DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
#1 With a Bullet Point: 9 Witch Hunter Feats
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/20/2012 13:01:30
Hard to mess with a good thing. A page for the cover, a page for the OGL and then a page of nine feats for Witch hunters to either protect them from witches or to help them when battling the forces of darkness. If you enjoyed the Genius Guide to the Witch Hunter, then this is a great addition. If you don't have that you can still use this product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
#1 With a Bullet Point: 9 Witch Hunter Feats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Relics and Rituals
Publisher: Nocturnal & Onyx Path
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/20/2012 12:36:51
This was one of the very first additional magic books available for the d20 game. It has a number of things that would be expected. There are a good number of Prestige Classes for starters and I particularly liked the Blood Witch and the Sea Witch. There are new feats and hundreds of new spells. But the real gem of this book and the reason why it is still good to have today are the ritual casting rules. There was a time that including a copy of these was mandatory in any new d20 book magic it seemed. They were frankly some of the best mutli-caster rules I had seen to that date and I have not seen anything else in the d20 world that has since come close. Throw in scads of magic items and the book is a steal at twice this price really.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Relics and Rituals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unorthodox Witches
Publisher: The Le Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/19/2012 15:43:58
EDITED TO ADD: I am revising my review

Original text: A lot of different types of witches built from the d20 rules. A few new ideas and a lot recycled art.
If you are looking for new ideas for witches, wizards or other types of spellcasters. Buy only if you are really into spellcasters.

New Text: After going over this book again there is actually quite a bit more for you money. 55+ pages, and plenty of classes, there is a lot here that can use right out of the box or combine for something new. The key word that I was forgetting here was "Unorthodox" and these certainly fit. While I see this primarily as a GMs tool, there is likely to be a class in here that you will want to try if you are into witches. Just because it is called a Beguiler or Crescent flyer, doesn't matter, that is just to separate them all out from each other.

There is something good here if you like arcane classes. Or any class with a bit of mystery to it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Swords Into Plowshares
Publisher: Sean K Reynolds Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/09/2012 16:54:09
I enjoyed the heck out of this one. Lots of interesting magic items and a great cause behind it all.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords Into Plowshares
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[PFRPG] The Book of Divine Magic
Publisher: 4 Winds Fantasy Gaming
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/09/2012 16:51:25
the Book of Divine Magic adds more material to your cleric, druid and paladin classes (and Rangers). There is a list of gods and their domains. Plenty of new spells. Rules for temples and divine animal companions (like familiars) and new magic items and relics. Avery densely packed 94 pages.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] The Book of Divine Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the review!
[PFRPG] The Book of Arcane Magic
Publisher: 4 Winds Fantasy Gaming
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/09/2012 16:46:18
Another great book from 4-Winds Fantasy Gaming. This one focuses on the Arcane Spellcaster in Pathfinder. While the book predates the APG Witch, a lot of these new spells and ideas can be used with the witch. Of course they are all also fine to use as they are. In particular I liked all the new Sorcerer bloodlines and colleges of Wizardry. I like the idea of my wizard doing post-graduate work in magic.
There are new familiars, spells and magic items. So it is worth it just for these.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] The Book of Arcane Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you very much for the review!
[PFRPG] Paths of Power
Publisher: 4 Winds Fantasy Gaming
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/09/2012 16:38:23
Described as a source book for Base and Prestige Classes. This book features a new Witch class. This witch has "Circle" magic and gets spells based on Wisdom as do the witches in the 3.0 book I did years ago. This witch is a nice alternative to the Pathfinder Witch. If you were to use both I would call this one a "Witch" and the APG one a "Warlock". In addition to the witch we get the Anti-Paladin, elemental wizards, gladiators, samurai and the Voyager. NPC classes include the Courtesan, Captain and Sycophant. Truthfully I only found the Courtesan useful. Prestige classes include the Child of Bast, Crypt Stalker and the Envenomed. Personally I would have liked the PrCs to be a little more related to the base classes.
There is though plenty of magic items and spells. There are also plenty of new witch-related feats.
Since I bought it for the witch alone, I am actually pretty satisfied with what I got.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Paths of Power
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your review!
Arcane Classes: Hermetic Magic
Publisher: 93 Games Studio
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/09/2012 16:27:55
Advanced classes fro d20 Mod. The presents the Hermetic Mage. A caster of the same ilk as Alistair Crowley. 21 pages including cover and OGL, it is actually pretty packed. Lots of good ideas on expanding the magic used in the d20 Mod system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Classes: Hermetic Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades Of Gods & Monsters
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/09/2012 16:19:54
A collection of gods and monsters from various myths and legends. It immediately reminds you of the of Deities and Demigods, but it is closer in format to the earlier Gods, Demigods and Heroes.

The myths are well represented, though there are a few oddities. The Greek and Roman myths are separate and the demi-human myths could have been left out.

I did like all the new spells for clerics of the various gods. That was a good touch.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Of Gods & Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades Classic Monsters The Manual
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/09/2012 16:16:11
A fantastic collection of monsters from the original Fiend Folio, Monster Manual 2 and various publications. All revised to be used in in Castles & Crusades. Not a "must have" book, but certainly a "you will really, really want it and kick yourself if you don't get it" book.
It is a fantastic edition to my C&C collection and I Am very glad I bought it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Classic Monsters The Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Primeval RPG Core Rulebook
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/09/2012 15:45:27
There is an absolute ton to like about this game. First, things first, yes. It is the same system as C7's fantastic Doctor Who game. That end and of itself is enough to merit it a good review. The system is simple and gets out of the way to allow you to just play the game they way you like. Secondly let's talk about the art and layout. Plenty of stills from the series, but the layout is still top notch and the text is easy to read.

So what is Primeval? Well if you have not watched the series in England (or on BBC America here State-side) then you are missing out on some fun. Basic premise: Anomalies in Time are opening up allowing all sorts of creatures from the past and the future to walk through, whether it is a Dodo or gigangantic Giga-Rex. The team at the Anomaly Research Center have to deal with it. Which means of course now YOU have to deal with it. Of course maybe your cast is not with the ARC, instead you could be independent. Frankly I can't wait to run a game with an investigate news team seeking out anomalies to get them on the news or net.

Like many games, you have basic Attributes. In this case six of them that are ranked 1 to 6. These are all point buys, so choose wisely. You also have skills, whit general skills and areas of expertise. You could be great with Technology, but your specialty is Computer Hacking or Surveillance Systems. These are also ranked 1 to 6.

The basic rule is Attribute Skill 2d6 vs. some Target number. Simple as it can get really.

You also have various Good and Bad traits that can be bought. Sometimes these add to your roll, but could subtract from others. These help define who you are.

You character is then topped off with Story Points, which can be used in play.

After all the character creation rules we get a nice bit on Group Creation where you can also buy some Group Traits.

This is followed by the official cast stats including the human adversaries. We also get some tips on playing ARC-related games. This is followed by something completely different and we given tips on how to play a "Dinosaur Hunter" style game. So two campaign models for the price of one.

We get into the basic rules section, including combat and chases. You spend a lot of time running away from things in Primeval. There is a nice overview of gadgets and equipment.

Next up descriptions of the various epochs of time.
And the Monsters. The Monsters of course are the real treat of this book. Plenty of examples are given and advice on how to create your own beastie from the past, or future.

A Gamemastering section is included on how to run the games. Followed by chapters on Adventures and Conspiracies.

A look into the Future is up next. Primeval tends to focus mostly on Dinos, I think because Dinosaurs are cool. But the creatures from the future are also very interesting.

Primeval is a fantastic game that should give a creative GM many, many sessions of adventure. While there is certain emphasis on dinos coming in from the anomalies, there is no reason to limit it to that. What about Neanderthals? or worse a victim of the Black Plague wanders into modern London? The possibilities are endless really.

Now of course I have to mention that the game is compatible with Doctor Who. It opens up an exponentially growing amount of stories when the two games are combined. The game becomes worth it for the dinos alone for Doctor Who, or the creatures in Who for Primeval. Honestly there is no way to go wrong here.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Primeval RPG Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Folkloric - The Underhill Court
Publisher: Dog Soul Publishing
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/06/2012 13:15:34
Not a bad product really. Great in fact if you need ideas for a Seelie/Unseelie court or want to play up the "faerie lands" more.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Folkloric - The Underhill Court
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Treasures of the Sidhe
Publisher: Dog Soul Publishing
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/06/2012 13:14:07
Not a bad product. 45 new magic items of various degrees; most I thought were fine. It lacks art a lot of art, but for under 3.00 you are getting a lot of magic items and 1 new monster. Great if you are running a 3.x game bases around the Sidhe or the Seelie/Unseelie courts.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of the Sidhe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bardic Lore: Ogham
Publisher: Highmoon Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/06/2012 12:43:48
This is a well researched guide on Ogham, the written language of stones often seen near ancient Celtic settlements. This product blends historical findings with mythology to give us something very cool indeed. New ideas for Druids and Bards using Ogham are included along with a new feats, skill uses and revised spell lists. What is nice is the chart of the Ogham characters with sounds, English letter equivalents, and tree names. A lot of research went into all of this and the quality shows. Don't take it as a historical treatise on Ogham, but it is a great tool for a game. Nominally d20/3.5 but really the most of it can be used in any game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bardic Lore: Ogham
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bardic Lore: The Fachan
Publisher: Highmoon Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/06/2012 10:47:03
Celtic myth and lore is full of strange creatures. Some that don't quite have an analogue anywhere else. The Fachan is one such creature. Their might be similar creatures in other myths (I bet the Japanese or the myths of India have something like this) but none I can recall off the top of my head. This book gives us the background on the Fachan, 3.x style monster stats and some ideas to use it in your games. There is also a Fachan NPC and some notes on using the beastie as a character race. All in all not bad, and then when you consider the price then it is great.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bardic Lore: The Fachan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 271 to 285 (of 665 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates