DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
SpellCaster: Apprentice (Android apk)
by Vladimir F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2013 14:11:32
This is an Android app that plays one of three sound effects, triggered by waving the phone like a magic wand, so you can go around pretending to be lighnting-bolting people in the street.

The app requires some obviously unnecessary phone permissions: modify/delete USB storage, full network access, view connections.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
SpellCaster: Apprentice (Android apk)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dungeon Crawler Traps Collection I
by Vinciente V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2013 03:56:53
The absence of overall challenge ratings (CRs) with each trap, takes away from much of the purpose of having premade traps for a GM to use. If we are going to have to calculate it all anyway then why wouldn't we just make our own traps rather than use traps publicized by another person.

Calculations take time, that is supposed to be getting saved when using something pre-designed. It is for the loss of this valuable resource that I have given a poor rating of this product.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawler Traps Collection I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dungeon Crawler
by Richard H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2013 16:19:25
Yes, it does what it says on Windows XP- you can set up a dungeon crawl. There was a lot of hard work put into creating Dungeon Crawler, but the program feels and looks a bit dated for 2013. It reminds me of Diamond Mind Baseball- a text sim with a lot of details and options, and a reliance on you to use your imagination. DMB grew on me (I was not impressed after installation), so I hope Dungeon Crawler does grow on me, especially with the hefty price tag.

It's not really intuitive so I found myself re-reading the help files a lot and am still discovering things. The online community doesn't seem to be active. This is really a niche product with a small target audience. I was hoping for an easy out-of-the-box crawler to edit for unlimited solo play, but it takes a lot of work. Access database management to add and change tables is also outdated (I, like many others, don't use Microsoft Office).

The random generators for towns, names, and items are all well and good but not worth the price of admission.The rules are D&D 3.5 based but I'm a Basic, 1E, and 2E player, and was hoping for easy rule customization.

The frustrating part of this program is tricking myself into a solo game without cheating or accidentally hitting the wrong button. Monster troops and combat looks confusing. Not yet sure if to hit dice rolls are simmed.

On the plus side: no deceptive advertising, robust database, labor of love, great randomization, nice character and party creation, and cool traps.

Would have preferred a non-sandbox mode for solo adventures (a more structured adventure where I am a player, not a DM/player).

I may come back and edit this review with more experience under my belt. I was on the fence for a while, but have a bit of buyer's regret.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawler
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EMG Mapper
by Michael W. D. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2012 09:34:55
This is by far the best dungeon mapping program that I have ever used! The controls allowing you to adjust sizes and percentages of features, rooms, and size of the overall layout allows a very customized map. Well worth the price. It's an excellent value for the price for any GM!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EMG Mapper
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EMG Mapper
by Tex M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2011 08:07:32
One of the best dungeon creators I have ever seen or used! EMG Mapper is a great product and will save me countless hours of dungeon creation. It is highly customisable; - with a bit of tinkering you can create anything from your standard run-of-the-mill dungeon (though high quality and very complex), to a intensely perplexing maze and all the way through to a City Block with shops on all sides!! Yes, that's right - an actual City Block! Whilst you can not save the maps directly from the program, all you need to do is "Preview" your newly created map and do a screen shot ("ALT" and "PrtScn") - from there you should be able to paste and save (PNG format worked best for me!) into most graphics app. ... allowing you to fine tune your map with even more levels of customisation! Plus help/support feedback was also good.

(Creating a City Block takes some tinkering to get out - and a small amount of "after-creation-editing" - as you use the generated rooms as individual shops; use Embracing Corridor; Rectangles - 100%; Large Rooms; Corridor Exits - doors 100%; Room Exits - doors 100%; Density - 100%; all Misc Settings & Exits 0% and a 20%/80% Room/Corridor Ratio. Only those rooms that front your main corridor/"Street" are shops, with the other rooms NOT fronting the corridor the homes of the shopkeepers plus back alleyways and other residential buildings ... the good thing is, because you have the option of all the rooms being numbered, if you develop a 1-100 table generator for city shops, what each shop on the block actually is is also pre-generated!! *Note for room numbers over 100, subtract 100.)

A marvellous product I can not speak highly enough of.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
EMG Mapper
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2011 14:01:11
Probably one of the best random dungeon map generator I have ever seen even though there are some free alternatives out there.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
EMG Mapper
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2010 16:00:54
I bought the EMG Mapper several weeks ago. It is a very good random map generator. There are many options and it is really good to get good ideas for visual design of your dungeon. My only problem is I would like to save the map for use in my Campaign management software. I emailed support twice about this and have heard nothing from them not even a reply stating we have received your emails. I am taking one point off for lack of support. Disregarding that this a great random dungeon generator. At the moment if you want to save the file I would wait or try something different until there is a way to save the map.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
The lack of support complaint is both fair and unfortunate. I'm a mostly one-man operation, and was blissfully unaware that emails to my support-addressed emails were not reaching me. I only get one or two support requests in a year (out of many hundreds of customers and growing), so I had no reason to go looking for problems. I have made sure that the link is now working: support@emeraldgiant.com. Apologies, and my assurance that when there is a problem, I will work hard to make it right. Have fun out there, Randy Baker Emerald Giant Software
Dungeon Crawler
by stephane h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2010 10:25:01
Very good software. I am planning on using it in all my fantasy games from now on. I don't think there could be higher praise. That being said, I would like to see more non dungeon stuff...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawler
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EMG Maps Collection I
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2009 20:36:04
I liked the sample maps in this free collection so much that I decided to purchase the program. I have found this program to be highly useful for random dungeon creating. It has the 'old school' look to it, with a large variety of options and colors. The free download gives you enough to make you want to see more!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EMG Maps Collection I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EMG Mapper
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2009 07:21:49
I found this program to be very useful for making adjustable, random maps. There are a ton of options on this program, it is 'user friendly' and I was quickly able to put it to work for me. I will be using it almost exclusively for my published RPGs.

The categories on the program are adjusted by percentages. They are too numerous to list but include rooms, room sizes, doors, secret doors, colors, shadows, traps, corridors, size of corridors, style of corridors, stairs, layout style and the list goes on and on.

It is designed to print out directly but I wanted to use it to make maps to include in my published adventures. I had a question about this and the designer told me how to save them as PDFs. The support for this is excellent.

The price is a big plus. I highly recommend this program for your dungeon mapping needs. Black Death Publishing is well satisfied with it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EMG Mapper
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dungeon Crawler Features Collection I
by DeWayne W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2008 20:51:43
This will help me flesh out my solo dungeon cards before I play

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawler Features Collection I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dungeon Crawler
by Peter B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2007 00:00:00
The Dungeon Crawler delivers what it says, no more no less. A great resource for a burnt out DM.


LIKED: Solid and well functional, no bugs or any problems so far.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawler
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates