DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Legendary Levels II
Publisher: Little Red Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/10/2012 07:05:40
This book, like the first LL, deals with Pathfinder "Legendary" Levels, of levels 21 to 30. What 3.0/3.5 called Epic Levels. I think they picked "Legendary" as not to confuse it with D&D4. There is a Legendary Witch in this book, which is why I got it, but the rest is pretty good as well. In particular I liked the Legendary Samurai and the Dragon Lord prestige class. I Would have enjoyed seeing more prestige classes myself, but the book's focus was "Legendary classes" and note really prestige ones. Plenty of new feats and I REALLY liked the art in this book. So at the end of the day it was worth it to me.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Levels II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Tim! Thanks for the review! You don't know how much it helps us to get a good review on a new product! If you'd like advanced copies of some of our stuff in the future we can probably work something out! (However we want an honest opinion- never something sugar coated :D ) Once again thank you so much! All the best, Scott Gladstein Producer Little Red Goblin Games LLC
Capes, Cowls and Villains Foul
Publisher: Spectrum Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/07/2012 07:38:48
Capes, Cowls and Villains Foul (CCaVF) is the eagerly anticipated supers/comic book emulation game from Spectrum Games. The same folks that gave Cartoon Action Hour.

I want to start off by saying that this is an attractive book. At 164 pages of full of color it feels like a comic. Since that is what the author aims to emulate I would say it so far is a success.

I think that is a good place to start. What is CCaVF? Well yes it is a supers game, but it is more a comic book emulation game. Meaning it tries to emulate the play-ability of reading a comic book. This sets it apart from the likes of other purely "Supers" games that might be trying to emulate how a super hero could exist in some sort of reality. Instead the assumption here is comic book reality. This would include things like editorial control or even breaking the 4th wall. Both of which are discussed later.

Chapter 0 is our Introduction which helps lay the ground work for what we will be reading. We are told that physics and logic often take a back seat to drama and excitement. So far I feeling that this will be closer to Marvel Heroic Roleplaying than say Villains and Vigilantes (both of which are great games for different styles of play). We are told that this game is about telling exciting stories with your friends. So far this sounds good. We are told next that this game uses the d12. I love that. The d12 is the oft forgotten die stuck between the mighty d20 and the diva that is the d10.
We also learn that CCaVF is a resource-based game. Now my experiences with resource based supers games has been mixed. So lets see what we have here.

Traits are match against other Traits with various Linked traits. Traits can be Primary or Secondary and after they are Used they become less effective. So someone like Superman would have a Primary Trait of Super-Strength with Secondary Traits of Flight and Heat Vision. Following the example in the book the Traits are bolded. Characters are likely to have 5 to 12 traits. Characters can also have Complications and Factoids. Sounds great! Let's get into the design!

Chapter 1 is Character Design. I like the term "Hero Design" myself, but that is cool. Your "Editor" (GM) will determine how many starting points your character will have. Much like the Power Points of M&M or other games. Except you are not buying the trait itself, you are buying what the trait represents. So a Signature Triat vs. a Secondary one or an Auto Defend. There is a handy chart with all the trait types and levels/ratings so you can add up your points quickly.
CCaVF encourages thinking about your character as a whole. So when making your Batman-clone you would not list all his martial arts but would just list Advanced Combat Training or something like that. Superman would have Super-Sonic Flight while the Carol Danvers Captain Marvel would have Hyper-Flight. So where are these traits listed? They are not. Yup. YOU define what the traits mean. So for example I define an Anamchara trait to go with my Willow & Tara characters. This is a Shared Trait, so the points are split up, but I define what it means and what it does. But don't worry the author gives you some ideas to work with.

The neatest thing though has to be the Editorial Control. These are like supercharged hero points or drama points. Editorial Control can be purchased with points, but is more expensive for more powerful characters. The Editor also gets a pool of EC points as well to use for the villains. There are also examples of various ways to regain EC points. Finally you fill out the character with factoids.
The chapter ends with an example of character creation. This is followed by a quick generation card to get you plying right away. Finally a listing of Heroes and Villains.

Chapter 2 is the Rules chapter.Typically rolls are a d12 some trait. Other times you might need to roll 2 d12s and keep the highest or even 3. The basic idea here is that the action needs to be like that in a comic book. So a bit of time is spent on combat. Now heroes and villains in CCaVF don't have hit points, but they do have Setbacks. Most of the chapter is dedicated to this this idea and some example difficulties are explored. All and all pretty easy.

Chapter 3 is all about Villains. Villains get special treatment in CCaVF. They are created with the same rules that give us heroes, but there is more to them than that. Given the treatment given them here, I think this should be must reading for any superhero RPG player/GM. Heroes are often defined by their villains or rogues gallery. This game did not forget that.

Chapter 4 deals with Options. Things you can do to tweak characters or games. One really nice thing is about how deal with super hero team-ups and what to do when some characters are more powerful than others. There is even a bit on killing (and why it should be avoided) and live action (LARP) supers.

Chapter 5 is a fairly comprehensive example of play. If you normally ignore these please read this one. Many of my questions were answered here. It is a good walk through of how to play the game.

Chapter 6 talks about Issues, or adventures for your new set of heroes and villains. Again there is a lot of good information here for Editors/GMs of any sort of supers game. In particular there is the all important Introductory Issue which brings the team the together. I could not help but think of the team of misfits in the new Justice League Dark while reading this. Fantasy RPG fans should also take note of this chapter since it helps get past that old "you all met in an inn before an adventure".

We end with an Afterword where the author discusses why he made this game. The Appendix has a great glossary, index and cheat sheets for the game.

All in all I am quite pleased with this game. I agree with the author in that I love Supers games, but it is hard to find that perfect game for your group. There have been some great choices that have come out in the last few years, but none are 100% perfect. CCaVF may not 100% perfect either, but it is really damn nice and has a lot of great things going for it.

You can read more here, http://timbrannan.blogspot.com/2012/08/capes-cowls-and-villa-
ins-foul.html
I will also have stated up characters.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Capes, Cowls and Villains Foul
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space 1889: Red Sands
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/06/2012 11:06:36
This is the Savage Worlds update to the classic Space 1899 series. Like it's fore-bearer this is a game where brave men and women from Earth brave the Ether to travel to a dying Mars or a Venus covered in lush jungles and dinosaurs. Based on the works of Burroughs and Verne this is a space travel game with a twist. There is plenty of room for adventure and the importunity to plant the flag of the British Empire on a new world or even find adventure of your own.
It is the Savage World rules and you need the core rules to play this. It is great fun and it is to date the best reason given to me to play Savage Worlds.
The only downside to this is that there is no conversion notes from the old Space 1899 to the new system. But that is minor compared to all the material you get here.

This is a great fun game and I hope I get to play some more of it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space 1889: Red Sands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/06/2012 10:55:00
Adamant Entertainment distilled some of the best features of the Planetary Romance/Sci-Fantasy genre into their Mars books. The lineage is obviously Edgar Rice Burroughs, with Green, Red and White (Ape) Martians. There is also a fair enough amount of H.G. Wells, but I have a hard time seeing this dying Mars invading Earth. As they advertise this is not the Mars of reality, this is the Mars that never was. This is Barsoom as it were. While not "John Carter of Mars the RPG" it can be played that way. There are even some surprises in the form of the Grey Men of Mars. Hint, they are not the "Greys" of later UFO mythology.

There are plenty of options for characters with an emphasis on high heroism and great feats. Imagine all the adventure of Victorian Times and the Pulp Era with the feel of a Space Opera in a D&D campaign then you get an idea of what Mars can do or be. This all reminds me a bit of the "Dying Earth" genre as well, since Mars is dying. Maybe that invasion of Earth is not too improbable after all.

I enjoyed this and really want to play a game on Mars now!
I rated this one a bit higher than the d20 version since I feel the fit with Savage Worlds is a bit better.
This is Savage Mars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/06/2012 10:54:10
Adamant Entertainment distilled some of the best features of the Planetary Romance/Sci-Fantasy genre into their Mars books. The lineage is obviously Edgar Rice Burroughs, with Green, Red and White (Ape) Martians. There is also a fair enough amount of H.G. Wells, but I have a hard time seeing this dying Mars invading Earth. As they advertise this is not the Mars of reality, this is the Mars that never was. This is Barsoom as it were. While not "John Carter of Mars the RPG" it can be played that way. There are even some surprises in the form of the Grey Men of Mars. Hint, they are not the "Greys" of later UFO mythology.

There are plenty of options for characters with an emphasis on high heroism and great feats. Imagine all the adventure of Victorian Times and the Pulp Era with the feel of a Space Opera in a D&D campaign then you get an idea of what Mars can do or be. This all reminds me a bit of the "Dying Earth" genre as well, since Mars is dying. Maybe that invasion of Earth is not too improbable after all.

I enjoyed this and really want to play a game on Mars now!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Classic Fantasy Review: Volume 1, Issue 2
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/03/2012 15:41:09
This might be one of the first Old-School style witches that I purchased. In this supplement for OSRIC we get the Diabolical Witch. A witch that gains her powers and spells from the various demon and devil lords. Its a cross between a cleric and wizard, maybe with more emphasis on the cleric side of things. The level progression is closer to the cleric than the wizard to be honest. There are new spells, just a redistribution of current OSRIC spells. They get a number of special powers, some make sense (clerical turning and shapeshift) others not as much (limited thief abilities). A nice feature is how witches of different demon lords, devils get different powers.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Fantasy Review: Volume 1, Issue 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clipart Critters 220 - Live, Dead, Girls
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:59:17
Zombie girl for publication or personal use.
Easy to understand attached license.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 220 - Live, Dead, Girls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cerberus Stock Art - The Next Decade of Fantasy: Volume 1
Publisher: Cerberus Illustration
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:58:19
44 pages of art (and some ads).
All come in both color and grey scale. Excellent images really.

Includes an easy to read and understand license.
The PDF format is bit more cumbersome, but the art is great.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cerberus Stock Art - The Next Decade of Fantasy: Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Horror figures and clipart 2
Publisher: Black Hand Source
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:54:00
Need some horror images?
These are good to go. 5 images with and without backgrounds.

Attached license is ease to read.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horror figures and clipart 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spot Art set 3
Publisher: Outland Arts
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:51:45
Can't go wrong with these.
Tons of great looking art to dress up any project whether for publication or personal use.
30 images and a guide book. Quite a stellar set really.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spot Art set 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spot Art set 2
Publisher: Outland Arts
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:51:18
Tons of great looking art to dress up any project whether for publication or personal use.
33 images and a guide book. Quite a stellar set really. Great for the price!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spot Art set 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spot Art set 1
Publisher: Outland Arts
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:50:26
Tons of great looking art to dress up any project whether for publication or personal use.
30 images and a guide book. Quite a stellar set really.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spot Art set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clipart Critters 210 - Studying Wizard
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:48:35
Nice art of a wizard in his study with a book.

Included license is easy to read and use.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 210 - Studying Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

AoV: Fantasy Art (Reflections of Voldaria)
Publisher: Stainless Steel Dragon
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:45:36
Fantasy art photos with digital manipulations.
Not bad really, cut from the same cloth as Heavy Metal.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AoV: Fantasy Art (Reflections of Voldaria)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book IX
Publisher: UKG Publishing
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:40:08
Leather book covers in various colors for your projects or personal use.

A magical "page" is also included which I rather liked.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
StockArt Covers: Leather Bound Book IX
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 226 to 240 (of 662 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates