DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
 
$20.00 $12.95
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 10
2 1
2 2
2 0
0 0
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Click to view
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by Steven H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2013 20:52:34
Oh Happy Day! It's a beautiful list of destruction over 400 pages long. It comes with a very broad spectrum of weapons from Gauss guns to bio-organic weapons to Entropy weapons.

This was like being put in grocery store and being told you are the 1000th customer and you get a shopping spree to get whatever you want!

At $20 it is a good deal, but right now it's sitting at $12.95, which is a fantastic purchase. That averages out to $.02 a weapon.

Just flipping through the book gives you idea after idea. You can easily alter the format that they are placed in for the book, to one that will fit the game that you are currently playing.

The book has a large Table of Contents and a huge Index in the back to help you track down that special weapon of destruction you need to bring a little chaos to your game. Unfortunately, there are very few illustrations in comparison to the size of the book.

I Highly recommend this book to anyone playing a game such as BASH (Basic Action Super Heroes), Palladium's RIFTS, Wild Cards, or CAHS2 (Cartoon Action Hour Season 2).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2007 00:00:00
Wow. There are a heck of a lot of weapons in this book. The range is staggering. There are catigoreies of weapons I'd never given much if any thought that are covered here. This book is amazing. Organic weapons, disposable dummy proof weapons, Dr. Evils latest weapon of doom sort of weapons, micro missles and hitech grenades, combat drones, weapons of advanced materials, energized weapons and much more. There is just so much in this book it is difficult for me to emphasize how expansive it is.

I doubt anyone could ever use these all of these weapons in a single campaign, one isn't meant to really. The "technologies" and tone vary wildly and could only ALL be present in a very lite-wahoo sort of game (good luck on trying to use them all unless of course the Emperor of the 4th dimension employs an army of mooks where everyone uses a different weapon.






LIKED: The range of imagination used and the lite style (which keeps the book from getting boring). Some campaigns could revolve about action where only two or three of the categories of weapons used here are listed. I can picture odd weapons turning up in CoC like setting to baffle 1920's investigators, cyberpunk gun runners, alien civilizations and beyond.


DISLIKED: Not too sure how these weapons would balance with other weapons already in campaigns/settings. There could be some tinkering involved to get the weapons to fit into a campaign. (not much of a fault there really).

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2005 00:00:00
I like this book. It has a lot of neat ideas. The artwork is decent (a lot better than I can do, so I can't complain). I recommend it to anybody. Even if people don't want to use what it contains, it is good to get ideas flowing in your mind.

LIKED: It is written in a way that the contents can be "ported" to any setting.

DISLIKED: Some of the items were mere "hacks" of equipment that already exists. I did not like some of the weapon stats (but that is easy enough to change).

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by Alan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2005 00:00:00
A huge selection of weapons, some of them rather bizarre. Enough to never equip a sci-fi villain with the same weapon twice.

LIKED: Sheer variety of options and ideas for weapons.

DISLIKED: Formatting is very brown-paper. The statistics don't try to conform to any specific d20 implementation; Your Mileage May Vary depending on which d20 futuristic game you play, and some tweaknig may be necessary.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by Thomas J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2005 00:00:00
I liked this product ok. It contains a great many really good ideas, and jam packs them all one package. It is missing a few things:

1) A table of weapons. One large table containing all the weapon stats. It's not like you don't have the space.

2) PDF Bookmarks.

It can also seem very redundant at times: There is a Arrow with sleep drug, Arrow with pain drug, Arrow with blinding drug, Arrow with Psychedelic drug, poison arrow, extra lethal poison arrow, super lethal poison arrow, plague arrow, Arrow with flesh eating virus. But there is no "Injector Arrow" with a capacity listed so I can add my own evil brew.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by Fredrik S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2004 00:00:00
I love this product. It's funny and inspiring.

The weapons could have been presented in a neater way, like in a table or something, but I understand that it's easier to cut and paste the text this way so it's probably for the best.

Some annoying repetition of information when several weapons have the same effect, but again, that simplifies cutting and pasting and reduces the amount of time spent searching for the effect.

It's supposed to be compatible with D20 Modern, but I'm not so sure. It breaks the standard rules for firearms all the time (all firearms do 2 dice of damage, have a threat range of 20 and causes double damage on a crit in D20 Modern, but in this book you will find weapons dealing anything between one to 15 dice of damage, cause criticals with x3 or x4 damage, and with threat ranges from 16-20). This means we have to guess how to use some of the feats like "double tap" or "burst fire" with these weapons. Why is burst fire less efficient with a super-advanced firearm than with our normal kind? (A weapon causing 2d10 fired on burst setting gets a 100% increase to damage, a weapon causing 5d10 only gets a 40% increase?)

I suppose the rules are "broken" in order to provide more of a difference for the super-advanced weapons to shine, but it's still something which could have been taken into consideration by the author.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by Dominique C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2004 00:00:00
I really don't regret my 9$, this book is really excellent. There is so many different and good ideas. For example, the "Pirhana Ball" is a weapon of choice for an assassin, and I can't wait to have a NPC use it against my players... It's really the kind of good idea I would never had myself when running a sci-fi adventure.

Also, many weapons get a funny description, and I had good time reading about weapons that otherwise appear much silly. For example, those weapons made of extremely dense material, so the axe's blade weighs 3 tons and requires an in-built antigrav device. IMO, extremely dense material remains dense because of gravity, but once taken out of that neutron star, it inflates back to normal size. Likewise, anti-grav will negates weight but not mass, so this weapon still remains unusuable... So, this weapon will never be used in my setting; nonetheless it was extremely fun to read. I had a good laugh not because of the silliness, but because of the comical writing style.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2004 00:00:00
This is the last d20 science fiction weapons book you'll ever need. In fact, you'll probably never use all of the gizmos in this book, but individual sections may be well-used depending on the campaign. We're talking even more guns than Perpetrated Press's Arsenal. It's not all guns, though. Everything from a living claw to the Thanatos (Destroy The Universe) Device is covered.

If it's in a sci fi movie, you'll probably find it here.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by Sean G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2004 00:00:00
Wow. Anything with this many guns in it has got to be great. I can't wait to work some of these items into my campaign!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2004 00:00:00
I got this because I was putting together a sci-fi campaign. Boy oh boy, I got in over my head! There are so many cool weapons listed, I don't know which kinds to make the "default" tech level. If you want more weapons than you know what to do with, get this PDF!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by jason f. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2004 00:00:00
wow. just wow. the author seems to have the perfect flair for camp and usefulness. weapons like the double-bladed chainsaw are awesome to just read, while the asassin's poison thorn can be a great addition for bad guys. a lot of the weapons took a great deal of imagination to come up with, too. all the descriptions are really, really fun to read. if you have never bought a book from this website, and if you like books about lots of guns and knives then this is the book for you. and its cheap!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2004 00:00:00
Defiantly worth the price. This is something I?d like to see more of.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1001 Science Fiction Weapons (Revised)
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by Ian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2004 00:00:00
I've only begun skimming this book, but, based on a few minutes scanning and the author's writing style -- this book rocks. It reminds me of early-80s supplements in its exuberant, over-the-top, "who cares if it's realistic, what matters is -- is it COOL?" attitude. UNLIKE those early supplements, all the words seem to be spelled properly. :) I can't comment on mechanics and game balance yet, but, purely as idea source/catalog of every twisted weapon in SF history, this book is easily worth the nine bucks. Print it out at work. :)

The author also avoids doing what I half-feared the book would be -- endless lists of the same weapons with only the most trivial variants ("Laser Sword" "Laser Long Sword" "Laser Short Sword" "Laser Slightly Less Short Sword" "Laser Very Short Sword" "Glaive glaive glaive guisarme laser"), or page after page of flavor-text less statistics. While the book is 99 44/100 percent pure crunch (Mmmm....crunch!), there is enough flavor text for the weapon categories and individual weapons to make it readable.

I wish to stress this is a preliminary, not in-depth review, and my particular tastes in gaming may not be everyone's.

I wished to contact the author directly, but he seems to have no email. Phooey.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates