DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!










Back
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules $0.00
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
7 7
1 2
1 0
0 0
0 1
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules
Click to view
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules
Publisher: Chaosium
by Jamey J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2014 17:55:55
The pdf are very well done. This is a really awesome game to play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules
Publisher: Chaosium
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2014 11:16:16
I downloaded this and it won't let me view it. Not sure if it's because I don't have the proper update or not. Oh, well. Better luck next time.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules
Publisher: Chaosium
by Asmeret p. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2014 17:05:59
The system is good everything you need to quickly write up a character and get to playing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules
Publisher: Chaosium
by Milen K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2013 08:19:29
Excellent for newbies like me. Works perfect for players/investigators.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules
Publisher: Chaosium
by Muzaffer B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/29/2013 00:32:10
If you're new to RPGs or Call of Cthulhu, just give this freebie a try. The rules are simple and the adventure is fun. There are four ready to play player characters and a blank 1920s character sheet. You won't regret to try this game and will understand why Call of Cthulhu is one of the biggest RPGs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules
Publisher: Chaosium
by Aaron B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2012 19:45:33
One of the few truly horrifying RPG's out there. Give it a try.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules
Publisher: Chaosium
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/30/2012 17:59:08
The Call of Cthulhu quick-start rules are definitely a step in the right direction to get players started on the game. However, it feels as though an opportunity was missed to reduce the size of the game even more and still completely retain its essence when compared to newer games like Trail of Cthulhu. The Resistance Table is still a page-long ASCII art project, for example, and the stats could have been unified under a single simple rolling mechanic, rather than some rolling 3d6 and some rolling 2d6+6 and so on. The Occupations section could've used a bit less trimming than these mechanical elements. The inclusion of character sheets and a small adventure is quite helpful. For free, this is a great product, and a great introduction to Call of Cthulhu, but I feel that it could've been even simpler for newer players.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules
Publisher: Chaosium
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2012 13:49:05
A good all round intro to this system.
It could have done with some more detail particularly occupations

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules
Publisher: Chaosium
by Radosław G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2012 08:59:09
This is very good summary of rules that you can hand out to Players who have never played CoC before. !EXCEPT! very nice adventure that they will for sure read and you will not be able to play it - which is a shame because I find this adventure very good as introductory adventure.

Other than that - I like this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start Rules
Publisher: Chaosium
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/17/2012 06:30:52
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2012/04/17/tabletop-review-call-of-
-cthulhu-quick-start-rules/

I love Call of Cthulhu. Along with Shadowrun and Vampire: The Masquerade, it’s made up my holy trinity of RPGS since I was a child. I moved away from tabletop gaming for a while, but over the past year, Call of Cthulhu has been on fire. Between the gorgeous 30th Anniversary Edition of the game and the recent remake of Cthulhu By Gaslight, which is easily the best Role-Playing Campaign Setting/supplement I’ve read in some time, my love for this system and its setting has been reignited. So when I was offered a review copy of the quick start rules, I jumped at the chance to see how Chaosium was going to try and reel in new players.

I’ll admit I was originally turned off and somewhat offended by the fact Chaosium was charging money for quick start rules. These are universally free as a way to bring new players into a game, so any money at all being charged for something that is normally FREE is not only a bit ass backwards but is probably going to be detrimental instead of inviting. I’ve said for a while now that Chaosium hasn’t adjusted very well to the digital age, charging more for PDFs than it should, especially compared to competitors, and this is a perfect example of their inability to adapt. The sheer fact they charge for quick start rules is almost enough for me to say, “Don’t buy it.” However, the quality of the product is so top notch that is eventually had me coming around to thinking, “Well, it IS only seventy-five cents…”

So what do you get with your quick start rules? Well, you get a black and white cover from 3rd Edition (The game is currently on 5.6, although they officially renamed it sixth edition a while back, even though nothing is different.), an introduction to the game system and Lovecraft’s writing in general, and then the basic rules for how to make an Investigator (player character). These rules cover attributes, skills and the like. The only thing missing are set professions. The character creation process only takes up two and a half pages and it gives you all a newcomer needs to make a character. It won’t be as refined as someone with the full core rulebook, but it’s meant to be quick and dirty, and so, it fulfills its goal nicely.

The next four pages are an amazingly concise set of the rules for the game system. Thankfully, CoC’s rules are light and straightforward to begin with, so this works rather easily. It also comes will a full Resistance Table and examples of gameplay. This section closes off with a set of books and films to help one get in the mood for a Call of Cthulhu game. The entire CoC core rulebook summed up in only nine pages? I never thought it possible, but this was incredibly well done.

The next seven pages are the adventure, “The Haunting.” This is a very common adventure, and generally the first or second that newcomers to Call of Cthulhu play. This alone is worth the cover price, as it’s always a fun adventure to play through, and I love that it has been retooled to have adventure hooks that lead to other Chaosium products. This way a new Call of Cthulhu Keeper (DM) can pick up one of those books and use the two for a campaign. Very cute. I especially love that you can run the adventure with just the quick start guide as it contains all the rules you will need, including spells and info on the Mythos tome within.

After a one page ad for the game, the quick start rules finish up with four pre-generated characters (two from the 1890s and two from the 1920s), and then a blank character sheet for players to print off and make their own. All in all, this is a wonderful product, but again, I can’t give it top marks simply because Chaosium is trying to charge for what is a free product in every other tabletop line, and that doesn’t sit well with me. If this was free, it’d be something I would be printing off and handing to anyone even remotely interested in RPGs. As it is, you have an extremely well done quick start rules set that no one is actually going to pay money for unless they don’t realize quick start rules sets are always free. Come one Chaosium… you’re better than that. Excellent quality, but it still feels somewhat slimy.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi, Read your review. Made the CALL OF CTHULHU QUICK-START a free download. Charlie Krank Chaosium Inc.
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Chaosium
Chaosium
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (186)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate