DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
 
$7.50
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 16
2 11
1 2
1 1
1 1
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Click to view
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Stephane G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2013 13:40:02
I have bought it and do not regret it. Already i have used a few seeds in my Shaintar campaign, allowing my players to go beyond the dungeon adventure. The various twists, even if you don't use them can sprout other ideas.

I have ear marked plenty of the seeds for the future use and i look forward to use one of them in the next game.

This is a very good value and an excellent product (despite the occasional typos).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by wesley c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2010 01:12:06
I love all the 100 series product's I have which include, the entire places line and all of the story seeds, but this one is my favorite. as some one who runs a D&D game and is currently student teaching it is hard to find time to design encounters let alone a plot this allows me to pick out a story I think is cool then build around it this combined with the 100 kingdoms is a must have for any one running any fantasy game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by christopher l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2010 11:05:20
As a DM who runs a weekly game and works 60+ hours a week, I don't always have time to get well prepared for my games. The seeds in this book can be taken and in a pinch provide a story basis for several meets worth of games. It gives you the fundamentals from which to build great games without bogging you down with lots of erroneous extra details. Sometimes, I just roll % dice and find whichever storyline corresponds and find a way to work it into my existing game. Simply put, this is an excellent product for any DM, and more than worth its small price tag!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/07/2010 20:07:12
This PDF starts off with advice on creating adventures. There's a deconstruction of traditional adventure modules, notes on how player actions destroy plotlines, and places to find inspiration. That's all of two pages, then in plunges into the meat: the plots.

Each plot gets a page, with a title, description of what goes on, several possible twists that can be introduced, and an epilogue offering suggestions on what could happen after the adventure concludes. The twists are nice, because it allows you to use the same basic plot more than once. The epilogues offer ways to segue into the next adventure, and even act as mini-hooks for follow-ups or sequels to the plot.

If you like this, I'd suggest checking out other PDFs in the series, including 100 Sci-Fi Adventure Seeds and 100 Horror Adventure Seeds. It would be interesting to steal a plot from one genre and adapt it to another, giving to even more adventure possibilities.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2009 14:56:33
I love these types of products, and this collection is nothing short of amazing! Each seed is described in full detail on one page, with three twists that can be applied to each seed, and an epilogue.

In addition, ideas are sprinkled in with each seed providing notes and adventure hints to add even more variety, giving you a very useful product indeed. The first ten seeds alone gave me numerous adventure ideas, and are simply great fun to read.

James has provided a remarkably detailed and very creative supplement that can easily be inserted into an ongoing campaign with a little tweaking.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2009 15:43:00
This is an excellent brainstorming work that will help any GM who is designing a fantasy campaign and wants to establish interesting and evocative things for the player characters to be doing.

Let's get the negative out of the way first: There are a few awkward phrases and/or bad editing in places, and there is not much attention given to exactly how one is supposed to use the work itself (although the GM advice that's given is fine.) Maybe I'm supposed to know whether my group wants to teleport from problem to problem or if they are all supposed to be linked somehow, but it would be nice to know how I am to figure that out and how to implement it.

Now on to the positive, and there's a lot of it. Unlike other "adventure hook" books, this one goes into considerable detail on the hooks. Each is given a full-page writeup, each has at least two possible twists, and an "epilogue" that presents different ideas for what could happen after the adventure is over. The hooks cover all sorts of fantasy, from grim-and-grody to high-flying pseudotechnological. I can't even conceive of a fantasy campaign so strange that at least some of these seeds wouldn't be useful.

Plenty of the hooks also have "ideas" listed in sidebars. These are pieces of advice specific to GMs running with that idea - how to keep gladiator fights interesting, for example, or how the PCs might interact with students at a magical school.

I've used many of these hooks in my campaigns - sometimes even dressing one up as another - and they're easy to prepare and understand. That can be a great benefit to a GM.

There are no bookmarks or other PDF special features, which I suppose fits the "every page a different thing" part of the work.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Todd R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2007 00:00:00
I purchased "100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds" and "100 Fantasy Kingdoms" as a combo pack. I am very pleased with both volumes.


LIKED: The number of new ideas presented (or old ideas reworked) in this rpg accessory should allow any GM to find something new (or a least a new take on something) to throw at his/her players. In addition, each core idea includes several possible plot twists, adding to the usefulness of the ideas presented. Perusing this text gets the old GM creative juices flowing.

DISLIKED: A bit of illumination of the text or some interior art would add to this product, but since it is basically a source book of ideas, the lack of art is not a significant drawback.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2006 00:00:00
100 Horror Seeds:
Focuses on "Monster of the Week" at the expense of exploring a horror mythos like Call of Cthulhu or the vampire, or themes like GURPS Dragons (dragons as gods, as kung fu metaphysics). However, author realizes the concepts of horror (isolation, identity, powerlessness, etc.) are slightly more limiting and compensates.

100 SF Seeds:
Great stuff. Slightly more geared toward cinematic planetary space opera or planetary romance. It could have used a few settings as well as plots (adventures in the Confederacy worlds of ... where space is very thin between alternate realities). That is not to say the many plots suggest settings, tone, power level, etc.

100 Fantasy Seeds:
Slightly geared more to heroic fantasy, but has enough other genres (realistic, magic realism, fantasy without magic, etc) to provide ideas.
Also does not solely focus on "the quest", but includes fascinating people as plot starters as well as non-standard items/places/times as plot triggers.

Overall: I can't wait until 100 Super Heroic Seeds or 100 Time Travel Seeds! And with all three PDFs you can mix and match between them (magical people and/or monsters in space? sure you can: "Lords of the Star Wars Rings").

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2006 00:00:00
I already have 100 Sci-Fi Seeds by the same author, and was very disappointed by this product. The set-up was the same: after an excessively wordy and self-congradulating preface, you get 100 seeds, each on its own page, complete with varible plot-twists and suggestions.

Where it broke down from the sci-fi version was poor writing, poor editing, and very sub-standard material.

As to the writeing, an example from #15:

'...and the desperate poor wherever they go desperate for a crust..."

Repetitive use of the same descriptive terms, lack of puncutation, and run-on sentences.

As to poor editing, from the same entry (I don't want to post too much of the product, so I'll stick with #15, which was average in terms of errors)

"...the village is so starved that its people have turned to starvation."

They turned to cannabalism, actually, the thrust of the entire plot-twist.

As to sub-standard, many of the 'seeds' are simply plot descriptions of Pirates of the Carribian, or descriptions of various elements of the Diskword books. Over a tenth of the seeds involve capturing/killing creatures for various zoos, collections, or dining experience, and likewise the collection of rare elements for various purposes, the traditionial 'FedEx' sub-plots very GM resorts to when needing to kill time. There is very little material which could be considered real 'seeds'.


LIKED: Not much.

DISLIKED: The author has a very juvenile attitude towards several organized religions, both Christian and non-Christian.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
This was the first book in the series and as such is more 'rough and ready' than the others before they were shaken down. Still, to go from a five star review to a one star review on what is, essentially, the same product - seems a little harsh. I also find, that when criticising an author's spelling, punctuation or grammar it is generally a good idea not to make mistakes of your own in your critique ;) Lastly, I'd say that fantasy tropes are much more heavily rehashed and reused than any others in roleplaying and thus such things, even if relatively original, tend to feel stale. That's what the twists and suggestions in these are for. They take what might seem to be a hackneyed and old fashioned stereotypical fantasy plot and layer other ideas over it. Still, given the other reviews I don't find the odd fly in the ointment to be too much of a worry. Perhaps you'd like Horror more?
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Armando S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00
Very usefull handy-dandy DM aide...especially when an impromptu adventure gathering happens and you are caught with nada for a new adventure...gets the ball rolling quite well.


LIKED: Many choices

DISLIKED: Lots of white space in document.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Bjorn T. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2006 00:00:00
A fantastic compendium of ideas which can be used as encounters, provide inspiration for your own plots or expanded into full adventures if need be.

Not all ideas fit into every setting, and not all hooks suit your game tone, but even the ones that seem a misfit at first are extremely useful as inspiration. For example, one of my encounters happened on the road while the players were travelling from one place to the next (it was suggested as a city encounter for immobile players), and used a different group of people than suggested, but the core idea was still the same, and I've managed to expand this little encounter to a fundamental part of my campaign due to the useful "additional ideas" the follow each basic seed.


LIKED: - Good ideas; some are vanilla but most display a good sense of plotting
- Great how each seed displays additional ideas for expanding the encounter or integrating the encounter into your campaign.

DISLIKED: - A few seeds seem to assume a lot about the tone of your campaign world, but none of them are too radical and easily be adapted

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Heidi R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2006 00:00:00
This is a great product - heaps of fun ideas and good value!


LIKED: Content is terrific. Fun writing style.

DISLIKED: Decorative formatting means it is more expensive to print than it should be.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Elzbeth M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2005 00:00:00
Good seeds, layout is nice. However, the author needs to learn how to use punctuation marks, as the lack of them sometimes affects the ease of reading the passages. Commas and periods can be wonderful things.

Other than the need for proof-reading and technical editing, this is a nice collection of adventure seeds. The Twists options are intersting, and the Epilogues will give you more ideas with where to take the scenario after the initial setup is achieved.

For the price, this is a very good DL purchase, and I am very satisfied. If I were paying for a hardcopy book, I would expect better editing and would be less satisfied.

LIKED: Nice layout, concise and easy to follow, interesting twists and epilogues.

DISLIKED: Apparent lack of proof-reading left out many punctuation marks that would make the text easier to understand.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Aaron S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2005 00:00:00
This was an excellent purchace, and I'm very glad I made it.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Mary J. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2005 00:00:00
This genuinely has 100 Fantasy Adventure Seeds. How sad is it that I thought there might be some fudging in the advertising of such. But the creators deliver. The format and explanation is very clear and easy, easy to read and understand. The seeds themselves provided me with several ideas I can "seed" throughout the next little bit of my campaign. And I look forward to utilizing more.

LIKED: The layout is very simple, but very pleasant. I've printed off all 112 (?) pages to put in my binder.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates