DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Class Acts: Monks
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 16:49:56
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. This one has 18 new style feats in 6 feat trees of the styles. Great if you are playing a monk.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Monks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Monk Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 16:44:11
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. Only 2 archetypes here, but very complete. There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Monk Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Magi
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 16:41:34
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. This one has 32 new Magi Arcana. All of them look very useful and could even work as other power for other classes.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Magi
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Gunslingers
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 15:58:04
5 pages and 18 new "Grit" feats. I like the idea of how this works, I am just not sure if I am a fan of Gunslingers in general. But that is nothing against this product.
5 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really. Also this is for the die-hard fans of the class really.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Gunslingers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Magus Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 15:54:57
4 pages, 3 new archetypes, with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.
Of the three I like the Magus Mysterion the best. Lots of potential for this archetype if you really enjoy roleplaying your characters.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Magus Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Druid Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 15:51:35
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really. Three new druid archetypes. Of the three the Faeriethrall looks the most interesting to me.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Druid Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Druids
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 15:39:42
5pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really. A dozen of new Druid Animal domains. could work with clerics too.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Druids
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Fighter Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 15:25:28
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL. 3 new archetypes. I think these would also work well for Paladins, Cavaliers or any other class to be truthful.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Fighter Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Fighters
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 15:21:53
5 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.
Covers a lot of new combat feats for fighters of all sorts. Useful for other classes too.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Fighters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Alchemist Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 15:18:26
4 pages. 1 page for cover, 1 for OGL. The rest covers four different Alchemist archetypes.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Also in nearly every case these are for the die-hard fans of the classes.
Perfect for under a buck really.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Alchemist Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Complete Guide to Dragonkin
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 09:10:09
76 pages, covers, OGL. Pretty packed really. A brief intro and some background on dragon-kin and how they are all connected to each other (an interesting touch). This assumes that a lot of different races inter-bred with dragons like humans, orcs, goblins and of course kobolds. So we have a variety of bloodlines; half-dragons, dragon-touched and "wyrm-bred".
The Half-Dragon Racial Template is presented and the associated powers. If you are playing 3.x/Pathfinder and want to play a "Dragonborn" character then this is a great book. It predates the Dragonborn in 4e and the Dragon bloodline sorcerer in Pathfinder, so a Pathfinder update would be nice to have, but still this is a solid book.
There is a lot in this book. It even covers how these races view, and sometimes worship, the dragons they are related to. There is a chapter on Dragon magic which includes new spells and "dragon egg sculpting".
There is not much in the way of news monsters, but I think that is fine. There is a Dragon/Kobold crossbreed that works well as an antagonist. Especially if your players tend to laugh when you throw kobolds after them.
I compare this book rather favorably to their Complete Guide to Fey. It was because I owned that book (fey) that I felt comfortable picking up this one. I was not disappointed.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Guide to Dragonkin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero's Handbook: Dragonborn
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 09:09:20
99 pages, GSL, covers. There is a quite a lot in this book. While Goodman Games could have used a lot from their previous book (The Complete Guide to Dragonkin) this one has a completely different approach. Dragonborn are well established in D&D4, so none of that material is repeated here. Instead the book covers different clans and variations of Dragonborn. There is also a lot of crunch to go with the fluff. Frankly Dragonborn need a lot more "fluff". Unlike all the other fantasy races, Dragonborn/Dragonkin are really a creation of D&D. Sure there have been other types in the past, but even in the early days of the game their origin is purely a D&D one. That gives this book a lot of room to run.
There is also a nice collection of items to help give this race a sense of history. Plenty of powers for Dragonborn characters, options and magic items. If you are like my son and love to play Dragonborn in 4e then this is a great book to have.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero's Handbook: Dragonborn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/05/2012 15:02:35
Again, I don't expect a lot for a buck. Barrel Rider Games though gives you a whole class for a buck.

This one is a bout Dragons as a class/race. Not Dragonborn or Dragonfolk, but full blown dragons.
Now my first thought is these characters could be unwieldy in a group of adventurers or even overpowered. That is best left to the Labyrinth Lord to decide really.

The book is five pages: Cover, 2 pages for the class, and 2 pages for the OGL.
This one does have the Labyrinth Lord compatibility notice.

There seems to be a bit missing though.
For starters there is no "To Hit AC" tables for the Dragon. Nor are there any Saving Throw tables.
Kind of need these in order to play the character.

I would have liked have seen a little on how to play this character class and what motivates them to adventure.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Mr. Brannan, Thank you for your even-handed, honest review! I'd like to address some of your concerns and continue to receive honest reviews so that Barrel Rider Games can produce even better quality products. The Dragon's description specifically states that it uses the Attack Value and Saving Throws of a fighter. This is done to actually reduce page count, reduce redundancy and keep page count down. When it comes to the power-level of the class, I have to admit that I hemmed and hauled over even publishing this for use with Labyrinth Lord. In the end, your state of leaving it up to the Labyrinth Lord was exactly what I had in mind. I also attempted to limit power by making it a class with fewer levels than Magic-Users or Fighters, to help keep Saving Throws and Attack Values down to compensate for their collection of powers. I thank you again for your honest review and would love for your further input on future Barrel Rider Games products! I will take your concerns and points to mind when developing future BRG products. Thanks so much! Sincerely, James M. Spahn
Assassin
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/05/2012 14:41:51
I don't expect a lot for a buck. Can't buy a bottle of Mt. Dew or a cup of coffee for a buck anymore. But you can buy a class.

This is the classic "1st Edition" class for Labyrinth Lord, but should be compatible with any number of other Old School RPGs.
You get a cover page (oddly formatted, but hey), fours pages of the class and the OGL statement.

The class has what you would expect, tables for advancement and assassinations. Also there is a bit on the use of poisons.

There are, unfortunely a few things missing.

In the missing must haves there is no saving throw advancement tables and no to hit advancement tables.
In the missing like to haves there is nothing on new weapons unique to the assassin. Nothing for example about the garrote, the time honored classic of all assassin weapons. This is almost a missing "must have" to be honest.
Also in there is no Labyrinth Lord compatibly license statement. I am not sure if it needs one, but I could have sworn that there should have been one.

So it has a lot of potential, but the publisher really needs to fix these omissions.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Assassin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Mr. Brannan, Thanks again for your well-thought, professional, honest review. As with the Dragon class you reviewed, both attack values and saves are referred in the class description as using the values featured in the Labyrinth Lore core book in order to reduce redundancy and keep the page count low. Labyrinth Lord compatibility is shown through the image on the cover of the book, just below the BRG logo. As far as the garrote, that's a great idea! I can't believe the thought to include that slipped my mind! I'll be sure to go back in later and update this product to include this weapon. I thought poison was the "iconic" weapon of the assassin as poison, but your review is an example of how honest, even-handed feedback can help me improve the quality of my products! Please, keep the reviews coming, they really help make BRG fast, fun and free-spirited for all my Labyrinth Lord customers! Sincerely, James M. Spahn
Ultimate Fantasy Photo Art Collection
Publisher: Stainless Steel Dragon
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/05/2012 10:47:56
EDITED.

Ok so I grabbed this because it came up in a search for "Drago art" not sure why, there are no dragons in it. That was something of a disappointment, but I kept on going, after all there are a 150+ pages here.

The art varies from semi-serious, to cheesecake. It is all photos with fantasy style trappings and backgrounds. There are some topless women here (and me, fair is fair), but it is all of an artistic sort.

There are not many images here I can use in my games, but the ones that I can seem perfect. There is an African-American male vampire in this is perfect (and they must have also thought this since we get a couple of him), but my opinion was changed with the picture of the "witch" on page 101. Again it is a case of the right thing at the tight time for me. NOTE To publisher: I appreciate the names of the models, but is there anyway to knwo what page they are on? Ok, just who is the model on page 101?

The models are all attractive and we get a variety of types, genders and ethnicity here so that is certainly a plus. One of my first thoughts was there are a lot of good visual images here for a Ravenloft game or some other dark fantasy.

There are also 24 pages of "character sheets" featuring the various models (again the witch on 101 is back on page 150), plus a blank and a back page. Suitable really for most games, but certainly a FRPG in mind.

So while it was not exactly what I was looking for and I also like to buy art I can reuse somehow, I can't fault the publisher any of those.

Great fro printing out and using in a game as a visual aid. Or if there is a character you really want to detail then it's perfect if the character you envision is here.
NOTE To publisher 2: maybe small thumbnails of the pictures on the character sheets might be good on your website? That way if someone sees something they like they have a good reason to buy this.

In truth you get a ton of images for $5 (when on sale). Can't really complain about that.

EDITED TO ADD. You can find some of the images on their website. The vampire I mentioned is there, but not the witch I am fond of.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Fantasy Photo Art Collection
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 211 to 225 (of 685 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates