DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Wire-Fu $5.00
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 5
6 6
1 0
0 0
0 0
Wire-Fu
Click to view
Wire-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2007 00:00:00
Wushu: A game you get or don't get... A game you'll love or hate!

The entire range of Wushu books and suppliments comes with my highest recommendation. Though none of the suppliments are in any way essential, they all add a little to the game's concept and prove its versitility time and again. I use Wire-Fu as my core rules, with Pulp-Fu as the secondary set the players tend to peruse (the difference is minimal of course) and both car-fu and cut-fu are mainstays for their excellent ideas.

The Game In short: It's NOT a role-playing game in the usual sense... More an action movie (or whatever tpye you like) that flies by with everyone putting in ideas, making it up frame-by-frame, kick-by-kick and one witty line at a time. It needs good players we can share the limelight and work together, and a GM who can keep track of a story while adapting to the (considerable) amount of player control.

Rules-wise, there's not much. A clear, simple and workable D6 mechanic that gives you big bonuses for being creative, clever and playing to theme, while offering nothing to players who say 'I hit it' every round. Like I say, not for everyone.

I'm especially keen on the fact that if you use EVERY suppliment and rule, it's still no more complex or difficult that just using one book! A rare and wonderful thing in rpgs.

Like I say, I use Wire-Fu as my core rules for the game. If you're gonna give the game a try I'd recommend it as the first book to try (at least if you're into wuxia, hk movies or the like) as it's a solid foundation and contains perhaps the best overall examples of play to help guide wushu neophytes.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by John H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2006 00:00:00
I love roleplaying. I love to collect roleplaying books. My bookshelf full of beautiful, shiny, hardbound RPGs has always been my proudest possession(s). I also loved to collect, not just new settings, but new rules. I ~loved~ to pour over new mechanics, figure them out, compare them... I loved new rules just as much as I loved the books or playing them.

That's right, I said "loved." As in, past tense. Wushu has completely ruined (cured!) this rules collecting of mine.

The fact is, Wushu is simply the best system for roleplaying out there. Period. Bar none. You can do ANYTHING with this game. That's right, N. E. THING.

"Can you do-?"
"Yep."
"Well what about-?"
"Yep."
"But only [x] is good for playing-"
"Nope, Wushu does it better."

I'm serious. I can not bring myself to buy a single RPG since I bought Wushu, except to read the setting. I just can't use any rules since these!

Now, a little clarification is probably needed. You might be one of those roleplayers who absolutely loves pouring over multiple charts to figure out speed and velocity and frickin wind speed just to fire an arrow. Or maybe you're addicted to experience points, and all you care about is seeing that total rise. If so, WUSHU IS NOT FOR YOU! Don't want anybody getting angry at me, if you're on of those players.

However, if, like me, it's the story that you roleplay for; if you play for fun; if you're freaking tired of your characters never being able to do the things your sheet says they can because you roll crappy...then Wushu will change your roleplaying experience, just like it did mine.

Wire-Fu and Pulp-Fu are the best sourcebooks to buy if you're new to Wushu. However, buying Pulp-Fu doesn't mean you won't know how to play in a kung-fu game, and vice versa. The books have some nifty extra rules and good ideas for those genres, but the complete Wushu rules are in both and they're all you really need. It's the examples of characters and play that makes these books really shine--again, especially if you are new to Wushu.


LIKED: Revolutionized my view of roleplaying forever.
Is cheaper than a combo at freaking McDonalds! See if a Big Mac will give you this much fun!

DISLIKED: Ruined my addiction of rules collecting.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Aaron Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2006 00:00:00
Imagine a game where it doesn't matter what level of power characters are at, or "party balance". A cyborg killing machine would be just as influential on the outcome of a game as a deadbeat janitor. That's right, Wushu solves the age old question of "How do I help the guy who's playing Han have fun, while still maintaining that Luke is the biggest badass of the party?"

Imagine a game where what you say is what happens, and the dice are just there to tell you how close the current scene is to being resolved.

That game is Wushu.

There's a problem, though. In order to play Wushu, one has to leave many of his preconceptions of RPGs at the door.

Little things: No Gear. No Money. No Experience. No Initiative. No Weapon Damage. No Weapon Range. No preset Monster Stats. No real tactics (in the sense that some tactics are "good" and some are "bad"). No combat maneuvers list (though there are some handy suggestions).

Big one: Little GM control. GMs set up scenes, set up conditionals for their conclusions, and set difficulty level of the scene. Then it's up to the Players to narrate for themselves and the bad guys. The only time this doesn't happen is for The Boss Fight, whenever it may happen.

But now I look upon my review and see that I might be emphasizing combat too much. Wushu's Wire Fu showcases mostly the combat orientation of the system, but it could easily be used for something else, from chases to courtroom drama to intimidating a prisoner to defusing a bomb.

All in all, Wire Fu is worth the money if you like light RPGs, want a cinematic game, and are willing to read it with an open mind.



LIKED: Nearly everything.

DISLIKED: 1. No artwork besides cover.
2. Landscape format.


QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2006 00:00:00
In my wife's words, "Ah, so, it's a game where your characters actually SUCCEED." Indeed, it is! Reminiscent of the venerable diceless "Theatrix", Wushu is a terriffic addition to any gamer's collection. Wildly malleable, it's ready to accept any genre you want. In fact, Wushu's Principle of Narrative Truth does more to *support* the genre than do most games, by rewarding in-genre actions and descriptions.

Mm-mm-good!


LIKED: It's rad.

DISLIKED: It could use some editing, spell-checking, etc; the layout is clean but uninspiring. A GM's section, giving suggestions on how to tame this wild beast, would be a terriffic addition. Lastly, if you speak Spanish, just pretend that the author means to say "hand-to-hand' and not "monky-to-monkey".

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Damian L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2006 00:00:00
I'd recommend either this or Pulp-Fu to anyone who's intrigued about the Open rules, but needs a little more to help them kick the old RPG memes out of their head.

Helped me a great deal in understanding the basics and the spirit of Wushu, so I could tailor it to what I wanted. I'm planning to use it for a Feng Shui crossover - all that Secret War goodness, powered by Wushu!


LIKED: Lots of examples which really helped bring the mechanics alive. Brief and to the point, with few wasted words.

DISLIKED: Very much focused on the original "Detail=action" idea that Open started with. Not enough non-combat examples to help showcase how broad the rules are, and how it can be applied as a general scene resolution mechanic. It's not just about combat!

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Aaron M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2005 00:00:00
Some very interesting ideas inside. I didn't care for the rules, though, because it seems combat could easily become bogged down with descriptions of PC actions. I was hoping for something more streamlined.


LIKED: Great ideas and well worth the price.

DISLIKED: Rules need a little bit of tweaking.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2005 00:00:00
Wushu is the ideal game for Matrix / Hong Kong Action / cinematic style role playing.
Wushu is full of good ideas, but at first I was a bit lost about how to apply the rules. Fortunately, there are three example for settings and several pages of examples from play. Especially the examples from play helped me to understand the game.
The only negative point is the formatting (not even page numbers!!!), so I gave it only 4 stars.

LIKED: - great ideas
- great writing
- the examples help a great deal to understand how Wushu is t be played
- nice cover

DISLIKED: - bland formatting
- no page numbers

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Josh B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2005 00:00:00
a very munchausen(?)-esque game. The Basics seem to be the first ne to bu77 $h!^ their way into victory will mmost likley win, but then again that's the point.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/02/2005 00:00:00
I utterly hate paying for PDFs. I'd much rather have a nice, bound, preferably hardcover, book. Electronic format just isn't the same. Sure, you can print 'em out, put 'em in a binder. But it's not like a real book.

Then I read Wushu Open, Dan's free introduction designed to get you hooked on this particular literary drug. Then I came here and snagged all the Wushu stuff.

Wushu's system, based around the Principal of Narrative Truth, is the best system I've seen for getting the players to feel like they are part of the story. It's also ridiculously fast and easy to learn.

Don't let the name fool you. You can do ANYTHING with this game. Wuxia? Of Course. Sci-Fi? Easy. Supers? Check. Angsty Monsters Biting People? Sure. Less Angsty Monsters Tearing Each Other To Shreds? Hell, yeah! Whatever story you want to tell, you can tell it with Wushu.

More specific comments about the individual Wushu works below.

LIKED: Wire-Fu covers exactly the sort of thing I like to have in my games. High-flying, ass-kicking, sword-clashing action. It has suggestions for the traditional Wuxia sequences that can easily work in your Matrix-type game, in your Jedi-Butt-Whomping adventures or in your superheroic antics.

DISLIKED: Having to print it out myself!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Paul P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2005 00:00:00
A useful addition to one's Wushu library, more so than the other adjuncts.

LIKED: It is definitely worth buying above and beyond the basic Wushu set - it has nice ideas, some new rules, and some nice settings. And of course, it's not costly.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Publisher: Bayn.org
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2005 00:00:00
i'm simply became wushu fan since i read the french edition. Wire-Fu is a very good guide to wushu with many hong kong movie archetypes, lots of stunts description and very interesting game sample description.

LIKED: the simplicity and the fun
very versatile game
ideal for one shot games or adaptation

DISLIKED: one and only picture from french drawer El Theo (sorry but the french wushu edition is more sexy than the american)
only for short play not for long capaingn

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates