DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Party of One: Leda
by Adrien W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2014 14:43:28
I really enjoyed playing this gamebook and agree with a previous reviewer that you'll be paying a low price for a top-quality , well-written adventure book that gradually introduces you to the character of Leda , lets you vicariously know her friends , her family and her life as an apprentice wizard (on a sidenote I think it could be a source of inspiration for players looking to portray apprentices or th apprentice/master wizard relationship since it details day to day activities, and more adventurous events alike with sympathy and depth of writing) as you play along and make decisions that really feel like you're playing a D&D game (small but meaningful number of dicerolls to make outside of combat, some opportunities for learning spells and using skills the way you would around the table top although I wish there had been a couple more).

Leda's relationship with her familiar and how it's portrayed is also worth mentioning since it often seems neglected in novels or modules with mages This gamebook will probably appeal most to readers that enjoy following their characters through heroic and everyday acts alike , from exploring ruins and caves to preparing for a party and meeting for lunch at the tavern.

I really felt that the writing was evocative and in my view you could tell that the writers took pains to make Leda a believable and fleshed-out female character , with some scenes showcasing aspects that aren't often seen in a D&D session but should (family reunions , social relationships with the character's family , how fashion choices might affect the character's standing with others etc) . There were several typos and the occasional odd wording or choice of words but altogether this didn't detract from my enjoyment of the game at all when you consider all the work and depth that went into making the gamebook.

Where the book really shines I think is in describing the psychology of the characters and the web of relationships they have , making them memorable and easily portable into your own games as NPCs (Leda's master and her family especially but also the people she encounters for whom stats are provided) . I hope we'll see a sequel , the sooner the better and compliments to the authors.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Party of One: Leda
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Advanced Adventures #14: The Verdant Vault of Malakum
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2014 19:23:04
The PCs are sent on a task to map a tomb and recover a spell book. The party will have to travel for about a day to reach the tomb. There is a well thought out wandering monster list for the jungle, but not the tomb. Also, there is no rumor table. The text is not blocked or highlighted to show parts that are read to players. The map is a half page (long-wise) and there is not 1 single B/W art image to be found or pre-generated characters for that matter. It just lacks too many elements to be seriously considered.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Adventures #14: The Verdant Vault of Malakum
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Advanced Adventures #9: The Lost Pyramid of Imhoptep
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2014 19:20:46
The pyramid is upside down? The text is DM unfriendly (no blocking/highlighting of text to be read to players). There is no B/W art at all to speak of, no pre-generated characters, no wandering monster list, and no rumor table. Its just missing too many elements that should be staple to all adventures in this day and age. I'm really disappointed in this purchase. This adventure needs a complete makeover. Its only because I'm I nice guy and I like Egyptian-themed modules that I don't give this 1 star.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Adventures #9: The Lost Pyramid of Imhoptep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Advanced Adventures #8: The Seven Shrines of Nav'k-Qar
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2014 19:16:15
ok this module's plot is your simple kill and treasure hunt - a plot which would not interest my group at all. It has a rumor table and wandering monster chart. No pre-generated characters or DM friendly text (blocked/highlighted of information that is read to players). The dungeon is 2 levels, each B/W map is about a half-page. There is almost no artwork within the text - and the ones that are there are uninspiring. I would give this 3 stars, but it gets an extra star for the magical shrines which are rather cool.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Adventures #8: The Seven Shrines of Nav'k-Qar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Advanced Adventures #13: White Dragon Run
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 23:26:20
White Dragon Run is a good module, but will need some prep before using it. It is a ready-made "fleshed out" village, complete with an Inn (and other businesses), rumor table, and wandering monster tables. However, the outdoor wandering monster table is missing a table for the Mountains of Xur, and many of the results on the Skaths table will result in a party wipe until the PCs reach at least 3rd level. 2nd level characters should be discouraged from adventuring at night or in the Skaths until they are higher level. It has quite a few interesting NPCs for the party to interact with. It also contains 2 small mini-adventures, a forgotten outpost inhabited by brigands, and the Gray Temple, which has a variety of undead, giant rats, and hobgoblins etc. The module has nice B/W art. Each map is about a half-page, so DM's will need to enlarge them to a full page before handing to players. Also, this series continues the nasty habit of not blocking/highlighting text to be read to players, which I think makes it inaccessible to new DMs. But overall, I really like this module. The experienced DM that has tired of running new groups through B1 and B2, will find this fresh adventure appealing.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Adventures #13: White Dragon Run
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Advanced Adventures #7: The Sarcophagus Legion
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 21:46:04
A little too violent for my taste. But if you have the stomach for it, the first half of the adventure is pretty good. But then there is a betrayal and after re-reading that section several times, I fail to see why the party would adventure to a temple rather than go after the sultan. The new scorpion monsters are pretty good. I would prefer that the text is blocked/highlighted to isolate what is read to the players. Will need alot of work from the DM to sort out the plot mid-way through and bring the adventure to a conclusion.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Adventures #7: The Sarcophagus Legion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
1 on 1 Adventures #3: The Forbidden Hills
by alx n. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2013 07:40:07
(Mild spoilers ahead)

Used this adventure for a one-on-one session with a friend of mine. I used the OpenQuest system to run it though, not the D&D rules. It was easily adaptable, as the NPCs present within the quest are sort of standard to Fantasy settings.

Although normal as regards its structure (go explore area and help your tribe), I thought the adventure itself was quite good at giving me a strong base on which to build a better quest. For instance, instead of having the PC deal with a band of 10 infighting male Gnolls, I had the player face a band of 10 infighting humans, which included 2 mothers and their babies. That immediately made some of the beats in the adventure trickier to handle. It is indeed easier to kill warriors without giving it a second thought, than come up with ways to handle crying babies and their feisty, protective mothers.
I also prefer my settings to be low magic worlds. D&D is not low magic. Still, thanks to the adventure's relative looseness, I had no trouble making it fit my taste.

The adventure contains some discrepancies. So keep an eye out for them. For instance, one part of the underground temple has an opening that lets daylight come through. That opening, quite large, is mentioned only once, when the PC enters the room where it's found. Never once is it suggested that the PC could use it as a way to gain access the temple, which makes little sense: indeed, if the opening is large enough to light a huge hall, it's large enough to let an adult-size human through.

Overall though, I found the Forbidden Hills to be quite good at helping me set up a simple play session relatively quickly, with enough time left for me to make it fit my interests and style of play.

Recommended.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1 on 1 Adventures #3: The Forbidden Hills
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The ZZZ Quick Guide to North America
by Benjamin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2013 18:05:35
This is a nice source book for the Sorcery and Super Science Game. It has a Lettered and numbered Map on the outer cover as the back page, which is also the front cover as well. inside it is sectioned to areas by geography. It then has some details about the groups that are in these numbers, that are on the map.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The ZZZ Quick Guide to North America
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Magical Society: Guide to Mapping
by Matthew M. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2013 16:50:46
This is a good-sized PDF document offered free of charge. To begin, I am not a good mapmaker and the ones I have made are obvious even to me that they are too fanciful as to verge on the bizarre. All too often I want to make an unlikely city-state on the "Island in the Stream" that Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers sang about. Or the dwaven-crafted volcano that magically spews forth water instead of lava to encircle a city a la Constantinople complete with Byzantine sea-gates. Even children with an outstanding imagination would be hard-pressed to accept my world! This handy product takes the guesswork out of mapmaking and gives you down-to-earth principles that can be readily applied by any fantasist. Also, in black & white, you aren't going to need a color printer or require a color printer because of odd shading. One caveat, it does have some darkness to it that will require a fair amount of black printer ink. Helpful, useful, easy and ready to use, this takes the cake. It's also provided free of charge, so it's a true bonus like no other. I don't regularly hand out "Five Stars"/"Exceeds Expectations", but this deserves it hands down. Highly recommended; highest marks.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Guide to Mapping
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Magical Medieval Society: City Guide
by Matthew M. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2013 16:07:26
This is a good-sized PDF document offered free of charge, and usefully in black&white for easy printing. To begin, sometimes I have difficulty conjuring enough pertinent ideas of what a civilized area (i. e., city) should be like. Sure there are places like temples, inns, taverns, shops, and perhaps governmental keeps and guards at the gates, but surely there's more. That's were this handy document steps in to spur my creativity for adventures and stories. I must honestly admit that I haven't read this document in total, but what I have read has been more than useful. Given that it's provided free of charge, it is a super bonus. I would only rarely rate something with "Five Stars"/"Exceeds Expectations", but this definitely deserves it. Recommended; high marks.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: City Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Pozas Prime: Dungeon Delve
by Thomas C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2013 12:22:10
Fantastic art. Dead Goblin games is glad to have included this in our latest module, "The Slaver Caves of Dorden". Well done..this is an awesome illustration!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pozas Prime: Dungeon Delve
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Lava Rules! Fire and Brimstone
by Roger J. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2013 13:18:16
This is one of the most useful collections of generic rules you are likely to encounter on the effects of immersion into a hostile natural environment (in this case, lava). The rules succinctly cover partial and complete immersion, and implicitly consider whether the immersion was accidental or voluntary (and if the latter, whether the decision was made by the immersed Character or by some third party who pushed the Character into the lava).

True, there is some ambiguity in the phrasing of the rules themselves (something which can hardly be surprising when one tries to write rules that can be applied to almost any game system). But that’s where the diagrams, brilliant in their ability to synthesise the key points of the rules, come in.

If I could point out a minor flaw or three, they would constitute my only criticisms of an otherwise brilliant book.

1) The decision-making flowchart (the second diagram) seems to create an unintentional loop. I would have redirected the rightmost “No” branch to another, new rhombus, perhaps reading something like "Do you want/have to remain where you are?”. Obviously, a “Yes” arrow would lead back to the middle rhombus, thus completing the loop, but this would then be the Player’s choice rather than the GM’s. On the other hand, a “No” response would lead to the yellow square (which might require minor rewording to consider this new possibility).

2) I have some questions concerning the special section on Characters who are “Immune to Fire”. Specifically, I should like to know what happens if the Character is immune to FIRE but NOT to HEAT? Conversely, what happens if the Character is immune to HEAT but NOT to FIRE? And perhaps the most insidious dilemma: what happens if the Character is immune to BOTH heat AND fire, but CAN’T SWIM? I’m looking forward to a second edition of these rules, which will hopefully address these pressing questions in sufficient detail.

3) One obvious formatting error is the total lack of numbering for the various illustrations, which might result in some confusion for the hasty reader. But a more leisurely perusal of the section, along with numerous references to the rules themselves, will likely clear that up in no time.

On the other hand, an obvious bonus is the inclusion of a very complete index. This, along with the care with which the authors worded the Disclaimer, shows their dedication to furthering the cause of good, clean gaming. If they're ever in my neck of the desert, I will proudly stand them a beer.

All in all, and despite minor flaws, this is possibly the best compendium of rules on Lava, Magma, and Superheated Rock ever written. And not only is it not rules-dependent, which is a great plus, it is also more polyfacetic than the authors themselves seem to realize. In fact, I will confess I tried something truly far-fetched, and it worked: I was able to adapt these rules – with minimum tweaking, mind you – to miniature wargames, and they have proven to be a great success indeed. (That last point, by the way, is the reason why, despite the aforementioned minor flaws, this book deserves a full five-star rating.)

In short, I heartily recommend this book. It’s free, true, but don’t let that deter you: it’s easily worth twice the price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lava Rules! Fire and Brimstone
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Worlds Apart - Free Version
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2013 14:23:39
A very nice fantasy adaption of the Traveller system.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Worlds Apart - Free Version
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Magical Society: Guide to Mapping
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2013 12:16:48
A good product on building an Earth-like world with a focus on the fantasy. Great tips on where to place terrain and spread intelligent races.
The product needs a greater contrast between the grey background and the text in order to increase legibility. The orientation of the maps means you have to rotate the image when reading on a laptop but if you read it on a tablet, you will not have any issue. The map legends are clear to differentiate between the various terrain and ages.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Guide to Mapping
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Sorcery & Super Science!
by Benjamin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2013 15:29:29
I found this to be well written in most area's as I read it. I feel that the combat damage looks to simple, but have not had time to even run any sample combats to try it out. I am sure that it was influanced by a cartoon on T.V. there is a nice assortment of creatures included to help a GM make their own adventures, the rukles are set up as simple as they can be to allow the GM to be creative as they wish to be. I like how flexable the system is as well as how easy it looks to be able to make charaters for.
When skills, "powers", and other things are rated by the same 4 level scale it makes a simple consistancy for a rough power level comparessan between the party and the chalange, that is not so cut and dried that it will be clear who will win.
I can see where some will find that it is set up to force a set of choices on a player by the "destiny" and "race" they pick to play, but I think that is part of the nature of this world. Think of it as the rule of fate and natural slection for this universe. each destiny has a set of skills with a group of extra levels and some extra points to make a charater into what you want to start.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sorcery & Super Science!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 232 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates