DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2005 00:00:00
A nice set of "generic" temple tiles, with a few specials (e.g. serpent temple) to liven the place up.

You can also buy short sets of specials e.g. temple of the sun very cheaply to add more variety to the set.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vigilance
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2005 00:00:00
This is an early edition of the Vigilance game, from 2002.

Things have moved on since then, but this product is still a good introduction on how to do a super hero game using the d20 system.

It retains most of the usual d20 features - character classes, prestige classes, "races" and feats - and adds on super powers.

Its very hard to give a star rating to a product this old, so I've compromised on 3 stars.



LIKED: Its great value for money.

DISLIKED: It sticks too closely to the standard d20 system, whereas I think for super hero games the system needs to be tweaked a bit more.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vigilance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SOAP: The Game of Soap Opera Mayhem
Publisher: Wingnut Games
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2005 00:00:00
All you need to run your own soap opera game, you don't even need a GM.

Its short, well written and funny.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SOAP: The Game of Soap Opera Mayhem
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In the Saddle: Horses and other Mounts
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2005 00:00:00
This is a great product.

The title does not do justice to the range of its contents, which include :-

how to look after mounts
accessories for mounts
magic items for mounts
a new class (Mongol)
new prestige classes
rules for chariots
new skills
new tricks for mounts
new feats
new monsters suitable for use as mounts

There's something here for everyone, and its presented in a clean cut, easy to read format.

LIKED: I was particularly taken with the rules for chariots, the entry for the "Riding Hare" (fast and cuddly, but it'll eat you out of house and home) and the new tricks you can teach your mount.

DISLIKED: Some bits grabbed me more than others (I probably won't use any of the prestige classes, for example) but there was nothing I didn't like.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Saddle: Horses and other Mounts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Daemornia: The Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Better Mousetrap Games
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2005 00:00:00
I bought this product for the setting, rather than the mechanics.

The setting is a interesting, so I was satisfied.

LIKED: The quantity of artwork - most creatures, weapons etc. get a picture.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Daemornia: The Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Boomtown Planet
Publisher: Better Mousetrap Games
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2005 00:00:00
I bought this for the setting, rather than the game mechanics, and got what I wanted - a detailed decription of a town and its newspaper, for not much money.

LIKED: The level of detail, and the large number of potential sources of conflict.

DISLIKED: I would have liked a few short adventure ideas to have been included, and there aren't any.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Boomtown Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Society: Beast Builder
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2005 00:00:00
This is an excellent, in depth look at monster design.

It contains an extensive catalogue and analysis of monster types and notes on ecology.

I think they have pitched the level just about right - its as much like a textbook as it needs to be to get all the detail across, but not to the extent that it gets boring or repetitive.

Its definitely not light reading, though.

LIKED: The level of detail.

DISLIKED: I'd have liked a bit more artwork to break up the text.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Beast Builder
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(Aid) SRD 3.5 Revised (Full) Bundle
Publisher: Creative Mountain Games
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2005 00:00:00
There is nothing new here - its just the 3.5 SRD, but in a very user friendly format.

The PDFs are all linked together, via an index PDF, so its easy to find what you are looking for.

LIKED: The links between the PDFs - I'd never seen that done before.

DISLIKED: Nothing - I got exactly what I was expecting.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(Aid) SRD 3.5 Revised (Full) Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

True20 Adventure Roleplaying
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2005 00:00:00
I love the True20 system.

Its OGL rather than d20, but its close enough to d20 that its quick and easy to pick up, yet only needs one dice to play and its easy to customise characters.

I've also been sent 2 updated versions since I bought the original PDF, so Green Ronin have been very good with updates.

LIKED: The lack of rigidly defined class abilities; everything is a feat and the class you choose simply determines what feat types are available, and there is a feat each level so all the levels mean something.

DISLIKED: Its still in its infancy, so there are quite a few typos. However, these are being cleared up.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
True20 Adventure Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 24 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates