DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Bulldogs: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
Publisher: Galileo Games
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2012 02:47:21
You probably don't want your players to read the title of this one .. Scenarios for this setting might start to fall into a pattern - casting, as it were, the PCs as the chumps being sadly underpaid to deliver ridiculously mislabelled consignments to deplorably ungrateful and unethical clients - with some rather obvious player responses, so it would behoove the GM to change it around a little in different sessions and not insist too much on players following the frankly not-in-their-best-interest instructions that they'll get as written from their employer.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Bulldogs: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Curse at the Old Inn
Publisher: Neuroglyph Games
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2012 02:32:40
Within the frame of an evening's desperate battle against Things from Beyond that pop out to menace the heroes' accustomed tavern, the combat has a few nuances that should be fun, as well as amusing and possibly more widely usable new rules for fighting with various bar furnishings.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Curse at the Old Inn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mandate Archive Collection 2011
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2012 02:26:20
Really a remarkable amount of thought and development went into each of the component parts. First released for free (apart from the exclusive content for this PDF) they're still a steal at the collected price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mandate Archive Collection 2011
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

2300 AD DTRPG Guide To 2300 AD
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2012 02:19:58
Not to spend too much time on describing this document, which the reader can easily look at for himself, the chosen contents give a good quick summary of what books are available and some brief indications of the style and tone of the campaign. If there was anything to add, a bit more on the setting and nature of worlds might be useful.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
2300  AD DTRPG Guide To 2300 AD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CHALLENGE Magazine No. 64.
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2011 16:43:13
Mostly a clean copy. Unfortunately pages 38 and 39 are missing, cutting off the start of a 2300AD article.

Meaningful bookmarks might be a pleasant addition.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CHALLENGE Magazine No. 64.
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

JG Traveller- Ghostring
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2011 01:31:30
The heroes have to buy a widget to fix the ship from a world of odd-looking aliens in the close equivalent of Earth's 1930s or '40s, powered by ghost rock. Mostly curiosity value, I'd suggest, with some mildly amusing line art.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
JG Traveller- Ghostring
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wilderness Traps
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2011 18:40:24
This is a great idea and it's remarkable to me that there have been so few suggestions for the game along these lines - which is probably why I feel such an urge to tinker with it. Though short, the coverage of devices seems reliable.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderness Traps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secret of the Blue Tower / Witching Hours
Publisher: Fan Pro
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2011 03:27:35
Although the Blue Tower does present some creatures to fight and treasure to grab, its heart is in the progression of brand-new adventurers through a lovingly detailed confined location with a remarkable sense of solidity. The Witching Hours has a slightly more active plot, inquiring into the depopulation of a village by wicked deeds.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of the Blue Tower / Witching Hours
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lightspeed for Mongoose Traveller, Ranger Threat Assessment Guide
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2011 05:08:30
Some credit is due this publisher that their production values, while still rough, show improvement. The Saure' (their punctuation, when they bother) and Hunters are pretty much exactly what you might think they are. Although advertised for the Traveller SRD, the painfully long Ranger section and the Robot Nexus contain no recognisable Traveller rules. The other creatures each rate part of a line for stats. It's all a bit of an insult.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed for Mongoose Traveller, Ranger Threat Assessment Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2011 03:57:46
An exceedingly nice-looking preview and thought-provoking development of the consequences of technological collapse. I suspect some of the rules might prove a little rubbery in play for my over-literal style.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return to Tarlkin's Landing (Scenes of Adventure #2)
Publisher: QuikLink Interactive, Inc.
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2011 04:49:54
Judges Guild have created a really nice, immersive description of a small off-world settlement with interesting human and nonhuman characters with their local intrigues that might draw in a stranger in town. QLI's work in transcription has left a few typos in the introductory pages.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Return to Tarlkin's Landing (Scenes of Adventure #2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Transit to Perdition: Near Death Experience #2 for Rapture: The End of Days
Publisher: StoryWeaver
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2011 05:35:52
I can forgive a lot for the imagination that goes into the gruesome denouement of this tale. I personally don't much like the particular technology that underpins the story and seems to justify any sort of magical occurrence in recent SF. Its background seems a little too contrived. But if the players will never know about it and the GM can justify it as a necessary leap of logic to make the science-horror work, maybe it's nothing to worry about.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Transit to Perdition: Near Death Experience #2 for Rapture: The End of Days
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Jim C. Sorry it’s taken a while for me to reply to you; I wanted to have something to show – that is an update to the product based on reviews – before replying. Firstly, can I say; thank you, thank you, and thank you. The first thank you is for the feedback; any feedback in gratefully accepted. We can’t make things better if we don’t have other peoples’ takes on things. Secondly, thank you for not blurting out the secret core of the adventure. Others would probably have not been so considerate. And third, thank you for speaking your mind and giving me something to work with. While 5 star ‘it’s just awesome’ reviews are good for the ego, they are not that good for improving the product. I like reviews that tell me something that I can do to make things better. Your dislike of the underlying technology of the adventure is not surprising given the way Hollywood has abused it in the past. I do agree that they use it as a cure-all in their storylines - I hope you can see that I only use it as a basis for far more complex and scary shenanigans. The recent remake of a classic 50’s sci-fi springs to mind, however, there it was alien produced. As there are no aliens in vanilla Rapture, everything that happens is due to humankind up until the Rapture itself. Thus, in the secret history, it is mankind’s doing. I can’t do much about your feeling that the secret history section is contrived – it’s been accepted as cannon now by the Universe’s author, and is already referenced to in multiple new works that are in production. But having said that, I lead on to one of the new additions to the product that I hope you, Jim, will access and read, as it was specifically written to address your (and anyone else’s) issues with the ‘underlying technology.’ It’s the Technology Sate of Play document, and it outlines where that tech is in real life, up to the present day, as well as where we see it progressing and fitting into the timeline of Rapture: The End of Days. Dislike or no, this tech is fundamental to advances we’ve made in many facets of production and manufacturing in real life, and it is only going to increase. Given that this adventure occurs over 600 years in the future, I think that it’s quite possible that advancements to that point, even with the 200 years of ‘The Great Gap’ in there, is plenty of time for it to mature into what is presented. Well that’s our opinion, anyway. The other addition I made to the product, based on your comments, was to tie the secret history into the adventure officially. Now there is an audio clue and transcript that can be used by the GM (at the appropriate juncture) to tie it in. I hope that the players will want to read the full secret history after the game’s conclusion, so they can fully understand the effort we put in to not only making the Rapture Universe a rich playing field for your games, but an internally constant one as well. Thanks again for your comments, and I hope this update improves your consideration of our products. We aim for Gaming Excellence, and if you speak, we listen. Best Regards, Ray Duell StoryWeaver Games
Deadlands Reloaded: Devil's Night
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2011 07:36:02
So it's free and it's seasonal. It offers some reasonably forgettable business leading up to (on the last page) the suggestion to buy Savage Worlds Horror Companion to get the stats for the final encounter. If you have that work, you may find this a useful adjunct.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Devil's Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

There and Back Again: The Construction of Nostalgia in Advanced Adventures
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2011 04:29:45
Intriguing comparisons of visual theme and composition may be the most compelling reason to spend time with this project. Verbally, the author may have tried to address too broad a field, as he struggles at the same time either to treat each source with the depth it deserves or to cover all of the literature I might have expected to see. I wonder if he would have done better to choose a single interesting theoretical approach to 'nostalgia' and apply it with rigour.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
There and Back Again: The Construction of Nostalgia in Advanced Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trail of Cthulhu: The Repairer of Reputations
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2011 03:01:41
With a subtle hand (as any adaptation of Chambers' work would require) and as much gore as the GM finds appropriate, it should play out well as a strangely mannered experience of half-understood menace.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trail of Cthulhu: The Repairer of Reputations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 419 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates