DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Codex: Story Gaming for Creative People
by Greg G L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2012 18:10:22
Very thought out game system for stand alone or applying it to almost any game system. Malcolm Sheppard game system is the perfect solution for Game Master that wants the players to develop threw a story base game system threw the character Owen actions and store plots from their characters. Wily providing the Game Master the ability to focus on House Rules and Store plots and monsters then trying to peace to gather what character did last section or keeping character from say or doing something that the character has not done before or has no knowledge of doing from missing up the game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Codex: Story Gaming for Creative People
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quick20 Modern Adventures
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2011 20:47:51
While I liked the "basic" Quick20, I think Modern Adventures is where the system really shines. The rules for reloading and vehicles seem well-tuned for an "action movie" feel and, like the rest, they are fast and simple. What you get is a clever, light framework with no specific game setting -- personally, I think it is well-suited for one-shot adventures, since you can combine the rules with references from movies and TV and get a game running with very little preparation.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quick20 Modern Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quick20
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2011 20:26:49
This game cuts down the d20 system to its essential elements and the result is good. It also adds some nice ideas like the "pools" that diferentiate the classes, the simple skill bonuses and the damage system. The only thing to note is that although it is a simple system, I'm not sure it would be suited for RPG newbies. Anyway, given the book's title, I suppose most of the readers who get this will be familiar with the d20 system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quick20
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Codex: Story Gaming for Creative People
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2010 04:56:25
Anyone who reads most of my reviews knows that I don't mince words and I like "easy-to-grasp reading" of game rules. (I don't mind reading long-headed books if I am reading about things like politics, philosophy, religion, or if I am reading a classic novel or Shakespeare. However, if I am reading a rule-set for a game, I don't want to be bogged down with the details ... money is too scarce, life is too short).

Unfortunately, I don't really understand what Codex is, even after purchasing it and reading the first 5-7 pages. Frankly, I don't think it knows what it is, either, judging by what I read in the text. (I am not trying to be harsh nor ambiguous, I am trying to be truthful. 8 bucks is a lot to spend on something you don't like, don't read, and will never use. I write reviews based on MONEY, not on PASSION.)

To all the game designers out there: LAYOUT is IMPORTANT. I am a graphic designer by trade - I know of what I speak.

Codex lives up to its name, unfortunately: it is a poorly-designed collection of ideas that is arcane and hard to comprehend with light reading.
Save your 8 dollars, until the revision comes out, and Codex has been rewritten and redesigned.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Codex: Story Gaming for Creative People
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Olde School Monk
by Matt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2009 23:29:05
This is a nicely done product. It definitely puts the Monk into a more playable light at early levels. I wonder if the writer might have been too concerned with restricting the Monk's multiple open hand attack rate, but all in all that is my only quibble.

Certainly worth the price, and more than worth it if you are looking to include Monks in your campaign.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Olde School Monk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Æternal Legends FREE Edition
by Nathan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2009 10:03:02
A great and free start to a great role playing game so have fun with it :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Æternal Legends FREE Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

First Edition Feats
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2008 10:42:05
Good way to spice up OSRIC games (or classic AD&D) with some special maneuvers derived (loosely) from the 3rd edition feats. Nothing really "needed" here, but if you have a fighter/ranger/barbarian heavy game, this might give you some fun stuff to play with.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
First Edition Feats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

First Edition Feats
by Dominique C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2007 00:00:00
I am glad I bought this supplement, that adds customization options into a game that lacks them. A very good point when you previously played d20, and got used to customization and don't want to abandon it. These feats were done for 1e/OSRIC, and as such would also be quite useful into a C&C game (easier than converting from d20 to add feats in C&C).


LIKED: Can be used into C&C as well.

DISLIKED: Not enough feats. Some of them are weaker than their d20 counterpart.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OGL Universal Monk
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2007 00:00:00
If you like playing Monks, this guide is for you. One of my main complaints with monks has always been the cookie cutter mold that every monk is forced into. I've always thought monks should have the ability to specialize in weapons, and not just the basic list of approved weapons from the players handbook. This guide allows your to truly customize your monk based the style of his/her chosen school.


LIKED: The ability to truly customize your monk from top to bottom.

DISLIKED: Nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OGL Universal Monk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quick20 Modern Adventures
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2007 00:00:00
Great game that takes very little time to read. That way you can get right into the gaming.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quick20 Modern Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OGL: The Warbard
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2007 00:00:00
This is a well-balanced, new take on a fighter/bard hybrid. I had been looking for something like this for a while--an "inspirational fighter" type. Very much like the skald of Norse lore (or the old Baldur's Gate 2 kit). Keeps the BAB of the fighter, with good weapon selection, and has a good blend of the familiar bardic abilities with some new twists thrown in.


LIKED: Solid, well-balanced class that doesn't reinvent the wheel.

DISLIKED: The pages have this celtic knotwork graphic and background color that has a VERY LONG load time for a pdf of 8 pages. It would look great when printed, but when open on my laptop (which is pretty current, tech-wise), slowed down my entire system; each page took a long time to load, like the computer had to re-draw it each time. I've had far more graphic-intensive pdfs on my system (Shadowrun 4th edition, for example) with no problems. For the load time alone, I docked this product a star. otherwise great concept, well-executed.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
OGL: The Warbard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your feedback. As a tip, keep in mind that there are no locked features on the .pdf. I encourage people to copy/paste the text to suit their personal needs. I am contemplating a future reissue that may be more screen-optimized.
OGL: The Fighting Priest
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2007 00:00:00
The concept of a front-line healer is one I was excited to explore ... but the result in this product is a highly-overpowered fighter-cleric. Take the BAB, armor and weapons use of the fighter, throw in an only slightly-downgraded cleric spellcasting progression, and you have a class that really upsets game balance.

That being said, some of the new class abilities were pretty innovative.


LIKED: The front-line healing abilities were pretty nifty, and I'll find a way to incorporate them.

DISLIKED: The class is overpowered. Also, while this does not suffer from the heavy load times of the Warbard product, it does have a lot of background graphic.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
OGL: The Fighting Priest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
What people tend to underestimate is the effects of the class' lack of positive energy conversions or ranged turning. This actually makes a significant difference, especially in light of the generally reduced spell ability. Keep in mind as well that the FP is balanced compared to the *cleric* -- the most powerful core class in the SRD.
Quick20
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2007 00:00:00
A good, relatively playable system. I mean, hell, it's just d20 boiled down to its most basic components, and for one-shots or just adventures on the fly, it works pretty well. Spells are the only drawback, as they seem pretty underpowered...too few points to spend on effects.


LIKED: Nice and simple.

DISLIKED: Spells need a little work.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quick20
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quick20 Modern Adventures
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2007 00:00:00
An excellent follow-up to Quick20. Offers a few more Traits than the original, and a very nice list of basic weapons and vehicles (good for those players who like crunchy bits). Especially liked the reload rules...simple yet perfect for the action-movie feel. Actually thinking of using that for my normal Modern d20 games, rather than the tedious keeping track of ammo.


LIKED: Lots of variation, lots of weapons and vehicles, and a great reload system.

DISLIKED: Maybe could've used a list of other equipment?

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quick20 Modern Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quick20 Advanced Characters
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2007 00:00:00
A must-have addition to Quick20. Increases the playability and the options.


LIKED: Good flexibility with Traits. Allows for more free-form characters, rather than having to multi-class.

DISLIKED: Nothing bad about it.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quick20 Advanced Characters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates