DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Vacc Suit
Publisher: Zozer Games
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2012 16:28:53
Well put together, and explains the background for these devices, how they fit in the game universe, and otherwise a useful game product. Especially given the price!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vacc Suit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZEITGEIST Adventure Path Intro
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2011 13:44:52
An interesting little intro to a new game setting for D&D 4e that seems to blend a Steampunk ethos into that fantasy world set of rules. Small but tasty. Looks like it could be a promising setting for a game group that uses that rule set for their adventures.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ZEITGEIST Adventure Path Intro
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trinity Field Report: Oceania
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2011 13:42:48
A nice meaty offering for the price (Free!) and useful for almost any near future or far future SciFi setting with underwater habitats.
This is clearly based in the original Trinity setting, but with the exception of specific dates could easily be adapted to another game. There is no setting specific rules used, instead the various underwater arcologies are introduced through travel guide excerpts, news stories, interviews and transcripts.
If all this does is spark some ideas for your next game session it will be useful.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Field Report: Oceania
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Civilian Air/Raft for Traveller
Publisher: Scrying Eye Games
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2011 13:37:18
A well rendered product, and a nice variation on many of the previous versions of the venerable Air/Raft. It was very light on crunchy bits, and mostly was useful for a visual effect.
As a free product I do value what I got, and I would look at other products from this creator. A nice addition would have been a profile view and/or different color variations to allow a GM to represent different factions if they use this in their game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Civilian Air/Raft for Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern: Campaign Planner
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2004 00:00:00
This thing Rocks! Excellent idea, and worth the money. Certainly you could make up your own list of notes, but this organizes them in a sensible way. It also asks questions on the forms that force the GM to think about house rules, variants, Advanced and prestige classes, feats and other important aspects of the game. I have already seen an improvement in my campaign by using parts of this planner

LIKED: Quality product, well put together. Good stimulation for the brain, helps pin down a campaign.

DISLIKED: NOt all the pages will be useful for all GMs, some of this could be put together on your own, but this is all set up for you.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern: Campaign Planner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern: 101 Occult Books
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2004 00:00:00
This gives a list of cool (and some real) books to make your mad necromancer's library have some depth. Good for creating a "treasure" for the PCs to hunt down. Some of these will even be useful for the players, once they get a few levels of "Adept" under thier belts. Even if playing in a low or no magic campaign, these can become a focus for NPC collectors to send the characters after.

LIKED: As with all the Ronin Arts products, quality throughout and informative. Good background material and source of McGuffins.

DISLIKED: I don't know if this is a fact of the world, but I would have liked to see even more Asian (Indian and Chinese) mystic texts. I realize that those crazy Renaissance pervs were publishing mad about magic and mysticism, and those may have survived to today in better shape, with better references, but a little more variety of other cultural texts might add some "spice"

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern: 101 Occult Books
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Dispatch (10 Issue Subscription)
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2004 00:00:00
Good value. I find that even if I don't use all the ideas in the Modern Dispatch, I do think more about how I do run my games and even what house rules I want to add or drop.

LIKED: Good Value, quality layout and production values, obvious high level of familiarity with the Core rules and how to make them interesting

DISLIKED: I won't use all of what they put out, so some dispatches will be of less use to me.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Dispatch (10 Issue Subscription)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern: 13 Occult Materials
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2004 00:00:00
Interesting list of weird and quasi-mystical materials. These can form "magic sword" equivalents in your Modern game without having too much magic being slug about. You will not use everything in here the first time you open the book, but it will give you ideas. Some of these materials make good "treasure" for the PCs to find in the old abandoned chemical factory. They even come with built in enemies, who will seek out the players once it is known the PCs have acquired the materials.

LIKED: Good background info. These make good McGuffins (look it up) for your team of Department 7 or Hoffman Institute investigators.

DISLIKED: Less directly useful for immediate game play. These serve better as background material.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern: 13 Occult Materials
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Player's Companion, Volume Two
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2004 00:00:00
Excellent product. I bought the print version once it came out, that's how much I loved it. See my comments about volume one for my detailed thoughts on these two products.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Player's Companion, Volume Two
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Player's Companion, Volume One
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2004 00:00:00
Player?s Companion 1

Well worth every penny spent. I found the product to be well written, well designed, well laid out, and all in all useful to my game.
The illustrations of the iconic character that accompany the advanced and prestige classes give a sense of flow, you can see how the development from one to the other would work. This also speaks to the good design principles behind the classes; they were meant to build on each other.
I especially enjoy the composite character concepts built using combinations of the basic 6 classes from the D20M core rules. These show how versatile the basic classes are to begin with, and the creativity of The Game Mechanics. Using these a player or GM could make their own composite characters and explore the flexibility inherit in D20M.
There is an excellent explanation of the wealth system, which would help GMs explain this concept to players new to D20M. The standard kits, and the variety of Wealth Levels into which they fit is perhaps my favorite part of this PDF. This makes one of the most laborious parts of starting a game, gearing up the party, a snap. Simply passing around your copy of this PDF at the game table during character generation will take 30 minutes off the process, especially if not everyone has a copy of the core rules. Expanding this kit concept, at various levels of starting wealth, to fantasy games would be useful.
I enjoyed this PDF so much, when a consolidated version came out in print, I bought it.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Player's Companion, Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyber Style: Bang Bang
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2004 00:00:00
Somewhat useful. I found the speculations on ammunition and weapon development to be spot on. There are the usual list of Glocks and M16/AR15 variants, as well as some keen ideas about Man portable Particle Accelerators and other keen bits. The concept of "knock-down" damage (I don't have the book in front of me so I can't recall the exact phrase) is an interesting way to split damage in a D20 system into penetration of armor and the kinetic energy transfer effect of small bits of lead and copper entering a living organism. Designed for 3.0 it also seems to have been written before D20 Modern came out, so the weapons are not immediately useful in a D20M game. That said, given that MANY of the weapons listed are similar or the same as ones already in the D20M rules, little work would be needed by the GM to translate back or forth between this supplement and the core rules.
The weapon descriptions, addendum, and other text was generally well written, flowed well, and few typographical errors were noted. One layout issue, perhaps due to preferences or printer settings on my computer, was some of the columns of data would drop the last digit on a weapon price or wrap numbers in an unusual manner. Before printing, you may want to run some test prints on the Table Heavy pages. YMMV. All in all worth the money, and even if not used directly in your D20M game, still a useful supplement.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyber Style: Bang Bang
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates