DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spot Art set 3
by Ben G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/08/2011 09:17:34
The third in a series of spot art for use in just about anything fantasy related.

As a very small indie pub guy, I love these sets. They have a ton of art for the cost, all in .tif format and all large enough to be full page or easily manipulated to be used as small filler art. I've already used this in one publication available here on DriveThruRPG.

The license is very permissive, the art strikes me as 'traditional' fantasy RPG spot art and is great for the cost. Well worth $12.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spot Art set 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Clip Inks:: Ornaments set 1
by Ben G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/01/2011 10:26:26
Over 60 mostly black and white illustrations, borders, text areas, blood spatters and more to add to your RPG documents. All files are included in a .zip file (which I find far easier to use than a PDF when it comes to images) as .tiff files.

The quality is great, the license is easy to work with and not restrictive at all! As an indie publisher and a gamer, I'll be using these in both publications and for personal use.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Clip Inks:: Ornaments set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mutant Epoch
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2011 16:09:53
This game has a real "old school" feel to it. The charts, tables and illustrations bring back good memories. The simple percentile based action resolution system keeps the action flowing. This will be my post apoc. game of choice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mutant Epoch
by Marius B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2011 13:36:44
Non-voluntary sex labour plays a much, much bigger role in this post-apocalypse than I would have expected.

The system is very nicely old-school in flavour. However, one thing is much too old-school for my liking: Armour makes it harder to hit you rather than reducing damage. There's no excuse for this in any game that isn't D&D or a direct D&D derivative. For creatures, it's not clear how much of their Defense score is from natural armour and how much is from actually being good at not being hit so it can't be easily remedied by the end user. This frankly needs to be fixed in order for the combat system to be usable and, let's face it, this is the kind of game where you expect to use the combat system a lot.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
by Giulio I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2011 08:49:34
The TME Hub Rules are fast, easy to read and pretty straightforward to learn. The game system's flexibility make this product easily adaptable for any PA campaign/setting.

This book is complete in terms of game material. Here you'll find all it is necessary to create archetypes with equipment, implants, mutations and skills; rules to cover and handle the most of game situations, hazards and the bestiary.

The characteristic I like the most from TME is the overall mood, atmosphere and Old School feelings wich transpire forceful from the book. The TME World is an harsh, violent and hard-hedged one, and the descriptives parts will pull you deeper and deeper into this mercyless setting.

For a good price you get a thick book filled with game material and (tons of, evocative) old-school arts wich enriches the product further. In addition, purchashing this product let the buyer access to a TME web site section with exclusive free contents, which makes an invaluable further support for the game.

TME- Hub Rulebook is a fresh wind gust in the PA tradition, joining innovation in game design terms and preserving play immediacy on the game table.

Worth every penny and looking forward for future TME products, one of the 2011's products to look for!


Two thumbs up!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Excavator Monthly Magazine Issue 2
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2011 04:30:36
Another AWESOME issue. Id buy a subscription if it was available. Great for any Post-Apoc game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Excavator Monthly Magazine Issue 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Excavator Monthly Magazine Issue 1
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2011 09:36:32
Great Post-apoc mag. Really good. A nice mix of new items, NPCs, a short story, new monsters, etc. I'll buy every issue. Great for any Post-Apoc game- Gamma World, Mutant Future,etc. GET IT!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Excavator Monthly Magazine Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mutant Epoch
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2011 13:41:58
An excellent RPG that perfectly captures the feel and energy of old school gaming (but with a brand new rule system) Fun, Furious and Fantastical, this game was a joy to read.

The best thing for me about the game is the fluff/setting and the Artwork. I loved Will McAuslands work in the Dungeon Crawl Classics line of moduals from Goodman Games. And as this book is also written by Will we get a ton of his art work. The book is litterally overflowing with his evocative post apoc fantasy illustrations

I can't say enough good things about the presentation of this product. If you are at all a fan of Post-Apocalypse gamming or even Post-Apoc fiction, then treat yourself to this book. All in alll an absolutly fantastic product. I bought the PDF from DriveThru and the Dead Tree version from Lulu (which is rare that I buy both versions of any RPG)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mutant Epoch
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/20/2011 21:47:23
The Mutant Epoch at first was daunting and over-detailed, but as I read through the entire thing, I found it to be actually much less confusing than I first believed.

First, let's go over what the Mutant Epoch isn't. It's not a kid's game, with light adult content scattered throughout and heavy adult themes. It's not something you can just take bits and pieces of and understand (unless you're better than me, which is entirely possible, but also not guaranteed).

Now, let's go over what it is. It's a post-apocalyptic sci-fi romp through wilderness and ruins, with lots of action and suspense.

It's got a good "Society of Excavators" thingie, where you can send in a code from the book and get access to a club. It's really actually quite cool, with loads of stuff in it. Certainly in terms of raw content, TME's pretty over-burdened, so to speak.

Now, the last term of that last sentence seemed pretty negative, but actually TME manages to avoid bloating. Admittedly, I could have lived a long and happy life without knowing anything about post-apocalyptic STD's, but other than that and the fact that there's a lot of random obscure percentiles for stuff to happen (86% chance the battery is run down) there's not that much bloating.

The character creation is iffyish. It's roll based if you use the "newbie" method, though alternate systems are available, with the downside being that you can get characters you don't really wanna play pretty easily. I mean, sure you could just re-roll, and if you were big on the roleplaying it'd be a fun experience, but min-maxers will hate it with a vengeance, and mainstream gamers may just find it to keep them from playing the character they wanted to make.

The percentile systems used are pretty nice, and there's a lot of rolling but it's all pretty straightforward (if you read the whole thing, skipping passages or chapters can easily result in confusion), even if some more examples would be helpful.

All-in-all, if you need a post-apocalyptic game, The Mutant Epoch has a lot of content for much less than the competitors cost.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Clip Inks:: Dungeon Portals set 2
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2009 09:19:12
Strictly from the position of an art director, these are exactly the right kind of spot illustrations to add interest and quality to pages about towns and cities, without distracting from the written content. I used it in both "Scaldcrow Generic: Town of Hokum" and "Scaldcrow Generic: Town of Alliancia." I look forward to using this product again in future works. I could not be more happy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Clip Inks:: Dungeon Portals set 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Clip Inks :: Warriors set 1
by Ryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2007 12:40:30
William McAusland and Outland Arts have, literally, produced the best stock art a fantasy RPG publisher can buy. McAusland's skill and style is second to none. His black and white inks capture an organic "old school "fantasy RPG feel that I, as an amateur publisher, value over the "slick" look of CGI rendering or ham-fisted Poser modeled art. His drawings are timeless, vivid, gritty, and marvelous. McAusland is a true professional in every sense of the word, and puts 110% into every piece of art he renders.

The dollar value of these products are more than competitve. As a publisher, I guarantee you WILL be able to use most, if not all, of the art in these sets for your product. In addition to "single figures", the Clip Ink series includes some top-notch "action" shots that will make your publications come to life. These vignettes of sword-swinging, axe-grinding brutality are worth the price of admission alone!

I look forward to more clip inks from Mr. McAusland and Outland arts. All of the Fantast Clip Inks are the best bargain in stock art going these days. Not to be missed!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Clip Inks :: Warriors set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spell Casters set 1
by John A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2007 00:00:00
This is a great collection of clip art from one of the best artists in the industry. William has done some contract work for me in the past and I was very pleased with his work, so I jumped at this chance to pick up a whole collection of his art for only $10. He has a great eye for detail and is skilled at creating realistic yet dynamic poses (as opposed to some other artists whose poses look stilted, distorted or off balance). I expect to use nearly all these images in my future projects, making this one of the best values I've seen in quite a while.


LIKED: nearly everything. I especially like the fact that nearly all the images are useful to me.

DISLIKED: nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spell Casters set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Clip Inks:: Warriors set 2
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2007 00:00:00
If you have read my review of Fantasy Clip Inks: Spell Casters 1, you will find that much of what I say here is the same. However, look through this review carefully because there are a few extra details that are important.

Fantasy Clip Inks: Warriors Set 2 contains 13, high quality, grayscale fantasy images. They are published by Outland Arts and illustrated by William McAusland. This stock art pack is so far my favorite of the Fantasy Clip Inks series. I am generally impressed by the Fantasy Clip Inks series for a couple of important reasons. A lot of stock art available has three problems. One is that the drawings look like unfinished sketches, and another is that many do not pay attention to detail. Finally, and this is related to the ?unfinished? complaint, is that some stock art is advertised as press ready (or at least ?should? be clean and press ready) but in reality often needs cleaning up in Photoshop. The Warriors Set 1 stock art pack truly lives up to the claim that the images are press ready. They are crisp and clean TIFFs. The only modifications necessary would be if one wanted to alter their size or add some color.

Warriors Set 2 has very detailed drawings. These are high-end illustrations that are a great bargain, since quality images like this would gather top freelancer rates. The pen-and-ink style drawings are clean, and there are a wide variety of characters in various poses. Most illustrations are about 1/4 page in size, but just another example of how this set is a bargain comes from the fact that it includes a few that are 1/2 page or larger. This set has fewer images than Spell Casters Set 1, but it includes a 1/2 page highly detailed illustration of a warrior sneaking up on a group of goblins in a dungeon, and a ?nearly? full page illustration of a warrior battling an orc in a dungeon (6.15?x8?). These illustrations alone are more than worth the price of this art pack, as they are very high quality with a lot of detail in the backgrounds.

Part of the appeal for me also is that these drawings are very reminiscent of old-school illustrations from the earlier days of TSR. That is to say, these are more ?realistic? or ?gritty? drawings and are not ?cartoonish.?

In conclusion, I highly recommend this art pack to players and publishers alike. To publishers in particular I would say that this is the real deal, and a great bargain. Outland Arts and William McAusland are easily on their way to having some of the highest quality stock art currently available.



LIKED: Very high quality, and a great bargain. I love the detail in the drawings and the variety of characters and poses.

DISLIKED: No complaints.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Clip Inks:: Warriors set 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spell Casters set 1
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2007 00:00:00
Fantasy Clip Inks: Spell Casters Set 1 contains 16, high quality, grayscale fantasy images. They are published by Outland Arts and illustrated by William McAusland. I can?t stress enough how impressed I am with the Fantasy Clip Inks series so far for a couple of important reasons. A lot of stock art available has three problems. One is that the drawings look like unfinished sketches, and another is that many do not pay attention to detail. Finally, and this is related to the ?unfinished? complaint, is that some stock art is advertised as press ready (or at least ?should? be clean and press ready) but in reality often needs cleaning up in Photoshop. The Spell Casters Set 1 stock art pack truly lives up to the claim that the images are press ready. They are crisp and clean TIFFs. The only modifications necessary would be if one wanted to alter their size or add some color.

Spell Casters Set 1 has very detailed drawings. These are high-end illustrations that are a great bargain, since quality images like this would gather top freelancer rates. The pen-and-ink style drawings are clean, and there are a wide variety of characters in various poses. Most illustrations are about 1/4 page in size, but just another example of how this set is a bargain comes from the fact that it includes a few that are 1/2 page.

Part of the appeal for me also is that these drawings are very reminiscent of old-school illustrations from the earlier days of TSR. That is to say, these are more ?realistic? or ?gritty? drawings and are not ?cartoonish.?

In conclusion, I highly recommend this art pack to players and publishers alike. To publishers in particular I would say that this is the real deal, and a great bargain. Outland Arts and William McAusland are easily on their way to having some of the highest quality stock art currently available.



LIKED: High quality, detailed illustrations. A variety of figures in different poses. Great value for the content.

DISLIKED: No complaints.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spell Casters set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Clip Inks :: Warriors set 1
by Philip R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
Excellent work. A definite must-buy for PDF publishers that need a few fantasy warrior illustrations.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Clip Inks :: Warriors set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 47 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates