DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!










Back
Big Damn Armies $5.00 $4.00
Average Rating:3.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 2
3 2
0 2
0 2
0 2
Big Damn Armies
Click to view
Big Damn Armies
Publisher: Team Frog
by Craig D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2012 15:49:58
Did not like it and would not have purchased it at all if I could of reviewed the contents. The game is basic and the counters for "Big Armies" are just poor quality, do not recommend it sorry.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Big Damn Armies
Publisher: Team Frog
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2006 00:00:00
Want to fight a really large war with lots amd lots of goodies? this is your game! Gives you the tools you need to so. So enjoy the thrill of the masses! Don't about a few losses, there are many more to replace them!


LIKED: All of it.

DISLIKED: None.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Damn Armies
Publisher: Team Frog
by Craig B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2004 00:00:00
Almost too goofy. I kinda wish there was more of a warning that this was a tongue in cheek game other than the name.

LIKED: Simple is good.

DISLIKED: A little too simple and a little too tongue in cheek.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Big Damn Armies
Publisher: Team Frog
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2004 00:00:00
One word... Bleah! One more waste of my money. I cant even bring myself to print this out on paper and the Trash Bin is to clean to sully it with! I'll stick with Savage worlds.

LIKED: Nothing! This and All Purpose Minature Rules just dont work for me.

DISLIKED: Everything. Mechanics, art.... nothing. It may be to some peoples tastes, but not mine.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Ripped Off


Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Big Damn Armies
Publisher: Team Frog
by B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2004 00:00:00
This is a neat little package, a minimal game for gamers who either are just looking for a quick, cheap diversion or are interested in minatures but daunted by the size and cost of most such products.

The rules are short and fairly straighforward, pared down to just the basics. Included in the package are quite a few pages of cut-out, fold-up stands with one or more figures per fold-up. The backside of each stand has all the stats needed for that stand of figures--kind of a handy and clever feature. The graphics are well-drawn, but when they were reduced and inserted into the framework, most of the figures' lines got so thin they did not reproduce well. Converted from a print product, it suffers a little in the transition to PDF.

Future expansions are mentioned in the text, but it seems doubtful at this point that they will ever come to be. Team Frog is good at coming out with neat little games like this, but not so good at following up and supporting them, so buy it expecting this to be all you can get. But do buy it.

All in all, it is a nice little item, a pretty good deal for the low price. The modern verison of the microgame of years past.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Big Damn Armies
Publisher: Team Frog
by Shaun A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2004 00:00:00
The Product is good value for money but very limiting with what you can do with it. There is little room for expanding the armies included in the rules. There are some good concepts but I think the product could be improved.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Big Damn Armies
Publisher: Team Frog
by jason r. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2004 00:00:00
Loved it! 8 Pages of rules and double that in cutout minis! Each unit has its information on the mini, so there's no looking up anything, everything you need is right on the board.

Great concept, great game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Damn Armies
Publisher: Team Frog
by Will W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2003 00:00:00
Cheap and fun. How else can you field armies hundreds of soldiers strong for $5 and the price of a box of paper?

This product could use a little rewriting, the point system is there, just a little obscured, and a system for making your own units would be nice.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Big Damn Armies
Publisher: Team Frog
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2003 00:00:00
Positive (five stars): Excellent quick-play rules set. Makes a fabulous introduction to miniatures gaming to kids, spouses, etc. Difficult to beat the price. Print as many figure stands as you want or need!

Negative: My downloaded copy did not come with the MicroTactix tower model, as the ad-copy claims (-1 star). Publisher hasn't responded to any of my e-mail querries regarding this (-2 stars more). Not enough variety in armies available for play. This second point is being addressed, or so I'm led to believe (-0 stars). Art has not been improved over prior editions (-0 stars: the art is acceptable for what it is).


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Big Damn Armies
Publisher: Team Frog
by Brett S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2003 00:00:00
I was looking forward to an inexpensive replacement for Warhammer 40K, and BDA looked to fill my needs. I was disappointed.

The purchase gets you some units, and rules on how to have them fight. Missing is any point cost for the units (so you have no idea of how to set up a "fair" fight). There are a few races, but the rules break them into "good" and "evil", so there aren't that many sides to choose. Units aren't customizable to any extent, so there isn't a lot of tweaking to do even if you had a point count. (The rules mention a point count at one point, but none is given for the units).

The combat between units appears decent enough, though I haven't tried it. Being unable to assemble an "army" or have an idea of how units are expected to compare left me with little interest in trying further. I visited the author's webpage and sent an email seeking assistance, but two weeks have gone by without an answer.

I think the basic concept is quite workable, but I'd rule this product in need of some basic editing. I can't imagine what the first edition was like. For anyone seeking a WH40K replacement, look elsewhere, there just isn't the customization here. (That's not itself a criticism, but it's info that is unavailable in the product description)

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Team Frog
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Other products (29)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate