DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Cel-Maris Station (Fudge™ Version)
Publisher: Beautifulharmony Multimedia
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2008 17:54:30
Very nice setting (a cycler station going from Earth to Mars) and good mystery (a bit linear, but still good). Setting can be used for other games as well: "Titanic", "Apollo-13" and other movies could be set on this boat in space.

Good Fudge material, with only a few points I thought were not as well described -- and even those few points were responded to in less than a day on the Fudge Forums (if I can't identify the responder as author or Fudge community member, my apologies)!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cel-Maris Station (Fudge™ Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Destinations: Repair Station 7-Osiris
Publisher: Tabletop Adventures, LLC
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2008 17:49:46
This product compares very favorably to S. John Ross' "Points in Space" PDF -- but while his has many descriptions of people and locations for various points in space, this focuses on one place and divides it into active and derelict. The single focus allows more description as good as "Points in Space".

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Destinations: Repair Station 7-Osiris
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QMR - Character Assistant
Publisher: Silver Branch Games
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2008 17:46:16
Very small but very nicely focused on the PDQ product Questors of the Middle Realms. The free-from nature of character creation in PDQ gets a good review in terms of traditional RPGs.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
QMR - Character Assistant
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Downloader Monthly (December 2003)
Publisher: OneBookShelf, Inc.
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2007 07:25:07
I downloaded this free magazine for the Fudge article. It's a nice breakdown of published material available for Fudge, although it misses some of the print editions (The Collectors is both PDF and Print, for example).

The rest had a d20 DnD 3e location with stat blocks for NPCs that I wish have conversions to other games. Or instead of stat blocks, descriptive personalities with notes like "Superb fighter". All those tiny numbers did not let the personalities jump out at me.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Downloader Monthly (December 2003)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Firing Solution
Publisher: Digital Alchemy
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2007 08:15:52
Very very frustrating not to have a combat and wounding example for the ships. That is the only reason this rates a middling review. Really really want examples other than the ship building examples that come with the product or the free preview available at the Digital Alchemy site. Good to see the ships, but the lack of the combat example pull the review down a notch.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Firing Solution
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MARS Free Preview
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2007 08:12:57
Preview was good enough that I bought the full book.

But I must admit I liked Lizard's "Iron Lords of Jupiter" setting in Dragon Magazine better as it was more original.

Anyone familiar with the Sword and Planet stories (see Wikipedia for a good list) will appreciate this, and in some places the familiarity of the genre helps but does make the book a bit more generic than I'd like.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MARS Free Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dial S for Superhumans
Publisher: Atomic Sock Monkey Press
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2007 08:09:28
Very good collection of superheros and an eclectic mix of powers. Most powers you will know, a few are unique. Descriptions are detailed enough you can use them in any system yet open enough for intepretation.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dial S for Superhumans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Truth & Justice: The Turtlezilla Dossier
Publisher: Atomic Sock Monkey Press
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2007 08:07:31
Despite the short word count, this is an excellent adventure, suitable for any science fantasy game.

Just needed a floating turtle island from fantastic literature to round out the options. Something airplanes land on.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Truth & Justice: The Turtlezilla Dossier
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Luftwaffe 1946 Role Playing Game Open Core Edition
Publisher: Battlefield Press
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2007 08:04:20
I purchased this product because it has conversion notes to Fudge (product uses the Action System).

Overall I liked it, and I've found one adventure on the internet for the game.

I would have liked to see more setting material.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Luftwaffe 1946 Role Playing Game Open Core Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2007 00:00:00
Nice treatment of the sword and planet genre. Just enough information to convert to other systems. Could use some more adventures.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Instant GM: A Bag of Tricks
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2007 00:00:00
Good for nearly all systems. Good examples. Very short.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Instant GM: A Bag of Tricks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Tim, I am glad that you liked Instant GM! :) If you have any concerns that made your rating a 3 instead of higher, please feel free to send them to me at games@comstar-games.com so that I can pass them on to the writer. You may also be interested to know that Ramsey is currently writing a follow up product (Instant GM 2), and we are hoping to have it available shortly. William ComStar
Fudge Magic: 50 Magic Spells
Publisher: Seraphim Guard
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2007 00:00:00
Finally! Some magic spells for Fudge Scholarly Magic, as seen in the free RPG Fudge (the SRD version at www.fudgerpg.com).

Although only structred into two groups (low level cantrips and everything else, including magic items and herb/alchemy spells), this is a good starter for Fudge GMs.

Note there are small changes from the Fudge SRD and that the primary audience for this is HeartQuest (Seraphim Guard).


LIKED: Good, broad grouping.

DISLIKED: Very different from Degrees of Magic (which was known as Scholarly Magic on Stefan O'Sullivan's website -- see the PDF), I thought the spells could be a bit more catagorized. Or not.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fudge Magic: 50 Magic Spells
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hello. We just wanted to take a moment to let people know that the changes from the Fudge SRD to what was used in Fudge Magic: 50 Magic Spells was minimal at best. The name of the Shamanism Scholarly Magic skill was changed to Spirit Scholarly Magic (to make it more generic) and the amount of mana given to a character from purchasing the Scholarly Magic gift was doubled from 5 pts. to 10 pts. Plus a couple of the spells use an attribute from HeartQuest. The changes were kept to a minimum in order to make sure that these spells would be as compatible as possible with people using the Fantasy Fudge rules. The broadness was also intentional. This is the "entry" product into our Fudge Magic line. Sales permitting, more specific future supplements will be available.
Kevin and Kell the Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2007 00:00:00
Interesting world building and backstory, characters; and gives the predator/prey dynamic an interesting twist that allows them to live together yet still maintain that relationship.


LIKED: Good world and character building.

DISLIKED: Action! system was too detailed for the world and characters, in my opinion.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Kevin and Kell the Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lightspeed: Planets of the Interstellar Era
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2007 00:00:00
Good enough to convert to any game system. A generic background is assumed (space opera) but is not developed. The planets are not
excruciating detailed as some number-crunchers may like, but are more developed, as personalities.


LIKED: Imaginative.

DISLIKED: Wanted more adventures.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed: Planets of the Interstellar Era
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Zorcerer of Zo
Publisher: Atomic Sock Monkey Press
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2007 00:00:00
Fantastic descriptions of fairy tails and how to game them.


LIKED: Things I knew but never made a strong connection, for example the size of armies in Fables and Fantasy.

DISLIKED: Zo itself could use some more description. I felt the setting was a little *too* open at times.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Zorcerer of Zo
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 110 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates