DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
I am Mongoose, and so can you!
Publisher: Mongoose
by NA S. U. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2009 06:07:01
I picked this PDf up yesterday, skimmed the parts that interested me most, then took the time to go back and read it cover to cover with my highlighter handy.

I am glad I purchased it.

Skortched Urf' Studios has been planning from the beginning to start small with PDF's and "learn our craft" before moving up to print products. This product was perfect for me and anyone else looking to move into (or start with) dead-tree RPG products.

I found his take on the PDF market to be spot-on, especially with the 4E/GSL slowdown in full effect. He lays out numbers for several different types of books, and a reasonable expectation of sales. He covers various options for getting your books into print, and plugs Flaming Cobra heavily. (Rightfully so, in my opinion.)

This product is less useful if you intend to remain PDF only, but even then I would still say there is valuable information to be had. I know some might balk at the thirty dollar price point, but that is cheap for the information I took away from this product.

Money well spent for me, maybe not for everyone, but I am very happy with the purchase.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
I am Mongoose, and so can you!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OGL 3.5 System Compatible Logo
Publisher: LPJ Design
by NA S. U. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2008 18:19:54
Great idea Louis! Thanks for the logo. We'll start putting it on our releases right away.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OGL 3.5 System Compatible Logo
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cerberus Royalty Free Clip Art Pack
Publisher: Cerberus Illustration
by NA S. U. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2007 06:54:36
I have used some of this companies other stock art products and find them to be of very high quality, so when I saw this I immediately decided to purchase it. There are some Sci-Fi as well as fantasy images in this collection. The Sci-Fi will be less useful, but they are fairly generic and certainly do not detract. The most bang-for-your-buck will be in the fantasy images. A few are so simple as to be almost un-usable. Much like the clip-art you might find online. Now don't take that to mean I am dissing this product; I am not. I am saying that several of the 175 or so images were not terribly usable to me, nor do I think most publishers here on OBS will find much use for them. However, I could easily find places to use most of the other images. From some undead, to monsters and filler-icon images there is plenty to use here. I am very happy to have this quantity or quality stock art. Other bundles I have used have a few of useful images and most not. This product is the exact opposite!

Looking closer at the images all are B&W, some of sketch quality while others are more "finished" and fully rendered. A few show some photoshopping effects such as a Gaussian Blur. Again, only a few I would find no use for. (There is a very cartoon-like elf on page 8 I wouldn't use, but others might. But there are four other images on that page I CAN use! ) Each image is about 1/4 page, and each page contains five images as far as I can tell. What I did not find was any type of license agreement included. That may require some clarification; can I alter the image? Can I use it on a cover? Combine images? They may want to clarify these things by including a license with the images. The product description as of this review says this:

Over 175 300dpi black and white 100% royalty free fantasy and sci-fi clip art images by Joe Calkins. Most are roughly 1/4 page in size. The illustrations are in a variety of styles from sketches to line art to fully shaded pieces. Collection also includes six bonus page backgrounds. **WARNING** Some images contain nudity.

I found it quite accurate, and in no way felt the product was mis-represented. The Flash preview seems to be sized incorrectly so it's hard to see what your getting from that, but I saw enough that I was willing to risk the twenty bucks to have this. I give this product five stars for quality, value and quantity. (I have some slight reservations about the absence of a license agreement spelling out what I can and cannot do with the images, but I suspect that will be resolved shortly.)

The bottom line is that if you are a PDF publisher in need of cheap, quality generic art to round out your projects this art pack is worth every penny.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cerberus Royalty Free Clip Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your reviews. I'd like to clarify the terms of usage for this product. 100% Royalty Free means the purchaser is able to modify and use these images in any way they see fit. Thank you for your interest in Cerberus products! Joe Calkins Cerberus Illustration www.cerberusart.com
Shaman's Stockart Fantasy Figures 1
Publisher: Shaman's Stock Art
by S. U. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2007 00:00:00
My company, Skortched Urf' Studios, has been using this artists' work since we began. His quality is top-notch, he works in color or B&W as needed, and his imagination and artistic skills bring a vivid and unique style to any project. He's done Modern, Fantasy & Sci-Fi for us. I'm glad to see him branch out on his own with "Shamman's Stockart". At about a buck an illustration, these pictures are easily on par with other stock-art offerings. (And in many cases, far better. And in color!) I can't wait to see more stock art from the Shamman!


LIKED: Liked the .PSD as I already work in Photoshop. .JPG's are also provided for use in other programs. These Fantasy images are generic enough for use in just about any product; from character illustration to modules or sourcebooks. The licence agreement allows alteration of the image if needed etc. An excellent publisher resource.

DISLIKED: What's not to like?

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaman's Stockart Fantasy Figures 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Whitewash City Set 3
Publisher: Hotz Stuff
by S. U. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2006 00:00:00
First product I ever got from RPGNow. Was exactly what I wanted for my Boot Hill RPG. Good graphics, scalable if need be. Good value for the $$$ and faster than scratch-building terrain.





LIKED:
Well designed, historically accurate and easy to assemble.

DISLIKED: Cutting and gluing them together! But I can't hold that against them!

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whitewash City Set 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Whitewash City Pioneer (Starter) Set
Publisher: Hotz Stuff
by S. U. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2006 00:00:00
First product I ever got from RPGNow. Was exactly what I wanted for my Boot Hill RPG. Good graphics, scalable if need be. Good value for the $$$ and faster than scratch-building terrain.

Well designed, historically accurate and easy to assemble.

Cutting and gluing them together! But I can't hold that against them!


LIKED: Well designed, historically accurate and easy to assemble.

DISLIKED: Cutting and gluing them together! But I can't hold that against them!

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whitewash City Pioneer (Starter) Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGNow 5k Front Page Impressions
Publisher: OneBookShelf, Inc.
by S. U. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2006 00:00:00
My 5k impressions were used up in just over a day. I got a few clicks and no discernable sales. (Meaning no direct sales from said clicks, but its possible future sales were from the exposure gained.) I think the problem is with the number of people on Edge using this service: usually one or two advertisers. I think the product would generate better results if more publishers used it at the same time so we all get to spend a bit more time on the front page, but with one or two publishers using it you are basically spending ten bucks a day to use the MOTD, and need to recoup said ten bucks in sales for that day.


LIKED: Liked the straight foreward rate/impressions format. product is what it sez it is.

DISLIKED: Didn't generate the sales or the click-throughs I had hopes. One product recieved 18 clicks, zero purchases. I don't blame the product per se, I think its a matter of only being on the front page for a single day which is related to the number of publishers using the MOTD service. I will try it again but only when there are other publishers signed up also, so we can get more time on the front page. One day isn't enough to drive the sales in my opinion.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
RPGNow 5k Front Page Impressions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Expert Feats
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by S. U. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2006 00:00:00
Short, concise PDF that does just what it sez and does it well. Lets you add an "Expert" into your game without having to have him be a mega-level NPC to pull off the feat. Well worth it in my opinion!


LIKED: Exactly as advertised, well written and designed rules.

DISLIKED: Maybe could have used some non-stock art to liven up the text or illustrate an example, but that certainly does not detract from the product.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Expert Feats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGNOW VENDOR SETUP FEE
Publisher: OneBookShelf, Inc.
by S. U. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2006 00:00:00
Good information, well presented. Great to have the information in one place. Reasonable price concidering some of the other sites want in excess of a hundred bucks as part of their set-up fee and don't include this kind of advice!


LIKED: Lots of concise info geared specifically to RPG/PDF publishing.

DISLIKED: Wish the "stats" were a bit more specific about some things. (Sales figures to expect etc.)

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGNOW VENDOR SETUP FEE
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates