DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Neues Konto erstellen
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Anmelden
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Folgen Sie Ihren Favoriten!
NotificationsAnmelden or oder ein Konto erstellen und Sie können E-Mail Benachrichtigungen erhalten wenn von einem Ihrer Lieblingsverlage oder Themen ein neues Produkt erscheint!










Zurück
Andere Kommentare dieses Kunden:
ATLANTIS: the Second Age
Verlag: Khepera Publishing
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 10/16/2013 20:14:50
Jerry D Grayson's version of Atlantis: the Second Age takes the Morrigan Press version and brings it more in line with recent additions and innovations to the omini system. The art is great, and the addition of randomized life path generation to character creation, as well as a clear cut process for choosing race, culture and profession, stand out strongly. I do have a couple of qualms, keeping in mind though that this is a beta version: one, there's no martial artist profession, even though the setting can encompass antideluvian "Far East"; two, brief descriptions of the cultures need to be given in the area of the book designated for choosing cultures; and finally, and this is just my preference, some of the terminology used is definitely relic of the d20 era. But, this is pretty good for a beta. I too am anticipating the final version.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
ATLANTIS: the Second Age
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
Verlag: Sanguine Productions
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 09/02/2013 18:49:49
This is a tested, solid game system with an interesting pulp scifi setting heavily influenced by late '70s and early '80s cinema. It lacks severely in terms of starships, though.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

ICONS Team-Up
Verlag: Adamant Entertainment
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 08/17/2013 11:03:35
This is a work of pragmatic rpg genius. Team Up essentially contains the elements of a full-fledged GM's guide writ shorthand for ICONS. ...worth the year plus delay of its release.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
ICONS Team-Up
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Chronicle 00: Book 1
Verlag: Dilly Green Bean Games
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 08/15/2013 21:53:20
Acclaimed RPG author S John Ross asserts that cliche is the stock and trade of roleplaying games. I call this idea to the reader's attention because Chronicle 00 Book One, the latest endeavor from Jay Libby using the G-Core system, begs the question: does one really need another cyberpunk genre setting? The previous review correctly catalogs what this setting does well: corporate intrigue, sleek battle suits, mecha, cyborgs, etc, and it's certainly Jay's most layered setting yet. But, and it's a big "but" one can find all of this in other settings out there, like Interface Zero, for instance. Why add Book 00 to one's cart?

The answer is that at its core, the G-Core system that drives the setting is derived from the old Marvel Super Heroes (MSH) game system, now available freely to game designers and players in a pared-down form as 4C. The particular version of G-Core used in Chronicle 00 does some interesting things mechanically, having players choose multiple careers to determine expertise, etc, but that's not my point. My point is that because the game is probably about 90 to 95 percent backwards compatible with MSH, the setting can easily be ported into a campaign using it or a growing family of games, including ICONS and Bulletproof Blues.

As mentioned earlier, this is a rich setting with lots of subplots. The art, particularly the mecha art, is what one has come to expect from Jay Libby. One welcome addition to 00 is a good number of text boxes explaining various aspects of the rules.

I am pretty enthusiastic about this line because I've always wanted to play MSH cyberpunk, but this is not a five-star review. Though the game contains the most of the G-Core engine rules, G-Core Grit is mentioned without clearly explaining what it is, so the book does presuppose a knowledge of other G-Core products. The cyborg and the tech character Origins get a pool of points to boost stats, representing custom implants or tech. This makes sense for those familiar with standard G-Core, and there are brief examples in the text, but it could be confusing because non-custom implants and tech have listed prices later in the book with no mention of points.

This book is definitely a move in the right direction for Jay Libby, a one-man prolific powerhouse of direct to PDF indie RPGs. Recently the big companies here on rpgnow and in other venues have been releasing Beta versions of game systems so that a wider pool of players can work out the kinks before the Alpha releases. Jay has been doing this for the better part of twelve years. His oversight was not calling certain releases Beta. Now, he's got G-Core Deluxe, a solid system proven, if by nothing else in the eyes on an ambivalent reader, its sales numbers. Jay is now focusing on setting. Chronicle 00 Book 1 welcome evidence of that.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Chronicle 00: Book 1
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Verlag: Wizards of the Coast
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 07/03/2013 12:04:34
I bought this PDF years ago for $5. This new scan is great, and well worth $10 for the D&D enthusiast. There are good retro clones out there, like Dark Dungeons, but this "official" version has options Dark Dungeons doesn't, like wrestling rules. ...the best PDF WotC has to offer.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Arrows of Indra
Verlag: Avalon Game Company
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 03/12/2013 22:58:26
I come to this game both as a veteran tabletop rpger and as a practicing Vaishnava, so Arrows of Indra is effectively the closest thing game-wise to Green Ronin's famed Testament for me. The previous two reviews do a great job of summarizing the book. I particularly like the author's approach to the caste system and to "magic" in the game [totally not Vancian]. The yogi class doesn't work for me as written because it's basically the AD&D monk. Yogis in the source texts aren't combatants. I do really like the inclusion of celestial weapons, but though there is a charioteering skill, there are not chariot fighting rules, nor are there rules for the Vimanas, a real missed opportunity. There's really a lot to like here, but I have one major beef: Krishna is never discussed as human in the source texts. He's either identified as the original personality of Godhead or as the completely realized avatar of Vishnu. Rama, on the other hand, is Krishna-Vishnu playing as the perfect human being. Also Hanuman was never king of the vanaras. He was assistant to Sugriva. Thanks to the RPG Pundit for putting this out there. Good Gaming, and Hare Krishna!

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Arrows of Indra
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

A Curious Volume of Forgotten Lore
Verlag: BRW Games
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 07/30/2012 16:37:26
This volume does what is sets out to do: explore ideas to expand AD&D based on hints from Gary Gygax prior to his ill-fated devorce settlement, when his huberous got the best of him and he gave up controlling interest in TSR in favor of the D&D series and film rights.
The best part of this book is the new class options, the first 24 pages. The most interesting of these is the mountebank, a Cudgle the Cleaver meets Han Solo type, and the Jester, basically turning any character into a Kender. These classes expand roleplaying possibilities with concepts like verbal patter, also key to the version of the bard presented here. There are strict spell casting classes too, most notably the mystic, a Taoist type. I'm not crazy about the secondary skills system because I don't like a lot of number crunching, but it is very Gygax. It's very much like the one he wrote for Castles & Crusades, using an experience point purchasing system. The combat system gives various options for adding complexity to combat. My favorite is the percentage chance of causing friendly fire in missile combat, which I don't remember from AD&D. There's also stuff here for dealing with various environments, at least as usefull, probably more so, than the post Gygax Dungeoneer's and Wilderness Survival Guides. I apprieciate the expanded waterborne combat, as a lot of OSR material tends to neglect it. The new monsters are Judeo-Christian extra planer-- choirs of angels and various demons. BRW Games strategically released this the same week as the Commemorative Edition AD&D books. I want the hard cover of A Curious Volume for the mountebank class alone. The best part of the book is that the options are modular. Take or leave what you want.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
A Curious Volume of Forgotten Lore
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Amtgard Rules of Play Version 7.7
Verlag: Amtgard Inc.
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 06/28/2012 16:47:58
I was involved in Amtgard in the early 90s in the Kingdom of the Emerald Hills [North Texas], and I was surprised to see the rules set here. The presentation has come a long way... a live-action fantasy roleplaying organization with over 20 years of lore. Build some swords out of kite spar or ball some old socks into colored cloth, put a tunic over your tee-shirt and jeans and head out to the local park.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Amtgard Rules of Play Version 7.7
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Heroes Wear Masks
Verlag: Avalon Game Company
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 06/01/2012 16:58:34
I'm giving Heroes Wear Masks 4 Stars. A real Pathfinder enthusiast might give it five. As supers RPGs go, it isn't as well done as ICONS or M&M3, but it does make innovative use of the Pathfinder system. I was actually impressed by how comparatively little of the book is taken up with powers. The power template system takes the mechanics a long way without adding an additional 50-100 pages. This PDF does present some original stuff, not rehashed from d20 modern. The art is stuff we've seen before for the most part, but nicely recolored. Heroes Wear Masks is definately a leap in the right direction for Avalon Gaming Company's Pathfinder products, but I would have liked to have seen more of what distinguishes Pathfinder from 3.5 used, namely archetypes. A martial artist could be an archetype of the Acrobat class, for example. Note: I would have given this 3 stars had I paid full price for it. I got it as part of a promotional offer for $8. That price is pushing the limits of reasonable. $10 would be a non purchase for me. Then again, Pathfinder is not my game of choice.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Heroes Wear Masks
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Mutants & Masterminds Power Profile #19: Plant Powers
Verlag: Green Ronin
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 05/31/2012 00:19:13
Purchasing this series every week is like buying a powers book on lay-away. My hope, though, is that if Green Ronin releases a collected version at the end of the series, they give those of us who've been collecting the individual issues a discount.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Mutants & Masterminds Power Profile #19: Plant Powers
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Black Tokyo Legends -Races of the Tatakama
Verlag: Skortched Urf' Studios
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 04/20/2012 10:10:49
This PDF offers a lot of options for Asian inspired campaigns. The kitsune presented here is arguably better done than the official version. The most interesting aspect of this PDF is the alternate racial traits for the races presented herein, as well as for the standard races. The new "talents" could add some flavor as well. The Japanese cultural templates are a potentially useful concept. This material is less overtly sexual than the original Black Tokyo, though explicit material is definately here. The selection of alternate traits, in many cases can mute the sex, or relegate it to "off camera" or something from the ancient past.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Black Tokyo Legends -Races of the Tatakama
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

One Planet, One Power
Verlag: Skortched Urf' Studios
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 04/13/2012 10:00:49
I am slightly disappointed with this PDF. Don't get me wrong. The writing is solid, but the mechanics are more lock-step than I expected. There are some great translations of the Powered Hero basic class talents into racial abilities as advertized, but with the tag line "create your own galaxy" implied to me that it would provide more generic options like a blend of Fursona and Powered Hero Evolution, rather than only the standard fare of Galaxy Command, Psi-Watch and Otherverse America options for using the races written up in the PDF.

Wertung:
[3 von 5 Sternen!]
One Planet, One Power
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Psi-Watch Unlimited Edition
Verlag: Skortched Urf' Studios
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 04/13/2012 09:45:16
[Caveat: I was sent a review copy of this PDF by the publisher.] This version of Psi-Watch, for the most part, delivers what the author claims in the introduction: the art and layout are vastly improved, minus the teal tint is some of the columns on certain tables that make them hard to read; the power armor construction system is sleeker, and the omissions and typos in the original version are cleaned up. Everything right about the first version is still here: the psionic feat system and the gritty Iron Age comic analog setting. The setting fiction and background will be familiar to anyone collecting mainstream comics circa 1992: psionics, genetic engineering, clandestine ops, alien influence and hidden agendas-- this is an early Image Comics analog, and unapologetically so, warts and all.

There are two areas where this PDF is significantly disappointing: material for running the setting and the price point. The PDF has few, if any NPC stats of any kind, and I wouldn't spend the time statting up adversaries to play this as written, regardless of how much I like the setting. $24.95 is entirely too high for this PDF; not to begrudge Chris Field, but this is the price point of PDFs featuring RPG engines currently in development from major industry players, and Otherverse can't expect to sell too many units of a game written for D20 Modern at this price in 2012.

This is a good game, and whether or not I ever run the setting, it's a good read, and elements of it will likely appear in whatever Iron Age inspired games I may run, D20 Modern / Pathfinder or not.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Psi-Watch Unlimited Edition
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Fursona IV -Fur of the Yokai
Verlag: Skortched Urf' Studios
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 04/13/2012 09:03:11
I am a sucker for fantasy races based on Asian folklore, and I'm fond of the Fursona race generation system, so this PDF is a good fit for me. I will caution the reader, though, that unless he or she plans to use this with Black Tokyo, there's about a page and a half of unusable sexually explicit feat references. While I appreciate Black Tokyo intellectually, I don't think it translates well to the typical mixed age, mixed gender, mixed political, spiritual and social sensibility gaming table.

Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Fursona IV -Fur of the Yokai
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Fursona -The Definitive Guide to Creating Anthropomorphic Characters
Verlag: Skortched Urf' Studios
von Curt M. [Verifizierter Käufer]
Hinzugefügt am: 04/13/2012 08:56:19
This series is the best 3rd party material for d20 / Pathfinder I've seen so far. With the bundle, which contains the first three installments, you can create just about any anthropomorphic or non-human character race you'd like. The series also contains templates and campaign models, allowing for stone age and other variants. Though it isn't strictly necessary, Psi-Watch Ultimate edition is beneficial because of the cross-compatibility of the psionic feat system in Psi-Watch, which is frankly better thought-out than the standard 3.5 psionics system. In short, Fursona has my actually wanting to try Pathfinder.

Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Fursona -The Definitive Guide to Creating Anthropomorphic Characters
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Rezension 1 bis 15 (von 145 Rezensionen) werden angezeigt Suchergebnisse:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Nächste >>] 
Zurück
Sie müssen angemeldet sein um zu Bewerten
 Einkaufswagen
0 Einträge
 Verlagsinfos
Avalon Game Company
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Andere Produkte (1247)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate