DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Changing the Rules (Revised)
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Virginia S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2004 00:00:00
Some good solid ideas here. I personally don't like the combat system used in 3rd Edition rules much; it's not only too complicated, but all too many rules just don't make sense. I can say the same with some of the non-combat, general adeventuring rules as well. This product fixes several of them without over-penalizing players or making the game more complicated. And although the Grim & Gritty rules out there are free, this is still pretty cheap.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Changing the Rules (Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unorthodox Barbarians
Publisher: The Le Games
by Virginia S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2004 00:00:00
I love the Unorthodox series. My campaign world - or rather the PCs and NPCs - would all be too much alike for my taste without them. Unorthodox Barbarians is especially needed, I feel, as barbarians from the PHB are all berserkers with very little variation.

And Le Games is very good good at balancing the abilities of the classes against each other, so none are really over-powered. Frankly, they seem to be more skilled at this than most at WOTC. Better still, most of the abilities presented for each variant class are new, not just a rehash of 2nd Edition rules.

LIKED: I especially like that a .rtf file of the product is included for you to use. I have to tweak classes a lot to fit them into my (atypical) campaign world. I wish they'd all do that. It would help.

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Barbarians
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks. This was actually a very fun book to work on. Robert Grady did a great job on the initial write-up, and I had alot of fun fleshing it all out. I am especially proud of how the "Savage Screamer" turned out. I am also glad you liked the .pdf version -- It annoyed me that copy/paste was so screwed up in pdf when there is more than one column on the page, and so I figured it annoyed other people too. And special thanks to Tom Miskey for a great cover art -- it has a very Tarzan feel to it. hooah!
Unlikely Heroes: The Labourer
Publisher: Plot Device
by Virginia S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2004 00:00:00
I've always wanted someone to do this, quantify the abilities of the common laborer in game terms. I only have 2 regular players, but both have expressed an interest in starting out as "common folk" and then advancing into a core class after they've experienced a little adventure. It looks like this series is just the thing, so I don't have to spend a couple of weeks working out their stats.

LIKED: Pretty much everything.

DISLIKED: "At fourth level they gain the and the Skill Focus feat in any one class skill of their choice." The what and the Skill Focus feat? Or was it supposed to just be Skill Focus? Hopefully this error will be corrected before long.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unlikely Heroes: The Labourer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Whoopsie! In an earlier revision I moved a feat from fourth level, and the "and" accidentally stayed in. So and... nothing. I will do a revised edition of these in the relatively near future, and that is definately going in the corrections. Thanks for pointing it out! Warm regards, Evan
Liber Sodalitas: The Blind Path (3rd Fantasy edition)
Publisher: Highmoon Games
by Virginia S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2004 00:00:00
Blind PCs or NPCs? Drop this into your campaign world, whether it's a brand new movement or has always been there. Even if it's not needed due to blindness, it's fascinating and will make for some remarkable NPCs. Very, very well-done and thought-out.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Liber Sodalitas: The Blind Path (3rd Fantasy edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

UNORTHODOX Rangers
Publisher: The Le Games
by Virginia S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2004 00:00:00
I think this is a great idea. The Unorthodox series presents variants on each of the core classes. You can have both the rangers out of the PHB and all those here in your game. It adds some much needed variety to both PCs and NPCs; if you've been playing for years like I have, this will help cure the "cookie-cutter character" syndrome you may be experiencing.

I can't give much of an opinion on each type, except to say that they seem pretty well-balanced. The merits of each type would really depend on your campaign and personal tastes.

LIKED: It's very well done, so pretty much everything. Like I said, you may or may not like some or all of the types described here.

DISLIKED: A page with a quick system to help make your own variants of the classes would have been nice.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Rangers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Moonfire: d20 System Campaign Booster
Publisher: Thousandpress
by Virginia S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2004 00:00:00
This is an excellent product for the price (26 pages for $2.50); many that are higher aren't this imaginative or well-written. It's full of good - and really original - ideas for shaking up the world and starting campaigns for the players as they try to find out what's going on. I don't want to give anything away about what's inside, but I also love the tone of weird, unkown phenomena it sets too. It'll work very well with any type of campaign though, not just the kind where you and the players like cosmic strangeness and mystery.

Although it's made for d20, it wouldn't take much to modify it for other systems. I'm planning to use one of the ideas in another game we occasionally play too.

LIKED: Very original and creative. And for $2.50 you can't beat it. I'm honestly amazed that it's this cheap.

DISLIKED: Now that I've said that, the price will probably go up. ;) Other than that, nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moonfire: d20 System Campaign Booster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank-you for your very kind words, Virginia.
EQ: Lost Map MP3 01
Publisher: V Shane
by Virginia S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2004 00:00:00
I love how Vshane worked the of birds into the music just perfectly in this song - enough to notice, but not overwhelming or annoying. I'm going to use it the next time my players are going through a forest.

Of course, all music is a matter of taste, but I think this one is particularly lovely, so I listen to it often.

And yes, and I'm going to make use of the map it came with. Might as well not waste it.

LIKED: Pretty much everything.

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EQ: Lost Map MP3 01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Wow, thanks Virginia (and to think I live in Virginia). Its really an inspiration to have comments like this. Now! On to make more music :) Thanks again.. Shane
Blasphemous Secrets and Forbidden Lore
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by Virginia S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2004 00:00:00
If you need some evil magic in your campaign (and who doesn't?) this is the perfect book for that. At first glance, you might think the price is steep for just another dark magic spell book, but it's 55 pages with 99 spells, so that makes it well worth the money.

LIKED: Some of the spells are original and imaginative, and there are a lot of spells to choose from.

DISLIKED: Well, some of the spells aren't original or imginative, but that's certainly to be expected with that many of them

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blasphemous Secrets and Forbidden Lore
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DG 4 :Falling Behind MP3
Publisher: V Shane
by Virginia S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2004 00:00:00
More dismal than the other Dragon's Gate tracks, this one is still great as background music. Has a feeling of mystery like the other Dragon's Gate songs, but has an undertone of fear too.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DG 4 :Falling Behind MP3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DG 5: Visions of Obscurity MP3
Publisher: V Shane
by Virginia S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2004 00:00:00
Another wonderful piece for background music. Very pleasant, mysterious and not so intrusive.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DG 5: Visions of Obscurity MP3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates