DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Broken Earth (Savage Worlds)
Publisher: Sneak Attack Press
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2014 23:28:52
This is one of the best SW settings I have read(and I have nearly ALL of them). I really like how the communities are set up to grow and improve somewhat like character might. A community has Edges and resources and there are (very playable-non cumbersome) rules for how this works and how the PCs can adventure to help gain these elements for a town! The PCs grow and level as in all SW settings but in BW the communities are alive and need the PCs to flourish. This concept alone could fuel a enjoyable campaign that could go for years (REAL and GAME). Broken Worlds is very much about survival and all the drama and action it takes to do just that! As a GM, Broken Worlds got me dreaming up story lines right away - that's how I know it's a winner! If you like the genre and SW - get this!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Broken Earth (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HERO System 6th Edition Core Book Character Pack For Hero Designer
Publisher: Hero Games
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2014 17:46:15
The characters do NOT have any equipment. You have to guess what they would have and create it becaue Here designer does NOT come with any equipment. You could buy a supplement that has created equipment(prefabs), or download user creations from the net. The characters in this sup should already have equipment. They do not; because of this I am not satisfied. This is why I give this a 3.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System 6th Edition Core Book Character Pack For Hero Designer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Act Ten Core Rules
Publisher: Act Ten Role Playing Network
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2013 19:24:39
I have a problem with this PDF and at this point it's is NOT with the rules. I opened the PDF and saw that not only were there no bookmarks but I could not add any. This is way up there in my "Thinks I can't accept in a PDF game book." I didn't even get to truly read the rules yet. I purchased it because of the reviews and the star ratings. I know a bad review for no bookmarks seems petty but I rely on bookmarks for ease and quickness of access when I use a PDF at the game table . They are, in my opinion, essential for PDF reference reading. If you update with bookmarks and I will delete this.

I will say that the comic book art is different and well done. Gives it a look a feel. Nicely done there.

Now, please add some bookmarks OR allow the ability to create them.

Thanks.

Bob

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Act Ten Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I wasn\'t aware there was an issue with bookmarks, sorry about that. I will check into this and see about getting it fixed. Thanks for letting me know about this issue.
Numenera
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2013 02:14:52
Adventure on Earth a billion years in the future! Now called “The Ninth World”! (read the book for the details). Fantasy and pseudoscience collide! Ancient civilizations have left their amazing, useful and dangerous stuff for you to discover (this is the “Numenera”) and they also have left footprints on the landscape and on reality itself. A place where possible trumps impossible nearly every time!

The character creation is absolute genius! Over 1000 possible combinations and yet with the systems elegant design a newbie can create the perfect character in just a few minutes (providing there is someone who knows the game to help).

The RULES of Numenera are lean and efficient. The story flows and the rules don't get in the way. It uses a difficulty scale with ten levels for ALL game actions. The mechanics are smooth and intuitive. I like this.

The setting “The Ninth World” its people, creatures, mysteries and more is brought to life in great detail. The PDF purchase comes with a high res map of the areas described. The setting is strange and marvelous and overflowing with adventure ops.

One thing that turned me off is how Monty talks about the Numenera Earth as “truly weird”. I like mystery, danger, discovery, strange, odd, unpredictability but I don't like WEIRD. That word never got my dice rolling. Monty describes a Ninth World wilderness setting like a Dali painting. He alludes that it is not uncommon to see trees made of crystal and fields of gray goo where it rains fish! It sounds like how an old hippie would describe a bad LSD trip. However, to his benefit(and this great game), only here and there does Monty's vision of Numenera Earth come off as Wonderland. I think he got a little long-winded in a few places. Step away from the word processor. :-)

One more thought on the “weird” thing:
I believe a setting that TENDS TO BE WEIRD is MUCH more interesting than a setting that IS WEIRD.
If you feel this way too, read in Chapter 23 a section called “Different Ways To Use The Ninth World”. Here you get some starting points for YOUR Numenera. Don't miss that part!

My vision of Numenera will be a place where the local Aeon Priest will weave treacherous tales of the Beyond and why you must NEVER leave the city! Instead the Priest says “You should pay that guy and his friends plenty of shins to go out and brave this dangerous world for you!”

Just about all of Numenera is absolutely ground breaking and innovative in cool and fun ways. I recommend it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Numenera
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2009 17:45:31
I just spent 30 minutes writing a review for The Keep and my RPG Now Login timed out. If you write a review, write it first in a word processor then past it in. How about a Warning pop up with an "I'm Still here" button.

Anyway....

I like the keep. I was using a Journal program that uses a tree structure. However, it did NOT have gaming features. The Keep does. I use a laptop to GM. I prepare my game on it and use it for note taking, sounds, and images. The Keep gives me features that no Journal program has. If you use a PC at the game table, get The Keep.

• Dice rolled is good for quiet rolls (no sound effects are included). I will use it more now that I am becoming fond of it.
• The GM Screen is cool for showing images (maps etc…) on an external monitor.
• The ability to view PDFs inside The Keep is fantastic. Yes, you have to have Adobe Reader and its free. I have the PDF versions of many of my game books. I don’t have to alt-tab not to read them. COOL!
• Inspiration Pad is very useful and FREE. You will use this more than you think. Get it and install it into The Keep

What I didn’t like…
• I don’t like that you can’t change the icons. This is BAD. When your nodes get to be many they all start to blend and it’s gets confusing. You HAVE to make a way to add and/or change icons. I am surprised that you can’t now.

What I would like to see…
• A sound effect panel like the dice and the search. Just attack a sound (mp3 and/or wave) and name a button for it. Press the button and --- The sound of a fire ball (or whatever you want). User supplies the fireball of course.


The Keep is a good piece of gaming software and I hope that NBOS will support it by adding new features and fixing any bugs that may arise.


I am please with this purchase.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Swamp Shoreline
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2009 18:33:24
This are good quality and useful for my game. I don't like them as much as the wilderness set I have. There is too much matching up with these. No all tiles go well together. Still the best buy out there in my opinion. If you need tilles to make a swamp get these.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Swamp Shoreline
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Deciduous Wilderness
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2009 18:25:42
I use RPtools Maptool when I DM. I use a second monitor and/or some players have a laptop and we network. These tiles (e-Adventure Tiles: Deciduous Wilderness) got the job done for me. I needed a way to map wooded areas and be able to do it on the fly or planned.

I need more stuff like this. Tiles for virtual table tops. Counters too.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Deciduous Wilderness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Urban Designs: New Glory Naval Base
Publisher: Darkfuries Publishing
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2007 00:00:00
This product is loaded with usable info and maps. You can uses the base as a whole or take individual maps and the associated information as stand alone. The detail is here. This is one PDF that is worth the price. If you are looking for a great location supplement, THIS is it!
I could offer a detailed critique but it would all come down to this: This product delivers. There is meat on the bone here.

As always, this is my opinion and your opinion may vary.

Bob


LIKED: It delivered. It is what it promises and more.

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Designs: New Glory Naval Base
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
Publisher: Crafty Games
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2006 00:00:00
I think Spycraft 2.0 is great. However, after purchasing the PDF for $24.95 here, I went to Amazon.com and found the hard copy print version for $25.17 with FREE shipping. I wish I went to Amazon and got the print copy. $24.95 for a file! I feel ripped off! And I can't get a refund. I know, nobody twisted my arm. I should have priced the print version since the PDF was close to a discount print price.




QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Ripped Off

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Point of order - the PDF here is the pre-release PDF of Spycraft 2.0's second printing, to be released by Mongoose later this summer. This document incorporates all errata and rebuilds the sometimes-problematic Chapter 4, which you will not find in your Amazon copy. If they still have it, considering the first printing is now sold out :) Sorry you feel cheated, but in the end you are getting the most recent and best version of Spycraft 2.0 yet.
ScreenMonkey v1.5
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2005 00:00:00
Screen Monkey delivers. It's simple to use and the only person who needs the software is the host of the game. Players can use any browser. Some features require IE and I use IE, but it is NOT needed to make this program work. I like it. I use it. I recommend it if you want to have a map, players and chat in an online game.

Yes it IS usable with a two monitor set. If you want to use the GM screen feature to send a different view to the players at a table top game, make sure that your setup has the capability to send a DIFFERENT view than what YOU see to the second monitor. This is especially important to check if you are using a laptop. Many laptops have what is called CLONED output which means the second (external) monitor is a clone (the same view) of the laptop screen.





QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenMonkey v1.5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fractal Mapper 7.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2005 00:00:00
Fractal Mapper 7 is a good mapper for games. It has plenty of features and was (when I purchased it) more than $10 less than Campaign Cartographer. I use both programs and I can say without hesitation that either one will get the job done as a gaming mapper. Although the interface for Fractal Mapper can be a bit clicky, the features over shadow any interface short comings. The program is solid and well worth the $25.20 I paid. The discount was a big reason I purchased. I will NOT pay package price for a download. No matter what the sellers say it IS cheaper for them to sell downloads and they should pass on the savings.


LIKED: The features delivered what I needed. I was creating in no time. I used the well written help file when I got stuck. Buy with confidence(if it was bad I would say). Fractal Mapper 7 is a good mapping tool for gaming.

DISLIKED: Nothing really. The interface needs some hot keys and context menus. This product is pretty solid.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper 7.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamemaster's Guide
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2005 00:00:00
This is a great system. Too bad its OOP. I have the PDFs now because I run the game from a laptop. I can search the GG and the PCs wont know (no more..."hey the GM is looking for something, and that's never good...").

DISLIKED: That it's OOP.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamemaster's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2005 00:00:00
This was exactly what I expected, and that's good. A few pages that can help bring the scene to life. Nice layout and interesting writing. I use it often

LIKED: It lives up to its title.

DISLIKED: Nothing significant enough to mention.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2005 00:00:00
If you want to bring your fantasy gaming world to life, THIS IS THE BOOK. Every GM of ANY fantasy system has to have this. It's the detail that you crave, without having to spend 2 years researching(and still never finding all the goodies in MMS:WE).
EXCELLENT PRODUCT - Don't hesitate, buy it.
This is the best resource of its kind!

LIKED: EVERYTHING.

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GRIM TALES: Mass Combat
Publisher: Bad Axe Games
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2005 00:00:00
I think GRIM TALES: Mass Combat is close, but not perfect. I wanted a bit more detail. It's great for quick battles and then back to PC play.

LIKED: It was easy to learn and provided quick resolution to mass battles. I got what I paid for.

DISLIKED: I could have been bigger with more depth. Not like Fields Of Blood, just a bit more meat on the bone.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
GRIM TALES: Mass Combat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates