glorified Rogue Tricks (in most cases, literally), and there is no customization; just a linear progression from one ability to the next. The class makes it possible to get Improved Evasion without having Evasion first, if you want- to me, it's a sign that mechanical interactions weren't well thought out ahead of time. This isn't including the fact that even though it's clearly meant for rogues, fighters and paladins qualify for it earlier if they choose, potentially for their 4th level. Ranks in Acrobatics would have made sense as a prerequisite and would have helped push it back into the levels prestige classes normally happen at.

In the technical side, the PDF is riddled with typos and awkward sentences. An editor or proofreader could really have helped. In its favor, a printer-friendly version is included.

In all, I feel more than a bit cheated for the price this PDF is going for. This product is too short, under-designed, and poorly written to justify the expense, even before considering the offerings of other companies.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Class, Acrobat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Arrows of Indra
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2014 14:40:11
I bought this one in both print and digital formats, and feel I got my money's worth, easily. Overall, Arrows of Indra's an excellent entry into the OSR in a unique and fascinating way.

I definitely think the game is spot on for the author's design goals as I understand them. It's a pretty clean, self contained game with a lot of flavor that doesn't feel like (but does feel like) an early alt white box. A ton more grok-able (IMO, or for me more appropriately) than Tekumel (for instance) while having a similar sort of feel.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arrows of Indra
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Arcanum
by Quincy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2014 09:14:13
This seems like a fun little game system, with an interesting combat mechanic. I haven't played yet, but I will update my review when I do. If you are considering this game, though, keep one thing in mind: It takes a lot of work to assemble! There are over a hundred cards, and you need to line them up with their backs before cutting it. Also, one or two pages of cards are aligned differently from the others, making it very hard to get them to line up. I really think that should be fixed.

The game is also riddled with typos, but anyone who has bought a game from this company can expect that. Overall, though, an innovative little system that I hope I can try out soon.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arcanum
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
One Knight Games, Vol 1, Issue 3
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/22/2014 12:24:57
A neat idea, and one that will have you on the edge of your seats for an evening: a game of racing motorcycles. Rules and character generation are simple by design, as you ought to be able to get this game up, running and completed within a single session with minimal preparation - indeed, it can almost be played without a referee (if the players don't squabble too much!).

The aim is that every player will be one of the racers, but there are other people around so those who want to take this concept and make more of it might take on such roles as support staff, race officials and so on. Played as written, however, there are a series of programmed events that will happen at certain points during the proceedings which make it a whole lot more exciting that just motorbikes racing around a track (and that can be exciting enough...).

The action takes place in two parts. There is a race, in which one player-character WILL be killed. That may sound tough, but it's at the heart of the adventure as a whole, because the second part involves another race several years later when the dead racer's child has grown up and comes to participate in their first race (played, of course, by the player of the dead cyclist).

Specific rules associated with bike racing are included, but the main rules are in a separate document: the core One Knight ruleset (it's included with your download) which is consistent across all One Knight Games.

This is a nice way to fill out a single gaming session, but future One Knight Games based on the cycle racing theme are planned, so even if using this model of gaming you will have the option of returning to the track. There is also the potential to take it all a bit further. The game is cyberpunk in style so if you are playing anything of that genre, cycle racing at the Cylon track might be a popular spectator sport and you could use this ruleset to moderate races. If characters in your 'main' game want to get involved in racing, well, you might choose to use the plotline as well, and either adapting your regular ruleset or using this one for specific race-related matters as you see fit.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Knight Games, Vol 1, Issue 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 337 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates