DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Undead Slayer
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/13/2012 08:03:38
Barrel Rider Games (and I will admit I love this name) is in the biz (so far) of producing a new class for a buck. Not a bad biz to be in really. There is always a new class that can be made, there is demand and people will part with a dollar pretty easy.

The newest class I picked up is the Undead Slayer. I love undead and all the classes and trappings that go around them; so slayers and necromancers are great in my book.

This class is a very specialized one, against other monsters it has the fighting prowess of the a thief (which isn't bad), but it shines against Undead. I felt the powers it received were fine, I think I would have started them at lower levels to be honest. The feel of this class is akin to the ranger. It has some sneaking ability, some magic and bonuses to fight undead.
If the Cleric is modeled off of the Hammer-era Van Helsing, then this class is more along the lines of a Captain Kronos.

The class might be a little under powered in some respects to be honest. But that is only a read-through and the proof would be in the playing. For example it does have some thief abilities that would aid a party in non-undead adventures.

In earlier reviews of products from Barrel Rider Game I mentioned that I didn't see the Labyrinth Lord Compatibility License. That was an error. It is very clear on the same page as the OGL. This book has it.
I also mentioned that in some of the other classes that I could not find the to-hit and saving throw progression for the classes. I also could not find it in this one. There is only about a page and half of text and about a page of tables. I am sure I would have seen it. I suspect that the undead slayer uses the Clerical to hit and saving throw tables.

I would like to try this class out sometime. I think it would work well in the right kind of adventure. Care though needs to be given that it does not interfere with the cleric's role of hunter of the dead.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Undead Slayer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Timothy - Thanks for your purchase and for catching that formatting error regarding Attack Values and Saving Throws. This has since been corrected!
Red Cross Hurricane Sandy Relief Charity Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Roleplayers Chronicle
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/07/2012 06:11:55
Almost $500 in RPG titles for $20? AND you are still giving money to a worthy cause? How could you NOT do this?

There are plenty of titles here that are worth the 20 bucks alone. But you also get some games that you might not know about.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Cross Hurricane Sandy Relief Charity Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Wizards
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 20:45:48
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. 32 new Arcane discoveries. I haven't played a PF Wizard, but these look fine to me. Certainly a lot of varieties of powers.

There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.
In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Wizards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Wizard Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 20:45:46
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. Two new Archetypes. Not much in the way of new ground here though. Animist is new-ish and the Guild Scholar has been done in the past. Would have liked to have seen more I think.

There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.
In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Wizard Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Witch Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 20:10:37
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. Obviously one I am very interested in. The Desert Witch is a very neat one and one I need to try out sometime. I even have a great name picked out. The Grisly Fetishist is very cool and familiar ground as is the Maleficium. All three are good and look like great fun.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really. In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Witch Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Witches
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 20:10:34
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. Obviously one I am very interested in. This one has 18 new witch Hexes. All of them look good and I'd love to try them all out. Scrying Cauldron is one of my favorites, very witchy.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really. In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Barbarian Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 19:55:50
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. Three archetypes. Favorite is the Viking Marauder It might not really be historically accurate but it does look fun.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really. In my mind this is for the die-hard fans of the class.
In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Barbarian Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Barbarians
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 19:55:48
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. 32 new rage powers. They look good, but Barbarians are just not my thing.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really. In my mind this is for the die-hard fans of the class.
In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Barbarians
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Cleric Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 19:37:38
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. Clerics historically have lended themselves well to different archetypes. Only two new archetypes here, but they are rather good. I like the Voodoo priest in particular in fact. In addition to the archetype there is some great domains associated with the Voodoo Loa. There is some really nice crossover with the Witch here.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.
In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Cleric Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Clerics
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 19:37:36
5 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. At this point in the evolution of the 3.x rules we have covered every domain out there. This book then presents 18 new sub-domains. Some of the powers of the cleric are swapped out for other powers. Of course these could be used as alternate Domains.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.
In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Clerics
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Alchemists
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 17:16:00
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. 18 new alchemical discoveries, 3 of which are grand discoveries.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.
In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Alchemists
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Rogues
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 17:13:19
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. 32 new Rogue talents and advanced rogue talents (7). Great if you enjoy playing rogues and looking to expand an already very expandable class.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.

In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Rogues
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Rogue Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 17:13:16
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. 4 new archetypes for rogues. The Urban Stalker and the Lookout might actually be complete diametrically opposed to each other and still be based on the same class.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.

In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Rogue Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Rangers
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 17:05:16
5 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. Three new combat styles and a bunch of new feats. Great collection for fans of Rangers. There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.
In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Rangers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Ranger Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 17:05:13
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. Three new archetypes. All are variations on a theme, but they work well. There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.
In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Ranger Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 151 to 165 (of 642 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates