DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Fading Suns Game Master's Guide (Revised Edition)
Publisher: FASA
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/25/2014 14:25:42
An excellent companion to the Players guide, compiling a large amount of information on the Known Worlds, along with the GM material from the core book from the previous edition. The layout is also great, and has fortunately been applied to the Players Guide.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fading Suns Game Master's Guide (Revised Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Guildhalls of the Deathless
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/31/2013 08:57:55
Guildhalls of the Deathless is a comprehensive and dense book that expands upon the philosophies, objectives and structures of the Guilds. Where the descriptions for these groups are limited in the core book of Mummy the Curse, we are presented lengthy explanations of the Guilds, and of course these descriptions provide many interesting plot hooks for stories.

While the book does add excellent descriptions of each Guild, there are times where some of the descriptions felt overly verbose, and can at times make the book feel rather dense and not providing any more information than was already presented in the core book or earlier in this book.

The real strength of the book is having the power structures of the Guilds fully presented, and seeing the complex interplay between the Guilds and their goals and intrigues. In particular we get a very real understanding of the threat of heresy in the ranks of the Arisen, and how they struggle against it.

Building upon this the later Storyteller chapters present a whole host of new powers and items and rules, and in particular rules for handling disputes and tribunals between the Arisen, events which of course are important when relics are stolen or one of the Arisen is charged with Heresy.

Listen to our review of the book on Darker Days Radio.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RyspTZ40yVo

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Guildhalls of the Deathless
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Urban Dressing: Docks
Publisher: Raging Swan Press
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/18/2013 15:44:37
A short but sweet collection of descriptions, curiosities and people to fill your docks and ports in your fantasy/pirate settings. There is plenty to use here for those that need that bit of help to paint an evocative scene. For the price just a good collection for those stumped when a player asks 'So what is the name of the ship here?' Of course the art is a mix of good and bad, but for the price, who can really complain.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Dressing: Docks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks so much for the review, Christopher. I much appreciate you taking the time to do it!
Convention Book: Progenitors
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/18/2013 15:39:12
An excellent Convention book that brings a modern feel to the 'mad scientists'.

The introduction gives us an overview of the 'healers' of the Technocracy, and how they see themselves as the main group that binds the other conventions together. We of course get insight into how they view the end of the Ascension war, and in particular their struggle with Humanities rejection of their Enlightened Science, the very thing that could solve many of the worlds issues.

Of course the book is filled with a whole host of new tech, procedures and the Progenitor Methodologies, which are all brought up to date and in a way that thrusts these scientists out of the lab and into the world, to use their science in the world that needs it.

This is an excellent and must have book for any Technocracy game.

Full a more full overview of this book go listen to episode 50 of Darker Days Radio http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwYsBZsn_qw&feature=c4-overvi-
ew&list=UUKWD_vN0XRJML_Wt0gw1eSQ

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Convention Book: Progenitors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Proverbial Monsters
Publisher: White Wolf
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/19/2013 05:42:27
Proverbial Monster is a short and sweet collection of interesting scenarios and antagonists for the World of Darkness, perhaps best used in Changeling and Mortals games. It gives an interesting air of folklore to the games and helps spark the imagination to go back and look at certain sayings and customs in society and cultures and see how they may have roots in the supernatural.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Proverbial Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/10/2013 16:27:01
This is a hard review to write. Hard, because it may come as me being overly critical of the product. But the thing that is important to point out, is that I am approaching this product as someone that never played Werewolf the Apocalypse (WtA). When I got into World of Darkness games in 1996, I of course was a bit of a proto-goth. I was into vampire films, listening to Marilyn Manson and Atari Teenage Riot. So of course I was running Vampire the Masquerade for the first time. I also eventually picked up Mage the Ascension, and of course some of the most influential films at the time for me would be Fight Club, The Matrix, and Blade. So a lot of things would classify me more towards the goth/cyber goth side of things than metalhead. And in some ways, this is perhaps why at the time WtA didn’t appeal to me. It seemed all a bit too gung-ho and rather superficial.
So given the above and the fact I have never played WtA, yet I know plenty about the setting due to where Mage and Vampire crossed over with it, I am approaching this review blind.
Let’s start with the easy bit. Layout and art. Generally the book is excellent looking, but I feel that there is not a unified look to the book. I understand that much of the artwork is from the original books, or is new work by the same artists, and that in itself is a good thing as it means the product taps into the nostalgia of the fans of the game. But, as a new reader, I find the mixing up of full colour art, grayscale, and black and white line art, a bit jarring. Now some of the art work I do like, especially some of the more rough, dreamy pieces. I have to admit to not being a Ron Spencer fan. Sorry guys. But it's just all guts and guns, and rather flat and boring. But then I am a big Christopher Shy fan so you can make your mind up on that front.

http://ethericlabs.blogspot.de/2013/06/review-werewolf-a-
pocalypse-20th.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogue Trader: The Navis Primer
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/14/2013 16:26:48
Another excellent addition to Rogue Trader, detailing the mysterious lives of the Navigators, their noble houses, and how their kind is critical for space travel. We also get a detailed look at other psykers, such as Astropaths and their Choirs, and Weirdboyz. The intricacies of space travel are detailed, with various tables that can help determine - or mess up - a warp jump. Such is space travel in Rogue Trader. Of course Warp travel is not an exact science, and we are given insight into the omens and rituals captains and their crew entertain. We even get a cool map that shows how the Warp space tides flow and swell. We also get a look at the renegade tech priests - the Acolytes of Abraxas, and other advanced careers. As always the art work is excellent.

The Navis Primer is an excellent addition if you want to give your space adventuring more depth, and your Navigator players more to chew on.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: The Navis Primer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness: God-Machine Rules Update
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/14/2013 16:01:15
The free rules pdf presents all you need to run mortal games dealing with the supernatural (ghosts, spirits, angels), and presents long awaited updates to the morality system, combat, and introduces new mechanics and systems designed to nudge players to be more proactive in their games, in order to make the storytelling experience more collaborative. Overall the new rules make a big leap out of the shadow of the Classic World of Darkness.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: God-Machine Rules Update
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness: The God-Machine Chronicle
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/14/2013 15:56:21
http://ethericlabs.blogspot.de/2013/05/the-god-machine-chron-
icles-review.html

God Machine Chronicles presents an exciting and eerie new default setting for mortal games of New World of Darkness, plus provides sample stories to be used for chronicles, and a revision of the rules, offering some new concepts to aid in the collaborative storytelling experience. This is a must buy for anyone wanting to tell mortal games that touch on cosmic terror.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: The God-Machine Chronicle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The God-Machine Chronicle Anthology
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/16/2012 15:52:09
This book is filled with great creepy short stories that really focus on personal horror, and the feeling of powerlessness in the face of some large, unknowable entity. Now some may argue that this is not that great because many of the stories are reprints from other books, but at least you know have it in a single, epub, format. Also the book is best read if one disregards all other World of Darkness mythos (Mage the Awakening primarily). Creepy, disturbing, and down right great.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The God-Machine Chronicle Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Convention Book: N.W.O.
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/16/2012 15:44:28
NWO is a long awaited continuation of the revised Convention books for Mage the Ascension. Within we get an excellent ... http://darkerdaysradio.posterous.com/#!/review-convention-bo-
ok-nwo-mage-the-ascension

www.dark-days.org

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Convention Book: N.W.O.
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gasmask Gazetteer #4, Spitalfields Rookery
Publisher: New Dark Age
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/19/2012 06:16:21
What more can I say than this being another great little addition to the game, exploring the grim life of the Rookeries of London, providing new NPCs, locations and storyhooks. As always great art, and excellent material, plus a host of new rules and feats and merits for characters.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gasmask Gazetteer #4, Spitalfields Rookery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Left-Hand Path
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/19/2012 06:14:07
Left Handed Path is one of those must have books. You could say that with a lot of Mage the Awakening books, but this one offers a lot for your money.

Left Handed Path of course covers those mages that follow paths to magic that go against the Pentacle mages, or the Seers of the Throne. The mages are either outlaws, having broken Consilium law and caused trouble, the mad, Abyss worshipping Scelesti, or the soul devouring Reapers and Tremere. With all these groups covered in detail many new options are provided or expanded upon, give plenty of ideas and suggestions for antagonists for your games.

Read the rest at http://darkerdaysradio.posterous.com/#!/left-handed-path-rev-
iew

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Left-Hand Path
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unhallowed Necropolis
Publisher: New Dark Age
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/26/2012 17:32:14
Necropolis expands upon the basic zombie, post-apocalyptic, neo-Victorian setting, and introduces the more spiritual and mental horrors of the setting. Ghosts, psychics and the mad. Once more the book is gorgeous monochrome with excellent art and photography that drives home the theme and mood of this part of the setting. Writing is once more provided by Jason Soles (Warmachine/Hordes/Iron Kingdoms RPG), Nicole Vega, and additional work is provided by Simon Berman, amongst others. George Higham who also wrote content is also the sculptor for the cover art of the book. Speaking of art, we once more have work by Brian Snoddy (Privateer Press artwork for Warmachine and Hordes) and Melissa Uran (Exalted). We also have great photography of awesome looking models.

Read the rest of the review at http://darkerdaysradio.posterous.com/#!/review-unhallowed-ne-
cropolis

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unhallowed Necropolis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fools Rush In
Publisher: Privateer Press
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/27/2012 17:31:32
Fools Rush In is a great little story for people new to the game, and to Iron Kingdoms.

Fools Rush In is an introductory scenario for the new edition of the game. It marks the departure from the previous D20 edition and showcases their new rules and the refinement of the setting that has happened as the table top wargames - Warmachine and Hordes - have grown.

First up Iron Kingdoms is not Steampunk. Nor is it Mecha Fantasy. Think more Napoleonic/Sharpe/Pirates of the Caribbean with magic, fantasy races (Elves, Dwarves, Goblins), and of course the magic tech aka Mechanik, which allows for the creation of devices like muskets that fire off spells, magic steam-powered armour, and of course the show piece of the setting, the Steamjacks. Steamjacks are steam powered, magically crafted automatons used for labour and war.

The pdf is a full colour example of what the full rpg book will be, using the excellent art that Privateer Press has built up over the years. Also provided are battle maps to print out, character markers, and the excellent and simple character sheets.

Now the meat of the pdf. The rules themselves are a adaption of the Wamachine/Hordes rules. This means that these rules take up less than 3 or so sides of A4. Yes it's that simple. Combat is fast paced, with single rolls to hit and then to deal damage. No sequences of rolls to hit, dodge, parry, damage, soak etc. Showing how the wargame is not Warhammer, and how the rpg in many respects is just as quick for combat as the New World of Darkness.

Now of course you my think, damn, I need minis for this. But with a bit of effort and hand waving the game will run fine without minis to represent the fights. Now I would side with using minis for big set piece fights. And really that is just a nice excuse for me to buy their great value minis to paint.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fools Rush In
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates