DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 Publisher Info
Avalon Game Company
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (1247)









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Kitbag 1: Universal Weapon Systems
by D J N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2013 04:09:36
Overall I liked this booklet. I'm not fond of "modular weapons" where by switching accessories one weapon does everything. For the most part, however, this booklet made it believable and I'll be using some of these in my games.

The drawings were well done. I will be looking for the rest in this series.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kitbag 1: Universal Weapon Systems
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heroes Weekly, Vol 1, Issue #17, Jail Break
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/03/2012 05:28:04
Put simply, this is a neat little jail break caper than can be run as a stand-alone or as part of your regular campaign. The situation is clearly presented with several options, from the default of rescuing one Dr. Plague from the clutches of law enforcement through to having to rescue a fellow superpowered player-character...

As a one-off, it can be fun to play the villains for a change. Even if your characters are normally on the side of the angels, even good guys sometimes run foul of the law... this is especially an occupational hazard if your party are typical superhero vigilantes rather than sworn officers of the law (and even those sometimes end up on the wrong side of the bars for real or alleged violations).

Various preparatory options are presented to allow the characters to scout out the 'Superhuman Containment Facility' at the local precinct house and then to gain access to those held within, giving plenty opportunity for them to talk and investigate and infiltrate before the inevitable brawl begins. Once it does, there are 'regular' police officers to prevent the escape attempt (if you want any superpowered ones, you will need to find or roll them up for yourself), and the caper is additionally provided with some nice plans of the precinct house and the Superhuman Containment Facility so that you can play out events with a good idea of your surroundings - including the use of miniatures or counters if preferred.

A neat and clear caper, well suited to a single session of play.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Weekly, Vol 1, Issue #17, Jail Break
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Avalon Models Free Sample Jan 2012
by Ken B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2012 18:06:29
This is a very simple package providing 5 ea. figure flats and no other information on any game play. Children could achieve some activity with it.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Models Free Sample Jan 2012
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Avalon Design Elements, Celtic Set #4
by Steffon W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2012 07:38:08
Delivered in PDF form. This means if you use Illustrator or InDesign like myself it's difficult to 'pick apart' the elements for use. These would be much more use as vectors or another format like svg. Avoid.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Design Elements, Celtic Set #4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
The product also comes with a Tiff file of each design element, which can be used by any sort of software, or converted into sny format you like.
Avalon Design Elements, Celtic Set 12
by Steffon W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2012 07:37:16
Delivered in PDF form. This means if you use Illustrator or InDesign like myself it's difficult to 'pick apart' the elements for use. These would be much more use as vectors or another format like svg. Avoid.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Design Elements, Celtic Set 12
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Combat!
by Sc N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2012 07:42:21
Great to do things in modern era, but lacks enemies to fight or foreign forces, the book is all about playing USA Forces which would be fine if you had something to fight against, but it lacks even terrorists, I mean come on not even an AK-47 is listed or an RPG or how to create a non-American trooper for the GM to make NPC's, no Russian or Chinese or European weapons or vehicles, very lame!

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Combat!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dungeon Walls
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2012 05:58:19
This set of tiles is SIMPLE. I like simple. You build the dungeon the same way you build your figures! Fold-over and base them.

With SO many sets of tiles out there, I would (and have) recommended this OVER some other sets 5 times as expensive. The reason why is if you want to run a "quick and dirty" dungeon, you don't want to spend HOURS building a room that you will be in for 20 minutes.

I would have liked to have seen MORE diversity in the textures, but hopefully they will continue to release more of these sets, and possibly some Sci-Fi themed ones as well.

Good textures, and wonderful concept. This is by FAR my favorite set that Avalon Models has released.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Walls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Markets and Merchandise, Pathfinder Version
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/16/2012 15:14:46
Markets and Merchandise (Pathfinder Edition) is a collection of useful information on market, what you can buy at them, and wide varieties of things to buy. The Pathfinder conversion (this was originally written for a different system) is rough on a few mechanical things in the weapons, armor and alchemical sections sections. Even with those flaws it covers a considerable amount of useful territory such as currencies, a wealth of interesting trade items, prices for services from the profane to the sacred. I hope Avalon Games revises the mechanical sections noted above so that I can wholeheartedly recommend this product.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of these products for free from the publisher for the purpose of these reviews.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Markets and Merchandise, Pathfinder Version
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heroes Wear Masks
by Quinn M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2012 14:03:42
I have always been a fan of super hero RPGs. I started back in the day with Villians & Vigilantes, then on to the original Marvel Super Heroes RPG and Superworld from Chaosium. I have collected a number of other super hero RPGs over the years and I'm always willing to look at any that come out. I pick up Heroes Wear Masks mostly on a whim, at $8 it was within my "impulse buy" range.

I have given the game a quick read, and started to create a super, but consider this as more of a "first impressions" type of review.

First, I think a disclaimer is needed for Heroes Wear Masks. Is it truly a standalone game? I think you need the Pathfinder Core rules, which I do not own. While it clearly states that it is "Pathfinder Roleplaying game compatible" that is not the same as noting HWM is not a full game and requires other books. That said, I don't think a lot is actually missing to make HWM a complete standalone RPG.

Second, the character sheet. How can you not have the game title on the sheet? I'd like to see a two page version in any event, as having room for the hero background and more notes on allies/enemies/equipment is always nice. I'm sure that at the very least, fan created character sheets will resolve these issues, but offical ones from Avalon Games would be nice.

Other random thoughts: The idea of levels for supers, even having played V&V, strikes me as odd. I am more used to seeing supers starting out fairly powerful, then with some minor advancement as they adventure. Then again, I have always prefered lower power level super games, so the idea of heroes struggling to combat street gangs and well armed bank robbers has some appeal. Adding a new player/character would be an issue if the other heroes had gotten up past 6th level or so, while in other super games they would fit right in and might even be better than some experienced characters. Call it a minor issue in my mind.

My initial idea for a super involved a law enforcement robot from the far future. I don't think that fit with the Origins and Classes offered in HWM. Instead, I went with a stretching hero (like Mr. Fantastic) with a "Enhanced Human" origin and "Super Human" class. HWM seemed to handle this fine.

The default "Power Activation Check" made me laugh a bit at the mental image of a hero leaping from a tall building and failing his fly check. Perhaps I misread this? Certainly it works as a Disadvantage, but as a default?

Solid writing in Chapter 7 "Super Heroes and RPGs" with good advice for GMs and players along with the history of comic books. I will also, if nothing else, steal characters and adventure seeds from Chapter 8 "Heroes Inc." for use in future super games ( not matter the system). Overall the writing shows a fondness for the subject matter and made me think HWM was more of a "labor of love" then just cranking out a supplement.

Summary: I would give this a three star rating, but four stars if you are a Pathfinder fan (with a fondness for levels). I have a feeling a number of Pathfinder parties will find themselves crossing dimensions to rub shoulders with super heroes in the near future.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Wear Masks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heroes Wear Masks
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/16/2012 12:03:54
The Introduction speaks of how often 'traditional' fantasy games have elements of the heroic, and so morphing a fantasy ruleset directly into a superhero game makes logical sense - more a case of swapping out sword and spellbook for a spandex costume than a major seachange of approach or style. Pathfinder, it argues, is a particularly heroic ruleset, and so all the more reason for this adaptation.

Chapter 1: Character Creation launches straight in to the task of how to generate a superhero character Pathfinder style. It begins with the sheer scope of super-powered characters as presented in comics and movies, and makes the wise observation that the best heroes are not a mere collection of fantastic powers but have underlying personality and background, the potential to become a believeable individual (provided, that is, that you are prepared to believe that someone can have superpowers!). Many of the changes made are more cosmetic than systemic, based on the view of Pathfinder as a heroic game with a fantasy setting, and so the process of character creation and indeed gameplay mirrors regular Pathfinder, people used to playing it will find much that is familiar.

The character creation process starts with the all-important stage of discussing what you'd fancy playing with the GM. The best characters are those that fit in with the game setting and style that the GM has in mind. It's also wise to talk with the other players, so that you end up with a rounded group of characters. In place of character races, we have Origin - human, enhanced human, mutant or 'strange visitor' - which determines background and something about the source of the superpowers that you choose to have. Next you select a Class, which reflects the sort of superpowers that your character will have. You then pick the actual powers, as well as skills and feats. You may also choose Favours and Flaws, as well as equipping the character... and then you are good to go.

The chapter ends by examining the various Origins in greater detail. Humans are 'ordinary' people who undertake rigorous training or use advanced technology (such as powered armour) to take up the mantle of superheroes. Enhanced Humans started off normal, but have been endowed with superpowers artificially - perhaps by being bitten by a radioactive spider! Or they can be willing or unwilling subjects of exotic experiments designed to enhance their capabilities. Then there are Mutants who were born as something other than normal humans, and finally there are the strange visitors, the aliens among us. Each has advantages and disadvantages, all face the need to 'fit in' with normal people and face greater or lesser problems in doing so depending on the way in which they go about it. Consider the details here, the better you know not only what your character can do but how his powers came to be and how he copes with them, the more potent he will be in role-playing terms. There are examples and suggestions a-plenty to help you decide.

Next Chapter 2: Core Classes surveys the main strands of power types that you can choose. They are Acrobat, Brick (the strong brawling specialist), Combat Expert (who fights with honed skills rather than the brute force of the Brick), Dectective, Energy Manipulator, and Super Human (with a range of different powers including the ability to fly). Each comes with an array of class abilities that enable you to tailor the broad strokes of the core class into the specific character that you have in mind.

Chapter 3: Skills and Feats then looks at the skills and feats available for you to choose. All existing Pathfinder skills are available, some with tweaks to make them more suitable for superpower role-playing, and a few new ones have been added such as Drive and Knowledge (Supers) which allows you to recognise both superpowers and know about the people who wield them. There's also a Power Activation skill that you need to succeed in every time you want to use a superpower. I feel this may become too much of a hinderance and it's a likely candidate to be house-ruled out at many tables!

Feats likewise are closely based on the Pathfinder ones, but here some are listed as being unavailable - mostly magic-based ones. Now, if your concept of a super-heroic world includes magic, you may choose to amend this. New feats include Blindsense and Oversize Throw (which enables the hurling of massive items), along with that useful thing for any superhero, a Lair to retreat to! Oh and Utility Belt - not so much an accessory, but the ability to switch equipment at will. There are quite a few gun combat feats as well, should you have firearms-toting superheroes - or supervillains, if you decide that guns are not really heroic weapons.

Next, Chapter 4: Powers gets to the real heart of the game: those superpowers that your hero will wield to great effect. This is the key difference between Heroes Wear Masks and Pathfinder. In place of a magic system, each character (not just certain classes) has access to various powers which may, unless specified otherwise, be used whenever the character wishes without need for gestures or incantations. As a character gains levels, he can spend 'power points' to gain new powers or enhance existing ones. There is quite a good comparison of Pathfinder magic and Heroes Wear Masks powers, showing how the authors have remained true to the original Pathfinder approach yet come up with a system completely suited to the superhero genre. This is followed by a comprehensive list of powers, each with all the necessary rules for use. An interesting inclusion is the power Arcane, which confers the ability to use magic along with a collection of spells that a character with this power may cast. The Armour power is another interesting one, as it does not distinguish between natural armour and the sort that is worn as a suit, but merely deals with power levels and protection against specific threats (cold, radiation, blunt force and so on...). Beast Control covers not just speaking with animals or being able to influence them, but also allows the character to display attributes of his chosen animal type - frog legs, perhaps, or the claws of a tiger. This one power offers a vast range of possibilities, and this is the case for most of them. Once chosen, powers can then be tailored to create a unique and distinctive mix for each and every character, both by options within that power and by the application of more generic power templates which can be used to generate a coherent package of powers all based around, say, electricty or cold. This game is well suited to players who enjoy devising their own superhero characters, although if you prefer to recreate your favourite heroes from comics or films it ought not to be too hard to do so.

Chapter 5: Resource Points then looks at the way in which wealth is handled within the game. The average superhero is not motivated by stacks of money (and indeed superhero literature is littered with ones who are very well off indeed but still go out righting wrongs just because they want to do so). However, it can become necessary to work out just what a character can or cannot obtain in terms of equipment for personal use or to equip their lair or signature vehicle. The game is not designed to be 'stuff oriented' but sufficient items are listed to give the idea of the sort of items that your average neighbourhood superhero might require. The Favours and Flaws system mentioned earlier is covered here as well. Each character gets a Favour for free when generated, Flaws are optional but as well as adding flavour they also grant the character an additional Favour per Flaw (up to a total of 3 Flaws).

Characters generated and outfitted, on to Chapter 6: Expanded Game Rules - starting, naturally enough, with combat. Here the main differences between these rules and mainstream Pathfinder are detailed, it will be helpful to have a copy of Pathfinder to hand, or at least a good understanding of the ruleset, to make the most of the game mechanics discussed here. One feature is the necessary rules to deal with super-strength and the amazing feats possible to a superhero whose powers are based on strength. The chapter ends with some Advanced Classes and NPC Classes, most of these will be of interest to GMs rather than players.

Then comes Chapter 7: Super Heroes and RPGs, which opens with a discussion on what actually makes someone a hero. If your interest in playing a superhero has more depth than imagining a costumed character beating up bad guys in equally outlandish costumes, you are likely to find this thoughprovoking as it explores motivations and personal qualities before moving on to an exploration of what superheroes actually do. This is followed by equally detailed analysis on what makes a supervillain and what sort of things they do and why... remembering too that most people don't see themselves as 'evil' whatever the rest of the world might think about them! This rounds off with a look at anti-heroes and other grey areas. The discussion moves on to building memorable characters - possibly too memorable, as in a rare typesetting flaw in an otherwise well-proofed work the same column of text appears twice on the same page! There are good ideas on building motivations based on personal history, tying that in to the chosen powers and even on selecting an effective and distinctive costume. Goals and ambitions help too, most people have aims in life and superheroes are no different. There are a few thoughts on drawing inspiration from existing published superheroes, although if your aim is to recreate a classic superhero entire you may find it easier to choose one of the superhero games written with that in mind.

The discussion moves on to narration, how to get that epic wide-screen feel that superheroes have, especially during combat. It's now moving into GM territory, as much of the narration will have to come from the GM, setting the scene and then describing what happens. Mention is made of the classic locations where the action can take place, involving innocent bystanders and much more to help you create a vivid scene. There's more: about getting superheroes involved, about running investigations, about creating dilemmas and dramatic tension... and even about how to run a game where the characters are supervillains rather than superheroes. Ways to help characters establish secret identities - and then how to involve their personal lives as well as their costumed activities in the game... there's masses here to help even a novice GM run a good if not great game from the outset. Notes on building memorable encounters, adventures and whole campaigns are followed by an explanation of different types of superhero games, based around the classic comic book eras - the Golden Age, Silver Age, Bronze Age and Iron Age, then through to the Modern Era... and if you do not happen to know what these are, you will be well-informed by the time you have read this section! Then there's the setting you want - historical, contemporary, alternate-history... possibilities are endless. There's so much here, and it all repays careful study as you plan your game.

Next comes Chapter 8: Heroes INC. This provides several ready-made groups of superheroes to be allies for your characters, or who you could play if you are pressed for time and want to get straight into the action. Each hero is provided with full statistics, background and some plot hooks to get things going. There are also individual supervillains and even groups, although they tend not to team up as well as heroes... Finally, Chapter 9: Brown Out provides a complete adventure to get you started.

If you like superhero role-playing, especially if you like to come up with your own original heroes rather than play ones from the literature, then this is worth a look, especially if you already know your way around Pathfinder. It's a good adaptation of that ruleset, giving evidence of sound knowledge of both it and the superhero genre, clearly one loved by the authors. Get your spandex and cape out and enjoy!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heroes Wear Masks
by Stephen P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2012 19:26:22
An interest set of rules that turn Pathfinder into a superhero game. I've made a few characters to test the rules out and you can make a wide variety of characters, though GMs may want to invent some creative stat generating techniques so certain classes feel more super-heroic. "Aw man I rolled a 13 for my Brick's strength" is not something that will sell this to your players. Also bearing in mind that a 1st level hero is basically a street vigilante, working their way up to "World Saving" heroes.
There are a few typos and bits of missing info in the document (Like no skill ranks per level in the Combat Expert Class description). The only down side to running this as a game (campaign or one shot) is the limited amount of pre-made NPC, sure you're given the NPC classes, like Police Officer, Thug, Henchman, but you have to build them from scratch if you're not going to use the very specific ones given in the book.

All in all not a bad purchase, 220 pages of content for $9.99, less if you got it on special. I'm hoping I'll get to try it out at some point.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heroes Wear Masks
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2012 16:58:34
I'm giving Heroes Wear Masks 4 Stars. A real Pathfinder enthusiast might give it five. As supers RPGs go, it isn't as well done as ICONS or M&M3, but it does make innovative use of the Pathfinder system. I was actually impressed by how comparatively little of the book is taken up with powers. The power template system takes the mechanics a long way without adding an additional 50-100 pages. This PDF does present some original stuff, not rehashed from d20 modern. The art is stuff we've seen before for the most part, but nicely recolored. Heroes Wear Masks is definately a leap in the right direction for Avalon Gaming Company's Pathfinder products, but I would have liked to have seen more of what distinguishes Pathfinder from 3.5 used, namely archetypes. A martial artist could be an archetype of the Acrobat class, for example. Note: I would have given this 3 stars had I paid full price for it. I got it as part of a promotional offer for $8. That price is pushing the limits of reasonable. $10 would be a non purchase for me. Then again, Pathfinder is not my game of choice.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Nova Blast Core
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2012 12:54:54
This game is a decent game, however there are as many negatives as there are positives. I couldn't help but feel that I was being overly generous with my rating, but felt a "3" would have been too harsh.

The artwork in this set is very unbalanced. Some of the artwork (like Adam Steel's figures, and the Fringe starmaps) are amazing, as well as the cover art. The templates are nice, and some of them have VERY beautiful graphics on them.

Some of the artwork is rather poor, and some of the Hive creatures are pretty badly drawn.

The rules seem a little hard to follow at first, but I am sure that once you have played this game a few times, then it will all make sence and could prove to be very entertaining.

One thing I noticed right away is that this set includes something rare that most publishers don't consider. A black and white "printer-friendly" version of all files. For people that want to conserve colored ink, this REALLY helps the overall rating of the game.

For roughly $8.00 USD, this game is one that seems well thought out, but also feels that it was rushed to get published, and could have benefitted from a little extra time in the drawing room to have more consistant artwork. A chain is only as strong as its weakest link, and there were many weak links to this set.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nova Blast Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dungeon Walls
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2012 16:00:21
This is a set of modular walls and floor tiles. The walls are 2" tall and the tiles are 2"x2", therefore the whole set is particularly useful for creating corridors of various lengths. By grouping more tiles together it's possible to create rooms. The textures are good for both the dungeon and the village versions.

I find it odd that the dungeon door shown in the picture in the product's instructions is different from the one in the printable walls. The instructions also mention a page with the tile and tab templates to be glued to foamboard, but I couldn't find it.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Walls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Avalon Counters, Steam Punk
by Chuck C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2012 15:40:51
I was looking for standups, and these are not them. But if you need flat markers for some kind of a steampunk game, these would do just fine. The artwork is clean and the characters look spunky.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Counters, Steam Punk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 31 to 45 (of 327 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Avalon Game Company
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (1247)
 Hottest Titles

Avalon Quests

01.Avalon Quests
02.Apparition Class Starship, Multirole Deep Intruder
03.Kitbag #5, Close Assault Weapons
04.Kitbag 2, Sidearms
05.Kitbag 4, Hand Weapons
06.Arrows of Indra
07.Kitbag 1: Universal Weapon Systems
08.Avalon Class, Amazon
09.Kitbag 3: Swords and Blade Weapons
10.Monster Hunters, Town Folk Faction Figure Flats
11.Infinite Futures
12.Heroes Wear Masks
13.Avalon Quests, Adventure #1
14.Starships and Spacecraft Book 0: Cawthorne
15.Infinite Aliens 1
 
See All
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate