DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!










Back
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG $5.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
11 22
0 1
0 1
0 0
0 0
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to view
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Loren N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2014 09:36:54
Purchased this one afternoon. After 10 minutes of printing and another 20 of cutting and taping, we were playing!

I've been trying to find ways to start introducing role playing elements to a 4-year-old. Hero Kids did the trick! Things I like:
- simple dice rolls and comparison of results
- the character and baddie images are very nice
- the maps are wonderful: our players love revealing new locations as we play
- plenty of open hooks for us to add rules or options as our players learn
- more than just combat: characters have other interesting items to achieve their goals with

"I want to use my bag of gold to distract the pirates!" - 4-year-old first-time role-player getting clever

I'm so proud to have successfully introduced role-playing to such a young gamer, this will certainly change his life.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jeffrey S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2014 09:39:40
I have 2 boys, age almost 7 and almost 10.

This game exceeded my expectations on awesomeness for kids in this range. The drawings, maps, and adventures are perfect.

Half (or more) of the fun for them is looking at the pictures and discussing the characters details and pretending to be one or the other. The actual game -- while perfect for them -- wasn't even the thing they were most interested in. As a result, just the first *map* of the Rats in the Basement adventure took us around an hour to finish, from printout, character selection, discussion of the game world, etc. In other words, you should expect to get much more than "30 minutes" of fun and play out of a single adventure.

Thanks!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Roger D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2014 20:04:01
Great. My kids really love this and ask for new adventures every weekend.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jordan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2014 12:14:23
I briefly skimmed the rules and ran my kids and wife through the introductory adventure. My son (8) and wife really seemed to enjoy it. My daughter (4) had a hard time focusing on the game and kept wandering off. I did find the adventure to be a little encounter heavy. I would like to have seen a little more opportunity for role playing and character/setting development. Hopefully some of the other adventures will have more such opportunities.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Sandra R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2014 16:49:05
As much fun for Mom and Dad as it is for the kids. We thoroughly enjoyed our first adventure. The game mechanics are just right for both our 7 year and and 10 year old to understand. We had an epic night! Great introduction to RPG gaming.

Now I want to try using it with my students! Should make for some very interesting classes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Michel K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2014 14:30:06
Ich spiele mit meinen Jungs 4 und 6 Hero Kids, sie lieben es. Zuerst das Basteln und Bemalen der Figuren und danach das Abenteuer selber top für uns passt es . en

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by John H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2013 08:51:34
My kids absolutely love this game. We played the Basement of Rats adventure a few weeks ago and the ask me to play 2-3 times per week. I just logged back into DriveThruRPG to buy one of the premium adventures and figured I'd drop a review. Great work!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2013 19:04:56
Thanks to this game tomorrow will be my first time running a PnP game for my five year old, words can not express how excited we are! The rules look easy enough but still fun, and the over all concept of the game is just fantastic.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2013 12:39:04
This was fun. I played it with my 5 year old daughter who immediatly wanted to play the girl with the hiar and the tiar on the cover. So she did. She had a great moment when she wanted to push a stack of barrels shown on the map onto a couple of rats she was going to have to fight. She hit one and missed the other.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2013 15:42:55
** Excerpt from my review of Hero Kids on my blog (http://cjchand.wordpress.com/2013/08/30/great-kid-friendly--
rpg-hero-kids/)
** Apologies for any formatting issues and the missing pictures

**********

tl;dr

Hero Kids nails its target demographic perfectly
It is a highly-produced, well thought-out indie product (what’s not to love about supporting indie devs?)
There are several pre-baked adventures that are very well written and produced (which is highly-valued when your kids want to play a new adventure each night)
It’s currently $15 for the core ruleset and all the adventures. If you are at all interested, just buy it, already.
Despite all of the praise above, there are some chinks in the armor – but none that keep me from wholeheartedly recommending Hero Kids
Hero Kids Review: The Adult Version

Hero Kids is exactly what you would expect it to be: Cartoony, but not overly so, young kids tackling big challenges. Kids, say around 4–10, which is the suggested age range for the game. They go on large adventures, tackle many foes pulled from the normal RPG bestiary (skeletons, giant rats, giant spiders, werewolves, etc), but in a way that’s not overly scary or gruesome. Think Saturday morning cartoon-style, not Heavy Metal or anime.

Game Mechanics

The game runs on a pretty simple mechanic: The attacker will have a pool of dice (anywhere from 1–3, depending on the character’s build) and the defender will have the same (again, 1–3, depending). Both sides roll their pool’s worth of d6’s, and the side with the highest number shown – not the highest sum – wins (with ties going to the attacker).

This means even the really young ones can count the pips on each die and get what’s going on. No modifiers, no addition. Given the target audience, Justin has designed this well. It is quick, simple, and fun.

Speaking of design, Justin obviously put alot of thought into the mechanic. You can read more on his blog about how he arrived at the final product.

Of course, there are also character abilities that can be active (“Split your dice to attack multiple targets”) and passive (“Gain 1 extra dice to attack a target that an ally attacked since your last turn”, which suits the Rogue quite well).

On the downside, this system does not leave much in the room for character advancement. As discussed on the link immediately above, simply adding a +1 modifier significantly affects the success rate, much less adding a die to the dice pool. That said, while I am not a game designer, I have some ideas for how we can add some character growth that I will bring up in a bit.

Intro to RPG Combat Tactics

Battles are fought on a standard grid, so this does give our wee players some introduction to combat tactics. There are terrain penalties (though few, in order to keep the game moving), cover bonuses (at DM’s discretion), and penalties for (or outright denial of) certain attacks depending on the range to the target.

The aforementioned character abilities (think: skills or feats) gives the player a chance to engage some simplistic tactics and teamwork.

There are also Ability Checks, based on the character’s dice pool. For example, moving a large boulder might call for an Ability Check against strength, represented by the Melee dice pool, in this case. Again, it’s about the highest number – not the sum – to determine success.

These are all gentle, yet very “big-boy”, concepts that will help your kiddo transition from Hero Kids to other, more complex RPGs when the time comes.

A quick aside: Justin has also authored “Heroes Against Darkness” (AKA: HAD). HAD is a “retro-clone” of sorts, even though it implements some of the more recent D&D mechanics. It is available for the very agreeable price of FREE(!), and just like Hero Kids, is extremely highly-polished and ready-to-go… unlike alot of other free RPG rulesets. HAD leans more towards streamlined combat, which is right up my alley. If you are looking for something to graduate your little one to once they have outgrown Hero Kids, you could definitely do worse than HAD.

Hero Kids: Adventures

To continue with a recurring thread, the published Adventures for Hero Kids are very well produced. Each adventure:

States the typical time to complete (usually 30–60 minutes, which is great for pint-sized attention spans)
States the difficulty
Employs clearly boxed-in text to clue the GM on what to read to the players
Has blocks for each encounter explaining:
An overview of the encounter itself
The tactics of the monsters in the encounter
As you can imagine, the story lines are pretty simple, but what can you expect to flesh out in under an hour. They definitely lean more towards an “intro-combat-next room-more combat-boss-conclusion” style, again, which suits the target audience. There are a couple of the adventures that call for a bit more role play, but any GM worth their salt can (and will) tweak the target material to what the group wants.

MONSTERS

Part of the adventures is – of course – the bad guys. Inside, you’ll find pre-scaled amounts and types of baddies for each encounter, depending on the number of players. Very handy for when your kid grabs you immediately after you walk in the door and says, “Can we play the next adventure right now, please?” Having this info already at-hand makes it simple to give the adventure a quick skim and jump right in. There’s even Hit Point boxes for each of the monsters so you have a convenient place to track their damage (though many only take one hit to KO).

MAPS AND PAWNS

Best of all, each adventure comes with full-page 1″ grid maps for that adventure, ready to be printed. It also comes with character sheets for the various types of bad guys, each with their own cutout pawn.

Player Characters

Speaking of character sheets, the core rulebook comes with a variety of the classic classes: Fighter, Mage (called Warlock), Healers, Rangers, etc – in both boy and girl designs. Of course, there are blank character sheets you can use to craft your own character, too.

In the case of Hero Kids, there is no “rolling” your character’s stats. Rather, you have 4 “dice” to allocate to the 4 types of core abilities:

Melee
Ranged
Magic
Armor
Ranged and Magic each cost 2 “dice” for the first die in their respective dice pools, but melee and armor are straight 1:1. This means if you opt for a non-Fighter that you will have to go either Ranged or Magic, as going with both would leave zero dice in your armor dice pool. That leaves the offensive combos as:

Melee
Melee + Ranged
Melee + Magic
Magic
Ranged
That, along with the fact that your Special Action and Bonus Ability are not limited to a skills/feats list, gives your child plenty of opportunity for creating a character that is uniquely their own. Of course, you’ll have to temper these a bit. Having a Bonus Ability like “All of your damage is healed at the end of your turn” would not make for a challenging dungeon romp.

LEVELING? WE DON’T NEED NO STINKIN’ LEVELING?

There are some limitations with character development that do crop up. Namely, there is no real character development. There is no leveling. There is no XP. There is no ability to change your dice pools, gain modifiers, etc. (at least not without the Equipment cards, which I’ll try to use as salvation for this limitation in a bit).

So, if your player is on the older end of the 4–10 range, they likely are familiar with XP, leveling, and characters getting more powerful as they engage in new adventures. From Pokémon to Clash of Clans, kids have been exposed to this in many different ways. Leveling is a core part – at least for me – of the RPG experience. It is one of the more rewarding parts and one of the big motivators. Who doesn’t want to grow to be an all-powerful bad ass that smites foes with impunity?

A (HALF-BAKED) IDEA FOR THE LEVELING ISSUE

As you can read in this blog post, this shortcoming isn’t lost on the author. With so few “knobs” to play with, it is a challenging issue.

I have not playtested this yet, but I did have the following thought:

Getting treasure (e.g.: GP) is another common trope of RPGs, yet it’s not in Hero Kids
Taking that gold to town to buy new/better stuff is also another worn out mechanic… but, we still use it because it works :)
So, what if we awarded GP based on encounters?
Players could then use that gold to buy stuff – namely items from the Equipment pack – to pimp out their character
Many of the Equipment cards work similar to improved skills and/or equipment that would be obtained in a “big-boy” RPG. For example, one shield adds one die to your armor dice pool, at the expense of –2 movement.

What I am totally lost on is how to work the “economy” of such a system. Again, I’m not a game designer :) But, it’s something that I plan to play around with and see how it works. I’ll keep the super powerful equipment from the store until I get the numbers right.

OK, but what does your kid think of it?

Oh, yeah. I did but this for my son – definitely not for me. Totally selfless act, I can assure you.

I could go into alot of details, but the best way to put it is this: My son has never done his chores and expectations as quickly – and without prompting – as since we started playing Hero Kids. He wants to play a new adventure each night.

I couldn’t keep up, so I diverted his attention into making a character. Here’s the drawing he did last night of the Elf (sort-of) Ranger he’s working on:

Zach's Elf

(Not sure why his arms are so stiff, but…) I’ve never seen him take to a project before with the level of interest as this character.

He is asking, however, for info on how he levels his character up – which leads back to the previous section. I suspect this will be a stumbling block for the older kids that are familiar with the leveling concept. We’ll see how my cockamamie GP scheme works out.

Also, despite the fact that he’ll be 9 in December, Zach isn’t really one for scary stuff or blood and guts. This works well with the characters in Hero Kids, as they are drawn appropriately for the age group. I just wonder if other kids his age – some of which have played games like Halo – might be turned off by the art. Again, those kids would likely be candidates to transition to HAD or the Pathfinder Beginner Box.

Parting Thoughts

Again, despite any negatives you’ve read above, if you’re even remotely interested in this type of game for your kids, I say you’ve wasted time reading my ramblings when you could have just downloaded the PDFs and started playing already. My nitpicking is minor and is only because when a product is this close to perfection, you want to see it get there.

Two thumbs up, 5/5, goes to 11… whatever you want, but it’s a must-buy if you’re in the market.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Clint E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2013 20:46:09
Perfect introduction to role playing for little ones. We've been playing every afternoon for a week straight. My 7 and 5 YO kids LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it. I'll never forget how my 5 YO daughter's face lit up when I started talking in character as the Rat King. She really got into it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Rick D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2013 21:20:35
So, I read a few reviews and then dove right in and bought the bundle. WITHOUT QUESTION, the best money I have spent in sometime!! My son (7) and I just had the funnest hour+ together on our first adventure. The quest was supposed to be 30 minutes, but as GM I dragged it out because he was sooooo engaged and having so much fun. He was cheering, laughing, and could barely sit down, anticipating what was coming next. He was asking questions and keeping me on my toes as he went further into the Basement of Rats. What a great game!!! And it only took a pencil and paper. No batteries, no chargers, nothing. Just his imagination and a well designed RPG. The only thing it needs next is miniatures!! And keep those adventures coming because we may blow through these sooner than expected..Thanks Hero Forge!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Ben T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2013 06:48:36
Hero Kids is a great way to bring your youngsters into RPGs. This was suppose to be for my six year old, but the whole family (including my wife!) was able to jump right in! The game took less then an hour to play, so it kept everyone's attention and was over before they became distracted. Very easy rulesets that are expandable for different age groups (up to around 10 y/o) and for different sizes of groups.

Definitely, worth the purchase and great chance for family RPG fun!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/31/2013 02:06:27
http://www.teilzeithelden.de
--------------------------------------


Geht man davon aus, dass der große Boom der Rol­len­spiele in den 80ern war, so ist diese erste Gene­ra­tion mitt­ler­weile in den gesetz­ten Jah­ren ange­kom­men. Bei vie­len haben neben Wür­fel und Minia­tu­ren auch Kind und Kegel Ein­zug gehal­ten. Und was begeis­terte Fußball-Eltern kön­nen, soll­ten wir doch auch kön­nen: Unse­ren Liebs­ten die Fas­zi­na­tion der Rol­len­spiele näher bringen.
Dem ent­ge­gen steht in aller Regel aber die deut­lich gestie­gene Kom­ple­xi­tät, die sich selbst in „pri­mi­ti­ven“ OSR-Dungeoncrawlern niederschlägt.
Unter dem sehr tref­fen­den Namen Hero Kids ver­öf­fent­licht Hero Forge Games nun ein Fantasy-Rollenspiel für 4-10jährige Kin­der. Wol­len wir doch mal schauen, ob die kind­li­chen Hel­den hal­ten, was sie versprechen.

Erschei­nungs­bild

Direkt nach dem Down­load ent­deckt man gleich vier Dateien. Das Grund­re­gel­werk und das erste Aben­teuer, jeweils in der nor­ma­len und der dru­cker­freund­li­chen Ver­sion. Das erfreut grund­sätz­lich schon mal, erspart man sich doch teu­ren Per­ga­ment­hin­ter­grund. Ansons­ten sind aber alle Illus­tra­tio­nen in Schwarz/Weiß gehal­ten und nur das Cover­bild ist koloriert.
Das eigent­li­che Regel­werk wurde zwei­spal­tig in Quer­for­mat erstellt und lässt sich sehr ange­nehm lesen. Hier soll­ten selbst Lese­an­fän­ger keine Pro­bleme haben. Die 36 Sei­ten des Haupt­werks sind unter­teilt in:
9 Sei­ten All­ge­mei­nes (Was ist Rol­len­spiel?, Glossar)
1 Seite Setting
6 Sei­ten Spielmechanik
5 Sei­ten Spielleiten
1 Seite Charaktererschaffung
2 Sei­ten Tipps für Spielleiter
6 Sei­ten Bei­spiel­cha­rak­tere und Token
8 Sei­ten Mons­ter und Token

Die Illus­tra­tion sind alle äußerst pro­fes­sio­nell und kom­men deut­lich kind­ge­recht, comi­chaft daher ohne lächer­lich zu wir­ken. Auch die ent­hal­te­nen Papier­auf­stel­ler und Cha­rak­ter­kar­ten sehen sehr gut aus. Wenn man etwas kri­ti­sie­ren wol­len würde, dann dass Auf­stel­ler immer die Vor­der­seite zei­gen und farb­los sind. Aber ein Satz Bunt­stifte auf dem Tisch erle­digt bei der Ziel­gruppe dies sehr schnell.
Das Regel­werk ist auf Eng­lisch, was den Zugang für ein so jun­ges deut­sches Publi­kum wohl schwer macht. Auf der ande­ren Seite rich­tet sich der Text auch an einen Erwach­se­nen, der Kin­der führt. Das ist etwas schade, sollte doch das Ziel sein, dass die klei­nen Rol­len­spie­ler irgend­wann ohne Hilfe aus­kom­men. Wenigs­tens sind die Cha­rak­ter­bö­gen kos­ten­los auf Deutsch verfügbar.

Die Spiel­welt

Ein Blick in die Sei­ten­über­sicht zeigt schnell: Ein Set­ting spielt hier kaum eine Rolle. Der spär­li­che Hin­ter­grund spielt sich in einem klei­nen Dorf ab. Die Erwach­se­nen sind im Kampf oder auf der Jagd und so müs­sen die Kin­der früh ler­nen sich gegen den Unbill des Lebens zu weh­ren. Da alle vor­lie­gen­den Aben­teuer (Bas­e­ment Of Rats, Curse of the Shadow Wal­ker und The Lost Vil­lage) aber reine Dun­geon­crawls sind, spielt die Ober­welt nur eine unter­ge­ord­nete Rolle.

Die Regeln

Das Regel­werk von Hero Kids ist nach erwach­se­nen Gesichts­punk­ten sicher­lich sim­pel, da es aber für sich in Anspruch nimmt schon von Vier­jäh­ri­gen (mit-)gespielt wer­den zu kön­nen, passt es.
Jeder Cha­rak­ter hat vier Grund­werte (Nah­kampf, Fern­kampf, Magie und Ver­tei­di­gung) mit einem Wert zwi­schen kei­nem und drei W6. Pro­ben wer­den gene­rell ver­gli­chen, da diese erst­mal nur im Kampf statt­fin­den. Es gewinnt immer der­je­nige mit dem höchs­ten Einzelwürfel.

Bei­spiel: Ein Held mit 1W6 wür­felt 5 gegen eine Ratte mit 2W6 (3 und 4). Da der Held den höchs­ten Wurf hat gewinnt er und rich­tet einen Tref­fer an.

Der Scha­den ist dabei fix 1 Tref­fer, auch wenn es Son­der­fer­tig­kei­ten gibt, die dies ver­bes­sern kön­nen. Hel­den haben immer 3 Tref­fer, Geg­ner je nach Schwie­rig­keit zwi­schen 1 und 4.
Das ist auch schon das gesamte Pro­ben­sys­tem, es gibt kei­ner­lei Modifikationen.

Kämpfe fin­den immer auf den jedem Aben­teuer bei­lie­gen­den Battlemap-Abschnitten statt. Was nach einem Ein­stieg ins tak­ti­sche Den­ken aus­sieht, hat lei­der einige deut­li­che Schwä­chen: Da sich jede Figur immer 4 Fel­der bewe­gen kann ist es, z.B. nicht mög­lich einem Geg­ner aus­zu­wei­chen, da er immer fol­gen kann. Initia­tive wird auch nur ein­mal am Beginn der Runde aus­ge­wür­felt. Zwar haben Fern­kämp­fer und Magier die Mög­lich­keit so immer auf Abstand zu blei­ben, kom­men aber auf den viel zu klei­nen Maps nicht weit weg.

Damit sind Effekte, die durch Nach­bar­schaft (wenn Mit­spie­ler auf benach­bar­tem Feld, dann…) schon fast das Ende der tak­ti­schen Fah­nen­stange. Etwas Abwechs­lung kommt durch die Bonus­fer­tig­keit eines jedes Cha­rak­ters dazu, so kön­nen Hel­den und Mons­ter Heil­tränke auf­fül­len, Geg­ner ein­frie­ren oder wer­den stär­ker, wenn sie ver­wun­det sind.

Kom­pli­ziert und daher unschick: Viele Talente grei­fen, wenn ein Mons­ter in der letz­ten Runde von einem bestimm­ten Cha­rak­ter ver­wun­det wurde, was nicht immer ganz leicht im Auge zu behal­ten ist.
Wei­tere Talente kennt die Mecha­nik nicht, sollte es man zu einer Probe kom­men, die nichts mit Kampf zu tun hat, so wer­den diese über die Kampf­werte abge­lei­tet (Nah­kampf = Stärke, Fern­kampf = Geschick, Magie = Intelligenz)
Zwar gibt es Heil­tränke, Seile oder Bücher, aber dar­über hin­aus kommt keine spä­tere Aus­rüs­tung vor. Zusam­men mit der feh­len­den Cha­rak­ter­ent­wick­lung (keine Stu­fen, keine EP) bedeu­tet das, dass sich ein Hel­den­kind nie zum aus­ge­wach­se­nen Hel­den ent­wi­ckeln wird. Sicher­lich könnte man das leicht impro­vi­sie­ren, aber vor­ge­se­hen ist dies nicht.

Alles in allem kann man sagen: Durch die Batt­le­maps, die ein­ge­schränk­ten Mög­lich­kei­ten und die feh­lende Cha­rak­ter­ent­wick­lung muss man Hero Kids den Titel Rol­len­spiel abspre­chen! Selbst reine Brett­spiele wie die Legen­den von Andor oder Hero­quest bie­ten hier eine grö­ßere Tiefe. Als klas­si­scher Dun­geon­craw­ler spielt es auch kaum eine Rolle, ob der Spie­ler sich in einen Cha­rak­ter ein­den­ken kann oder nicht.
Sieht man aber Hero Kids als kurz­wei­li­ges Table­top für Kin­der, so kann man sagen: Passt schon!

Wit­zi­ges Gim­mick am Rande: Der Autor schlägt vor, Lebens­punkte mit Bon­bons anzu­zei­gen: Ver­wun­dete Geg­ner­punkte wer­den von den Kids ver­speist, getrof­fene Hel­den gehen zu Guns­ten des Spiel­lei­ters. Über den Lern­ef­fekt, dass „Mons­ter schla­gen“ Süßig­kei­ten bedeu­tet, ließe sich sicher­lich herr­lich diskutieren…

Cha­rak­ter­er­schaf­fung

Schon allein das Pro­ben­sys­tem zeigt, dass Cha­rak­tere nicht schwer zu ent­wi­ckeln sind: Ver­teile vier Wür­fel auf vier Werte (Magie und Fern­kampf kos­ten 2 Wür­fel für den ers­ten Wert) und nimm dir eine Bonus­fä­hig­keit. Letz­tere sind nicht vor­ge­ge­ben, son­dern kön­nen aus­ge­dacht wer­den oder von den 10 vor­ge­fer­tig­ten Cha­rak­te­ren aus­ge­borgt werden.
Fer­tig! Die geringe Vari­anz macht eigene Cha­rak­tere eigent­lich obsolet.

Spiel­bar­keit aus Spielleitersicht

Als Spiel­lei­ter kommt man nicht umhin zu bemer­ken, dass sich das Spiel etwa wie ein Aben­teu­er­buch der frü­hen 80er spielt. Ent­schei­dun­gen sind rela­tiv sel­ten und beschrän­ken sich auf ein „nach links oder nach rechts?“. Hier ist es also beson­ders wich­tig die Kin­der atmo­sphä­risch zu lei­ten. Die vor­ge­fer­tig­ten Aben­teuer las­sen sich aber durch die Bank ohne Vor­be­rei­tung spie­len, da jeder Abschnitt gut beschrie­ben ist und es kein lang­fris­ti­gen Effekte gibt, die man im Auge behal­ten müsste. Haupt­teil der Arbeit liegt ganz klar im Bas­teln, Aus­schnei­den und ggf. Bema­len der Kar­ten und Figuren.

Spiel­bar­keit aus Spielersicht

Für Kin­der von 6–8 Jah­ren sind die Regeln in Umfang und Kom­ple­xi­tät sicher­lich aus­rei­chend. Jün­gere Kin­der neh­men kaum aktiv an der Hand­lung teil, wäh­rend ältere Kin­der ganz sicher auch schon mit ein­fa­chen „Voll-“Rollenspielen zu Rande kom­men wür­den. Dazu aber mehr im Spielbericht.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

3–5€ für ein Aben­teuer erscheint grund­sätz­lich natür­lich nicht viel, ver­gli­chen mit einem Vollpreis-Spiel. Was aber erschwe­rend dazu­kom­men: Die Aben­teuer bie­ten kei­nen Reiz zum Wie­der­spie­len, auch wenn man mal andere Cha­rak­tere aus­pro­biert, ist der grund­sätz­li­che Ver­lauf eines Aben­teu­ers immer gleich, wenn die Spiel­lei­tung nicht eigen­stän­dig eingreift.
Auf der ande­ren Seite sind alle Aben­teuer und auch das Grund­re­gel­werk sehr lie­be­voll gestal­tet und reich­lich mit Kar­ten, Auf­stel­lern und Mate­rial aus­ge­stat­tet, wel­ches man gut für eigene Pro­jekte nut­zen kann.

Spiel­be­richt

Als Frei­wil­lige tra­ten an einem gemüt­li­chen Sams­tag­nach­mit­tag meine bei­den Töch­ter (12 und 9) und eine Freun­din (10) an. Nach kur­zer Erklä­rung worum es geht, freu­ten sich alle drei dar­auf, sich mit Krie­ge­rin, Magie­rin und Schüt­zen ins Aben­teuer „Kel­ler vol­ler Rat­ten“ zu stürzen.

Der Ein­stieg in das Aben­teuer ist rela­tiv schnell abge­han­delt, die Drei wur­den beim Essen von Ihren Eltern sozu­sa­gen in die erste Queste geschickt. Dass Rat­ten ein Rollenspiel-Running-Gag sind, war ihnen natür­lich nicht klar.
Von hier ging es über fünf Ein­zel­kar­ten streng nach Text bis zur Ret­tung des ver­miss­ten Jun­gen. Auf jeder Karte wurde ein Kampf gegen die schwäch­li­chen Rat­ten abge­han­delt und dann ging es wei­ter zum nächs­ten Abschnitt. Dies ist alles sehr linear: Vom Kel­ler in den Gang rüber zur Kreu­zung und dann rechts oder links. Und damit gibt es ledig­lich eine ein­zige Ent­schei­dung, die übri­gens zum Final­kampf oder in eine Sack­gasse führt.
Die Kar­ten sind durch­weg sehr eng, so dass es kaum tak­ti­sche Bewe­gun­gen gibt.

Auch wenn ich mir als Spiel­lei­ter wirk­lich Mühe gege­ben haben die Situa­tio­nen dra­ma­tisch zu beschrei­ben, war die große Schlacht am Ende gegen den Rat­ten­kö­nig nach ledig­lich zwei Run­den vor­bei, da die Älteste schon erkannt hatte, dass sie mit ihrer Bonus­fä­hig­keit und etwas Glück pro Run­den gleich meh­rere Jung­rat­ten aus­lö­schen konnte.

Nach Abschluss des Kel­ler­aben­teu­ers – also nach ca. 20–25 Minu­ten – hätte ich gerne noch zwei wei­tere Aben­teuer gespielt, aber die Kin­der hat­ten bereits die Lust ver­lo­ren. Nicht aller­dings am fan­tas­ti­schen Grund­thema und so wurde der Nach­mit­tag mit zwei Run­den Legen­den von Andor fortgeführt.

Fazit

Wo haben wir ange­fan­gen? Rich­tig: Ist Hero Kids das lan­ger­war­tete Rol­len­spiel für Kin­der? Meine Ant­wort lau­tet ganz klar: Nein, denn es ist eigent­lich gar kein Rol­len­spiel, son­dern „nur“ eine fan­tas­ti­sches Brett­spiel. Als sol­ches funk­tio­niert es sicher­lich ganz gut, auch wenn hier bekannte Spiele wie Hero­Quest schon wesent­lich mehr Mög­lich­kei­ten, Ent­wick­lung und damit Moti­va­tion bieten.

Die ange­strebte Alters­klasse 4–10 ist sicher­lich ein­fach zu breit gesetzt. Denn wäh­rend Klein­kin­dern schlicht­weg die Erfah­rung fehlt, um die Fantasy-Welt zu begrei­fen, wer­den ältere Kin­dern schlicht unterfordert.
Gene­rell müs­sen wohl alle rol­len­spie­len­den Eltern ihre eige­nen Kin­der beur­tei­len kön­nen, um zu wis­sen, wo diese den bes­ten Zugang fin­den. Meine Spiel­emp­feh­lun­gen wären

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Ryan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2013 12:00:48
Hero Kids is a great way to introduce young gamers to the hobby and get their imaginations turning. I was very impressed with the author's setting and voice in addition to the simple but solid system for action outcomes (mostly combat) that he presented. You don't even need to have experience in roleplaying games to have a great time with your children. If you want to try something "new" (part boardgame, part imaginative play), pick up Hero Kids today.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Hero Forge Games
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (25)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate