DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Lion's Den Press: Classes of Legend: The Witch
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/07/2012 15:50:51
Presents a witch class for the 3.x d20 game. It is different enough from the Pathfinder or DMG versions of the witch class to merit it's own product. There are some new feats and spells. All 20 levels are presented as well as some "High Witchcraft" alternate levels.
Some good ideas here and not bad for the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lion's Den Press: Classes of Legend: The Witch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lion's Den Press: The Iconic Bestiary -- Classic Fey
by JK R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2011 04:51:35
A good treatment of fey that are closer to folklore than to standard D&D monster fare. There are a total of seven beings described (one of them with two variants), each fairly well written and including adventure ideas. CRs range from 2 to 18, although there is one special case somewhat debatably given a CR of 0.

The creatures have an interesting flavour, and are genuinely atmospheric. The book rounds out with a rather vague section on curses, some rules for fey marriage to mortals, and a selection of new feats. On the downside, the book has no artwork (other than the cover) and only a basic layout, so don't expect any frills.

Nothing outstanding, but not bad for the price, and the atmospheric nature of the beings elevates it to 4/5 from me.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lion's Den Press: The Iconic Bestiary -- Classic Fey
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lion's Den Press: The Iconic Bestiary -- Classic Fey
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2010 12:44:20
All sorts of fey creatures from myth and legend. Some different takes on some classic monsters and some brand new. If you are running a game with a lot of fey creatures then this is a great source.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lion's Den Press: Secrets of the Planes -- Planar Magic
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2008 23:58:37
While this book wasn't nearly as detailed as I expected it to be, the specs for a Planar Mage are quite clear and the available planes are adequate. Had this been a physical book I'd say $6 is a steal and better than a fair price, but almost all of this information was already available elsewhere online. If I had spent the original amount I would have felt ripped off. Seriously Lion's Den, get a publisher! And the picture? Seriously Lion's Den, black and white illustrations went the way of 2.0 and I could probably Photo-shop this into something much more alluring to the eye on an off weekend.

Oh well. It was only $6 and maybe that will help Lion's Den afford a trip to Kinkos.

On the plus side its not all bad having a PDF version with tables and charts already formated correctly and the spells Lion's Den Press came up with are a nice little bonus. I can see why this is discounted though.

I'm tempted to give this a 2 star since the point of downloaded books is getting info you can't find elsewhere, but since it was so cheap I don't feel so ripped off.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lion's Den Press: Secrets of the Planes -- Planar Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lion's Den Press: Classes of Legend -- The Assassin
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/22/2006 00:00:00
Classes of Legend: the Assassin is the latest of the Classes of Legend series from Lion?s Den Press which attempts to bring classic fantasy archetypes into the D20 system. This product is a 17-page document (15 after cover and OGL), there is minimal art, the same piece repeated twice, and the layout is clean.

The Assassin class models the professional killer that strikes from surprise, the knife in the dark rather than the sword in the front of the fighter.

The Assassin class is presented first, the mechanics are simple, it is a skill-based class (6 + Int per level) with rogue BAB with various specialization. The Assassin has seven ?paths? such as caster (casts spells), duelist (makes the pretense of a stand up fight) and sniper (ranged attack specialist). The Assassin gains tricks such as poison usage, save bonuses against poison, a death attack (as the Assassin Prestige Class) and eventually poison immunity. Only those Assassins that follow the path of the caster gain any spell casting ability and that to only 4th level.

Following the mechanics is advice on playing an Assassin, both roleplaying and in game. Next there is a section about the place of Assassins in a world, how they fit into a campaign and how they can be used. Lastly, an example Assassin (Kazir ?the Gorgon? Antartha, an 11th level Assassin of the enforcer path) is presented as a ready adversary or patron. Sadly, he is a male half-orc and the vicious looking elven assassin (whose art is, strangely, is presented again with Kazir) of the cover art is no where to be found.

Overall, quite a good source, the Assassin looks entirely balanced though additional support in the form of one or two feats and magic items especially tailored for the class would round it out. But if your campaign has a place for profession killer for hire this product is worth looking at.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lion's Den Press: Classes of Legend -- The Assassin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lion's Den Press: The Iconic Bestiary -- Classics of Controversy
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2006 00:00:00
It's only a few bucks and it has bigfoot in it, all I needed to see.


LIKED: I like the creatures featured in the booklet, looking forward to incorporating them in various games.

DISLIKED: I wish it was longer and had more artwork. Only the Bunyip and Sasquatch have any real art to speak of, for a topic like this they should have included at least a reference drawing for all creatures featured.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lion's Den Press: The Iconic Bestiary -- Classics of Controversy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lion's Den Press: Classes of Legend: The Witch
by Vernon A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2006 00:00:00
This was an akay book and it was worth the money. I was okay and you might find something useful here

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lion's Den Press: Classes of Legend: The Witch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lion's Den Press: Classes of Legend: The Fiendblade
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/14/2006 00:00:00
Classes of Legend: the Fiendblade (with the tag line ?command the armies of hell?) is the latest of the Classes of Legend series from Lion?s Den Press which try to bring classic fantasy archetypes into the D20 system.

The Fiendblade tries to model the dark warrior with a pact with the infernal powers who can summon the aid of dark forces in his battles. Think of a certain pale skinned prince of a island ruled by those who practiced forbidden arts.

The Fiendblade class is presented first, the mechanics are simple, it is a combat class with extras. The Fiendblade is an interesting counterpoint to a paladin, while the paladin draws on faith to enhance their abilities, the Fiendblade relies on dirty tricks and summoning dark forces to fight for him.

The Fiendblade gets full BAB, D10 HD and the ability to summon fiendish allies, like a Summon Monster spell (as a spell). They are restricted to a certain number of HD summoned per day and further by a limited amount of HD worth of creatures summoned at any one time. They also gain a few dice of sneak attack, the ability to smite outsiders and a few other tricks. Mechanically It seems balanced with other combat and combat/spell casting hybrid classes.

Following the mechanics is advice on playing Fiendblade, both roleplaying and in game. Then a section about the place of Fiendblades in a world, how they fit into a campaign and how they can be used. Lastly, an example Fiendblade (Elsirott Krell, the Bane of Andallin, a 13th level Fiendblade) is presented as a ready adversary or patron.

Overall, quite a good source, the Fiendblade looks entirely balanced though I would have liked to have seen one or two feats and magic items especially tailored for the class to round it out. But if you like doomed and ill-fated heroes (or anti-heroes) this is worth looking at.


LIKED: New character options.

DISLIKED: No support for the class beyond the class itself.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lion's Den Press: Classes of Legend: The Fiendblade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lions Den Press: Secrets of the Planes -- Planar Factions
by Vernon A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2006 00:00:00
I recently read this. It contains some interesting organization that are multiplanar in scope. You can insert these into any campaign you want. Well worth the money. Watch out some of these organizations are powerful.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lions Den Press: Secrets of the Planes -- Planar Factions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lion's Den Press: The Iconic Bestiary -- Classics of Controversy
by Derek H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2006 00:00:00
Covers most of the most famous of cryptids. I hope there will be another that will look at lesser known ones.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lion's Den Press: The Iconic Bestiary -- Classics of Controversy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lion's Den Press: Classes of Legend: The Witch
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/04/2006 00:00:00
Classes of Legend: the Witch adapts that classic fantasy archetype, the witch, for the D20 fantasy rule set presenting a full twenty level base class along with support material.

The Witch blurs the line between an arcane and divine casting class, they use Charisma as their spell casting attribute but they pray for spells (which are defined as arcane in the text) and they have access to some healing magic, but slightly more then a Bard does. The Witch?s spell list draws in a fair number of druidic spells making for an interesting mix of available spell choices, which is slightly limited by their choice of patron (evil witches cannot use good spells and vice versa). The Witch does gain a familiar who later gains additional minor abilities, beyond those of a normal familiar, to aid the Witch.

The Witch is restricted to a very odd and narrow selection of weapons (strangely, sickle is not one of their weapons) and no armor proficiencies, D4 hit dice and poor base attack progression, so they are definitely confined to the spell-casting and support role. However, they do gain poison use at first level and brew potions at third which does give them some interesting options at low level.

Additional options and support are provided for the Witch: Four new feats, three that are useful for the witch and one specifically for divine witch hunters. The option to have the Witch take her spells as talismans, which can be given to others to use (though this reduced the effectiveness of the spell). Six new spells. Lastly, the ability to take High Witchcraft abilities at the cost of spell slots. A single example witch (Eleris Vayl, Mother of Night, a 19th level Witch) is presented along with general background information of (game) witches.

A useful source to incorporate a new tradition of magic into a campaign.


LIKED: Good ideas, clean layout.

DISLIKED: A few suggestions about how to intregrate the new class into an existing campaign would have been useful.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lion's Den Press: Classes of Legend: The Witch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lions Den Press: Secrets of the Planes -- Planar Factions
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/30/2006 00:00:00
Planar Factions

Some books when I get them I flip right to the rules, the feats, the spells, the prestige classes. Other books I have to get comfortable because I know I am going to read them front to back, cover to cover. These are the books that are filled with ideas and not so much on the rules. These are the books that I want to use in my campaign for they contain inspiration and not items to be slapped on a character or an opponent. I like the books that get my creative juices flowing, that show me ideas I did not think of on my own and allow me to use them with ease. Planar Factions is such a book.

The PDF comes in a small zip file of less then two megs and even unzipped still does not reach two megs. That is some really good compression for a book that is one hundred and twenty nine pages long. The book is well book marked like I have come to expect from Ronin Arts. The layout is good and simple making it easy to print. There is no art in the book making it packed to the brim, but the layout spaces things out nicely making it easy to read,

Planar Factions is a collection of twelve different factions that span the many worlds. Each faction is also available as an individual PDF so people can buy only the ones they want or get all of them together. The factions are described as existing across many worlds but the worlds are left general enough that to fit anyone?s campaign. This book does not assume any type of cosmology and can work equally well with Manual of the Planes, Book of the Planes, Beyond Countless Doorways, and Edge of Infinity. The DM will need to figure which planes from those books work the best but there is nothing in here that will make it tough for the DM.

Each plane is described with some common features. Each has size, alignment/ purpose, approximate class breakdown, resources, central headquarters, and known enemies. All of these are done well except for size. Population of different worlds and campaigns can vary drastically. One of the factions has size colossal of over a thousand members. To me a thousand people is not colossal in size. I would have preferred instead to just have the words and then briefly talk about what that size should be and let the DM choose exact numbers. Obviously, this is not a very big complaint and is something simple for DMs to change.

The first faction is called the Eternal Flame, and one should expect full spoilers. They are a faction that comes into a world and helps first destroy the evil races and then the evil organizations like thieves guild. They help get rid of corruption in the government and stop the evil gods. They keep expanding what they consider to be evil and wrong until they usurp the government and have their own secret police. The organization is actually evil and patient. They will root out other evils over the course of many years or decades becoming very popular all the while slowly increasing their own power and influence. I like the idea but it seems a simple detect evil will thwart this. To battle this there is a spell that does allow them to mask and fool alignment detection. There is also a spell to trick divine casters into getting their spells from the evil source instead of their own god. It is an interesting idea but it takes advantage of details not covered in the game like if the cleric could tell where their power comes from and the normal black and white nature of detect spells. As a player I might feel a little cheated being fooled like that. So, while they are a very interesting group a DM might want to be careful in using them and to what level they are able to fool the players.

The Gur-Tannan area much more straight forward faction. They worship an old and evil god and quite simple want to conquer everything. They either kill the people they conquer or force them to worship and serve in their armies. While they are military in nature I find it odd that they would be Chaotic Evil. I do not see the type of organization this group needs coming out of that alignment. One of the great things is that this organization is nicely described and can be used just as another church. Their rituals and customs are written about making them easier to use.

The Midnight Dawn braves the age old question: Is it evil to use undead to fight evil? They don?t think so, but it is presented that many others do. Very simply they believe life is too important to risk people fighting evil when one can so easily animate dead bodies to do so. What I really like is there are new spells so these Lawful Good clerics and Paladins can use evil spells to animate the dead and be protected from the negative energy affecting their alignment. The best thing about this is the answer becomes yes it is evil, unless you are part of the Midnight Dawn and has their protections.

The Mythmakers I think have the greatest potential to be used with ease, have a lot of fun with, and cause the players quite a few headaches. Quite simply they make heroes out of people. They record the great deeds people do and spread around the stories. But they do not stop there. They set up attacks on towns so the would be heroes can save people, they cause natural disasters and other problems so the heroes can do the good work and people can see it first hand. And they do it all for a very reasonable price. This is my personal favorite faction of them all.

The Obsidian League is another simple organization. They area merchant guide and they make money hands over fist. They find places where an item is cheap and ship it to a place where it is rare and make money. They are power hungry and driven by one large family. This is a good group that can really have a lot of effect in the background and cause a lot of problems or solve them with money or with importing the right things. They could be a great connection for a rogue or for someone who crafts magical items and needs rare and hard to get items.

The Poison Tide is another simple, yet deadly group. They are the creatures that exist underwater and they want to find a way to make everything underwater. What I like is the author admits straight up the severe limitations of this group and the fact they really have no idea how to actually achieve their final goal. The conduct raids on costal communities and disrupt shipping lanes. They can make a really good annoying and hard to defeat enemy in a campaign. But since they are rather limited to the water they can easily be avoided depending on the terrain of the world.

The Silent Hand and the Risen League are more like two factions in one. They are also a nice behind the scenes faction that are really preparing for something beyond the scope of anyone. They are preparing to stop the final apocalypse. What that will be is not discussed but the current methods are. The Risen League is a mercenary army that spans many worlds and the Silent Hand are trying to gain influence in every court and every nation prepared to use the influence to help when the final battle is upon them. In the means time they area bit power hungry and corrupt using any means to achieve power. I think it would be very interesting to have them preparing to face off in the Blood War personally but there are many interesting scenarios that a DM can think of for what the final apocalypse will be.

The Steadfast Order of the Shapers of the Earthen Splendor are a factions trying to unlock all the mysteries of magic. They hold great power over magic?s that they really have no desire to share with anyone. They are not a secret organization but do keep their methods and discovers very secret. While it is not suggested in the text, they are a great way to introduce some of the less common arcane classes from books like Complete Arcane, Occult Lore, Magic, and any of the other thousand books that has new types of magic in them. The book does suggest that many of the dungeons and underground complexes people explore are built by these guys. There are some cool new feats they have access to; to show the kinds of knowledge they have to offer their members.

The Twice Born is another fun faction that can be a bit of a pain in the butt for PCs. They do not like the idea of extinction no matter what the cause and they will revive a lost race or re introduce a species back into the world that has been extinct for millennia or longer if they can. They do not care what the result of these creatures being placed back into the world may be. I will admit that I have had druids in my own games protect species from extinction but I never took it to this extent. This can be another fun group who the players can befriend or oppose.

The Twilight Empire is a planar spanning thief?s guild. They make a great hidden adversary for they hold grudges, are very secretive, and the players can run into them many times without realizing the connection. One interesting thing is they do not kill for money, a nice yet simple touch to this organization. They will kill to get a job done or to get rid of someone in their way; but do not kill for hire. There is also a really cool idea behind the guild and one that is so secretive, I dare not even print it here. The Twilight Empire is surely reading even this.

The Vault of Souls is another fun organization that the players can be great friends with and then become their worst enemies very easily. They believe in the sanctity of death. They are a great fighter of the undead. But they also hunto down those that have escaped death and been resurrected. There is actually a very similar group in Touched by the Gods and combining both of them into one faction should be highly beneficial.

The Wild Hunt is another good faction that can make for some very interesting encounters. They are hunters and they will hunt anything and anybody. They are great explorers and for the right price will assist in the hinting of anything. They are the smallest faction but can really be encountered anywhere at any time making them very versatile and easy to use.

The twelve factions here are very well described and should be easy to use. They can serve as the major backdrop and plot of a campaign or just an interesting side trek for a party to discover. There are many good plot ideas that a DM can make use of as all the planar organizations have long reaching goals and very ambitious means to get them accomplished.



LIKED: Highly creative and easy to use

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lions Den Press: Secrets of the Planes -- Planar Factions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lions Den Press: The Infinite Library
by William C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2006 00:00:00
Good useful item for random libraries and books in dungeons. I like this.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lions Den Press: The Infinite Library
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lion's Den Press: The Iconic Bestiary -- Classic Fey
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2005 00:00:00
Not being a big fan of all things fey - I have to say that this was pretty well done. I bought it merely on a whim; I am not sorry I did. In fact, this product actually had me convinced (for a bit at least) to start examining the possibility of incorporating several facets into my home brew game. For any product to be able to hold my attention for any length of time is actually amazing. So there ya go.


LIKED: Well organized, has a few spins on things that have otherwise been relegated to stereotypical shlock in other products.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lion's Den Press: The Iconic Bestiary -- Classic Fey
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lions Den Press: Magical Locks
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2005 00:00:00
This short (six pages including OGL text) PDF deals with the subject of magical locks. It's done with a crisp and clean lay-out that is easy to read (at least if printed out). I like the illustrations (1/3 of a page on the title page and another full-page one), even though the little people on the full-page iluustraion are using a flashlight!

The descriptions of the locks include a short description of how the lock looks, how it works including the challenge rating, and notes on how to make one. The variations are rather interesting, and I just can't wait to try them out on my unsuspecting players. I think this PDF will add a little extra to most D&D-campaigns that feature locks and rogues that pick locks.


LIKED: The whole concept of magical locks, and the implementation of it, i.e. the different variations presented in the PDF.

DISLIKED: Nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lions Den Press: Magical Locks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates