DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Wild West Action! Pack [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2010 13:43:56
This is just an amazing bundle for any western game. Even if you never use the Action! System the western source book is the best you will find on this site.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wild West Action! Pack [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gunslingers: Wild West Action!
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2010 13:41:45
I have purchased most of the western games (looking for material) on this site and this is the best of the bunch. It has well detailed lists. Over half of this book is well suited for any western game for just about any system.

An excellent value and resource.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslingers: Wild West Action!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Western Set [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Arion Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2010 13:38:50
I have already reviewed each of sets individually, but here is the short overall version. I wished there was another page of poses for the common characters - but this still rates as a good value and gets a ton of use at my table.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Western Set [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2010 13:35:57
I have been a big fan of GRG enjoying both Sengoku and San Angelo immensely, so I may be a bit biased. The system is easy and quick to learn, especially those coming from the HERO/Fuzion end of the spectrum.

This is simply a solid system that I do not think get enough breathing room in the crowded realm of game systems. I have used this system for pre-WWII pulp and Western - both did very well. I would not want to use this system with high fantasy or superheroes as there are other systems better suited. For normal to heroic is where this system shines.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Native Americans Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2010 10:45:48
Like the Cowboys I and II set, this set works really well for western themed games. It comes in a variety of stands and the pictures are for the most part really well done. Like the other sets I wish there was just one more page of variety, but I would still rate this as good value for the money.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Native Americans Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2010 10:39:26
It is just as good of a value as the first set. You get A, T, and Triangle frames figures. I have used the T frame since they are easy to store and stand really well. I print them on 120 card stock and they hold up very well.

A very good value product and dead simple to transport.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboys II Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cowboy Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2010 10:36:57
Having both A and T frame - plus the Triangle frame is a really nice touch. I would have liked a bit more figures in the mix, but it is really east to make up a collection of the same (so you can have your generic thugs) without having to print out a sheet of figures you do not want.

I would rate this as a good value product. I would buy (and have bought) more from this publisher.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboy Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

E-z Heroes
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2010 10:03:45
Quiet a bit different from other FDG offerings. This one requires that you already have boxes, which you then paste these modern outside facings. I have built them using shoe boxes, shipping boxes, and foam core. In each case they look really nice and there are a few options so that you can make them different.

My biggest gripe might seem petty, but I was really hoping for a bit more variance in the facings. I am probably being a bit unfair in comparing them against FDGs latest offerings, but it is clear that they have learned their craft well. Their newest stuff has far more options.

I find it a good value for the money. I just wish they would have put out a part 2 to increase the variety or put more variety in this set and raised the cost a bit.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
E-z Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Inns Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:40:17
This set tries so hard and ultimately it comes up just a bit shy. This set can really only be used to create very heroic inns, not medieval inns in any fashion. These are large and soaring inns with grand entrances. If this is your style then this will suit your needs, but if you want to be able to create from town inns you will be disappointed - the sizing is only grand and better (the Ritz of fantasy inns).

a) Very few entrances

b) Windows everywhere

c) No blank cobblestone - again you have to purchase another set (row houses).

d) Seriously, Adobe has a layering function and it would have worked wonderfully to break up the blander tiles.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Inns Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town - Row Houses Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:33:32
This is a very nice set and the best set that I have seen from Skeleton Games. I still wish they would make liberal use of PDF layers so that a single tile set can serve many different purposes (like removing carpets or other add-ons.

Out of all the SKG sets that I own this is the only one that I feel is worth the price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town - Row Houses Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:30:53
Much better effort than their outdoor tiles - these look good in the PDF and on the table. Just a few problems that stopped this from being a 5-star set.

A) No stairs (up or down), ladder, or other method to reach any other levels. It would have been pretty easy to add a couple of tiles for these.

B) No small taverns. This tileset makes very large D&D style of taverns, but it would be very difficult to use them in a more realistic setting.

C) No all cobblestone tile. Sure you can get it in row houses, but it is a glaring omission for this set.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Deciduous Wilderness
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:21:20
I am not sorry that I purchased them - given the price, but these could have been so much better (like all of the e-Adventure sets). I could pretty much put the same knocks unto most of the e-Adventure tiles.

1) They are not square. This is a very bit hit against these tiles. Because they are not square you cannot easily rotate them to change a setup. I cannot stress how important this knock is against the e-Adventure tiles. These tiles are 6x9 - so you can do 3x2 tiles rotated, but this makes mixing and matching a nightmare.

2) No layering. PDFs have a wonderful layering capability that give easy access to a larger number of tiles simply by turning on and off different layers. Sure, they accomplish the same thing by including a decent number of tiles, but it is not like this set contains that many tiles.

Set specific

A) Another flat and lifeless set (see Forest Paths). These artwork is quite simply dull and lacking in any imagination.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Deciduous Wilderness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Wilderness Paths
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:17:34
I am not sorry that I purchased them - given the price, but these could have been so much better (like all of the e-Adventure sets). I could pretty much put the same knocks unto most of the e-Adventure tiles.

1) They are not square. This is a very bit hit against these tiles. Because they are not square you cannot easily rotate them to change a setup. I cannot stress how important this knock is against the e-Adventure tiles. These tiles are 6x9 - so you can do 3x2 tiles rotated, but this makes mixing and matching a nightmare.

2) No layering. PDFs have a wonderful layering capability that give easy access to a larger number of tiles simply by turning on and off different layers. Sure, they accomplish the same thing by including a decent number of tiles, but it is not like this set contains that many tiles.

Set specific

A) This is about as basic as you can get. No frills and the look is a step down from other efforts (see the Swamp set). The terrain is flat and lifeless.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Wilderness Paths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Swamp Shoreline
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:14:03
I am not sorry that I purchased them - given the price, but these could have been so much better (like all of the e-Adventure sets). I could pretty much put the same knocks unto most of the e-Adventure tiles.

1) They are not square. This is a very bit hit against these tiles. Because they are not square you cannot easily rotate them to change a setup. I cannot stress how important this knock is against the e-Adventure tiles. These tiles are 6x9 - so you can do 3x2 tiles rotated, but this makes mixing and matching a nightmare.

2) No layering. PDFs have a wonderful layering capability that give easy access to a larger number of tiles simply by turning on and off different layers. Sure, they accomplish the same thing by including a decent number of tiles, but it is not like this set contains that many tiles.

For this specific set.

A) There are some nice tiles here. They transition well from other green fielded sets of the e-Adventure set.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Swamp Shoreline
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Desert Ruins
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:10:27
I am not sorry that I purchased them - given the price, but these could have been so much better. I could pretty much put the same knocks unto most of the e-Adventure tiles.

1) They are not square. This is a very bit hit against these tiles. Because they are not square you cannot easily rotate them to change a setup. I cannot stress how important this knock is against the e-Adventure tiles. These tiles are 6x9 - so you can do 3x2 tiles rotated, but this makes mixing and matching a nightmare.

2) No layering. PDFs have a wonderful layering capability that give easy access to a larger number of tiles simply by turning on and off different layers. Sure, they accomplish the same thing by including a decent number of tiles, but it is not like this set contains that many tiles.

A specific hit against this tileset

A) Where is the simple blank tile. Without that tile you have to either leave a blank space in the build-out or the structures are crunched together.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Desert Ruins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates