DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Legends of Steel: Broadsword Ed.
Publisher: Heyoka Studios
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2009 04:20:48
I haven't used the BroadSword / 1PG system, so I can't actually comment on the rules section.
I bought this, because I was looking for a Sword & Sorcery setting. Don't expect a setting where everything is described down to the last detail. The world is described in broad strokes, but very evocatively. Almost every sentence contains a plot hook. This fits nicely with my idea of S&S: The story is mainly driven by the characters and not necessarily a world-spanning plot of an evil mastermind as in Heroic Fantasy.
The same with the map: Sometimes when I look at a map for a setting, I must admit, that it is done skilfully, but it doesn't actually appeal to me. Here, when I looked at the map, something clicked and I wanted to play in the setting.

If you like the cover, you'll like the rest of it :)

Pro:
- evocative setting
- great cover
- evocative map

Con:
- interior illustrations could be better
- layout could be better (can't say why)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legends of Steel: Broadsword Ed.
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Truth & Justice
Publisher: Atomic Sock Monkey Press
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2006 00:00:00
T&J uses an adapted PDQ system which is very rules light (which I prefer). If you're looking for a crunchy supers game, T&J is definitely not for you.
In a time of poorly edited gaming books, this book was a pleasure to read. I do like the author's writing style.

Highly recommend with just a minor quible: As a game of comic heroes, the art could have been better.


LIKED: - good discussion of the genre
- rules light system
- three sample settings
- good bibliography

DISLIKED: - the art _could_ have been better

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Truth & Justice
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Fringe
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2006 00:00:00
I like the loose style of the Wushu Guides. They are trying to give tips how to emulate a certain genre with Wushu.
The same style is used here, but as this is a game of its own it could use a more detailed discussion of the player perception / madness vs. "objective" reality.


LIKED: - fun to read

DISLIKED: - no page numbers
- could use a more detailed discussion of the madness vs. reality

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Fringe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Wushu Guide to Wyrd-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2006 00:00:00
A very loose set of rules (recommendations?) for magic in the Wushu system. If you like the style of the other Wushu guides, you'll like this one as well.


LIKED: As always, fun to read.

DISLIKED: No page numbers

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Wyrd-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Stars
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2006 00:00:00
There are actually three parts thrown together in this supplement: The "Sarcifices" mechanism to emulate horror that can be used with your favourite system, a discussion of a couple of monsters that fit in a horror sf setting and and an adventure. At the usual large print used in the bayn.org supplements this makes about for an hour of reading which is acceptable at the low price. In comparison to other products from the WUSHU line, this supplement lacks. The writing style is as good as in the other supplements, but I expected more thorough discussion of the genre. Nevertheless, I can scavenge good ideas to be used in my CoC/Delta Green campaign.


LIKED: - Sacrifice mechanism
- writing style

DISLIKED: - large print
- NO PAGE NUMBERS :(

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Stars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Wushu Guide to Cut-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2005 00:00:00
Another Wushu supplement that is highly enjoyable to read. Instead of giving us lots of tables for weapon stats this supplement provides descriptions of what to do with the weapons.
Wushu doesn't need any more rules, but examples of how to play, so this is the right way to go.


LIKED: a great read

DISLIKED: bland formatting, missing page numbers.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Cut-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pulp-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2005 00:00:00
As always with WUSHU products, the pdf is a great read and extremely enjoyale. Lots of text that creates the right athmosphere for the game.


LIKED: lots of highly enjoyable examples.

DISLIKED: The formatting is pretty bland. Page numbers would have been helpful.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Clockwork Heart
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2005 00:00:00
I'm not a D20 gamer, but I bought the product because I was interested in the theme of the adventure (an invasion by constructs).


LIKED: - good illustrations
- interesting setting

DISLIKED: - the adventure itself was a bit short for my taste

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Clockwork Heart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OVA - Open Versatile Anime Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Wise Turtle Publishing
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2005 00:00:00
I knew I must own this game after I heard that Niko Geyer, one of my favourite artists, was doing illustrations for it.
And of course, I was interested in the game itself (Anime).
The illustrations and the layout are at a high level. The rules themselves are simple which is perfect with me ( I like rules light systems). As to be expected from the theme of the rpg there is a big list of abilities and weaknesses appropriate for the genre.
The one thing which seems strange to me is the die mechanic. Depending on your skill / ability you roll a number of 6 sided dice. You count the ones which come up with the same number. The result is the highest number x count, e. g. when I roll 6 dice, giving me 1, 4, 4, 3, 3, 3, the result is 3 x 3 = 9.
I can't see why this mechanic is better than something like ability + 2D6.

Nevertheless, taking into account the price and the production values, this product is highly recommended.

LIKED: - simply GREAT illustrations
- very rules light system
- nice selection of powers, abilities

DISLIKED: - strange die mechanic
- rules / examples could be clearer

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OVA - Open Versatile Anime Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wire-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2005 00:00:00
Wushu is the ideal game for Matrix / Hong Kong Action / cinematic style role playing.
Wushu is full of good ideas, but at first I was a bit lost about how to apply the rules. Fortunately, there are three example for settings and several pages of examples from play. Especially the examples from play helped me to understand the game.
The only negative point is the formatting (not even page numbers!!!), so I gave it only 4 stars.

LIKED: - great ideas
- great writing
- the examples help a great deal to understand how Wushu is t be played
- nice cover

DISLIKED: - bland formatting
- no page numbers

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vault Collection Two
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2004 00:00:00
Another great collection of material for the Whispering Vault.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vault Collection Two
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vault Collection One
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2004 00:00:00
Bizarre horror RPG long out of print - but still available as an eBook.

LIKED: I was never able to get the supplements, now they are all here. Great product value and page-count to price ratio.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vault Collection One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sengoku: Revised Edition
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2004 00:00:00
Excellent product. Even though I'm not interested in the FUZION system I bought it for the amount of detail and background setting.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sengoku: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BESM Fantasy Bestiary
Publisher: White Wolf
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2004 00:00:00
It's exactly what it's promises: A bestiary i.e. a number of races / monsters / critters translated to the BESM system. No more - no less. It's definitely _not_ a source book on how to portray these creatures in a Anime setting (for this purpose take a look at "Uresia - Grave of Heaven"). Instead you get "just the facts", which I found very helpful.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BESM Fantasy Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

zDreamwalker: Roleplaying in the Land of Dreams
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2003 00:00:00
Lots of good ideas. I intend it to use as a supplement for my modern day CoC / Delta Green Campaing. Of course it can be used on its own. A great deal for $5,00


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
zDreamwalker: Roleplaying in the Land of Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates