DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Awesome Powers Vol. 4 Force & Gravity Powers
by Ben N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2014 18:43:59
AWESOME POWERS 4: FORCE & GRAVITY POWERS is a 25 page PDF document that I got as part of the Kickstarter campaign I pledge in and deals with two of something like 40 power suites funded (Force and Gravity powers). The book describes how these two, broad power groups each can be broken into specific facets (Kinetic Energy and Hard Light facets for Force powers, and High-G and Low-G facets for Gravity powers).
While the powers described in this suite are built from the core powers found in the BASH: ULTIMATE EDITION core rulebook, they quite often provide tailored rule descriptions designed to help perfectly represent the ideal of the super ability. Force Shield (on pg15) describes how it offers a +3 Dice Bonus against Burst and Cone attack damages. Inertial Dampener (on pg20) is basically the Immunity 1 (Movement) power but also confers a +2 Multiplier Bonus against Telekinesis-type influences used against the character.
It offers random power generation for Force and Gravity powers but also allowing you to combine these tables with those of all three of the previous AWESOME POWERS already released.
Also, rules are given for the various gravity environments that heroes might find themselves in (high-, low- and micro/zero-gravities). There are a number of new additions and clarifications/expansions to the Enhancements and Limitations of powers. The Non-Combatant disadvantage is a great inclusion for those heroes and villains that are better thinkers than fighters. Membership, a new advantage, is worth the $1.99 price of the PDF all by itself as it provides great rules for organizations and the perks/hindrances which they confer.
Want to recreate a number of GREEN LANTERN abilities for your hero? Look at the Force Blast, Force weapon, Tractor Beam, Force Field Projection, Force Flight and Sculpt Force powers. Want to model the Blob’s ability to stay put? Inertial Dampener. How about Gambit’s ability to infuse objects, like playing cards or his staff, with energy? Kinetic Charge might be the power that you’re looking for. Two sample characters, Gravitic and Mime, provide excellent examples of supers that embody each of these power types (Gravity and Force).
This book is an excellent resource for super power inspiration and for players that are inexperienced with the super hero gaming. Collect the series; you will not be disappointed!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Awesome Powers Vol. 4 Force & Gravity Powers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Awesome Powers Vol. 4 Force & Gravity Powers
by Barbara J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2014 16:45:41
Force and Gravity powers are some of the more difficult comic book powers to model using effects-based, point-buy systems, and this supplement is packed with ideas on how to do that for BASH! Ultimate Edition. Also included are new organizational rules for heroic and villainous groups which expand nicely on the core book material, allowing you to distinguish between advantages (and drawbacks) which apply to your character individually and those which pertain to the group as a whole. Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Awesome Powers Vol. 1 Elemental Powers
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2014 11:35:13
A add on to the rules giving ideas of how to use powers in different ways.
Not essential but could prove of use.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Awesome Powers Vol. 1 Elemental Powers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Ultimate Edition
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2014 11:34:02
A simple but deep Superhero game, not played it but having looked through it and converted characters from another system I like it.
Looking forward to running it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Ultimate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Awesome Powers Vol. 3 Spatial Powers
by Clint S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2013 17:14:08
Another fine installment in the Awesome Powers series, full of teleportation, phasing and other spacially-related goodness!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Awesome Powers Vol. 3 Spatial Powers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Awesome Powers Vol. 2 Mechanical Powers
by Ben N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2013 11:58:13
BASH! ULTIMATE EDITION is a great supers system that allows players to create finely tuned powers for their heroes. It's simple point-buy system allows you to sellect the rank of a given power and then modify how it works with Enhancements and Limitations. The possibilities are endless... and a little daunting at first.

What AWESOME POWERS does is package the myriad of potential options into a number of pre-made powers. This book, number two in the series, presents powers that are commonly found in super characters with robotic, cybornetic and powered armor backgrounds. These are fantastic. It offers 103 (mechanical powers if I counted correctly) divided into offensive (Electromagnetic Pulse, Mini-Missiles, Teleporting Ballistics), defensive (Ablative Armor, Density Phasing, Reinforced Skeleton) and utility groups (Computer Interface, Invasive Broadcast, Tool Array). Each power listed shows how it was made from the base powers found in the BASH:UE rulebook. Not only that but each power describes options for further customizing.

One of the other cool features of the AWESOME POWERS series is that each book provides random character generation tables. These were created in a manner that allows them to incorporate each of the previous books in the series (though you will need the latest book for the most up-to-date random chart available). While random character creation might not be for everyone, it does produce some very original character concepts. For instance by combining the random powers of this book with the elemental suites from AWESOME POWERS #1, you might create a hero you call HYDROMAX: a being comprised of living water that wears a powered-armor containment suit!

AWESOME POWERS 2, like the other, contains a lot of great art by Ade Smith and Danilo Moretti. The charts are very clean and nicely coloured. There are three sample characters included at the end of the book showing some examples of the various powers applied. This book is a few pages smaller than with AP#1 but, to be fair, this book covers two less power suites than its predecessor. You'll also find a few more Advantages, Disadvantages, Enhancements, and Limitations that will really come in handy for character creation duties.

There are a few typos in the book, but not too many. Also, on of the text boxes isn't large enough for the text it contains and so some of the last sentance is cut off. Still, despite these small nitpicks which brought my rating down from 5 to 4, AWESOME POWERS #2 is a fantastic addition to the BASH! ULTIMATE EDITION family! Go pick it up; players will love mining it for ideas.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Awesome Powers Vol. 2 Mechanical Powers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Ultimate Edition
by Christian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2013 22:48:25
I haven't enjoyed reading a game this much since my Champions boxed set in 1982. In fact, I was having flashbacks. I got so excited, I dug up all my old characters and started writing them up for BASH! UE.

The system has a lot of variety but is a pretty simple point-buy process. Some of the powers could use a little more explanation, and there are some typos, but for the most part, it's great fun.

A great part of the appeal is the layout and the illustrations. Large type, easy to read; simple animation style images that really capture the feel of super-hero animation shows like Justice League and Avengers. I'd say this would be a great starter game for kids 12 and up. Probably younger with some guidance.

For an old school gamer like me, it was a breath of fresh air.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Ultimate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Honor + Intrigue
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2012 15:45:47
This is a good simple system that does what it sets out to do. If you want to play a swasbuckling type campaign where it is possible to take out tons of mooks in a single action but still need to worry about both your dueling skills and you reputation then this should work for you.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Honor + Intrigue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Awesome Powers Vol. 1 Elemental Powers
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2012 17:16:13
Very well done. A few typos and you could consider it not really 'necessary', but it does add some subtlety to some particular powers and has some new rules that are handy.

Despite my reservations I was very happy with it and look forward to future volumes.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Awesome Powers Vol. 1 Elemental Powers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Ultimate Edition
by Matthew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2012 11:06:55
Very nice game! The rules tend to fall more into the quick-and-easy side for character creation and game play. It actually strikes me a little as "Hero or GURPS Light." Players have the ability to tailor their powers and skills but without the mind-numbing detail that many Supers game systems go into. Distinctions between superhuman and normal human attribute levels is included as well. For my taste, this game has enough detail without having too much. The presentation of the book is quite good as well I think, with simple and attractive artwork. There is also clear mechanisms for creating characters for different levels of superpowers from pulp low-powered heroes all the way up to Cosmic.

My only criticism is that there is not much in the way of a traditional character improvement system, and even at the lowest levels of power characters can start with a maximum point cost spent in several of what I would consider to be the "foundational" powers, like flight, armor, energy blast, etc. The author is honest however in stating that the game play favored by this system is one where the characters, just like in the comics, change little from issue to issue and only change after numerous adventures. Therefore in my opinion the system favors character change, growth, and development more from what happens during adventures, rather than accumulating and spending experience points. There is an experience point system in the rules, but you can tell that this is not a significant part of the game from the author's point of view. In some ways, frankly, I found it refreshing, especially in terms of a supers game.

All in all I really liked this product and found it to be EASILY worth the $9.99 I spent on it. I hope to see more supportive material for the system in the future. I would actually rate this as 4.5.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Ultimate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/20/2012 14:34:47
BASH! is a fantastic little game of Super Heroes. Instead of a huge book of powers or effects, BASH instead focuses on "What do you want to do?" and "What kind of hero are you?", Simple, but powerful questions.

BASH is a simple supers RPG that I am sure I am going to be playing more of in the near future. But what has impressed me the most are the number of conversions that the BASH fan community has already put together. I converted one of my M&M characters over to BASH fairly quickly. I have another character I am working on now that started out in BESM 3.0, re-done in M&M (as PL 5), then converted over to Marvel Super Heroes. It will be interesting to see if the BASH conversion goes over well.

The game achieves the near miraculous feat of being simple to use and learn and yet powerful enough to keep you interested and coming back to the game.
The mechanic is kind of an odd one with multipliers (but I think it works for supers) and exploding doubles on 2d6, which I admit I like. It also has a cool FASRIP-looking chart for die results, so it gives it an old school feel (something all old school supers games had were charts, lots of them!). I like that the main Abilities have been reduced to just three; reminiscent of Tri-Stat, but these a Brawn, Agility Mind (BAM!), which appeals to me. Everything after that are skills and powers.
It has it's legions of fans and I can see why. There are BASH Fantasy and BASH Sci-Fi games too, which I will need to check out.

BASH is a nice alternative to M&M or Icons, both very fine games, but BASH is easier to get going in. Yes, even compared to Icons. In addition to all of that BASH has a great power leveling system to play everything from Street Level Mystery Men to Cosmic "New Gods".

Like most Supers games, well pretty much every game, I look at the magic first. So far the powers look very Champions or Mutants & Masterminds like, i.e. I choose the "Blast" power and call it "Arcane Blast". I plan to look at Fantasy BASH for more classical, ritualized spellcasting. Given my GM's preferences, I also expect we will be diving into Sci-Fi BASH at some point this year as well.
Since that seems to be the thing to do I'll post some conversions for BASH myself, after I have read it a bit more.

It's not perfect. BUT just like like the comics would sometimes have huge cross-over events, so can games. If you are happy with your current Supers RPG, great, but maybe the characters fall into a wormhole-spacetimebridge-cosmicsink and end up in a BASH universe.

If you like supers games then get this.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review, but were you using this Original Edition of BASH! or the newer BASH! Ultimate Edition? I ask because you reference the Dice Roll Chart, and that was a new feature added to the BASH! Ultimate Edition book's back cover. However, it is perfectly usable with the BASH! Original Edition, and can be downloaded for free. Also, the Original Edition of BASH! really only worked for more Street Level superheroes. BASH! Ultimate Edition is the one that expanded to allow Cosmic characters and also had "Mystery Men". Regardless, Thanks again!
Crook Book #1
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2012 20:11:55
This is a great supplement of well thought through villains that are ready to jump into any street level modern day campaign. There's a nice mix of power level and character motivation and the builds are streamlined and effective. Sometimes you need to tweak a cobbled-together villain from a less polished supplement just to make sure he can take a hit or throw a punch, but these guys are solid right off the shelf.
M.E.R.I.T. is a good little organization write-up at the front of the book, and the field agents are nicely made to challenge errant heroes. (Although I have to say M.E.R.I.T. is in the running for most laboured acronym of the year!)
The books layout is slick and professional and the art work is inspiring.

It's a five start supplement, but I've only given it four, and here's why:
There's ten villains in here, and with a $4.99 price tag that's 50c a throw. At the rate heroes chew villains up, we poor narrators need a sweeter deal than that!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crook Book #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Escape from Castle Island
by Olivier R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2012 12:17:13
It's a nice, short adventure, ideal to launch a swahsbuckling pirate campaign. It should be considered as a "pilote episode" of a TV show.

All the themes are fairly classic, but it works fairly well.

Alas, it's not very original either, so DMs won't find anything new or surprising in there.

The "schools" contained are interesting examples of what it is possible to create with the rules provided in the main rulebook.

A nice one, can't wait to see what BASHMAN has in stores for other supplements!

The price is right for the quality of this work.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Escape from Castle Island
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Honor + Intrigue
by Olivier R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2012 12:08:49
It's a labor of love and it shows. It contains plenty of very good ideas to implement the swahsbuckling genre at your table.

The only thing that does not work for me (YMMV) are the dueling rules, which IMHO slow down combats and are thus not "in the mood". The good side is that you can get rid of them pretty easily. My personal approach is the following, depending on the players' mood:
- if my players feel inventive, I tend to play the duels "wushu-style": the better they describe their actions (and the more flamboyantly the better), then I simply give them an according bonus to their "bladework". If the roll is successful, they get to describe their action;
- if my players are not "in shape" (it is late at night, etc), then I made a set of cards that reproduce the listed actions. Each player draws a single card, activation costs 1 Fortune point, or it is free if they have that action already mastered. The cards represent an opportunity in combat to play this action. If the player feels at ease, (s)he can describe how it came to happen (and then rolls accordingly). If the player gives the DM room to make his combat more exciting, then he does not pay anything at all. Each round, each player draws a new card and gives the DM any used or unused cards they had the previous round. This keeps things flowing and exciting, while a more "tactical" set of rules tends to slow things down (at my table, YMMV).

I did not like the "detailed combat" rules, separated between main actions and "small actions" which can be used as reactions, etc. It reminded me too much of my old D&D days.

I also houseruled things to simplify a bit more social combat during "actual combat". I suppressed Composure and instead decided that successful social actions could remove lifeblood (difference between the player's roll ad the target's Flair) OR 1 advantage in combat (player's choice). This houserule gives one less thing for DM and player to keep track of, and tends to accelerate combats, while keeping flavour).

I kept the "classical" social combat, as I loved the example provided in the rulebook.

I am also in love with the stunts rule (which should be encouraged, actually it can by itself alone replace any dueling rules) and the firearms rules.

I also kept the whole Fortune Point system,which I'm really fond of. My houserules also encourgae players to act "in tone" in order to gain Fortunes Points, which they will likely badly need when combat happens.

I don't use the more "simulationist" rules found in the ships section (especially the ones about costs, and all that sort of things which I prefer to solve without rules).


I really liked the parts about secret societies, magic, monsters, etc, that provide a fresh "pulp angle" to a highly a-historic kind of game. And it's a good idea to keep it in a "real world basis" as digesting (as in 7th Sea) real-world analogues that feel at best clumsy is not my cup of tea.

All in all, it's a great game because if you find that a rule is too "detailed" for you, then it's easy to remove it in favour of a simpler one. The setting (although highly a-historical) is good too.

I can't stress enough that this book is a love letter to the swashbuckling genre, that gave me only one obsession after reading it: find some players and have a blast of daring actions!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Honor + Intrigue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Five Minutes to Midnight
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/06/2012 20:43:52
A gritty superhero adventure set in an alternate history where the Soviet Union never collapsed, and the Cold War rages on into the 1990s. The supers in this world are high-skill, no-power heroes who encounter a very powerful menace.

The adventure includes playtest notes (a rarity in adventures like this, and I always enjoy seeing them), six pre-made characters that fit the story and setting rather well, and a set of printable paper minis to use for the adventure. The character art is fair to good, and the formatting is clear and easy to read. It's a nice package for a reasonable price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five Minutes to Midnight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 87 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates