DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ptolus: Districts of the City, Vol. 1
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2013 02:19:45
I gave it four stars instead of five simply because the graveyard didn't interest me. The rest of it was well done with encounters, plothooks, and other details mixed in. Top notch work and obviously the person who made this put a lot of work into it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus: Districts of the City, Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chaositech
by Roger N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2013 00:46:07
I really do love this product. I first purchased it way back when for use in my D&D 3e Eberron campaign. These days its a solid addition, with some minor tweaks, to my home brew Pathfinder campaign.

If you like to add the weird, wonderful and frankly downright twisted to your games then this is the book for you !

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chaositech
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ptolus: Monte Cook's City By The Spire (Ptolus Core)
by Richard H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2013 15:48:23
This immense campaign setting is better than I could imagine any urban and dungeon resource. I have it in hardcopy and now electronic form. The electronic form makes it perfect for reading anywhere, and for extracting pictures and maps. This is a 1st - 20th level (multiple times) set of games, many of which are fully developed, plus ideas for dozens more. Monte Cook is amazing!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus: Monte Cook's City By The Spire (Ptolus Core)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

If Thoughts Could Kill
by Alan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2013 05:24:43
A rich quest of the mind, against even magic, in which adventurers either surmount challenges and change the cosmos, or succumb to its present momentum, or those initiated by their betters.
The detailed consequences of success and failure make the story flow substantial and authentic.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
If Thoughts Could Kill
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ptolus: Monte Cook's City By The Spire (Ptolus Core)
by Gregory F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2013 13:16:19
For years (during D&D 3.0 and 3.5) I followed Monte Cook and most of his work. But when D&D 4th edition was announce I lost interest and lost track of role playing games . . . until a few weeks ago when I read "Reality is Broken: Why Games Make Us Better and How They Can Change the World" by Jane McGonigal. That book rekindled my interest in role-playing games.

Then, on Google+, I saw an announcement about Ptolus being available at DriveThru RPG as a PDF. I bought it because I wanted to see how how Mr. Cook handled creating and presenting a game campaign within the d20 rules.

Not only did I get the kind of education I wanted, I got excited about possibly dusting off my D&D 3.5 books and running a pair of games in Ptolus -- one running the pre-made games like "The Night of Dissolution" and "Dark Tidings" to name two. The other group I want to run using my own stories created with some of the hundreds of story hooks Mr. Cook has seeded in the Ptolus Campaign Book.

One feature that absolutely blew me away is, besides having a useful index in the back, the Ptolus book has item specific index running in the side margin so something that is mentioned in the text (such as the Delvers Guild), has a page listing on the outside margin of the page where you can go to get a full description of that item, spell, group, person, location or whatever. It is useful for your first time through the book and doubly useful when you begin to make your campaign. Very clever.

The outside margin is also used for DM tips, information about how Monte used a particular item in his campaign and additional information supplementing the main text.

This is a great product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus: Monte Cook's City By The Spire (Ptolus Core)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ptolus: Monte Cook's City By The Spire (Ptolus Core)
by Julian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2013 20:51:08
What can I say... this is an amazing product.
I wish I had purchased a hard copy, back in the day, when that was an option.

It has taken a while to even get a feel for the campaign/city.
There is so much material and in great detail too.

I'll definitely get a lot of use out of this product and recommend anyone who is on the fence to purchase this -- it is worth it.
Probably the highest quality product of its type out there.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
When the Sky Falls
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2012 15:33:38
"When the Sky Falls" is an event book which introduces the falling of a meteorite into a fantasy setting as well as the aftermath, or "Afterfall." The book covers three types of meteorites and how to best introduce them into your campaign world. For those interested in crunch the book also provides a plethora of new material including four new prestige classes, 12 new meteorite-related feats, 38 new spells, new magic items and monsters as well as five scenarios which can be easily integrated into any campaign.

Each section includes useful check lists which game masters can use to plan their event beforehand. These check lists ensure the game master has sorted out all the details and will get the most out of introducing this event to their story.

I found the book to be very useful and a welcome addition to my collection. Planning out major events like this can be a time consuming process and this product makes sure I get the most out of my time without missing any of the important details.

This book is a d20 product but can also be used (with some adjustments) with the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game. A lot of the material is game agnostic.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
When the Sky Falls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Skreyn's Register The Bonds of Magic Vol 2: The Faithful
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/12/2012 17:52:11
In my continuing attempt to bring some of the best stuff in the back catalog forward, it is only natural that I would end up talking about Malhavoc Press' 3e material. This material was uniformly well-produced, thorough and interesting, and the second volume of the Bonds of Magic series is no exception.

This is a collection of characters: NPCs who can provide aid to or oppose the player characters. There are 25, and they are all divine spellcasters of varying sorts.

Each character entry is solid, and provides what I feel are the gold standard for Pathfinder/3e D&D character entries in many ways. Each of the one-page summaries includes a full stat block that includes equipment and magic items, a brief history, a brief sketch of the personality and appearance, and most importantly, a description of how the DM may use this character in a campaign and what tactics the character is most likely to use.

These last two elements are key, since with just a personality and history there's always a sense of "so what"? Why should the characters ever interact with or invest in knowledge about this character? By describing many very specific uses for the characters, the material helps ground them in a campaign world.

Interestingly, while the characters' alignments are not defined (except for the paladins), this nod towards being a generic supplement falls apart a little when looking at the divine sponsors of these characters. The gods are given names, and not really names that come from D&D3. It's a simple thing to substitute "divine entity of your choice", but it also separates the character concept from the core of what makes a divine spellcaster unique. This is the only area that I could improve with the book.

Finally, an appendix with some new feats, magic items and spells are included, though these are really not necessary and neither add nor detract from the experience. What the characters gain in new capabilities, the supplement as a whole loses in simplicity of use.

There is a bookmark index, though since it's organized by name of NPC in alphabetical order, it's not that helpful.

All in all, this series was a tremendous boon, the gold standard of NPC books that some are still not catching up with. I highly recommend it, especially at today's bargain-basement D&D3-supplement prices.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Skreyn's Register The Bonds of Magic Vol 2: The Faithful
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ptolus: A Player's Guide to Ptolus
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2012 18:38:24
Test review, to look for pumpkins.

If this has anything to do with Monte Cook, then it's probably a no-brainer.

Yes, I like Monte's stuff.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus: A Player's Guide to Ptolus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ptolus: Adventures
by cos r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2012 12:19:06
pretty bland, simple encounters, forced story line without much to tie together well. railroad in, railroad out... odd. predictable. not anywhere near as interesting as temple of mysteries. you would think this chapter would be better to showcase the ptolus product line, but it feels more like an afterthought.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus: Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Temple of Mysteries: In Media Res
by cos r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2012 21:26:57
Great fun! The scenario sets up pre-generated characters in a mix of intrigue and plot twists with puzzling traps, tricks and encounters. Without presenting any spoilers, please note: "In Media Res" means "in the middle of affairs" so the adventure is designed to be run as is, but that doesn't mean a creative GM couldn't come up with some alternate means to get players into the same pickle without being as extreme as the pre-gens are handled... Highly recommended as the one shot entertainment it was designed for or as a nice side trip for any campaign - with a bit of work ;-)

Will definitely run again!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Temple of Mysteries: In Media Res
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

When the Sky Falls
by Josh Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2011 11:56:27
I found this sourcebook really cool. The content about adding a major destructive event, such as a meteorite impact, to your campaign world is useful for anyone who wants to run or play in an epic campaign (I don't mean epic-level, I just mean epic coolness/action), even if you're not planning on adding this event specifically. It contains some neat feats, classes, and organizations you can adapt to your game, and the part at the end with different possible types of cosmic threats (a fallen angel, a space fungus, an artifact of absolute evil, etc.) was my favorite part. I would recommend this book to anyone looking to add some cool new ideas to their campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
When the Sky Falls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ptolus: A Player's Guide to Ptolus
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2010 09:47:48
The precept of the Ptolus campaign setting, Monte Cook does it again with this explorative adventure - this is the 4th time I have run it using the Pathfinder rules - and its extremely exciting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus: A Player's Guide to Ptolus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Temple of Mysteries: In Media Res
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2010 14:29:51
This adventure is a strange one, with a couple of major twists built in. It's designed for a one-shot (though it usually takes me about 6 hours to run it) of RP and mystery, not as part of an ongoing campaign.

I've run it three times, with mixed success and many character deaths. It is an extremely difficult module for the pre-gens, with a near-impossibility of total success.


Run well, with the right players, it can be a lot of fun. As the DM, I've always had a blast. The players have had less uniform enjoyment, with about a third of them actively disliking it.


Despite all that, I still recommend it. It's interesting, creative, very open about it's dangers, and inspiring for the rat-bastard-DM in all of us. Very much worth the $5 entry fee.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Temple of Mysteries: In Media Res
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monte Cook's Arcana Evolved
by Jeremiah N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2010 21:09:20
The PDF was fine, but not great.

The biggest failing was a lack of links in the PDF. Neither the table of contents nor the index were linked so that a click could take you to the page you were interested in.

Aside from that, my issues may have been related to my PDF viewer / computer. Searches were slow, which was sad, as that's the only good way to find topical information.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monte Cook's Arcana Evolved
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 118 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates