DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Pozas Art Pack: Fantasy vol. 9-Cityscapes
by Julie D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2009 13:08:56
OK line art. Not a lot of detail and a couple pieces look like work-in-progress.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pozas Art Pack: Fantasy vol. 9-Cityscapes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pozas Art Pack Fantasy vol. 3: Landscapes
by Julie D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2009 12:18:30
Decent collection of line art with generic settings. Fair enough for general filler art but nothing exceptional.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pozas Art Pack Fantasy vol. 3: Landscapes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Malevolent and Benign
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2009 11:19:55
A fantastic 1E supplement full of monsters. It is worth the price of admission:).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Malevolent and Benign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe Second Edition
by Scott B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2009 14:59:39
EXCELLENT! Well done! Great job! I wet my pants I was so happy!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Military
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2009 13:00:21
Not bad. Like all EPR seeds products, its a collection of ideas presented in a couple paragraphs. Worth $1.31

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Military
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe Second Edition
by Pekka A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2008 04:35:35
If you have ever found yourself mapping a kingdom and wondering "How close to each others should this large cities be?" or "How wide would be the kingdom with this many people?", this is exactly the product you need.

In addition to that this book made me understand a lot more about how the medieval justice system works, how guilds fit into a (magical) medieval society, what is the hierarchy inside them...

Really, I can't recommend this book enough to anyone who wants to DM a medieval fantasy game. Be it 3rd or 4th edition DnD or some other system alltogether.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lava Rules! Fire and Brimstone
by Patrick P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2008 02:51:12
These rules are some of the most logically written and usable rules I've seen for dealing with lava and volcanoes. Really. After getting this download, you'll never need another word on the subject. And it is portable to almost any game system in existence (even LARPing, though I might not recommend it too far depending on your group's insistance on realism). And the download comes loaded with numerous charts and graphs to explain the rules to your players. I've got an itch to put my players though a Hawaiian-themed adventure, and this is just what I needed for those times where the PCs are dumb enough to go traipsing around the caldera of Mauna Loa...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lava Rules! Fire and Brimstone
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Western I
by Jenette D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2008 17:21:53
As an adventure Seed book it delivers on what it promises, providing a good mixture of adventure hooks a gm can flesh out into an adventure with a little effort. (or even campaign)

Like the name implies this particular product focuses on western themed adventure seeds, providing a good mixture of ideas and inspiration for their game.

It;s also worth mentioning many of these adventure concepts can be applied to the Serenity RPG setting with a little bit of effort, making this a definite benefit to those playing the system or running any other kind of space game with a "frontier feel" to it.

The only down side is it's rather steep price of $1,75 for only 5 pages of adventure seeds. (the sixth page is license and legal info) At this size $0.75 would have been a much better price. Still, it delivers what's promised, and is a handy reference.

Quality: Satisfied
Cost: Not Satisfied

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Western I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Sci-Fi
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2008 10:32:07
Some neat story ideas; I've mined this a few times now, for when I was running D20 Future, GURPS Space, and most recently with the new Traveller from Mongoose. Good mileage for the price!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Sci-Fi
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

1 on 1 Adventures #1: Gambler's Quest
by Jonathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2008 09:07:34
This was a decent product. I bought it because my son and I will frequently play D&D and I needed something that I could just run out of the box. It was well thought out and the plot hooks were adaptable to any campaign setting. That being said however I do have one thing I have a problem with, I own several of the 1 on 1 adventures, and while they are all good adventures, it is regrettable that they dont have a continuing series for a particular class or group of classes. This adventure was for a rogue, it would be nice to see higher level 1 on 1 adventures for rogues.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
1 on 1 Adventures #1: Gambler's Quest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Jonathan, glad to see a review of our products. I wanted to drop you a note letting you know that the Olindor series of 1 on 1 Adventures (Star of Olindor level 6-8, Shroud of Olindor levels 7-9, and Vengeance of Olindor levels 8-10) are for a Rogue. The series can be played as a single story arc or as stand alone adventures. I hope you and your son continue to have fun gaming and I'm always happy to see a new generation doing what makes all of us so happy. Joseph Browning Expeditious Retreat Press
Lava Rules! Fire and Brimstone
by Darkwing D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2008 13:25:53
This product has helped my game tremendously. Now when my players fall into lava, I know exactly what happens. And if they complain? I just point them to this mini sourcebook.

It has very complete rules regarding lava, magma, and superheated rock. It even has a helpful sidebar for creatures with fire immunity. Neato!

Overall, I think all DMs (and players even) should give this one a read. Well worth the $0 they're asking for.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lava Rules! Fire and Brimstone
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Old-School Gazette #1
by josephdamian f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2008 13:45:57
found it informative, additional information on the inner workings of the goblin community. Liked the magic items that I read I havent read the intire thing yet...wish I had this years ago..

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Gazette #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Modern
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2008 11:06:08
Not bad-a bit basic, but these are hooks, ideas around which you flesh out a plot. And the price is certainly right!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Modern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds Compilation: Post-Apocalyptic I-V
by Jose L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2007 00:00:00
Most people are familiar with the Seeds line of products. This one compiles all fiveof the Post-Apocalyptic Seeds volumes into one set. Basically, you get a paragraph or two describing some scenario. These can help you come up with an idea for an impromptu session, or provide the basis for an adventure.


LIKED: Large variety of Seeds can keep the ideas flowing for a long time.

DISLIKED: Some can be too "over the top" or disruptive to some campaign settings.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds Compilation: Post-Apocalyptic I-V
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

1 on 1 Adventures #1: Gambler's Quest
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/29/2007 00:00:00
Modules seem to be a good place to see a company shine. It is most often the clearest example of how the writers see the game. D&D has many different playing styles and ways groups play. I like a good adventure. I enjoy well crafted Dungeon Crawls to the plot and character heavy role playing driven ones. I like to read what ideas other people use to craft an adventure and to see how they bring it all together. Gambler?s Quest is a new adventure by Expeditious Retreat and it is interesting and a good read.

Gambler?s Quest is a twenty four page adventure. The PDF is put out by Expeditious Retreat who are well known for their Magical Medieval Society series of books. The book is black and white with borders and some good art. It does consume a bit more ink then average with the borders but it is not that bad as all things go. The book is well organized and book marked making it easy to use from a computer or laptop.

Gambler?s Quest is a solo module. That is the module is designed for a single player and a rogue one at that. That will make the module a little less useful for people. It is possible to make this for a group of players but it will not work as well. The module is well written and really does a nice job of crafting an interesting adventure with lots of possibilities and options for a rogue character. The character should be a rogue as that is what the module is designed for but it can work with other characters. The rogues skills are a highlight of the module, many encounters are designed to be able to use stealth and cunning and not just brute strength. Any other class will have problems in the module, a bard might be the second best for this adventure though things like trap finding might be a problem. The adventure does have good advice for scaling it for higher levels. The adventure is designed for a character of second to fourth level. They do have advice for characters up to seventh level and for multiple players to be run through it.

The adventure is nice and simple. It really allows for a lot of player freedom and lets a rouge be a rogue. The adventure starts when the player either gets invited or finds out about a gambling event a lord is hosting. The module has good rules for gambling allowing a rouge to use many of his skills like bluff and sense motive for instance in the game. There are rules for gambling in here using a specific game. The rules allow for cheating, lying, and everything one would expect in such a competition. While the gambling is not going on the character can try to access other parts of the castle and learn lots of interesting information form the many NPCs here. There is a lot of good opportunity for role playing and solo investigation. The character should be able to get some good information and make quite a bit of money along the way. The gambling part is just the beginning but can really be fun for the right people. There are other things going on here and the character has a chance to really impress some important people.

I have run many solo adventures and even a long running solo campaign. I have found that in these games character interaction is important and it is good to be able to offer the character plenty of options. Sometimes with out a lot of different people to talk with a solo player character can be at a loss for what to do. This module has plenty of both: character interaction and options for the character. This seems like a really good and fun solo adventure. The plot is nice and complete and it has many options for the player. The NPCs are well defined and written up and I really like that there is a lot of non combat solutions to be had.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1 on 1 Adventures #1: Gambler's Quest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 233 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates